Sorrento’s location between the busy (and huge) city of Naples and the tranquil Amalfi Coast makes it a popular base from which to explore both. And although the port of Sorrento isn’t nearly as large as that of Naples, Sorrento is still a popular ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 34 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Michelle R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Viator is a GREAT company. As promised, they picked us up on TIME in our Sorrento hotel and drove us to POMPEII. This is a MUST do! NOT TO BE MISSED. Take the guided tour you will not regret it. Our tour guide Maria was the BEST! If you do not take this guided tour you will just be looking at a pile of rocks. This tour was so interesting and worth every penny. Maria was very knowledgeable. Excellent experience. Hot wear comfy shoes and a hat. Take water.

Doing what: Half-Day Pompeii Sightseeing Trip from Sorrento

travelgirllec

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

If you're looking for a comprehensive overview of Pompeii and don't want to spend hours baking in the sun, this is the tour for you! Our guide, Alissa was incredibly informative and had so many hilarious anecdotes and stories, my husband, who has done a longer tour of Pompeii in the past said this one was miles above it in terms of quality. The driver service from Sorrento was also very professional and prompt. Definitely the right way to see Pompeii!

Doing what: Half-Day Pompeii Sightseeing Trip from Sorrento

Gabrielle W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great tour. I found the hotel pick-up especially convenient as we had just arrived in Sorrento the day before. The guide was friendly and very interesting. I recommend wearing a hat and bringing plenty of water as it gets very hot and there is little shade. If you are interested in seeing Pompeii, I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Half-Day Pompeii Sightseeing Trip from Sorrento

I P E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Hot so 1/2 a Day was enough, very very informative, we loved it. Our taxi driver back to the Hotel took us on the back streets of Sorrento, it's a beautiful place.

Doing what: Half-Day Pompeii Sightseeing Trip from Sorrento

Charles N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Wonderful tour. Great ride there, being picked up at the dock in Sorrento after riding the ferry from Isle of Capri. The driver was prompt, and had a sign with our name on it. The tour guide was very entertaining and kept us moving. Lots of walking on uneven ground, so wear comfortable shoes. Saw lots of cool stuff!

Doing what: Half-Day Pompeii Sightseeing Trip from Sorrento

Madeline

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was an excellent tour of Pompeii - the tour itself was about 2 hours walking around Pompeii - our guide was very informative and very personable - he made the tour fun! The other 2 hours were spent on a bus riding to and from Pompeii .,but if you just want to ensure you see Pompeii while in this area of Italy - I do recomend this. Viatour picked us up when they said they would from our cruise ship and got us back in plenty of time to still spend time in Sorrento.

Doing what: Half-Day Pompeii Sightseeing Trip from Sorrento

LIZZYDRIP

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Arranged tour as cruise ship was supposed to anchor in Sorrento but couldn't due to windy conditions for tender. Docked in Naples instead. Called agent on booking form who sorted everything out and re arranged collection. Tour guide excellent knowledge and brought humour to the excursion. Fully recommend this company on our experience

Doing what: Half-Day Pompeii Sightseeing Trip from Sorrento

Karla

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Hotel pick up and drop off in Sorrento was seamless and a real must as it's a long distance. The tour guide was engaging, well informed, enthusiastic and fun spirited. He kept the group's interest with pertinent facts and history. He was patient with the group and kept us together as it was quite crowded. It would have been difficult to glean the information on our own. A half-day tour was perfect with an informed guide.

Doing what: Half-Day Pompeii Sightseeing Trip from Sorrento

Eman A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The trip was very informative and it was interesting to see how people lived back then. Would definitely recommend this tour. One of the highlights while in sorrento or nearby area.

Doing what: Half-Day Pompeii Sightseeing Trip from Sorrento

Kay G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our Viator trip. The driver was on time, picked us up in a nice, clean van and drove us from Sorrento to Pompeii. We then had a guided tour of Pompeii.
Afterwards, our guide had our driver ready to return us to Sorrento.

Thank you.

Doing what: Half-Day Pompeii Sightseeing Trip from Sorrento

Jennie Reynolds United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Absolutely fantastic experience from start to finish. Viator was the only excursion operator that picked up from our particular hotel in Sorrento (as difficult to access) and our driver was pleasant and made it an enjoyable car drive to Pompeii. Once there, we met with a group for the tour and was introduced to our guide Sabina who was first class. She was incredibly knowledgeable about the history and the area, and was able to answer any questions. She also gave us amazing detail for everything, despite the fact she had to explain everything in English and then in Spanish to account for others in our group. Definitely the highlight to our holiday, despite various excursions through our tour operator, nothing compared to the Viator trip. Although I first believed Viator to not be as competatively priced as some others, I now only wish we had booked more from Viator, but we know for the future that you get what you pay for. Thank you!

Doing what: Half-Day Pompeii Sightseeing Trip from Sorrento

Helen B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Absolutley amazing place! I had no idea how big the city of pompei is. Really great guide who made the tour fun and interesting. We were picked up from our Hotel and delivered back there in Sorrento by a lovely lady and lady bus driver. I wish i could recall the guides name she was great explaining a lot of history on the way there and back.Wish I was back there!!

Doing what: Half-Day Pompeii Sightseeing Trip from Sorrento

pmainini

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Our driver, Gregory, met our ship at
our Sorrento port. From the moment we
met him it was clear it was going to be
a great day! The day began and ended in
Sorrento. We were able to make choices
along the way based on how much time we
wanted to spend in various locations.
He suggested we try his favorite location for
lunch which turned out to be a Michelin 2012
restaurant, and it did not disappoint! If you
want to see Sorrento and the Amalfi coast.
This is the best way to do so! Our group
recommends Gregory and Viator!

Doing what: Sorrento Shore Excursion: Private Day Trip to Positano, Amalfi and Ravello

Linda P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

Very informative and knowledgeable guide. Never would have seen or understood what I was seeing without the guide. Very nice touch to pick us up at the hotel in Sorrento and drop us off.

Doing what: Half-Day Pompeii Sightseeing Trip from Sorrento

Myrna R O

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

I'm not quite sure how to rate this tour. The tour itself was very good and interesting. However, I felt our guide was unhappy with us from the beginning. We were picked up at our hotel in Sorrento. We weren't picked up until sometime after 10:15 a.m., and we encountered very heavy traffic on the drive back to Naples. I'm not quite sure when the tour started, but I'm sure our late arrival held it up. I think the company Viator uses needs to examine its pickup times more closely. Because of our late arrival, we were not able to look at the stands, grab a guide, or get anything to eat. As for the tour, our guide was very knowledgeable and interesting. She gave us all sorts of interesting facts about life in Pompeii, things I don't think we would have learned by reading the guide books. I do have to say that our guide, at the end of the tour, made arrangements for us to join the rest of the group for lunch something that was not provided with the tour we purchased. I would give this tour a 5-star rating if it weren't for the lateness in getting us to the tour and the attitude first expressed by the guide because we were late.

Doing what: Half-Day Pompeii Sightseeing Trip from Sorrento

Viator

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

This was a nice over view walk of Sorrento. Our guide was nice and very knowledgeable. The stop at the wood carving shop, a sip of Lemon drink, and a stop at the restaurant for an end of tour drink was great. The only mis-step was that the audio system used to share information wasn't very good.

Doing what: Half-Day Pompeii Sightseeing Trip from Sorrento

Lucie M

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

We booked our tour through Viator and called in advance to confirm our pickup time with Napoli travel service. Our driver, Antonio picked us up on time and provided us with good information and answered our many questions during our ride to and from the site. Upon our arrival to Pompeii, our tour guide, Andre gathered the group, set us up with individual speakers so that we could here his commentary. What an amazing two hour tour, I only wish we would have more time to explore this huge site. Of the many archeological sites we've visited over the years, this is the most expansive and a must if you're in the area. Our ride back to Sorrento was very relaxing in our air conditioned bus. Antonio stopped along the coast which provided a great photo opportunity. All in all, another great day in Sorrento.

Doing what: Half-Day Pompeii Sightseeing Trip from Sorrento

salEdawgz United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

The half day tour of Pompei seems really short if you think you'll be seeing all of this lost city. But our tour guide Roberta did a fantastic job of taking us down the major thoroughfares of the city and keeping us including my 9 year-old daughter interested. It was a very hot and humid July day when we took this tour. I can only suggest to bring handkerchiefs, sunglasses and water with you for the trip!
The drive to Pompei is long because traffic is notoriously heavy. We were brought there in a very nice, air-conditioned luxury van. The driver was even nice enough to stop along the road at the town of Meta, outside of Sorrento, so that we could take a scenic photograph of Sorrento. Well worth the trip!

Doing what: Half-Day Pompeii Sightseeing Trip from Sorrento

andrea r

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

A great tour - the guide was super and very animated. We were picked up from Sorrento with another couple and taken to Pompeii where we joined a large (about 25) group. The tour was excellent but I would have liked a map and some time to explore ourselves. As we joined such a big group I think the trip worked put quite expensive - for the cost I would have expected a smaller group to tour - with such a big group there were obviously a lot of questions the Americans had that we perhaps didn't need to share and could have used the time seeing more of the site but otherwise fascinating.

Doing what: Half-Day Pompeii Sightseeing Trip from Sorrento

Linda S

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

This was a lovely tour with a very informative guide. The one drawback for us was the Hotel pickup instruction printed on our tickets neglected to say only within the Sorrento boundary, (we were 1 hotel out of this area). On ringing to confirm time of pickup was advised that they could not pick up at our hotel as advertised. We paid an extra €10 to be collected. We made our own way back from Sorrento via local bus. The reason we booked with Viator was the convenience of collection from the hotel. Had we known we could have booked with our travel company without any problems. Saying that this was a very good tour. The journey by mini bus was just right. Shame about the above.

Doing what: Half-Day Pompeii Sightseeing Trip from Sorrento

JENNIFER K Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

Very good tour pick up and drop off from hotel in sorrento.4 hours is enough with a knowlegable guide to show you around a great place.

Doing what: Half-Day Pompeii Sightseeing Trip from Sorrento

Martin J

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2013

Great experience - very glad that we were picked up from our hotel, as it was a long drive from Sorrento to Pompeii! Once we were there, our guide Andre was fantastic - very energetic and passionate, and could answer every question with ease. Great tour, worth doing.

Doing what: Half-Day Pompeii Sightseeing Trip from Sorrento

Robert W

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

We visited Pompei on a day tour from Sorrento (with Viator). We were lucky enough to have a fabulous guide who spoke quite good English and was very informative. Lots of the buildings have not been touched and are in the same condition as they were thousands of years ago when Vesuvius erupted in 79 AD. Visit the oldest brothel in the world (they say) - still in its original state. There are even signs along the road imbedded into the rock to show the directions for the locals. This is a long tour as it goes for a few hours and it does get extremely hot - so remember your hat, sunscreen and water. Also ensure that you wear good walking shoes as the roads can be quite uneven in places as a lot of them are still original. Also, the toilet facilities are at the start of your tour and there are no restrooms once you start. Well worth a visit as the history is amazing!!

Doing what: Half-Day Pompeii Sightseeing Trip from Sorrento

Carlisle W

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

I did not realize at the time I booked our trip precisely how far from Sorrento our hotel in Castelamarre was. Your pick up driver seemed to have difficulty finding his way out of the town to the meeting point outside Pompei, but threaded his way expertly through the streets until he reached the town. I was impressed by anyone who can deal with that level of traffic in those small streets. The streets of Castellammare apparently can confuse most GPS systems.

The Tour of Pompeii was well-coordinated and the tour guide was impressive both in her command of the information and her ability to organize and direct our steps through the maze of streets in that ancient town. We found the tour to be completely fascinating and enjoyed every minute. My wife and I both feel that we received full value for our ticket and would be delighted to recommend it to anyone else. The Pompeii tour was definitely one of the highlights of our trip.

Doing what: Half-Day Pompeii Sightseeing Trip from Sorrento

Irene J

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

The tour of old Pompeii was too rushed. I wish I had taken the tour from Prompeii not Sorrento, then I could have stayed on after the tour and looked around more.

Doing what: Half-Day Pompeii Sightseeing Trip from Sorrento

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message