Skagway ATTRACTIONS See all

Skagway Overlook

For stunning views over Skagway and its environs, take a scenic drive along the road to Dyea and follow the turnoff to the Overlook. The viewing platform at the Skagway Overlook takes in the town of Skagway, waterways and surrounding peaks dusted ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 176 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

JUSTYNE H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Great value for the money! Very scenic and allowed for many stops for picture taking. Stopped at an unusual cemetary but I only wished we were informed that there was a waterfall at the top which only a few persons got to see. Skagway was beautiful and a great alternative tour to the train ride at half the cost! I had no regrets about my choice for this tour.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: White Pass Summit and Skagway City Tour

Michelle United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Great way to see Skagway and the white pass is taking the train isn't your cup of tea. Good sized group and very responsive guide.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: White Pass Summit and Skagway City Tour

Amanda4mosa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Would highly recommend! The scenery was breathtaking! The staff was knowledgeable and made sure we saw all the points of interest. The self-guided tour of Bennett was nice and Bennet lake is beautiful! I would do this trip all over again!

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Bennett Train Journey on the White Pass Rail

Simon L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Possibly the highlight of our trip. The tour is organised with Chilkoot Tours, who pick you up at the bottom of the gangplank. We were then introduced to Larry, who is larger than life and full of knowledge about Alaska. A short drive takes you to the station where you pick up your train. We were allocated the last carriage, which gave us access to the open air standing deck at the back. The first part of the journey was in low cloud, which meant that we didn't have the views, but it seemed to add to the atmosphere. As we climbed we left the cloud behind and the weather was clear and quite warm.
The history of this line is fascinating and it is worth listening to the narration.

Bennett Station and museum really lets you realise how desperate or maybe greedy these men were. The hardship was horrendous and only a limited number were set to succeed. Don't miss the view point up the hill past the church - simply stunning.

After lunch on the move by Bennett Lake, we met Larry again in Carcross, who took us back by bus to Skagway, stopping at various points to take pictures. At one point to visit a bear feeding on berries by the road. We got back about 1.5 hours before our ship was due to leave so we had an opportunity to look around Skagway. A great day all round. However beware of Viator, who gave us the wrong pick up time for the tour on our voucher and we would have missed it if I hadn't checked it with Chilkoot Tours. I would recommend booking direct with them.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Bennett Train Journey on the White Pass Rail

munno

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

My husband and I had a wonderful experience on this excursion. Our tour guide, Connor, was pleasant, informative and patient. We could not have asked for better weather. The temperature was comfortable, and the sky was clear and blue. We made several stops along the way, which gave us the opportunity to take pictures and really enjoy the sights. We had a memorable experience!

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: White Pass Summit and Skagway City Tour

Liane L USA

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2016

Very disappointing. The guide was very nice but we heard her entire lifes story and her families. A bit too much about her and should have been more about the area. I could care less where she went to school or grew up since it wasn't Alaska!
The gloomy, rainy day didn't help.
I have had better tour guides from Viator!

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: White Pass Summit and Skagway City Tour

Shauna B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Beautiful country, loved heading into the Yukon Territory. It was fairly foggy on the day of our tour, so some of the views from the train were obscured. However, the bus driver on the way back into Skagway did his best to ensure we still saw many of the things pointed out on the train up close before returning. James was very philosophical in his musings, and really enhanced the experience.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Bennett Train Journey on the White Pass Rail

Lillian A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our tour guide was Brooke. She was fantastic, funny and informative and never ran out of stories. I liked the smaller bus, it felt more personal. Our group had people from three different cruise ships, but the way that our guide worked, we felt we were all there together as a group, not just tourists.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: White Pass Summit and Skagway City Tour

Erwin H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Nice to hear of the adventures and living during the gold rush.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: White Pass Summit and Skagway City Tour

Constance D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our tour guide Kevin (on the way to the train) was the best ever! We had the best tour ever. He was informative and fun ! Our narrator on the train was great too! This was the very best tour we have ever taken in our travels!

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Bennett Train Journey on the White Pass Rail

tony s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Tomas was a great tour guide. Very informative and great sense of humor. Nice size of group- much better than big bus.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: White Pass Summit and Skagway City Tour

ghcook1

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

It was a great experience , Scenes lovely breathtaking crew were fantastic drivers were great. Exceptional value

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Bennett Train Journey on the White Pass Rail

ghcook1

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

It was a great experience , Scenes lovely breathtaking crew were fantastic drivers were great. Exceptional value

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Bennett Train Journey on the White Pass Rail

Gary54

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

My wife and I really enjoyed the tour even if it was foggy JJ was very informative and fun to have as a tour guide. Enjoyed getting out and seeing the water fall and the history of Skagway, what and amazing history and some of the people that were in the town. Thanks again to JJ for a wonderful time. I would recommend this tour for any and everyone.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: White Pass Summit and Skagway City Tour

Paula B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

What a beautiful place. Naturally stunning with vistas second to none. Tabitha was both informative and amusing during our tour. A great way to see a most wonderful part of our world.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: White Pass Summit and Skagway City Tour

Dcarey002

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

The excursion was great. The price was a little high. If you are cruising, try to stay with the cruise excursion.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Bennett Train Journey on the White Pass Rail

Marion B

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Good guide. Pity not a clear day

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: White Pass Summit and Skagway City Tour

vshorten

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

What a beautiful part of the world, the salmon lunch was beautiful although the restaurant was understaffed so a little disorganised. Great views great weather.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: White Pass Summit and Skagway City Tour

Irene D

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2016

Not really much to see in Skagway. On a sunnier day, the downtown i'm sure is very nice.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: White Pass Summit and Skagway City Tour

Sandra H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We have a lot to thank the founding fathers for. A memorable experience. I recommend this tour as a must.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Bennett Train Journey on the White Pass Rail

Cynthia H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The tour was very interesting and fun, due in large part to the tour guide , Connor. He was well informed, upbeat and friendly.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: White Pass Summit and Skagway City Tour

Archiba3

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Wonderful price. The ship would have charged double. Beautiful scenery and lots of stops for pictures which you can't do on the train.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: White Pass Summit and Skagway City Tour

Kevin B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Beautiful breath taking sights. Great tour guide. Lots of energy and very knowledgeable. Very professional and well organized.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: White Pass Summit and Skagway City Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message