Skagway ATTRACTIONS See all

Skagway Cruise Port

Nowadays Skagway is a scenic Alaskan cruise port, but 100 years ago it was the rough and ready gateway to the gold fields of the Klondike. The gold-era history is tangible in Skagway, where downtown’s restored buildings form part of the Klondike ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 623 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Steven G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

great scenery great guide Becca.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Scenic River Float Tour

Steven G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our driver/guide was knowledgeable and made the fairly long ride informative and enjoyable

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Half-Day Tour to the Yukon Border

Maryse C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Mike was a 5 stars guide, he has this tone of voice that would make you listen to him for days. I really like to see the 3 different kind of biomes. Kids enjoyed seen the puppies. Photos spots were in just good amounts, landscape is beautiful and Mike takes nice pictures. Emerald lake is stunning. We appreciated comments from Mike about environment and preserving the area. Small group like this is the best to optimize time.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Full-Day Tour of the Yukon

Paul K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was a great excursion. Our Tour Guide,Bonnie was very informed , told great stories and had a lot of history about the Yukon .Small bus made in and outs very easy . Lots of stops for pictures .Would recommend, well worth the .

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Full-Day Tour of the Yukon

mary L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Food was excellent! They used a saloon style show to tell you about the history and gave her a lesson on how to pan for gold before trying your own luck. There was time to look around at the tents and equipment used as well as shop in the Goods store.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Liarsville Gold Rush Camp, Gold Panning and Salmon Bake Combo

James V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

mike was our driver/guide. very informative with great sense of humor. many stops with great views..we had a great day.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Half-Day Tour to the Yukon Border

Michael M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The shore excursion more than met our expectations. A good guide, who was not only personable, but knowledgeable. The excellent weather helped as regards scenery and unfortunately the very rare sighting of our four legged friends. That said, still a very good day and would rate as value for money.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Half-Day Tour to the Yukon Border

munno

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

My husband and I had a wonderful experience on this excursion. Our tour guide, Connor, was pleasant, informative and patient. We could not have asked for better weather. The temperature was comfortable, and the sky was clear and blue. We made several stops along the way, which gave us the opportunity to take pictures and really enjoy the sights. We had a memorable experience!

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: White Pass Summit and Skagway City Tour

Oscar D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The driver/guide made the diference.He was wonderful

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Full-Day Tour of the Yukon

ian United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great day with a knowledgeable guide. We were collected promptly and dropped off where we wanted afterwards . Mike was a wonderful guide - ask for him. He was good humoured and vastly experienced. We got to see Cinnamon and black bears close up .Photographed lots of great views. We got a guide to the history and character of the area. Husky sledding was fun, we were not originally going to do this but decided to at the last minute and he arranged it for us. Thanks Mike!
Everyone had a great day.
Ice cream at Caribou crossing was good with 2 sons this is important !!!
Husky puppies were very cute and trainers answered questions and explained the process in detail.
Comfortable coach which stopped were we wanted this is a small coach so you felt involved as there were fewer of you and you could enjoy the company. Weather was very kind to us.
If you enjoy photography and like dogs THIS IS FOR YOU !
If we return to the area I will be looking Mike up to go on different excursions. Can't praise the guy enough.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Full-Day Tour of the Yukon

Jane S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We had a thoroughly enjoyable day and saw some outstanding scenery. Our driver/tour leader, Connor, was extremely knowlegable and interesting young man. We enjoyed our lunch at Carcross, and even met a young Australian working in the gift shop there!!
We also enjoyed Skagway itself as we walked through the town and back to our ship.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Full-Day Tour of the Yukon

Roberta H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The grandchildren all loved this tour, especially panning for gold. They thought they were all going to get rich, and then quickly realized how hard it was to search for the little flakes of gold in the water. The staff was very patient and nice, especially since one grand child is very ADD and asks a million questions. Every question was answered with good humor and the staff never acted annoyed at the rambunctious antics of the children. The food was so so, but we weren't really there for the food, just the experience.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Liarsville Gold Rush Camp, Gold Panning and Salmon Bake Combo

Carl H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Driver/tour guide was very good.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Full-Day Tour of the Yukon

John S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

A good guide can make a trip like that and ours was excellent, I would add we were lucky with the weather. The trip can only serve to make you hold in awe the early prospectors who went on the trail.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Chilkoot Trail Hike and Float Tour

Mike B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We had a fantastic trip with great weather and a fantastic, very knowledgeable guide to experience the beauty of nature and the history and legacy of all the gold rush era. It was truly a trip of a life time and one that should be on every one's bucket list.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Full-Day Tour of the Yukon

Gwen N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Brook was our tour guide. She was fantastic. We could not ask for a better tour guide than her. We definitely will recommend to our friends. Thank you!

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Full-Day Tour of the Yukon

Michael R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

great trip, very scenic. our guide was outstanding

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Full-Day Tour of the Yukon

swulkan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great scenic trip with many photographic stops at interesting places. Lasted about 4.5 hours. Van had about 12 people and a driver.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Half-Day Tour to the Yukon Border

swulkan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Beautiful, calm float down the river. Tour gives you rubber boots and lifevest. I got engaged at the end of the tour at the river bank. The tour guide Becca took dozens of photos as it happened.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Scenic River Float Tour

Robert K

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Great staff, enjoyed the performance. Salmon was awesome

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Liarsville Gold Rush Camp, Gold Panning and Salmon Bake Combo

Evon B

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

Liarsville Gold rush camp was okay. The salmon was very fresh and food was good.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Liarsville Gold Rush Camp, Gold Panning and Salmon Bake Combo

Liane L USA

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2016

Very disappointing. The guide was very nice but we heard her entire lifes story and her families. A bit too much about her and should have been more about the area. I could care less where she went to school or grew up since it wasn't Alaska!
The gloomy, rainy day didn't help.
I have had better tour guides from Viator!

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: White Pass Summit and Skagway City Tour

Emily A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

It was a great hike and float. Our guide was nice, knowledgeable and fun. Nothing but good things to say!

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Chilkoot Trail Hike and Float Tour

Jessica T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great trip. Very informative and interesting guide. Photo stops at every opportunity.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Full-Day Tour of the Yukon

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message