Skagway ATTRACTIONS See all

Skagway Cruise Port

Nowadays Skagway is a scenic Alaskan cruise port, but 100 years ago it was the rough and ready gateway to the gold fields of the Klondike. The gold-era history is tangible in Skagway, where downtown’s restored buildings form part of the Klondike ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 670 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

JUSTYNE H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Great value for the money! Very scenic and allowed for many stops for picture taking. Stopped at an unusual cemetary but I only wished we were informed that there was a waterfall at the top which only a few persons got to see. Skagway was beautiful and a great alternative tour to the train ride at half the cost! I had no regrets about my choice for this tour.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: White Pass Summit and Skagway City Tour

Michelle United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Great way to see Skagway and the white pass is taking the train isn't your cup of tea. Good sized group and very responsive guide.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: White Pass Summit and Skagway City Tour

Amanda4mosa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Would highly recommend! The scenery was breathtaking! The staff was knowledgeable and made sure we saw all the points of interest. The self-guided tour of Bennett was nice and Bennet lake is beautiful! I would do this trip all over again!

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Bennett Train Journey on the White Pass Rail

msliltoes82

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

I booked this lesson, so I could do something with my mom. We both seriously enjoyed the lesson and were thrilled with the ornaments we made. I highly recommend this excursion option.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Glassblowing Lesson at Jewell Gardens

Simon L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Possibly the highlight of our trip. The tour is organised with Chilkoot Tours, who pick you up at the bottom of the gangplank. We were then introduced to Larry, who is larger than life and full of knowledge about Alaska. A short drive takes you to the station where you pick up your train. We were allocated the last carriage, which gave us access to the open air standing deck at the back. The first part of the journey was in low cloud, which meant that we didn't have the views, but it seemed to add to the atmosphere. As we climbed we left the cloud behind and the weather was clear and quite warm.
The history of this line is fascinating and it is worth listening to the narration.

Bennett Station and museum really lets you realise how desperate or maybe greedy these men were. The hardship was horrendous and only a limited number were set to succeed. Don't miss the view point up the hill past the church - simply stunning.

After lunch on the move by Bennett Lake, we met Larry again in Carcross, who took us back by bus to Skagway, stopping at various points to take pictures. At one point to visit a bear feeding on berries by the road. We got back about 1.5 hours before our ship was due to leave so we had an opportunity to look around Skagway. A great day all round. However beware of Viator, who gave us the wrong pick up time for the tour on our voucher and we would have missed it if I hadn't checked it with Chilkoot Tours. I would recommend booking direct with them.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Bennett Train Journey on the White Pass Rail

Steven G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

great scenery great guide Becca.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Scenic River Float Tour

Steven G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our driver/guide was knowledgeable and made the fairly long ride informative and enjoyable

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Half-Day Tour to the Yukon Border

Maryse C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Mike was a 5 stars guide, he has this tone of voice that would make you listen to him for days. I really like to see the 3 different kind of biomes. Kids enjoyed seen the puppies. Photos spots were in just good amounts, landscape is beautiful and Mike takes nice pictures. Emerald lake is stunning. We appreciated comments from Mike about environment and preserving the area. Small group like this is the best to optimize time.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Full-Day Tour of the Yukon

Paul K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was a great excursion. Our Tour Guide,Bonnie was very informed , told great stories and had a lot of history about the Yukon .Small bus made in and outs very easy . Lots of stops for pictures .Would recommend, well worth the .

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Full-Day Tour of the Yukon

mary L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Food was excellent! They used a saloon style show to tell you about the history and gave her a lesson on how to pan for gold before trying your own luck. There was time to look around at the tents and equipment used as well as shop in the Goods store.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Liarsville Gold Rush Camp, Gold Panning and Salmon Bake Combo

James V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

mike was our driver/guide. very informative with great sense of humor. many stops with great views..we had a great day.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Half-Day Tour to the Yukon Border

Michael M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The shore excursion more than met our expectations. A good guide, who was not only personable, but knowledgeable. The excellent weather helped as regards scenery and unfortunately the very rare sighting of our four legged friends. That said, still a very good day and would rate as value for money.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Half-Day Tour to the Yukon Border

munno

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

My husband and I had a wonderful experience on this excursion. Our tour guide, Connor, was pleasant, informative and patient. We could not have asked for better weather. The temperature was comfortable, and the sky was clear and blue. We made several stops along the way, which gave us the opportunity to take pictures and really enjoy the sights. We had a memorable experience!

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: White Pass Summit and Skagway City Tour

Oscar D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The driver/guide made the diference.He was wonderful

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Full-Day Tour of the Yukon

ian United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great day with a knowledgeable guide. We were collected promptly and dropped off where we wanted afterwards . Mike was a wonderful guide - ask for him. He was good humoured and vastly experienced. We got to see Cinnamon and black bears close up .Photographed lots of great views. We got a guide to the history and character of the area. Husky sledding was fun, we were not originally going to do this but decided to at the last minute and he arranged it for us. Thanks Mike!
Everyone had a great day.
Ice cream at Caribou crossing was good with 2 sons this is important !!!
Husky puppies were very cute and trainers answered questions and explained the process in detail.
Comfortable coach which stopped were we wanted this is a small coach so you felt involved as there were fewer of you and you could enjoy the company. Weather was very kind to us.
If you enjoy photography and like dogs THIS IS FOR YOU !
If we return to the area I will be looking Mike up to go on different excursions. Can't praise the guy enough.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Full-Day Tour of the Yukon

Jane S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We had a thoroughly enjoyable day and saw some outstanding scenery. Our driver/tour leader, Connor, was extremely knowlegable and interesting young man. We enjoyed our lunch at Carcross, and even met a young Australian working in the gift shop there!!
We also enjoyed Skagway itself as we walked through the town and back to our ship.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Full-Day Tour of the Yukon

Roberta H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The grandchildren all loved this tour, especially panning for gold. They thought they were all going to get rich, and then quickly realized how hard it was to search for the little flakes of gold in the water. The staff was very patient and nice, especially since one grand child is very ADD and asks a million questions. Every question was answered with good humor and the staff never acted annoyed at the rambunctious antics of the children. The food was so so, but we weren't really there for the food, just the experience.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Liarsville Gold Rush Camp, Gold Panning and Salmon Bake Combo

Carl H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Driver/tour guide was very good.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Full-Day Tour of the Yukon

John S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

A good guide can make a trip like that and ours was excellent, I would add we were lucky with the weather. The trip can only serve to make you hold in awe the early prospectors who went on the trail.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Chilkoot Trail Hike and Float Tour

ptbrown5015

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great! Really glad we booked this trip instead of the train trip. We were able to get off the coach and take pictures at multiple stops. The scenery was beautiful. Our driver/guide was very knowledgeable. We went much further into the Yukon than we would have gone by train. Our driver was flexible about drop off and pick up points ship or downtown.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Half-Day Tour to the Yukon Border

dawn b

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was the ighlight of our visit to Alaska. The weather was perfect and Brooke our guide made this fun and very informative. She new the history of the trail, Skagway and the area. She was able to speak to topics of history, herbal medicine and Alaska politics that wove into the beauty of our hike and float. I've never been on a river raft and it was amazingly relaxing, safe and again filled with breath taking views. We didn't see any animals or birds large than a red squirrel but you can't schedule nature. this is a trip not to miss if in Skagway. The hike was a little tough for since we're not the most active types but Brooke moved at good comfortable pace and kept a close eye on us. At the end of the float we were met by the rest of the crew with some amazing snacks and friendly banter. Thanks for a great trip.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Chilkoot Trail Hike and Float Tour

dawn b

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was the ighlight of our visit to Alaska. The weather was perfect and Brooke our guide made this fun and very informative. She new the history of the trail, Skagway and the area. She was able to speak to topics of history, herbal medicine and Alaska politics that wove into the beauty of our hike and float. I've never been on a river raft and it was amazingly relaxing, safe and again filled with breath taking views. We didn't see any animals or birds large than a red squirrel but you can't schedule nature. this is a trip not to miss if in Skagway. The hike was a little tough for since we're not the most active types but Brooke moved at good comfortable pace and kept a close eye on us. At the end of the float we were met by the rest of the crew with some amazing snacks and friendly banter. Thanks for a great trip.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Chilkoot Trail Hike and Float Tour

Mike B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We had a fantastic trip with great weather and a fantastic, very knowledgeable guide to experience the beauty of nature and the history and legacy of all the gold rush era. It was truly a trip of a life time and one that should be on every one's bucket list.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Full-Day Tour of the Yukon

Gwen N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Brook was our tour guide. She was fantastic. We could not ask for a better tour guide than her. We definitely will recommend to our friends. Thank you!

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Full-Day Tour of the Yukon

Michael R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

great trip, very scenic. our guide was outstanding

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Full-Day Tour of the Yukon

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message