Skagway ATTRACTIONS See all

White Pass and Yukon Railroad

Taking a ride on the narrow-gauge White Pass and Yukon Railroad is a fun way to see spectacular historic scenery from a train inching up steep tracks that were carved out of the side of the mountains. A number of routes take you through White ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 46 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Craig V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Panning for gold was a waste of time. The bus trip was interesting - we saw goats on the mountain, along with beautiful waterfalls.

Doing what: White Pass Deluxe Tour from Skagway

Elizabeth S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The tour was great - went through the city up to the summit - lots of stops along the
way for pictures. In my opinion, much better than the train as you get to stop and takes pictures
and get a city tour included.

Doing what: White Pass Deluxe Tour from Skagway

Ed K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The driver was very colorful and knowledgeable, the scenery was wonderful, the price was great, and the group was small. It parallels the course of the train, stops frequently for pictures, and is about a quarter of the price. Even though it was rainy/misty the whole time not unusual and we couldn't see much at several of the overlooks, it was still a fabulous tour.

Doing what: White Pass Deluxe Tour from Skagway

Kim B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our tour guide, Joe, was the best!!!! He was so very knowledgeable about the area and we learned so much. We thoroughly enjoyed this tour.....we even got to see a bear!!!

Doing what: White Pass Deluxe Tour from Skagway

Nancy T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We LOVED this tour. We've been on the White Pass train before and it's gorgeous but we wanted something more active -- we liked the fact that you're in a small tour bus with only about a dozen people, that you'll get in and out a few times, and have the chance to talk to the guide, ask questions, etc. And it didn't hurt that this option is MUCH less expensive than the train. The scenery was spectacular we even saw the train snaking along the mountain and the stories were very entertaining. In two places those who wanted to went on a small, easy hike. Our guide Jack was fantastic. Toward the end we stopped at an overlook with gorgeous views of the ships in port. The only bad part was that two people on our tour did not bring their passports and so the guide was unable to take us into Canada ... I can only imagine the beautiful scenery we missed out on. Please, folks, if you do go on this tour, remember to bring your passports to get the whole experience!

Doing what: White Pass Deluxe Tour from Skagway

Angela C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This tour was less than the price of what would have been covered in two excursions through the cruise line. Our guide was very knowledgeable, funny and patient with everyone. Highly recommend this tour company to spend your time well in Skagway!

Doing what: White Pass Deluxe Tour from Skagway

mary k

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Joe picked us up on time, told us great stories about the gold rush times, the town, and took us on the rout to Canada. The weather was not great , but he helped us with photos , stopped at all the waterfalls, and made the trip fun!

Doing what: White Pass Deluxe Tour from Skagway

lorna g

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was the highlight of my trip. The scenery was breathtaking and the convenience of van travel with the opportunity to get out and take pictures and drink in the views was priceless. The driver/guide was enlightening and entertaining.

Doing what: White Pass Deluxe Tour from Skagway

Virginia K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was a great tour and our guide was so knowledgeable and wonderful.

Doing what: White Pass Deluxe Tour from Skagway

Elaine M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

It was very informative and fun. Our driver was very knowledgable and humorous. He made many stops for scenic viewing.

Doing what: White Pass Deluxe Tour from Skagway

Alyssa E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We went on this tour in July of 2016. We did this tour on our own when our cruise docked in Skagway. We walked around the town before we met for our tour. Joe I believe his name was was fantastic! He was the best tour guide that we had hands down. He was an older gentleman, I can't remember his name. He knew so much about Skagway, all of our stops and had some fun mementos that he passed around, from working in Skagway over the years. We would recommend this tour and our guide. Even though it was misty, windy and overcast, we still had some gorgeous photos from the excursion.

Doing what: White Pass Deluxe Tour from Skagway

sorensonfamily

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great value!! Very relaxing on a small bus. Great tour with lots of stops to take amazing pictures. Guide was top rate, friendly and very knowledgeable.

Doing what: White Pass Deluxe Tour from Skagway

Ann K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Friendly staff. Priced right. Informative guide. Excellent sites.

Doing what: White Pass Deluxe Tour from Skagway

Wayne D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The tour guides were wonderful. We got to see humpback whales seals and bald eagles up close! A whales came right beside of our boat and flipped its tail up out of the water! I wish I was quick enough to get a picture but I was thrilled that we got to see one so up close. Definitely, recommend.

Doing what: White Pass Deluxe Tour from Skagway

Peter Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our tour guide/driver made sure we didn and #39;t miss any of the highlights on this trip, and there were many.

Doing what: White Pass Deluxe Tour from Skagway

O.Z. H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our driver was very informative about the area! We stopped at Liarsville , which was so interesting ! We also stopped at waterfalls and other photo opts, I know everyone likes the train but I think this is better !

Doing what: White Pass Deluxe Tour from Skagway

Craig S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great scenery. Great guide, Eric. We had a splendid day.

Doing what: White Pass Deluxe Tour from Skagway

Sangita P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Wonderful tour.. the tour guide was knowledge, engaging and fun! We had my 12 year old nephew with us and he enjoyed the tour just as much as we did.

Doing what: White Pass Deluxe Tour from Skagway

Jerome H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Nice tour-rally good tour guideEric-got to see a lot of sites of beautiful Alaska

Doing what: White Pass Deluxe Tour from Skagway

jillmblackstock

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The tour was amazing! Our guide was very knowledgable and entertaining. It was the highlight of our trip to Skagway. We would definitely recommend it! Thank you Klondike Tours!

Doing what: White Pass Deluxe Tour from Skagway

Kathy E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Fantastic Experience beautiful drive! Our tour guide, Joe was fantastic. We saw some parts of Alaska and learned some great history. I had forgotten a lot about History and the Gold Rush until it all came flooding back in his narrative. What a beautiful place to visit, and a great way to see it

Doing what: White Pass Deluxe Tour from Skagway

Allison E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

amazing experience, 100 recommend!

Doing what: White Pass Deluxe Tour from Skagway

Charles K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We were fortunate enough to get Boston Joe as our Driver/Guide. Joe was full of fascinating historical information and great stories of the area. The tour covered the downtown, Gold Rush Cemetery, Liarsville, White Pass Summit and more. We stopped at waterfalls, overlooks and the famous Alaska Sign. Joe even proved his worth as a great photographer. This tour was way cheaper than the one offered through the cruise line and the small bus allowed for quick loading and moving about. This is a definite must do when in Skagway!

Doing what: White Pass Deluxe Tour from Skagway

Bill M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great tour. Our tour guide was great. He was very knowledgeable and you can tell he really likes his job. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: White Pass Deluxe Tour from Skagway

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message