Make Skagway your base to follow in the footsteps of the Tlingit people and the gold prospectors who headed off from the port to the Yukon in the roaring days of the 1890s. Tour the 100 century-old wooden buildings of the restored downtown, visit a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 179 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Duey97

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Awesome from start to finish!!! Bob is the perfect guide for the tour and was a bundle of information.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Chilkoot Trail Hike and Float Tour

Glenda G G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This excursion was the highlight of the day! John was an excellent tour guide giving interesting information along the way and just plain fun to be with! Scenery was breathtaking!

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Half-Day Tour to the Yukon Border

Carl H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Sam was great. He was very knowledgeable about the plants and history of the area. A hike and a float give you two perspectives and some excellent views.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Chilkoot Trail Hike and Float Tour

Ruth L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The tour guide was great! He shared about the areas we were driving through, the history of the area, and his own experiences in the area. The sites were amazing! The weather was beautiful! I appreciated being able to stop at many of the sites along the was to take pictures.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Half-Day Tour to the Yukon Border

Jimmy S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Brook did a awesome job, could not have been any better.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Half-Day Tour to the Yukon Border

Barbara L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We had an excellent guide who was so knowledgeable and friendly. The hike was strenuous and the day was very warm but we were with a fun group. The float took a bit too long but overall it was a very good and challenging experience.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Chilkoot Trail Hike and Float Tour

ARLENE T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I think this bus tour is better than the train as we can get on and off for photos. Connor from Frontier Excursions gave us a really good rundown of the areas we went to, took our photos and even recited a poem for straight 5 minutes! Skagway is our favourite over Juneau and Ketchikan.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Half-Day Tour to the Yukon Border

pgturner465

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our tour guide Tabitha was awesome! she was full of stories and information and was most welcoming and friendly. we had only 6 total on the tour so it felt like a personal guided activity. the sights and scenery to the Yukon were awesome and she did a fantastic job in relating it all to us!

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Half-Day Tour to the Yukon Border

Michael J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Mike was our tour guide and he made the tour interesting, educational and fun! The scenery was spectacular. This was my 2nd time going on this tour and it was one of the highlights of our Alaskan cruise.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Half-Day Tour to the Yukon Border

curtpcol

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our guide Brook was perfect . She stopped many times for us to take pictures or just to get out and stretch out legs . Brook was full of information and was fun to be around .

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Half-Day Tour to the Yukon Border

Todd S

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Brian was a great guide. We had a group of 9, ages 9 to 78 and all seemed to enjoy the experience.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Chilkoot Trail Hike and Float Tour

brenda c

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Friendly guide with Interesting stories. Beautiful scenery.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Half-Day Tour to the Yukon Border

Linda S T

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

This tour was a wonderful but very challenging experience. I think that this hike is harder than was advertised with more down hill climbing than I expected. Otherwise, the guide was awesome and did no try to move us along any faster than we could handle. Just make sure you know that this hike is really for those in pretty good shape and can handle the rocks, roots and down hill climb. The float trip was magical. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Chilkoot Trail Hike and Float Tour

jude_gaz

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

This was a really good tour. We couldn't get on the train so we took the bus so to speak. Amazing scenery with Connor as our very knowledgeable guide. I would recommend this tour as there were some great stops for photos.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Half-Day Tour to the Yukon Border

gfraz27

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Guide was personable and funny. Nice tour although did not go into Yukon as suggested in advertising. Lunch at local restaurant was very good.

Doing what: Skagway City and White Pass Summit Tour with Lunch

Velda J

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

We did not see much wildlife(sheep with binoculars) so maybe you should not advertise that as part of the trip. We enjoyed the tour and John was AMAZING!

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Half-Day Tour to the Yukon Border

Randal H

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

Rush to the finish line! Although our guide tried repeatedly to pause the group and tell us about the forest and edible plants, most of the group was on an athletic outing and wanted only to reach the finish line. My wife and I struggled to keep up and were not able to enjoy the time in the forest. The place was beautiful, and worthy of pausing and looking at it.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Chilkoot Trail Hike and Float Tour

Robert P

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2016

Fabulous day! Small group, beautiful hike through rainforest and our guide helped us over the steep parts........and we needed it! Sonia and Robert

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Chilkoot Trail Hike and Float Tour

David G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour, run by Frontier Tours, was really good. We saw magnificent scenery and made numerous photo stops. T -Bone, our driver, was friendly, humorous, well informed, and made the trip a lot of fun. Would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Half-Day Tour to the Yukon Border

Alison K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was wonderful. 7 Bears and 1 Caribou!! And 1 wonderful guide named Mike!!!!
Mike told us wonderful stories, gave us many photo opportunities and stops and best of all, we saw bears!!!! The weather was perfect - sun shining, blue sky, wonderful reflections. A truly memorable day.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Half-Day Tour to the Yukon Border

Marnie Thao N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great great hike! Beautiful forest and a great light workout to counter the inactivity on the cruise. It was breathtaking at every corner and our tour guide Sam is super knowledgeable about not only the area and its history but also about the vegetation in the forest. He was so excited about nature and made the hike a memorable one.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Chilkoot Trail Hike and Float Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message