Split ATTRACTIONS See all

Diocletian's Palace

This palace right in the heart of Split, was used by Roman Emperor Diocletian and is one of the best preserved monuments of Roman architecture in the world. In 1979, it was declared -- with the historic city of Split -- a UNESCO World Heritage ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 136 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Sonia Alexandra P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Very good tour, Haris told us a lot of stories and the history of the places. We were only 3 so even better!

Doing what: Diocletian Palace Walking Tour and Optional Trip to Trogir

lynnmorgan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was great fun. I am a cyclist, but it was my first experience on an electric bike. It's totally different from a regular bike, but fun. The views are incredible.

Doing what: Split Bike Tour: City Highlights by Standard or Electric Bike

lynnmorgan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Diocleian's Palace was not what I expected. It's pretty much all of Old Town. The history here and in Trogir is amazing.

Doing what: Diocletian Palace Walking Tour and Optional Trip to Trogir

lynnmorgan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The history here is amazing. It was fascinating to see how people lived in the 3rd century. The guides are so knowledgeable. I enjoyed it thoroughly.

Doing what: Diocletian Palace Walking Tour and Optional Trip to Trogir

Thomas S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

was a great way to get around venice

Doing what: Diocletian Palace Walking Tour and Optional Trip to Trogir

Linda P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The pace was perfect. Our guide, Agnes, was perfect. We learned so much and would highly recommend this tour. Can you tell it was perfect??

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Tour in Split

MELKA S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Day trip to Split 23/08/2016.

Split was a vibrant and touristic harbor town. The Diocletians Palace was a must thing to see!
I wasnt in my best condition that day but thanks to the driver and the guide from Dubrovnik I apologize for not remembering their names who were very accommodating and hospitable that made the whole trip very enjoyable.

Highly recommended!

Doing what: Split Day Trip from Dubrovnik

Matthew S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

I would highly recommend this tour. Our guide was extremely knowledgeable about both Croatian history and Game of Thrones. We got to see all the filming locations in Split with references to specific shots and scenes from the show, if you are a fan this is can't miss. Our guide also went into great depth about the history and significance of the actual locations and Split itself. This is a great tour and I would highly recommend it.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Tour in Split

Jeanette K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We had a wonderful tour guide who went above and beyond. We absolutely loved our time in Split!

Doing what: Diocletian Palace Walking Tour and Optional Trip to Trogir

Jana D

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

we ran out of time to see Trogir as much as we wanted. Iris was a good guide and tried hard to move the group along. With different ages and walking abilities it miay have moved slower than we would have liked

Doing what: Diocletian Palace Walking Tour and Optional Trip to Trogir

Eramatala

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2016

The tour guide was terrible. Split is a place filled with history, we were so looking forward and intrigued about the magnificent palace but unfortunately the tour guide was completely oblivious about the history of the place. It was so frustrating. The following day we ended up using Rick Steves book to understand and figure out what,when,where and who built the palace. That specific tour was truly waste of money and very disappointing.

Doing what: Diocletian Palace Walking Tour and Optional Trip to Trogir

Don W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This trip was a lot of fun! The guides were great!! First and foremost, safety was paramount. They gave us instructions about our equipment and we did a test run on some small lines to get our bearings. After that, it's pretty straightforward. Follow their instructions and you'll have a blast!!!

Doing what: Cetina River Zipline Experience from Split

Kim S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

It was a stormy day when we took this tour which would likely put a damper on the experience but it almost made it more authentic!! We were soaked from the torrential rains but our guide soldiered through and made it a fun experience. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Tour in Split

Kim S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

my guide was great and very informative. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Diocletian Palace Walking Tour and Optional Trip to Trogir

Lucy C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We met Agnes by the sea entrance to the cellars and she greeted us with a friendly face. The tour was very intimate, which was pleasant, as there were only 5 of us. We were taken to the air-conditioned minibus a god-send in the heat and we drove up to Klis Fortress first. Agnes was knowledgeable and friendly as she told us information about the history of the fort as well as the filming of Game of Thrones and she took us to lots of different locations. We then returned to Split and were given a historical walking tour and a Game of Thrones tour of the different locations in the Diocletian Palace, including the cellar locations where there is still fake blood on the walls from the filming! Agnes was friendly and humorous, sharing her own theories about the show. The only thing that would have made this better would have been more time for pictures as we were rushed taking photos and my boyfriend and I did revisit a few locations to take more photos.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Tour in Split

Melinda M M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was a most excellent tour. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable about the show and didn't reveal too many spoilers to those of us who weren't caught up. What a beautiful country. Our guide also provided a lot of fantastic information about Croatia and the people themselves. She even offered to take pictures of me as my husband was ill and couldn't make it. Would definitely recommend. Thanks

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Tour in Split

Alison H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Absolutely loved it, even in the rain. What a gem and a surprise this palace was for us. Our guide who's name I've forgotten sorry was so knowledgeable and full of interesting historic facts. It's probably the best Roman Palace I've ever been in and there's been a few. The fact that it's a living/breathing part of the city with shops, restaurants and apartments inside is even better because it's not just a museum or ruin. I believe you do want a guide to show this place to you so you understand it and it's brought to life. It would be a shame to just walk around it on your own.

The side trip to Trogir is also very interesting but was very short due to traffic. We saw the waterfront, cathedral and I walked some of the back streets exploring but having now seen it briefly, I would recommend doing a day trip, perhaps by boat, to this amazing little town - it's quite stunning and deserves more time.

Overall, we loved the tour and highly recommend it.

Doing what: Diocletian Palace Walking Tour and Optional Trip to Trogir

Kevin M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was a great tour combining GOT and a general tour of the palace. It was also nice to get out of the main city center and up to the fortress Meereen. This tour had a much smaller group than the Dubrovnik tour, there were only 4 of us plus the guide which made it easier to interact with our guide and ask questions. Our guide, Agnes, was excellent. She provided facts about GOT as well as the history of the city.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Tour in Split

Scott T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great tour. Agnes, our tour guide is very professional and knowledgeable about the show and the history of Split. She did a really good job of balancing details from the show with the history of the places we toured. She used a lot of still shots from the show, so you can really see the places used in the show. The fort and Diacletian's Palace are magnificent!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Tour in Split

Nicole S

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

It was a very good and interesting tour and I can definitely recommend it. I especially loved the trip to the Klis fortress. I do think it was a bit overpriced compared to other tours offered in Split though considering that it was only a few hours rather than a day trip.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Tour in Split

Karen B

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Our tour guide was professional and knowledgeable and she provided a a lot of information about the history of Split along the way. This was good for us as we had mainly signed up for the tour to please our daughter who is a huge fan of game of thrones. The Klis fortress was very interesting and the transfer was comfortable. Definitely recommend.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Tour in Split

Tom E

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

We had a great time on this tour. We have done both the Split and Dubrovnik GoT tours - our advice to people is beware of the heat. The tours leave around 10.15 placing you in the midday sun and it's pretty stuff going. It is a great tour but you will collapse from heat exhaustion at the end......

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Tour in Split

Lindamarie D

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Thought more was included in Palace tour portion. Had Trogir trip to myself so was very customized.

Doing what: Diocletian Palace Walking Tour and Optional Trip to Trogir

jingee

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

The history of the Diocletian palace is quite interesting, we enjoyed this place a lot. Our guide was very knowledgeable and had interesting stories to share. We were underwhelmed with Trogir though. Many good reviews about the place but we didn't spend enough time there to really experience it.

Doing what: Diocletian Palace Walking Tour and Optional Trip to Trogir

Faheem K

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

The tour guide was very informative and Klis Fortress was definitely worth checking out. As was the palace. Might be able to book for cheaper in the palace directly but overall, not bad.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Tour in Split

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message