Skagway ATTRACTIONS See all

Skagway Cruise Port

Nowadays Skagway is a scenic Alaskan cruise port, but 100 years ago it was the rough and ready gateway to the gold fields of the Klondike. The gold-era history is tangible in Skagway, where downtown’s restored buildings form part of the Klondike ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 623 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Emily A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

It was a great hike and float. Our guide was nice, knowledgeable and fun. Nothing but good things to say!

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Chilkoot Trail Hike and Float Tour

Jessica T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great trip. Very informative and interesting guide. Photo stops at every opportunity.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Full-Day Tour of the Yukon

Shauna B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Beautiful country, loved heading into the Yukon Territory. It was fairly foggy on the day of our tour, so some of the views from the train were obscured. However, the bus driver on the way back into Skagway did his best to ensure we still saw many of the things pointed out on the train up close before returning. James was very philosophical in his musings, and really enhanced the experience.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Bennett Train Journey on the White Pass Rail

Lauren G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Excellent trip! A short but challenging two mile hike on rooty and rocky terrain through the woods followed by a leisurely float down the river where all you need to do is enjoy the beautiful scenery. Unfortunately we saw no wildlife. The closest we got to seeing a bear was skat on the trail!
Our guide Brooke was amazing! She is a native Alaskan and was so knowledgeable regarding the history of the Chilkoot trail as well as, the wild plants we passed along the way. Under her guidance, we able to taste many of the wild berries and learn the medicinal purposes for several plants growing on the mountains.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Chilkoot Trail Hike and Float Tour

Constance L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great trip! We really enjoyed the ride with lots of beauty to see, and all narrated by our great driver Mike. Good value and we highly recommend this excursion.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Half-Day Tour to the Yukon Border

Donald A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

A great excursion. Tour guide met us at the ship and stayed with us until the tour concluded and dropped us off in town or would have taken us back to the ship. The group was small a total of 5 and made for a great tour. The guide was knowledgeable and well trained on the float. I would recommend taking this excursion.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Chilkoot Trail Hike and Float Tour

REID B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We had a great time on the hike and float. Gan was a great guide and gave us great flora and fauna information, as well as history of the area as we were hiking. The float was very fun as the river was up and carried us down the river rather swiftly. We saw 4 bald eagles nesting by the river.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Chilkoot Trail Hike and Float Tour

Bonnie B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Brooke was great and so informative about things in the Yukon. She showed us amazing things and we took great pictures. Lunch was included at Caribou Crossing and the donuts were fantastic and we got to play with the Husky puppies. Recommend this trip it is a great price for amount of time and things we saw.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Full-Day Tour of the Yukon

Susan R Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Excellent driver and guide - gorgeous scenery.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Half-Day Tour to the Yukon Border

Lillian A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our tour guide was Brooke. She was fantastic, funny and informative and never ran out of stories. I liked the smaller bus, it felt more personal. Our group had people from three different cruise ships, but the way that our guide worked, we felt we were all there together as a group, not just tourists.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: White Pass Summit and Skagway City Tour

Deborah R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This excursion was fantastic. Knowledgeable, friendly guide who truly showed her passion in sharing the beauty of this tour.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Half-Day Tour to the Yukon Border

nanajeh49

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The tour and driver was excellent. Unfortunately, the weather did not cooperate as low clouds kept the visibility sub par. But the tour itself and information given was excellent!

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Half-Day Tour to the Yukon Border

Marian W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Awesome tour and tour guide! We did the train 2 years ago, and this is by far a superior tour. We saw more, got to stop and make pictures of beautiful mountains, waterfalls, scenery, etc. Tour guide was Connor who did an outstanding job. Highly recommend this unless you just want to ride a train. The train goes along beside the mountain and then turns around and comes back. No stops for pictures or anything until the top. Then, you stand up, flip the seats, and swap sides of the train so folks who were only seeing the side of a mountain on the way up get a chance to see the views you saw on the way up. We made multiple stops on this tour, had time to make awesome pictures, received very interesting information about the area from Connor, and were able to get family pictures with beautiful background with Connor's help with the camera. Again, HIGHLY recommend this tour!

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Half-Day Tour to the Yukon Border

Erwin H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Nice to hear of the adventures and living during the gold rush.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: White Pass Summit and Skagway City Tour

Orla D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

JJ was a wonderful guide and gave a very interesting commentary. We had lots of stops for taking photos in beautiful spots as well as at The Alaska and Welcome to the Yukon Signs. The weather was beautiful and JJ stopped when she saw a bear with its baby . I got photos ! This tour is great value and you get to see much more than on the train AND you have plenty of photo ops. A fantastic day!

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Half-Day Tour to the Yukon Border

JayBee

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

A brilliant trip and would definitely recommend it - a light hearted view of days gone by and just the right sort of tour amidst a heavy touring holiday schedule.
We were picked up near where our ship docked promptly and driven out to Liarsville - we were the only passengers. There we were met by Miss Molly - a 'lady of the night'. She gave us a personal tour of the camp as other guests had not arrived yet.
We saw the tents laid out as they would have been during the mining days, saw the different types of activities the miners experienced, together with tools of the trade. We visited the gift shop which was well stocked, When the other gursts arrived by bus we went straight over to the BBQ meal. This was amazing - so much food - chicken, salmon, salads and veg. blueberry cake for dessert to follow. During the meal a man played the guitar and sang folk songs. Soft drinks were available but alcoholic ones could be purchased from the saloon at a reasonable price.
Following this we were entertained by the 3 'ladies of the night' together with a man on a guitar - this was quaint and funny. We were also showed how to pan for gold.
Then it was our turn - it was more difficult than I thought but did eventually find a very small amount planted prior to our visit!! which we were allowed to keep. We were told it had the value of a Mars Bar.!!!
The rest of our time was spent looking around further and chatting to Miss Molly, who told us that a grizzly bear had walked into their camp 2 weeks prior. It was eating the dandelions there and then wandered around drunk!!
All in all a very enjoyable experience - definitely recommend it for all ages if you want to have some fun. Good value for money.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Liarsville Gold Rush Camp, Gold Panning and Salmon Bake Combo

pamela j

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Excellent and informative. Comfortable bus for the journey. My friends booked their Yukon excursion through the cruise line. They paid double what I paid for the same excursion.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Half-Day Tour to the Yukon Border

Constance D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our tour guide Kevin (on the way to the train) was the best ever! We had the best tour ever. He was informative and fun ! Our narrator on the train was great too! This was the very best tour we have ever taken in our travels!

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Bennett Train Journey on the White Pass Rail

Sondra M D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

our guide was very knowledgeable ,polite. we able to a mother black bear and Cubs and cinnamon bear . I would go again.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Half-Day Tour to the Yukon Border

Ellen L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Excellent. From the agent handling the order to the completion of the trip.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Scenic River Float Tour

coralie.pieper

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Wonderful excursion. Highly recommend this trip for lovers of hiking and river rafting. Absolutely gorgeous part of the world. Our guide was so informative.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Chilkoot Trail Hike and Float Tour

Tisha C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Mike was awesome!!!! Great tour.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Full-Day Tour of the Yukon

David R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Beautiful - this trip made our entire stay while on vacation in Alaska! We saw bears that was so exciting. We saw views that were amazing. We loved this tour! Totally worth it. I would do it again, with my husband one day. Also, we loved that we were able to capture more stamps in our passports!

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Full-Day Tour of the Yukon

wavifig

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great experience, very scenic and informative. Just wished we would have had more time in town to explore once we got back from the Yukon but that's not Viator's fault. We just need to go back because we're not finished there yet: Wonderful tour guide and just a 5-star day. Great weather too!

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Full-Day Tour of the Yukon

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message