Split ATTRACTIONS See all

Diocletian's Palace

This palace right in the heart of Split, was used by Roman Emperor Diocletian and is one of the best preserved monuments of Roman architecture in the world. In 1979, it was declared -- with the historic city of Split -- a UNESCO World Heritage ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 108 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Mrs I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our guide was very helpful and knowledgeable. As many still live in parts of the Diocletian Palace, this is not like other tours of 4th Century UNESCO Heritage Sites. So there are parts that are not accessible. However, the tour extends round the City Walls to include the interesting and checkered history of this important site. We also visited Trogir which was worth the extra time. Our guide some excellent English and we would recommend thenWalking Tour. Booking was easy and quickly confirmed.

Doing what: Diocletian Palace Walking Tour and Optional Trip to Trogir

Rosie A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great tour guide. Informative without giving too much detail, took the perfect amount of time. Was also nice to be in a smaller group unlike other tours of 20+ people. Would definitely recommend.

Doing what: Diocletian Palace Walking Tour and Optional Trip to Trogir

Henry H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Tour went exactly as planned and as advertised. Guide spoke good English and, because she was a fellow GoT geek like me, provided all kinds of fascinating detail to the tour. She also provided valuable tips on where to eat inside Diocletian and #39;s palace. Loved it.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Tour in Split

dwmsmith

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Damir was an excellent tour guide. We enjoyed the tour of the Palace as well as the trip to Trogir. This is a must on any trip to Split.

Doing what: Diocletian Palace Walking Tour and Optional Trip to Trogir

Conny S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our guide was excellent. Apart from getting a lot of Game of Thrones info she also covered a lot of local history.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Tour in Split

Oliver H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great tour and very knowledgeable and friendly guide. Booking was fast, and the sites worth while visiting.

Doing what: Diocletian Palace Walking Tour and Optional Trip to Trogir

Veronica M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Guide was brilliant, he knew so much about the history of the city.

Doing what: Cetina River Zipline Experience from Split

Bashanda P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

LOVE IT!!AGNES WAS AMAZING AND KIND!!HAD A LOT OF FUN!WILL BE BACK AGAIN!!!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Tour in Split

Ashley K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Fantastic for everyone, not just Game of Thrones fans. Agnes was very knowledgeable and told us a lot of history as well as showing us some sites from game of thrones. Klis fortress was my favourite, beautiful view of whole of Split from there.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Tour in Split

Mimi L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Split is just so lovely - feels much more like a modern city than Dubrovnik does. Diocletian's Palace is very interesting and houses so many hip restaurants and stores as well. You really get a taste of the rest of Croatia outside of the mainly tourism-driven Dubrovnik namely the Croatian obsession with their football teams!. The prices were a bit cheaper than Dubrovnik, I'm guessing from the fewer tourists that go! The old town of Split is full of alleyways but has a completely different feel than Dubrovnik. If you can, you should try to go to the Plitvice Lakes from Split, we hear it's an unforgettable experience. Our driver Mario was very interesting as well, giving a background on the numerous towns we passed by on our 4 hour drive. Oliver was our city guide and he was very knowledgeable about all the landmarks within the walls. He also does an excellent Game of Thrones tour. Also, do eat outside the city walls near the Marjan region past the church! We had an excellent lunch there. Overall, this was one of our best experiences on our trip and we advise everyone to not miss the day trip to Split.

Doing what: Split Day Trip from Dubrovnik

Matthew S

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

I really enjoyed this tour. We got driven a few miles of Split to visit the Klis Fortress which afforded views of costal Split from high up then were shown around the filming locations in the Diocletian's Palace back in Split itself. A well guided tour which anyone would enjoy, even if you hadn't even heard of Game of Thrones.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Tour in Split

Michilla R

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

The guide was brilliant - very knowledgeable regarding history of the area.
We would have liked a bit of extra time at the fort to explore and take more photos. It was a bit whistle-stop. A comfort break would have been appropriate before we moved on to Split town. As you can imagine, in the heat we were all drinking a lot of water!
The tour of Split was excellent, although I have done a GoT tour before and I did see more parts of Diocletian's Palace than this occasion.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Tour in Split

Veronica M

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Our guide was brilliant, but the tour of Diocletian and #39;s Palace didn and #39;t include entry to any of the sites, so we just stood outside buildings talking about what we would have seen had we been able to go in. Bit disappointing. But Trogir was amazing, definitely go!

Doing what: Diocletian Palace Walking Tour and Optional Trip to Trogir

Cheri United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

My tour guide was very knowledgeable and friendly. I enjoyed both the palace and Trogir, but this is too much to fit in a single day and really absorb it.

Doing what: Diocletian Palace Walking Tour and Optional Trip to Trogir

Neena R

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Recommend it highly. Small group was fun, van was comfortable and the driver Mario was awesome.

Doing what: Split Day Trip from Dubrovnik

klbasque

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We had a great time on this tour! We loved all the history and culture of this city. Our guide was very familiar with all the buildings, structures and statues. She knew her history and never hesitated to answer our questions. There was a nice balance between guided tour and free time, which we used to enjoy a wonderful meal in a restaurant in Trogir. There really is far too much to see and learn about Croatian history to try and navigate on your own, no regrets on booking this one!

Doing what: Diocletian Palace Walking Tour and Optional Trip to Trogir

Leisha M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

A Wonderful tour. Great way to learn about both the Diocletian Palace and visit the fabulous town of Trogir. Our guide, Damir, was very knowledgeable and had a great sense of humor. Highly recommend adding Trogir to the trip. A very pleasant day. Just the right length we had time to relax and walk around Split when the tour was over.

Doing what: Diocletian Palace Walking Tour and Optional Trip to Trogir

Nuria G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our guide Ines was lovely and very knowledgeable. I didn't book the trip to Trogir and she gave me loads of tips on what to do in and around Diocletian Palace after the walking tour.

Doing what: Diocletian Palace Walking Tour and Optional Trip to Trogir

Andrea C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Awesome experience! Our guides were fun and entertaining, but also knew what they were doing. The views over the Cetina River Canyon are amazing. It was my first time ziplining and I felt completely at ease. Highly recommend!!

Doing what: Cetina River Zipline Experience from Split

Vanessa L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Anna was a great guide, told us plenty of interesting stories about the palace and the old town, which brought it's ancient history to life. We ended up having a private tour too which was great. Thanks Anna!

Doing what: Diocletian Palace Walking Tour and Optional Trip to Trogir

J A M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

A great tour of the filming sites from the show. Agnes was a great guide with lots of information to share about the show, the sites as well as Split past and present. hours well spent!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Tour in Split

DENISE ESTER S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Agnes is such a great guide! She gave not just info about GoT but about the history of split. She also gave us guide where to eat, what to buy for souvenirs...must do for GoT fans...love it!!!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Tour in Split

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message