Split is known as a transportation hub for the Dalmatian Coast, but has quickly become a pop ular travel destination in its own right beyond a one - or two-night stopover. The heart of the city is the historic Diocletian's Palace, which is ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 119 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Don W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This trip was a lot of fun! The guides were great!! First and foremost, safety was paramount. They gave us instructions about our equipment and we did a test run on some small lines to get our bearings. After that, it's pretty straightforward. Follow their instructions and you'll have a blast!!!

Doing what: Cetina River Zipline Experience from Split

Kim S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

It was a stormy day when we took this tour which would likely put a damper on the experience but it almost made it more authentic!! We were soaked from the torrential rains but our guide soldiered through and made it a fun experience. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Tour in Split

Lucy C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We met Agnes by the sea entrance to the cellars and she greeted us with a friendly face. The tour was very intimate, which was pleasant, as there were only 5 of us. We were taken to the air-conditioned minibus a god-send in the heat and we drove up to Klis Fortress first. Agnes was knowledgeable and friendly as she told us information about the history of the fort as well as the filming of Game of Thrones and she took us to lots of different locations. We then returned to Split and were given a historical walking tour and a Game of Thrones tour of the different locations in the Diocletian Palace, including the cellar locations where there is still fake blood on the walls from the filming! Agnes was friendly and humorous, sharing her own theories about the show. The only thing that would have made this better would have been more time for pictures as we were rushed taking photos and my boyfriend and I did revisit a few locations to take more photos.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Tour in Split

Melinda M M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was a most excellent tour. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable about the show and didn't reveal too many spoilers to those of us who weren't caught up. What a beautiful country. Our guide also provided a lot of fantastic information about Croatia and the people themselves. She even offered to take pictures of me as my husband was ill and couldn't make it. Would definitely recommend. Thanks

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Tour in Split

Nicole S

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

It was a very good and interesting tour and I can definitely recommend it. I especially loved the trip to the Klis fortress. I do think it was a bit overpriced compared to other tours offered in Split though considering that it was only a few hours rather than a day trip.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Tour in Split

Karen B

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Our tour guide was professional and knowledgeable and she provided a a lot of information about the history of Split along the way. This was good for us as we had mainly signed up for the tour to please our daughter who is a huge fan of game of thrones. The Klis fortress was very interesting and the transfer was comfortable. Definitely recommend.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Tour in Split

Tom E

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

We had a great time on this tour. We have done both the Split and Dubrovnik GoT tours - our advice to people is beware of the heat. The tours leave around 10.15 placing you in the midday sun and it's pretty stuff going. It is a great tour but you will collapse from heat exhaustion at the end......

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Tour in Split

pam

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

I highly recommend this 3-hour tour. Maya has a wealth of information and the 'snack' at the end of the tour is a large plate full of so many Dalmatian specialties -- it was enough for our dinner! We toured around Diocletian's palace and decided to pay the extra bit to see the basement structure of the palace. We were fortunate enough to be the only 2 people who signed up for the tour, so we got a private one! My only suggestion would be for Maya to focus on a few key pieces of information because it was a lot to take in all at once over the course of 3 hours. But all in all it was great!

Doing what: Split Walking Tour Including Diocletian's Palace and Traditional Snack

Karen F

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

thanks - great job

Doing what: Medjugorje and Mostar Day Trip from Split

Jcroatia

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2016

Meet on arrival and checked in but no vouchers waiting just an itinerary that we already had. No information available regarding room times or where we were at. This was the beginning of many emails going to and fro to find out what was required and where to meet etc. Split is such a beautiful place in the old town it was a shame it started on a disappointing note. First transfer occurred on time but still no vouchers. Again transfer early morning but on arrival at hotel no amenity for early checkin. Get used to dropping bags and have something organised to do. Have bathers in your back back I'd you want to go swimming. Information on hotel terrible and on checkin they wanted to write down credit card details but had no mechanism for destroying the information. Cash deposit required as they had never heard of preauthorising the card using the EFT machine. No further tours offered by the tour company so they missed out on more business. The hotel in Dubrovnik when we eventually arrived on a rather messy transfer was the worst for the trip. Rooms tiny and could not move around beds. Covers on beds not clean and bathroom so small you needed to have the door open to dry yourself. Staff not interested in guests and we felt like pests rather than customers. It was a shame as Dubrovnik is a great city and where the hotel is located is great for beach and only a short ride on the number 6 bus to the old town. We could have arranged the trip using an alternate service as the agent was invisible and we did not even have the correct agent name when we were transferred as it was never advised. Trying to work with Viator is also challenging especially when you are booking for more than two persons but who would have thought two couples booking the same trip was so difficult.

Doing what: 8-Day Independent Dalmatian Coast Tour from Split: Hvar, Korcula and Dubrovnik

Eva S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

It was a perfect day trip: the tour started at the port where our very nice guide Miro greeted us. He speaks English perfectly and helped us to get used to the E-bike very quickly. It is definitely the best way to get around Solta which is quite hilly, but shows many different facets of the island. Our first stop after our arrival was the visit at the beekeeper, where we could try out many different kind of honey. It was very delicious and informative. We were lucky enough to hear the bee queen sing! Afterwards we visited a farmer whose wife served us homemade stuff olives, oil, wine, dessert.... Absolutely delicious! We especially enjoyed their homemade cherry liqueur. In the afternoon we took a swim at a pebble beach which was perfect for us: only some locals and extremely clear water. We definitely recommend this tour!

Doing what: Solta Island Day Trip from Split: Sightseeing and Food Tour by Electric Bike

Henry H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Tour went exactly as planned and as advertised. Guide spoke good English and, because she was a fellow GoT geek like me, provided all kinds of fascinating detail to the tour. She also provided valuable tips on where to eat inside Diocletian and #39;s palace. Loved it.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Tour in Split

Conny S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our guide was excellent. Apart from getting a lot of Game of Thrones info she also covered a lot of local history.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Tour in Split

Veronica M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Guide was brilliant, he knew so much about the history of the city.

Doing what: Cetina River Zipline Experience from Split

Bashanda P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

LOVE IT!!AGNES WAS AMAZING AND KIND!!HAD A LOT OF FUN!WILL BE BACK AGAIN!!!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Tour in Split

Ashley K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Fantastic for everyone, not just Game of Thrones fans. Agnes was very knowledgeable and told us a lot of history as well as showing us some sites from game of thrones. Klis fortress was my favourite, beautiful view of whole of Split from there.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Tour in Split

Kim H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Agnes was an excellent guide with a vast knowledge not only of Game of Thrones but also of the real history of the places we visited. Her enthusiasm for her job was refreshing. The tour was everything we expected and more. Great value for money too.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Tour in Split

Matthew S

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

I really enjoyed this tour. We got driven a few miles of Split to visit the Klis Fortress which afforded views of costal Split from high up then were shown around the filming locations in the Diocletian's Palace back in Split itself. A well guided tour which anyone would enjoy, even if you hadn't even heard of Game of Thrones.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Tour in Split

Michilla R

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

The guide was brilliant - very knowledgeable regarding history of the area.
We would have liked a bit of extra time at the fort to explore and take more photos. It was a bit whistle-stop. A comfort break would have been appropriate before we moved on to Split town. As you can imagine, in the heat we were all drinking a lot of water!
The tour of Split was excellent, although I have done a GoT tour before and I did see more parts of Diocletian's Palace than this occasion.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Tour in Split

Gabriela Mexico

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

The places we where taken were very good but didnt like the guide. Constantly repeating As I said before and it made you not wanting to ask anything.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Tour in Split

Allen G United States of ... 

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2016

Very good leader and it was the lowest priced kayak tour.
However, the meeting place was moved about a km and the meeting time was changed to a hour later. May have been partially my fault since I didn't reconfirm when I was in Split.
Also the 4 hour tour was really 3 hours.

Doing what: Kayaking Tour from Split: Marjan Peninsula, Ciovo or Hvar Islands

Leonard L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great day sailing. Josef our captain was great and couldn't have been more helpful. An overall spectacular day in the water.

Doing what: Split Sailing Adventure

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message