Slovenia ATTRACTIONS See all

Predjama Castle

Over 700 years old, this incredible castle is unique in every way. Home to the infamous rebel knight Erazem of Predjama in the 15th century, this Renaissance castle sits in the mouth of a cave on a 123 meter (40 foot) high cliff. The interior ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 87 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

MR D R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Postojna was very busy but beautiful and it was lovely to see the olms down there. Predjama castle was fantastic and it was really interesting to learn about the history and myths surrounding the castle and its owners.

Doing what: Predjama Castle and Postojna Cave Tour from Ljubljana

vkkhalsa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was a fantastic tour. The castle was amazing, built right into the rock wall of the mountain. The cave was truly incredible. First we took a train ride about a mile in and then the tour began. I've never been so deep underground before! The cave tour was good. Especially great, though, were our Viator guides. So enthusiastic, so happy to share all they knew, so happy in general. We had a fabulous day and I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Predjama Castle and Postojna Cave Tour from Ljubljana

Miki Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Excellent. Good value for money.

Doing what: Predjama Castle and Postojna Cave Tour from Ljubljana

stepchin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Very historical and legendary

Doing what: Predjama Castle and Postojna Cave Tour from Ljubljana

Igor G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

It was amazing! We were very happy with everything.

Doing what: Predjama Castle and Postojna Cave Tour from Ljubljana

Lauren M

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

The guide was very knowledgeable and fun! We covered a lot of ground and he offered lots of both historical and practical information!

Doing what: Predjama Castle and Postojna Cave Tour from Ljubljana

Janet H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

What a lovely day. Well worth going on this trip. The Castle was in a lovely setting and the sunshine actually appeared as we walked down from the Castle. The caves were fascinating and the train trip was really good. Our guide Sanda was lovely - very knowledgeable and very patient with us older English people. A great day.

Doing what: Predjama Castle and Postojna Cave Tour from Ljubljana

Liz T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Wonderful tour guide and great activity. Great addition to our trip.

Doing what: Predjama Castle and Postojna Cave Tour from Ljubljana

Matthew B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great tour, great guide. Patricia was amazing. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Predjama Castle and Postojna Cave Tour from Ljubljana

Nitya

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Castle is amazing - unlike any you will see elsewhere. Cave tour is really enjoyable and pretty easy access for anyone. Tour company was good.

Doing what: Predjama Castle and Postojna Cave Tour from Ljubljana

Erlina K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We loved this tour. Postojna Cave is beautiful and easy to go thru especially with young children. Predjama Castle is special, very different than other castle we have seen of course and our guide was very knowledgable.

Doing what: Postojna Caves and Predjama Castle Tour from Ljubljana

dimple.bhandia

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Well organised tour. Sufficient time in both the spots. Sanda, the guide, was very friendly. And the two sites were awesome.

Doing what: Predjama Castle and Postojna Cave Tour from Ljubljana

Azrena I

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2016

Kind of dissapointing bcos not much narrating from tour guide/driver for this tour

Doing what: Predjama Castle and Postojna Cave Tour from Ljubljana

anirban

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2016

It was a nice short half day trip. Postojna cave was amazing and so was Predjama Castle. Our guide was very informative. This trip is highly recommended. The price of the tour is a bit high compared to a half day trip but that has nothing to do with Viator as all other tour companies are charging the same money.

Doing what: Predjama Castle and Postojna Cave Tour from Ljubljana

s.cronin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

We had a nice small group, our guide was very informative and helpful. Would definitely recommend this tour plenty of time given to see everything.

Doing what: Predjama Castle and Postojna Cave Tour from Ljubljana

Barbara W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This is a first rate trip. The caves are absolutely amazing. Definitely a must see.

Doing what: Predjama Castle and Postojna Cave Tour from Ljubljana

Ellen H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was one of the highlights of our stay in Ljubljana. However, the weather was not cooperating and it rained throughout the day. I think there should have been another guide in english for our group which was rather large. We did enjoy the day.

Doing what: Predjama Castle and Postojna Cave Tour from Ljubljana

Karen S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

We had an excellent tour guide who was extremely knowledgable about the sites we visited.

Doing what: Predjama Castle and Postojna Cave Tour from Ljubljana

zaikang l

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

It was great. We had a really wonderful time. The driver was on time and helpful. We recommend potential visitors to use the service you provided.

Doing what: Postojna Caves and Predjama Castle Tour from Ljubljana

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We took this tour with my mother and we had the best time ever. Our tour guide, native from Ljubliana, was extremely knowledgeable and kind. She answered all my questions ( I had many!) and as my mother did not speak English, she has been really nice trying to speak slowly to her. Also, she did not feel well and she stayed with her while we where in Predjama Castle. The castle is astonishing, from outside and from insite, and the caves.. what to say, AMAZING! everything is perfectly organised, guides are really nice and the cavern is magnificent, can't describe with words, you have to go.

Doing what: Predjama Castle and Postojna Cave Tour from Ljubljana

Maria Antonia S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This review was long overdue and I only have nice things to say about this tour. Guide was excellent!! So much knowledge about the places we went to and even while on the road we got bits of infos of the country or just about anything i had asked of him. Will definitely recommend this tour and tour operator to friends who by seeing all my lovely photos now want to go to Slovenia.

Doing what: Predjama Castle and Postojna Cave Tour from Ljubljana

chris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

An excellent tour. Predjama Castle has a fabulous setting high on the cliff. The Postojna Cave was superb and a must see for anyone in the area. The size of the caverns was incredible and the train ride into the cave a highlight.

Doing what: Predjama Castle and Postojna Cave Tour from Ljubljana

Kelly M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Two great sights in this half-day trip. Our guide, Nate, was friendly, fun and very knowledgeable. Predjama Castle is beautiful and so unique. The Caves are fantastic. Just be sure to bring along some pants and a long-sleeve shirt or jacket. It gets pretty cold down there...especially on the little train.

Doing what: Predjama Castle and Postojna Cave Tour from Ljubljana

SRIDEVI E

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

The tour to the caves and the castle was worry free thanks to our guide Vladimir. We were picked up from our hotel on time and the van was comfortable for all the passengers. The drive to the Postojna cave from the city center was about 45 min. We were told the history of Ljubljana and also of the caves on the way. Once we got there, Vladimir told us exactly what we could expect from the Postojna tour and where and when we stood be meeting. The castle tour was conducted by Vladimir and even though there is not much to see in the castle he kept it interesting with his dry witty sense of humor. The best part of the castle is its view from the outside. We got a short tour of the caves near the castle as well. We had 45 min after each of the tours to wander around the gift shops or get something to eat. It was little over 7 hr trip so the time was appreciated. If you don't want to rent a car and want to see both the cave and the castle, the tour is a good option. It is a 20 min drive from the cave to the castle so walking is a bit too long and taking a taxi back and forth is expensive. This option worked out the best for us and the guide made it interesting.

Doing what: Postojna Caves and Predjama Castle Tour from Ljubljana

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message