Split ATTRACTIONS See all

Diocletian's Palace

This palace right in the heart of Split, was used by Roman Emperor Diocletian and is one of the best preserved monuments of Roman architecture in the world. In 1979, it was declared -- with the historic city of Split -- a UNESCO World Heritage ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 144 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

nicole l

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This tour was so much fun! It was one of our favorite tours we took during our entire Croatia 10 day trip! Our guide was so knowledgeable and very friendly! I would highly recommend this!

Doing what: Diocletian Palace Walking Tour and Optional Trip to Trogir

Vic Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

It was a very well-paced trip that mixed a sufficient introduction to Split with free time to explore. Robert was an excellent driver and guide and Tanya provided an informative overview of the town. Our only suggestion would be to advise travelers in advance that they need to take their passports rather than depending on the driver to do it on pick up. An excellent tour from Dubrovnik if you are not going to stay in Split.

Doing what: Private Tour: Split Day Trip from Dubrovnik

cmdpound

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Agnes and her company are amazing
she did the tour even though it was raining and only had 2 paid customers
Agnes is the BEST!!!!
Views from the castle are beautiful

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Tour in Split

Claire C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

What a wonderful tour! The bikes were great fun and easy to manage for a novice. Our tour leader sorry I have forgotten your name was terrific. He spoke excellent English, very knowledgeable and we enjoyed his company. Would definitely recommend this tour. Thanks very much!

Doing what: Split Bike Tour: City Highlights by Standard or Electric Bike

Michael W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We had Agatha as our tour guide and she was amazing!
Not only was she knowledgeable on Game of Thrones and showed us all the sights, but she is a historian as well. We were so happy that she gave us the history of Split, Kliis Fortress and the Diocletian's palace as well.

Ask her where to eat and how to avoid the tourist gift shops to get yourself something genuinely Dalmatian.
10 out of 10 would do again.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Tour in Split

jennifer.hoge

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

It was amazing! Our Guide Agnes was so lovely and knowledgable. :
Would have given 5 Stars if it would have lasted a bit longer, but that's just me being picky and overly obsessed with game of thrones, so a couple hours just isn't enough. Maybe some props for some photos would be nice? Seen/heard of other companies doing so and think that'd be a pretty sweet gimmick. All in all it was awesome and would definitely recommend for every fan. valar morghulis!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Tour in Split

Barbara A

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2016

Guide was good but I we didn't get to go through the whole Klis Fortress. Which the real reason I signed up for this tour.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Tour in Split

Sonia Alexandra P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Very good tour, Haris told us a lot of stories and the history of the places. We were only 3 so even better!

Doing what: Diocletian Palace Walking Tour and Optional Trip to Trogir

lynnmorgan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was great fun. I am a cyclist, but it was my first experience on an electric bike. It's totally different from a regular bike, but fun. The views are incredible.

Doing what: Split Bike Tour: City Highlights by Standard or Electric Bike

lynnmorgan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Diocleian's Palace was not what I expected. It's pretty much all of Old Town. The history here and in Trogir is amazing.

Doing what: Diocletian Palace Walking Tour and Optional Trip to Trogir

lynnmorgan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The history here is amazing. It was fascinating to see how people lived in the 3rd century. The guides are so knowledgeable. I enjoyed it thoroughly.

Doing what: Diocletian Palace Walking Tour and Optional Trip to Trogir

Thomas S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

was a great way to get around venice

Doing what: Diocletian Palace Walking Tour and Optional Trip to Trogir

Linda P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The pace was perfect. Our guide, Agnes, was perfect. We learned so much and would highly recommend this tour. Can you tell it was perfect??

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Tour in Split

MELKA S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Day trip to Split 23/08/2016.

Split was a vibrant and touristic harbor town. The Diocletians Palace was a must thing to see!
I wasnt in my best condition that day but thanks to the driver and the guide from Dubrovnik I apologize for not remembering their names who were very accommodating and hospitable that made the whole trip very enjoyable.

Highly recommended!

Doing what: Split Day Trip from Dubrovnik

Matthew S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

I would highly recommend this tour. Our guide was extremely knowledgeable about both Croatian history and Game of Thrones. We got to see all the filming locations in Split with references to specific shots and scenes from the show, if you are a fan this is can't miss. Our guide also went into great depth about the history and significance of the actual locations and Split itself. This is a great tour and I would highly recommend it.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Tour in Split

Jeanette K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We had a wonderful tour guide who went above and beyond. We absolutely loved our time in Split!

Doing what: Diocletian Palace Walking Tour and Optional Trip to Trogir

H W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Fantastic tour. Tour guide 5 star. A little disappointed we only had 2 hours in split and looked at description of tour when got back to our hotel and it should have been longer so if you planning on going just be aware.

Doing what: Split Day Trip from Dubrovnik

Jana D

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

we ran out of time to see Trogir as much as we wanted. Iris was a good guide and tried hard to move the group along. With different ages and walking abilities it miay have moved slower than we would have liked

Doing what: Diocletian Palace Walking Tour and Optional Trip to Trogir

Eramatala

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2016

The tour guide was terrible. Split is a place filled with history, we were so looking forward and intrigued about the magnificent palace but unfortunately the tour guide was completely oblivious about the history of the place. It was so frustrating. The following day we ended up using Rick Steves book to understand and figure out what,when,where and who built the palace. That specific tour was truly waste of money and very disappointing.

Doing what: Diocletian Palace Walking Tour and Optional Trip to Trogir

Don W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This trip was a lot of fun! The guides were great!! First and foremost, safety was paramount. They gave us instructions about our equipment and we did a test run on some small lines to get our bearings. After that, it's pretty straightforward. Follow their instructions and you'll have a blast!!!

Doing what: Cetina River Zipline Experience from Split

Kim S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

It was a stormy day when we took this tour which would likely put a damper on the experience but it almost made it more authentic!! We were soaked from the torrential rains but our guide soldiered through and made it a fun experience. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Tour in Split

Kim S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

my guide was great and very informative. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Diocletian Palace Walking Tour and Optional Trip to Trogir

Lucy C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We met Agnes by the sea entrance to the cellars and she greeted us with a friendly face. The tour was very intimate, which was pleasant, as there were only 5 of us. We were taken to the air-conditioned minibus a god-send in the heat and we drove up to Klis Fortress first. Agnes was knowledgeable and friendly as she told us information about the history of the fort as well as the filming of Game of Thrones and she took us to lots of different locations. We then returned to Split and were given a historical walking tour and a Game of Thrones tour of the different locations in the Diocletian Palace, including the cellar locations where there is still fake blood on the walls from the filming! Agnes was friendly and humorous, sharing her own theories about the show. The only thing that would have made this better would have been more time for pictures as we were rushed taking photos and my boyfriend and I did revisit a few locations to take more photos.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Tour in Split

Melinda M M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was a most excellent tour. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable about the show and didn't reveal too many spoilers to those of us who weren't caught up. What a beautiful country. Our guide also provided a lot of fantastic information about Croatia and the people themselves. She even offered to take pictures of me as my husband was ill and couldn't make it. Would definitely recommend. Thanks

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Tour in Split

Alison H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Absolutely loved it, even in the rain. What a gem and a surprise this palace was for us. Our guide who's name I've forgotten sorry was so knowledgeable and full of interesting historic facts. It's probably the best Roman Palace I've ever been in and there's been a few. The fact that it's a living/breathing part of the city with shops, restaurants and apartments inside is even better because it's not just a museum or ruin. I believe you do want a guide to show this place to you so you understand it and it's brought to life. It would be a shame to just walk around it on your own.

The side trip to Trogir is also very interesting but was very short due to traffic. We saw the waterfront, cathedral and I walked some of the back streets exploring but having now seen it briefly, I would recommend doing a day trip, perhaps by boat, to this amazing little town - it's quite stunning and deserves more time.

Overall, we loved the tour and highly recommend it.

Doing what: Diocletian Palace Walking Tour and Optional Trip to Trogir

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message