Split ATTRACTIONS See all

Temple of Jupiter

A few steps away from the Cathedral of St Dominus and St Duje -- at the end of the street Kraj Sveti Ivan -- is a temple dedicated to Jupiter, named after his father. Roman emperors often made themselves a god. Diocletian was Jovius, son of the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 80 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Rohan D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Excellent tour by Blanša. She knew her history very well and gave us some great local insight into Croatian culture.

Doing what: Split Shore Excursion: Diocletian Palace and Trogir Tour

nicole l

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This tour was so much fun! It was one of our favorite tours we took during our entire Croatia 10 day trip! Our guide was so knowledgeable and very friendly! I would highly recommend this!

Doing what: Diocletian Palace Walking Tour and Optional Trip to Trogir

Riki

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was a great tour..tour guide was very knowledgeable and made walking through history exciting.

Doing what: Split Shore Excursion: Diocletian Palace and Trogir Tour

Nicole B USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The tour guide was very knowledgeable and therefore made the excusion a great one. Would definitely recommend.

Doing what: Split Shore Excursion: Diocletian Palace and Trogir Tour

Sonia Alexandra P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Very good tour, Haris told us a lot of stories and the history of the places. We were only 3 so even better!

Doing what: Diocletian Palace Walking Tour and Optional Trip to Trogir

lynnmorgan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Diocleian's Palace was not what I expected. It's pretty much all of Old Town. The history here and in Trogir is amazing.

Doing what: Diocletian Palace Walking Tour and Optional Trip to Trogir

lynnmorgan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The history here is amazing. It was fascinating to see how people lived in the 3rd century. The guides are so knowledgeable. I enjoyed it thoroughly.

Doing what: Diocletian Palace Walking Tour and Optional Trip to Trogir

Thomas S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

was a great way to get around venice

Doing what: Diocletian Palace Walking Tour and Optional Trip to Trogir

Jeanette K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We had a wonderful tour guide who went above and beyond. We absolutely loved our time in Split!

Doing what: Diocletian Palace Walking Tour and Optional Trip to Trogir

Iivi S

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Very good tour of the Palace. Our guide knew her stuff and did a great job of manoeuvring our group through the crowds. Trogir was an absolute gem, not to be missed.

Doing what: Split Shore Excursion: Diocletian Palace and Trogir Tour

Jana D

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

we ran out of time to see Trogir as much as we wanted. Iris was a good guide and tried hard to move the group along. With different ages and walking abilities it miay have moved slower than we would have liked

Doing what: Diocletian Palace Walking Tour and Optional Trip to Trogir

Eramatala

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2016

The tour guide was terrible. Split is a place filled with history, we were so looking forward and intrigued about the magnificent palace but unfortunately the tour guide was completely oblivious about the history of the place. It was so frustrating. The following day we ended up using Rick Steves book to understand and figure out what,when,where and who built the palace. That specific tour was truly waste of money and very disappointing.

Doing what: Diocletian Palace Walking Tour and Optional Trip to Trogir

Kim S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

my guide was great and very informative. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Diocletian Palace Walking Tour and Optional Trip to Trogir

Alison H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Absolutely loved it, even in the rain. What a gem and a surprise this palace was for us. Our guide who's name I've forgotten sorry was so knowledgeable and full of interesting historic facts. It's probably the best Roman Palace I've ever been in and there's been a few. The fact that it's a living/breathing part of the city with shops, restaurants and apartments inside is even better because it's not just a museum or ruin. I believe you do want a guide to show this place to you so you understand it and it's brought to life. It would be a shame to just walk around it on your own.

The side trip to Trogir is also very interesting but was very short due to traffic. We saw the waterfront, cathedral and I walked some of the back streets exploring but having now seen it briefly, I would recommend doing a day trip, perhaps by boat, to this amazing little town - it's quite stunning and deserves more time.

Overall, we loved the tour and highly recommend it.

Doing what: Diocletian Palace Walking Tour and Optional Trip to Trogir

Lindamarie D

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Thought more was included in Palace tour portion. Had Trogir trip to myself so was very customized.

Doing what: Diocletian Palace Walking Tour and Optional Trip to Trogir

jingee

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

The history of the Diocletian palace is quite interesting, we enjoyed this place a lot. Our guide was very knowledgeable and had interesting stories to share. We were underwhelmed with Trogir though. Many good reviews about the place but we didn't spend enough time there to really experience it.

Doing what: Diocletian Palace Walking Tour and Optional Trip to Trogir

Mrs I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our guide was very helpful and knowledgeable. As many still live in parts of the Diocletian Palace, this is not like other tours of 4th Century UNESCO Heritage Sites. So there are parts that are not accessible. However, the tour extends round the City Walls to include the interesting and checkered history of this important site. We also visited Trogir which was worth the extra time. Our guide some excellent English and we would recommend thenWalking Tour. Booking was easy and quickly confirmed.

Doing what: Diocletian Palace Walking Tour and Optional Trip to Trogir

Rosie A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great tour guide. Informative without giving too much detail, took the perfect amount of time. Was also nice to be in a smaller group unlike other tours of 20+ people. Would definitely recommend.

Doing what: Diocletian Palace Walking Tour and Optional Trip to Trogir

dwmsmith

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Damir was an excellent tour guide. We enjoyed the tour of the Palace as well as the trip to Trogir. This is a must on any trip to Split.

Doing what: Diocletian Palace Walking Tour and Optional Trip to Trogir

CRUISEVACATIONDEPO

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Very nice and informative tours , sights were amazing

Doing what: Split Shore Excursion: Diocletian Palace and Trogir Tour

Antonio H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our guide was awesome and we thought Togir was the hidden gem of our Eastern Med. cruise.

Doing what: Split Shore Excursion: Diocletian Palace and Trogir Tour

Oliver H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great tour and very knowledgeable and friendly guide. Booking was fast, and the sites worth while visiting.

Doing what: Diocletian Palace Walking Tour and Optional Trip to Trogir

Tricia W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We enjoyed the tour. The guide was on-time - voucher said to meet by the entrance to the cellars in Diocletian's Palace, we and another group were waiting inside by the ticket booth - the guide and the rest of the group were outside the entrance to the Palace. We enjoyed the trip - the guide was very good and we loved the trip to Trogir.

Doing what: Split Shore Excursion: Diocletian Palace and Trogir Tour

Veronica M

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Our guide was brilliant, but the tour of Diocletian and #39;s Palace didn and #39;t include entry to any of the sites, so we just stood outside buildings talking about what we would have seen had we been able to go in. Bit disappointing. But Trogir was amazing, definitely go!

Doing what: Diocletian Palace Walking Tour and Optional Trip to Trogir

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message