Make Skagway your base to follow in the footsteps of the Tlingit people and the gold prospectors who headed off from the port to the Yukon in the roaring days of the 1890s. Tour the 100 century-old wooden buildings of the restored downtown, visit a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 199 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Emily A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

It was a great hike and float. Our guide was nice, knowledgeable and fun. Nothing but good things to say!

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Chilkoot Trail Hike and Float Tour

Lauren G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Excellent trip! A short but challenging two mile hike on rooty and rocky terrain through the woods followed by a leisurely float down the river where all you need to do is enjoy the beautiful scenery. Unfortunately we saw no wildlife. The closest we got to seeing a bear was skat on the trail!
Our guide Brooke was amazing! She is a native Alaskan and was so knowledgeable regarding the history of the Chilkoot trail as well as, the wild plants we passed along the way. Under her guidance, we able to taste many of the wild berries and learn the medicinal purposes for several plants growing on the mountains.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Chilkoot Trail Hike and Float Tour

Constance L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great trip! We really enjoyed the ride with lots of beauty to see, and all narrated by our great driver Mike. Good value and we highly recommend this excursion.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Half-Day Tour to the Yukon Border

Donald A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

A great excursion. Tour guide met us at the ship and stayed with us until the tour concluded and dropped us off in town or would have taken us back to the ship. The group was small a total of 5 and made for a great tour. The guide was knowledgeable and well trained on the float. I would recommend taking this excursion.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Chilkoot Trail Hike and Float Tour

REID B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We had a great time on the hike and float. Gan was a great guide and gave us great flora and fauna information, as well as history of the area as we were hiking. The float was very fun as the river was up and carried us down the river rather swiftly. We saw 4 bald eagles nesting by the river.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Chilkoot Trail Hike and Float Tour

Susan R Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Excellent driver and guide - gorgeous scenery.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Half-Day Tour to the Yukon Border

Deborah R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This excursion was fantastic. Knowledgeable, friendly guide who truly showed her passion in sharing the beauty of this tour.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Half-Day Tour to the Yukon Border

nanajeh49

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The tour and driver was excellent. Unfortunately, the weather did not cooperate as low clouds kept the visibility sub par. But the tour itself and information given was excellent!

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Half-Day Tour to the Yukon Border

Marian W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Awesome tour and tour guide! We did the train 2 years ago, and this is by far a superior tour. We saw more, got to stop and make pictures of beautiful mountains, waterfalls, scenery, etc. Tour guide was Connor who did an outstanding job. Highly recommend this unless you just want to ride a train. The train goes along beside the mountain and then turns around and comes back. No stops for pictures or anything until the top. Then, you stand up, flip the seats, and swap sides of the train so folks who were only seeing the side of a mountain on the way up get a chance to see the views you saw on the way up. We made multiple stops on this tour, had time to make awesome pictures, received very interesting information about the area from Connor, and were able to get family pictures with beautiful background with Connor's help with the camera. Again, HIGHLY recommend this tour!

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Half-Day Tour to the Yukon Border

Orla D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

JJ was a wonderful guide and gave a very interesting commentary. We had lots of stops for taking photos in beautiful spots as well as at The Alaska and Welcome to the Yukon Signs. The weather was beautiful and JJ stopped when she saw a bear with its baby . I got photos ! This tour is great value and you get to see much more than on the train AND you have plenty of photo ops. A fantastic day!

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Half-Day Tour to the Yukon Border

pamela j

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Excellent and informative. Comfortable bus for the journey. My friends booked their Yukon excursion through the cruise line. They paid double what I paid for the same excursion.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Half-Day Tour to the Yukon Border

Sondra M D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

our guide was very knowledgeable ,polite. we able to a mother black bear and Cubs and cinnamon bear . I would go again.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Half-Day Tour to the Yukon Border

Ellen L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Excellent. From the agent handling the order to the completion of the trip.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Scenic River Float Tour

coralie.pieper

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Wonderful excursion. Highly recommend this trip for lovers of hiking and river rafting. Absolutely gorgeous part of the world. Our guide was so informative.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Chilkoot Trail Hike and Float Tour

Denise C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

I highly recommend this tour. It is so much better than the train tour which does not allow you to get on and off the train to take photos or view anything more than is visible from the train. Our driver Brooke was fabulous. Knowledgeable, professional, humorous and determined to provide us with the best experience possible. We had several bear sightings to make it even more special. We were able to stop and take photos at several vantage points along the way. The small bus was comfortable and easy to hop on and off. The rendezvous at the ship went smoothly and we had no issues whatsoever. Viator makes it simple to book a tour and our experiences have been excellent.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Half-Day Tour to the Yukon Border

lisabeif66

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

5 Stars. Our driver / guide Mike was awesome. He was full of knowledge, super fun and made our 4 hours a blast. We stopped a number of times along the way to get signs of the Welcome to Alaska and Yukon signs, along with at the Canadian border, the suspension bridge, a waterfall, and a few other areas. We had a great day.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Half-Day Tour to the Yukon Border

larry_almasy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Patrick was great tour guide. The sights and history and opportunities for photographs were fantastic. The lunch was good with good service considering that the restaurant was packed.

Doing what: Skagway City and White Pass Summit Tour with Lunch

Denese E

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

We enjoyed the tour, our guide was very informative, knowledgeable and pleasant. The scenery was beautiful and we would definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Half-Day Tour to the Yukon Border

tcbcshopping United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Luckily we had great weather. The hike is pretty strenuous not recommended for those out of shape or having balance problems.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Chilkoot Trail Hike and Float Tour

Duey97

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Awesome from start to finish!!! Bob is the perfect guide for the tour and was a bundle of information.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Chilkoot Trail Hike and Float Tour

Glenda G G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This excursion was the highlight of the day! John was an excellent tour guide giving interesting information along the way and just plain fun to be with! Scenery was breathtaking!

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Half-Day Tour to the Yukon Border

Carl H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Sam was great. He was very knowledgeable about the plants and history of the area. A hike and a float give you two perspectives and some excellent views.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Chilkoot Trail Hike and Float Tour

Ruth L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The tour guide was great! He shared about the areas we were driving through, the history of the area, and his own experiences in the area. The sites were amazing! The weather was beautiful! I appreciated being able to stop at many of the sites along the was to take pictures.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Half-Day Tour to the Yukon Border

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message