Skagway ATTRACTIONS See all

Skagway Overlook

For stunning views over Skagway and its environs, take a scenic drive along the road to Dyea and follow the turnoff to the Overlook. The viewing platform at the Skagway Overlook takes in the town of Skagway, waterways and surrounding peaks dusted ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 165 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Shauna B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Beautiful country, loved heading into the Yukon Territory. It was fairly foggy on the day of our tour, so some of the views from the train were obscured. However, the bus driver on the way back into Skagway did his best to ensure we still saw many of the things pointed out on the train up close before returning. James was very philosophical in his musings, and really enhanced the experience.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Bennett Train Journey on the White Pass Rail

Lillian A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our tour guide was Brooke. She was fantastic, funny and informative and never ran out of stories. I liked the smaller bus, it felt more personal. Our group had people from three different cruise ships, but the way that our guide worked, we felt we were all there together as a group, not just tourists.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: White Pass Summit and Skagway City Tour

Erwin H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Nice to hear of the adventures and living during the gold rush.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: White Pass Summit and Skagway City Tour

Constance D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our tour guide Kevin (on the way to the train) was the best ever! We had the best tour ever. He was informative and fun ! Our narrator on the train was great too! This was the very best tour we have ever taken in our travels!

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Bennett Train Journey on the White Pass Rail

tony s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Tomas was a great tour guide. Very informative and great sense of humor. Nice size of group- much better than big bus.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: White Pass Summit and Skagway City Tour

Dcarey002

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

The excursion was great. The price was a little high. If you are cruising, try to stay with the cruise excursion.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Bennett Train Journey on the White Pass Rail

Marion B

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Good guide. Pity not a clear day

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: White Pass Summit and Skagway City Tour

vshorten

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

What a beautiful part of the world, the salmon lunch was beautiful although the restaurant was understaffed so a little disorganised. Great views great weather.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: White Pass Summit and Skagway City Tour

Irene D

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2016

Not really much to see in Skagway. On a sunnier day, the downtown i'm sure is very nice.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: White Pass Summit and Skagway City Tour

Sandra H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We have a lot to thank the founding fathers for. A memorable experience. I recommend this tour as a must.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Bennett Train Journey on the White Pass Rail

Cynthia H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The tour was very interesting and fun, due in large part to the tour guide , Connor. He was well informed, upbeat and friendly.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: White Pass Summit and Skagway City Tour

Archiba3

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Wonderful price. The ship would have charged double. Beautiful scenery and lots of stops for pictures which you can't do on the train.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: White Pass Summit and Skagway City Tour

Kevin B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Beautiful breath taking sights. Great tour guide. Lots of energy and very knowledgeable. Very professional and well organized.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: White Pass Summit and Skagway City Tour

wili

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

It was a very nice trip, with great views of the mountians. It does get a little long and there's nothing much in Bennet. We were very fortunate to have had amazingly good weather the entire day. I think if it had been cloudy or rainy the trip would have been a complete fail. The bus trip back was fun and our tour guide driver was great.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Bennett Train Journey on the White Pass Rail

frost.pd

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was fantastic. Our guide, Beverly, was very knowledgeable and friendly. She gave us plenty of opportunities to stop and take photos. I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: White Pass Summit and Skagway City Tour

David B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great sights with very knowledgable guide - even got yo see a bear really close up!!!

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: White Pass Summit and Skagway City Tour

Mara V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I booked this excursion as my mom had been to Skagway before and loved it but had not seen the White Pass Summit. This was my first time to Skagway so had not seen either and was looking forward to it. Thanks to JJ for making it great!
We were impressed with Frontier Excursions and Adventures from the start and JJ made us feel valued and comfortable. She clearly loves Skagway and her job and wants everyone else to enjoy Skagway as much as she does.
We know time did not permit but had it done we would have loved to have seen and learned more of the town in the town.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: White Pass Summit and Skagway City Tour

Christina L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

J.J. was Great!!! She was so knowledgeable and friendly. She was willing to stop anywhere if we asked. She stopped so we could get pictures of a baby bear that was eating by the side of the road. She was so friendly and took pictures for everyone so they could have a picture of themselves by the Alaska sign even though she was freezing because she forgot her coat. We really enjoyed this tour because of her. Thanks J.J.!!!

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: White Pass Summit and Skagway City Tour

Linda S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I really liked this tour. The tour guide was very knowledgeable and friendly. He worked hard to give us some personal experiences. Small group so it was like a private tour. I would recommend this to my family and friends.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: White Pass Summit and Skagway City Tour

grandmacott

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We had a wonderful time on our tour. Our guide was not only knowledgeable but very friendly and willing to answer all of our questions. When we saw the bear he stopped and waited for as long as we all wanted to get good pictures! He even played with the kids in the snow. We all had a great time and I recommended this tour to my sister who is coming up next week! Thanks for hiring great drivers!!

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: White Pass Summit and Skagway City Tour

Angelina P United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent tour. Tomas is great!

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: White Pass Summit and Skagway City Tour

Maria Belen C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Could not agree more with the reviews that made me decide to get this tour

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: White Pass Summit and Skagway City Tour

W Warren H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Just a gorgeous train ride and comfortable bus ride including Emerald Lake! Great guide who was right on time and very informative. This was a great use of out time!!

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Bennett Train Journey on the White Pass Rail

Christopher G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our excursion was great and our tour guide Jessica was awesome! My family of seven fell in love with Skagway and all the beautiful scenery. Did I mention that our guide was awesome? Jessica was extremely knowledgable, entertaining, and funny and made the tour even better. This was by far the best excursion on our Alaska cruise.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: White Pass Summit and Skagway City Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message