Make Skagway your base to follow in the footsteps of the Tlingit people and the gold prospectors who headed off from the port to the Yukon in the roaring days of the 1890s. Tour the 100 century-old wooden buildings of the restored downtown, visit a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 207 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Steven G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

great scenery great guide Becca.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Scenic River Float Tour

Steven G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our driver/guide was knowledgeable and made the fairly long ride informative and enjoyable

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Half-Day Tour to the Yukon Border

James V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

mike was our driver/guide. very informative with great sense of humor. many stops with great views..we had a great day.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Half-Day Tour to the Yukon Border

Michael M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The shore excursion more than met our expectations. A good guide, who was not only personable, but knowledgeable. The excellent weather helped as regards scenery and unfortunately the very rare sighting of our four legged friends. That said, still a very good day and would rate as value for money.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Half-Day Tour to the Yukon Border

John S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

A good guide can make a trip like that and ours was excellent, I would add we were lucky with the weather. The trip can only serve to make you hold in awe the early prospectors who went on the trail.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Chilkoot Trail Hike and Float Tour

ptbrown5015

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great! Really glad we booked this trip instead of the train trip. We were able to get off the coach and take pictures at multiple stops. The scenery was beautiful. Our driver/guide was very knowledgeable. We went much further into the Yukon than we would have gone by train. Our driver was flexible about drop off and pick up points ship or downtown.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Half-Day Tour to the Yukon Border

dawn b

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was the ighlight of our visit to Alaska. The weather was perfect and Brooke our guide made this fun and very informative. She new the history of the trail, Skagway and the area. She was able to speak to topics of history, herbal medicine and Alaska politics that wove into the beauty of our hike and float. I've never been on a river raft and it was amazingly relaxing, safe and again filled with breath taking views. We didn't see any animals or birds large than a red squirrel but you can't schedule nature. this is a trip not to miss if in Skagway. The hike was a little tough for since we're not the most active types but Brooke moved at good comfortable pace and kept a close eye on us. At the end of the float we were met by the rest of the crew with some amazing snacks and friendly banter. Thanks for a great trip.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Chilkoot Trail Hike and Float Tour

dawn b

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was the ighlight of our visit to Alaska. The weather was perfect and Brooke our guide made this fun and very informative. She new the history of the trail, Skagway and the area. She was able to speak to topics of history, herbal medicine and Alaska politics that wove into the beauty of our hike and float. I've never been on a river raft and it was amazingly relaxing, safe and again filled with breath taking views. We didn't see any animals or birds large than a red squirrel but you can't schedule nature. this is a trip not to miss if in Skagway. The hike was a little tough for since we're not the most active types but Brooke moved at good comfortable pace and kept a close eye on us. At the end of the float we were met by the rest of the crew with some amazing snacks and friendly banter. Thanks for a great trip.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Chilkoot Trail Hike and Float Tour

swulkan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great scenic trip with many photographic stops at interesting places. Lasted about 4.5 hours. Van had about 12 people and a driver.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Half-Day Tour to the Yukon Border

swulkan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Beautiful, calm float down the river. Tour gives you rubber boots and lifevest. I got engaged at the end of the tour at the river bank. The tour guide Becca took dozens of photos as it happened.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Scenic River Float Tour

Emily A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

It was a great hike and float. Our guide was nice, knowledgeable and fun. Nothing but good things to say!

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Chilkoot Trail Hike and Float Tour

Lauren G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Excellent trip! A short but challenging two mile hike on rooty and rocky terrain through the woods followed by a leisurely float down the river where all you need to do is enjoy the beautiful scenery. Unfortunately we saw no wildlife. The closest we got to seeing a bear was skat on the trail!
Our guide Brooke was amazing! She is a native Alaskan and was so knowledgeable regarding the history of the Chilkoot trail as well as, the wild plants we passed along the way. Under her guidance, we able to taste many of the wild berries and learn the medicinal purposes for several plants growing on the mountains.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Chilkoot Trail Hike and Float Tour

Constance L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great trip! We really enjoyed the ride with lots of beauty to see, and all narrated by our great driver Mike. Good value and we highly recommend this excursion.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Half-Day Tour to the Yukon Border

Donald A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

A great excursion. Tour guide met us at the ship and stayed with us until the tour concluded and dropped us off in town or would have taken us back to the ship. The group was small a total of 5 and made for a great tour. The guide was knowledgeable and well trained on the float. I would recommend taking this excursion.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Chilkoot Trail Hike and Float Tour

REID B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We had a great time on the hike and float. Gan was a great guide and gave us great flora and fauna information, as well as history of the area as we were hiking. The float was very fun as the river was up and carried us down the river rather swiftly. We saw 4 bald eagles nesting by the river.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Chilkoot Trail Hike and Float Tour

Susan R Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Excellent driver and guide - gorgeous scenery.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Half-Day Tour to the Yukon Border

Deborah R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This excursion was fantastic. Knowledgeable, friendly guide who truly showed her passion in sharing the beauty of this tour.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Half-Day Tour to the Yukon Border

nanajeh49

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The tour and driver was excellent. Unfortunately, the weather did not cooperate as low clouds kept the visibility sub par. But the tour itself and information given was excellent!

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Half-Day Tour to the Yukon Border

Marian W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Awesome tour and tour guide! We did the train 2 years ago, and this is by far a superior tour. We saw more, got to stop and make pictures of beautiful mountains, waterfalls, scenery, etc. Tour guide was Connor who did an outstanding job. Highly recommend this unless you just want to ride a train. The train goes along beside the mountain and then turns around and comes back. No stops for pictures or anything until the top. Then, you stand up, flip the seats, and swap sides of the train so folks who were only seeing the side of a mountain on the way up get a chance to see the views you saw on the way up. We made multiple stops on this tour, had time to make awesome pictures, received very interesting information about the area from Connor, and were able to get family pictures with beautiful background with Connor's help with the camera. Again, HIGHLY recommend this tour!

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Half-Day Tour to the Yukon Border

Orla D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

JJ was a wonderful guide and gave a very interesting commentary. We had lots of stops for taking photos in beautiful spots as well as at The Alaska and Welcome to the Yukon Signs. The weather was beautiful and JJ stopped when she saw a bear with its baby . I got photos ! This tour is great value and you get to see much more than on the train AND you have plenty of photo ops. A fantastic day!

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Half-Day Tour to the Yukon Border

pamela j

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Excellent and informative. Comfortable bus for the journey. My friends booked their Yukon excursion through the cruise line. They paid double what I paid for the same excursion.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Half-Day Tour to the Yukon Border

Sondra M D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

our guide was very knowledgeable ,polite. we able to a mother black bear and Cubs and cinnamon bear . I would go again.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Half-Day Tour to the Yukon Border

Ellen L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Excellent. From the agent handling the order to the completion of the trip.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Scenic River Float Tour

coralie.pieper

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Wonderful excursion. Highly recommend this trip for lovers of hiking and river rafting. Absolutely gorgeous part of the world. Our guide was so informative.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Chilkoot Trail Hike and Float Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message