Split ATTRACTIONS See all

Diocletian's Palace

This palace right in the heart of Split, was used by Roman Emperor Diocletian and is one of the best preserved monuments of Roman architecture in the world. In 1979, it was declared -- with the historic city of Split -- a UNESCO World Heritage ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 122 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Don W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This trip was a lot of fun! The guides were great!! First and foremost, safety was paramount. They gave us instructions about our equipment and we did a test run on some small lines to get our bearings. After that, it's pretty straightforward. Follow their instructions and you'll have a blast!!!

Doing what: Cetina River Zipline Experience from Split

Kim S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

It was a stormy day when we took this tour which would likely put a damper on the experience but it almost made it more authentic!! We were soaked from the torrential rains but our guide soldiered through and made it a fun experience. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Tour in Split

Kim S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

my guide was great and very informative. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Diocletian Palace Walking Tour and Optional Trip to Trogir

Lucy C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We met Agnes by the sea entrance to the cellars and she greeted us with a friendly face. The tour was very intimate, which was pleasant, as there were only 5 of us. We were taken to the air-conditioned minibus a god-send in the heat and we drove up to Klis Fortress first. Agnes was knowledgeable and friendly as she told us information about the history of the fort as well as the filming of Game of Thrones and she took us to lots of different locations. We then returned to Split and were given a historical walking tour and a Game of Thrones tour of the different locations in the Diocletian Palace, including the cellar locations where there is still fake blood on the walls from the filming! Agnes was friendly and humorous, sharing her own theories about the show. The only thing that would have made this better would have been more time for pictures as we were rushed taking photos and my boyfriend and I did revisit a few locations to take more photos.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Tour in Split

Melinda M M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was a most excellent tour. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable about the show and didn't reveal too many spoilers to those of us who weren't caught up. What a beautiful country. Our guide also provided a lot of fantastic information about Croatia and the people themselves. She even offered to take pictures of me as my husband was ill and couldn't make it. Would definitely recommend. Thanks

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Tour in Split

Alison H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Absolutely loved it, even in the rain. What a gem and a surprise this palace was for us. Our guide who's name I've forgotten sorry was so knowledgeable and full of interesting historic facts. It's probably the best Roman Palace I've ever been in and there's been a few. The fact that it's a living/breathing part of the city with shops, restaurants and apartments inside is even better because it's not just a museum or ruin. I believe you do want a guide to show this place to you so you understand it and it's brought to life. It would be a shame to just walk around it on your own.

The side trip to Trogir is also very interesting but was very short due to traffic. We saw the waterfront, cathedral and I walked some of the back streets exploring but having now seen it briefly, I would recommend doing a day trip, perhaps by boat, to this amazing little town - it's quite stunning and deserves more time.

Overall, we loved the tour and highly recommend it.

Doing what: Diocletian Palace Walking Tour and Optional Trip to Trogir

Nicole S

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

It was a very good and interesting tour and I can definitely recommend it. I especially loved the trip to the Klis fortress. I do think it was a bit overpriced compared to other tours offered in Split though considering that it was only a few hours rather than a day trip.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Tour in Split

Karen B

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Our tour guide was professional and knowledgeable and she provided a a lot of information about the history of Split along the way. This was good for us as we had mainly signed up for the tour to please our daughter who is a huge fan of game of thrones. The Klis fortress was very interesting and the transfer was comfortable. Definitely recommend.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Tour in Split

Tom E

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

We had a great time on this tour. We have done both the Split and Dubrovnik GoT tours - our advice to people is beware of the heat. The tours leave around 10.15 placing you in the midday sun and it's pretty stuff going. It is a great tour but you will collapse from heat exhaustion at the end......

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Tour in Split

Lindamarie D

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Thought more was included in Palace tour portion. Had Trogir trip to myself so was very customized.

Doing what: Diocletian Palace Walking Tour and Optional Trip to Trogir

jingee

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

The history of the Diocletian palace is quite interesting, we enjoyed this place a lot. Our guide was very knowledgeable and had interesting stories to share. We were underwhelmed with Trogir though. Many good reviews about the place but we didn't spend enough time there to really experience it.

Doing what: Diocletian Palace Walking Tour and Optional Trip to Trogir

Mrs I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our guide was very helpful and knowledgeable. As many still live in parts of the Diocletian Palace, this is not like other tours of 4th Century UNESCO Heritage Sites. So there are parts that are not accessible. However, the tour extends round the City Walls to include the interesting and checkered history of this important site. We also visited Trogir which was worth the extra time. Our guide some excellent English and we would recommend thenWalking Tour. Booking was easy and quickly confirmed.

Doing what: Diocletian Palace Walking Tour and Optional Trip to Trogir

Rosie A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great tour guide. Informative without giving too much detail, took the perfect amount of time. Was also nice to be in a smaller group unlike other tours of 20+ people. Would definitely recommend.

Doing what: Diocletian Palace Walking Tour and Optional Trip to Trogir

Henry H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Tour went exactly as planned and as advertised. Guide spoke good English and, because she was a fellow GoT geek like me, provided all kinds of fascinating detail to the tour. She also provided valuable tips on where to eat inside Diocletian and #39;s palace. Loved it.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Tour in Split

dwmsmith

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Damir was an excellent tour guide. We enjoyed the tour of the Palace as well as the trip to Trogir. This is a must on any trip to Split.

Doing what: Diocletian Palace Walking Tour and Optional Trip to Trogir

Conny S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our guide was excellent. Apart from getting a lot of Game of Thrones info she also covered a lot of local history.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Tour in Split

Oliver H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great tour and very knowledgeable and friendly guide. Booking was fast, and the sites worth while visiting.

Doing what: Diocletian Palace Walking Tour and Optional Trip to Trogir

Veronica M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Guide was brilliant, he knew so much about the history of the city.

Doing what: Cetina River Zipline Experience from Split

Bashanda P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

LOVE IT!!AGNES WAS AMAZING AND KIND!!HAD A LOT OF FUN!WILL BE BACK AGAIN!!!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Tour in Split

Ashley K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Fantastic for everyone, not just Game of Thrones fans. Agnes was very knowledgeable and told us a lot of history as well as showing us some sites from game of thrones. Klis fortress was my favourite, beautiful view of whole of Split from there.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Tour in Split

Mimi L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Split is just so lovely - feels much more like a modern city than Dubrovnik does. Diocletian's Palace is very interesting and houses so many hip restaurants and stores as well. You really get a taste of the rest of Croatia outside of the mainly tourism-driven Dubrovnik namely the Croatian obsession with their football teams!. The prices were a bit cheaper than Dubrovnik, I'm guessing from the fewer tourists that go! The old town of Split is full of alleyways but has a completely different feel than Dubrovnik. If you can, you should try to go to the Plitvice Lakes from Split, we hear it's an unforgettable experience. Our driver Mario was very interesting as well, giving a background on the numerous towns we passed by on our 4 hour drive. Oliver was our city guide and he was very knowledgeable about all the landmarks within the walls. He also does an excellent Game of Thrones tour. Also, do eat outside the city walls near the Marjan region past the church! We had an excellent lunch there. Overall, this was one of our best experiences on our trip and we advise everyone to not miss the day trip to Split.

Doing what: Split Day Trip from Dubrovnik

Kim H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Agnes was an excellent guide with a vast knowledge not only of Game of Thrones but also of the real history of the places we visited. Her enthusiasm for her job was refreshing. The tour was everything we expected and more. Great value for money too.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Tour in Split

Matthew S

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

I really enjoyed this tour. We got driven a few miles of Split to visit the Klis Fortress which afforded views of costal Split from high up then were shown around the filming locations in the Diocletian's Palace back in Split itself. A well guided tour which anyone would enjoy, even if you hadn't even heard of Game of Thrones.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Tour in Split

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message