Split ATTRACTIONS See all

Temple of Jupiter

A few steps away from the Cathedral of St Dominus and St Duje -- at the end of the street Kraj Sveti Ivan -- is a temple dedicated to Jupiter, named after his father. Roman emperors often made themselves a god. Diocletian was Jovius, son of the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 68 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Kim S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

my guide was great and very informative. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Diocletian Palace Walking Tour and Optional Trip to Trogir

Alison H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Absolutely loved it, even in the rain. What a gem and a surprise this palace was for us. Our guide who's name I've forgotten sorry was so knowledgeable and full of interesting historic facts. It's probably the best Roman Palace I've ever been in and there's been a few. The fact that it's a living/breathing part of the city with shops, restaurants and apartments inside is even better because it's not just a museum or ruin. I believe you do want a guide to show this place to you so you understand it and it's brought to life. It would be a shame to just walk around it on your own.

The side trip to Trogir is also very interesting but was very short due to traffic. We saw the waterfront, cathedral and I walked some of the back streets exploring but having now seen it briefly, I would recommend doing a day trip, perhaps by boat, to this amazing little town - it's quite stunning and deserves more time.

Overall, we loved the tour and highly recommend it.

Doing what: Diocletian Palace Walking Tour and Optional Trip to Trogir

Lindamarie D

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Thought more was included in Palace tour portion. Had Trogir trip to myself so was very customized.

Doing what: Diocletian Palace Walking Tour and Optional Trip to Trogir

jingee

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

The history of the Diocletian palace is quite interesting, we enjoyed this place a lot. Our guide was very knowledgeable and had interesting stories to share. We were underwhelmed with Trogir though. Many good reviews about the place but we didn't spend enough time there to really experience it.

Doing what: Diocletian Palace Walking Tour and Optional Trip to Trogir

Mrs I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our guide was very helpful and knowledgeable. As many still live in parts of the Diocletian Palace, this is not like other tours of 4th Century UNESCO Heritage Sites. So there are parts that are not accessible. However, the tour extends round the City Walls to include the interesting and checkered history of this important site. We also visited Trogir which was worth the extra time. Our guide some excellent English and we would recommend thenWalking Tour. Booking was easy and quickly confirmed.

Doing what: Diocletian Palace Walking Tour and Optional Trip to Trogir

Rosie A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great tour guide. Informative without giving too much detail, took the perfect amount of time. Was also nice to be in a smaller group unlike other tours of 20+ people. Would definitely recommend.

Doing what: Diocletian Palace Walking Tour and Optional Trip to Trogir

dwmsmith

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Damir was an excellent tour guide. We enjoyed the tour of the Palace as well as the trip to Trogir. This is a must on any trip to Split.

Doing what: Diocletian Palace Walking Tour and Optional Trip to Trogir

CRUISEVACATIONDEPO

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Very nice and informative tours , sights were amazing

Doing what: Split Shore Excursion: Diocletian Palace and Trogir Tour

Antonio H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our guide was awesome and we thought Togir was the hidden gem of our Eastern Med. cruise.

Doing what: Split Shore Excursion: Diocletian Palace and Trogir Tour

Oliver H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great tour and very knowledgeable and friendly guide. Booking was fast, and the sites worth while visiting.

Doing what: Diocletian Palace Walking Tour and Optional Trip to Trogir

Tricia W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We enjoyed the tour. The guide was on-time - voucher said to meet by the entrance to the cellars in Diocletian's Palace, we and another group were waiting inside by the ticket booth - the guide and the rest of the group were outside the entrance to the Palace. We enjoyed the trip - the guide was very good and we loved the trip to Trogir.

Doing what: Split Shore Excursion: Diocletian Palace and Trogir Tour

Veronica M

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Our guide was brilliant, but the tour of Diocletian and #39;s Palace didn and #39;t include entry to any of the sites, so we just stood outside buildings talking about what we would have seen had we been able to go in. Bit disappointing. But Trogir was amazing, definitely go!

Doing what: Diocletian Palace Walking Tour and Optional Trip to Trogir

Cheri United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

My tour guide was very knowledgeable and friendly. I enjoyed both the palace and Trogir, but this is too much to fit in a single day and really absorb it.

Doing what: Diocletian Palace Walking Tour and Optional Trip to Trogir

Charlie Y

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Excellent tour and guide.. worth the money

Doing what: Diocletian Palace Walking Tour and Optional Trip to Trogir

Donna H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great tour and excellent tour guide!

Doing what: Split Shore Excursion: Diocletian Palace and Trogir Tour

klbasque

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We had a great time on this tour! We loved all the history and culture of this city. Our guide was very familiar with all the buildings, structures and statues. She knew her history and never hesitated to answer our questions. There was a nice balance between guided tour and free time, which we used to enjoy a wonderful meal in a restaurant in Trogir. There really is far too much to see and learn about Croatian history to try and navigate on your own, no regrets on booking this one!

Doing what: Diocletian Palace Walking Tour and Optional Trip to Trogir

Leisha M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

A Wonderful tour. Great way to learn about both the Diocletian Palace and visit the fabulous town of Trogir. Our guide, Damir, was very knowledgeable and had a great sense of humor. Highly recommend adding Trogir to the trip. A very pleasant day. Just the right length we had time to relax and walk around Split when the tour was over.

Doing what: Diocletian Palace Walking Tour and Optional Trip to Trogir

Nuria G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our guide Ines was lovely and very knowledgeable. I didn't book the trip to Trogir and she gave me loads of tips on what to do in and around Diocletian Palace after the walking tour.

Doing what: Diocletian Palace Walking Tour and Optional Trip to Trogir

Vanessa L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Anna was a great guide, told us plenty of interesting stories about the palace and the old town, which brought it's ancient history to life. We ended up having a private tour too which was great. Thanks Anna!

Doing what: Diocletian Palace Walking Tour and Optional Trip to Trogir

Lisa T

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Our Guide Harris was very well informed and provided excellent information whilst ensuring we saw as much as possible.He was happy to answer questions as we walked through and was flexible as we were the only 2 for the Trogir part of the tour - the tour itself was a pleasant one and the island of Trogir was a gorgeous village .

Doing what: Split Shore Excursion: Diocletian Palace and Trogir Tour

Ronald S

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Only three of us on the tour so the individual attention was great. Tour guide was knowledgeable and friendly.

Doing what: Diocletian Palace Walking Tour and Optional Trip to Trogir

Monica m

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

Good guide and informational. There were just a ton of tours happening and the guides where dodging each other. Worth doing if you have the extra time in the city.

Doing what: Diocletian Palace Walking Tour and Optional Trip to Trogir

Judith W

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

There was confusion finding Dragan the guide to start as the instructions were wrong and we had to ring the local office. Another couple had the same issue, who couldn and #39;t find their guide, so they joined us. Dragan didnt apologise. Once the tour started it was ok. Not as good as previous viator tours.

Doing what: Diocletian Palace Walking Tour and Optional Trip to Trogir

Lori

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Tour guide was great and full of information. This was a great excursion!

Doing what: Split Shore Excursion: Diocletian Palace and Trogir Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message