Split is known as a transportation hub for the Dalmatian Coast, but has quickly become a pop ular travel destination in its own right beyond a one - or two-night stopover. The heart of the city is the historic Diocletian's Palace, which is ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 133 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

cmdpound

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Agnes and her company are amazing
she did the tour even though it was raining and only had 2 paid customers
Agnes is the BEST!!!!
Views from the castle are beautiful

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Tour in Split

Claire C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

What a wonderful tour! The bikes were great fun and easy to manage for a novice. Our tour leader sorry I have forgotten your name was terrific. He spoke excellent English, very knowledgeable and we enjoyed his company. Would definitely recommend this tour. Thanks very much!

Doing what: Split Bike Tour: City Highlights by Standard or Electric Bike

Lucy R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Great trip with small group. Wonderful tour guide in Mostar and nice driver.

Doing what: Medjugorje and Mostar Day Trip from Split

Michael W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We had Agatha as our tour guide and she was amazing!
Not only was she knowledgeable on Game of Thrones and showed us all the sights, but she is a historian as well. We were so happy that she gave us the history of Split, Kliis Fortress and the Diocletian's palace as well.

Ask her where to eat and how to avoid the tourist gift shops to get yourself something genuinely Dalmatian.
10 out of 10 would do again.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Tour in Split

jennifer.hoge

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

It was amazing! Our Guide Agnes was so lovely and knowledgable. :
Would have given 5 Stars if it would have lasted a bit longer, but that's just me being picky and overly obsessed with game of thrones, so a couple hours just isn't enough. Maybe some props for some photos would be nice? Seen/heard of other companies doing so and think that'd be a pretty sweet gimmick. All in all it was awesome and would definitely recommend for every fan. valar morghulis!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Tour in Split

Barbara A

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2016

Guide was good but I we didn't get to go through the whole Klis Fortress. Which the real reason I signed up for this tour.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Tour in Split

Kristi C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Fantastic trip. the Nikola was great, from the atmosphere, size and accommodations. The route taken for travel was well done, from as busy as you like or as quiet and relaxing. Would recommend.

Doing what: 7-Night Independent Adriatic Cruise from Split: Hvar, Korcula, Dubrovnik, Elaphiti Islands, Mljet and Slano

lynnmorgan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was great fun. I am a cyclist, but it was my first experience on an electric bike. It's totally different from a regular bike, but fun. The views are incredible.

Doing what: Split Bike Tour: City Highlights by Standard or Electric Bike

Linda P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The pace was perfect. Our guide, Agnes, was perfect. We learned so much and would highly recommend this tour. Can you tell it was perfect??

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Tour in Split

Matthew S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

I would highly recommend this tour. Our guide was extremely knowledgeable about both Croatian history and Game of Thrones. We got to see all the filming locations in Split with references to specific shots and scenes from the show, if you are a fan this is can't miss. Our guide also went into great depth about the history and significance of the actual locations and Split itself. This is a great tour and I would highly recommend it.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Tour in Split

Katherine S

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Mostar is a beautiful and fascinating city to visit, and was the highlight of the trip for me. Both our tour guide, and the local guide in Mostar, were informative about Bosnian history and culture, and I came away wanting to discover more.
Our guides and driver were friendly and engaging, and the trip was well-organised and good value for money. I highly recommend this day trip from Split!

Doing what: Medjugorje and Mostar Day Trip from Split

Don W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This trip was a lot of fun! The guides were great!! First and foremost, safety was paramount. They gave us instructions about our equipment and we did a test run on some small lines to get our bearings. After that, it's pretty straightforward. Follow their instructions and you'll have a blast!!!

Doing what: Cetina River Zipline Experience from Split

Kim S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

It was a stormy day when we took this tour which would likely put a damper on the experience but it almost made it more authentic!! We were soaked from the torrential rains but our guide soldiered through and made it a fun experience. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Tour in Split

Lucy C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We met Agnes by the sea entrance to the cellars and she greeted us with a friendly face. The tour was very intimate, which was pleasant, as there were only 5 of us. We were taken to the air-conditioned minibus a god-send in the heat and we drove up to Klis Fortress first. Agnes was knowledgeable and friendly as she told us information about the history of the fort as well as the filming of Game of Thrones and she took us to lots of different locations. We then returned to Split and were given a historical walking tour and a Game of Thrones tour of the different locations in the Diocletian Palace, including the cellar locations where there is still fake blood on the walls from the filming! Agnes was friendly and humorous, sharing her own theories about the show. The only thing that would have made this better would have been more time for pictures as we were rushed taking photos and my boyfriend and I did revisit a few locations to take more photos.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Tour in Split

Melinda M M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was a most excellent tour. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable about the show and didn't reveal too many spoilers to those of us who weren't caught up. What a beautiful country. Our guide also provided a lot of fantastic information about Croatia and the people themselves. She even offered to take pictures of me as my husband was ill and couldn't make it. Would definitely recommend. Thanks

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Tour in Split

Kevin M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was a great tour combining GOT and a general tour of the palace. It was also nice to get out of the main city center and up to the fortress Meereen. This tour had a much smaller group than the Dubrovnik tour, there were only 4 of us plus the guide which made it easier to interact with our guide and ask questions. Our guide, Agnes, was excellent. She provided facts about GOT as well as the history of the city.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Tour in Split

Scott T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great tour. Agnes, our tour guide is very professional and knowledgeable about the show and the history of Split. She did a really good job of balancing details from the show with the history of the places we toured. She used a lot of still shots from the show, so you can really see the places used in the show. The fort and Diacletian's Palace are magnificent!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Tour in Split

Nicole S

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

It was a very good and interesting tour and I can definitely recommend it. I especially loved the trip to the Klis fortress. I do think it was a bit overpriced compared to other tours offered in Split though considering that it was only a few hours rather than a day trip.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Tour in Split

Karen B

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Our tour guide was professional and knowledgeable and she provided a a lot of information about the history of Split along the way. This was good for us as we had mainly signed up for the tour to please our daughter who is a huge fan of game of thrones. The Klis fortress was very interesting and the transfer was comfortable. Definitely recommend.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Tour in Split

Tom E

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

We had a great time on this tour. We have done both the Split and Dubrovnik GoT tours - our advice to people is beware of the heat. The tours leave around 10.15 placing you in the midday sun and it's pretty stuff going. It is a great tour but you will collapse from heat exhaustion at the end......

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Tour in Split

pam

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

I highly recommend this 3-hour tour. Maya has a wealth of information and the 'snack' at the end of the tour is a large plate full of so many Dalmatian specialties -- it was enough for our dinner! We toured around Diocletian's palace and decided to pay the extra bit to see the basement structure of the palace. We were fortunate enough to be the only 2 people who signed up for the tour, so we got a private one! My only suggestion would be for Maya to focus on a few key pieces of information because it was a lot to take in all at once over the course of 3 hours. But all in all it was great!

Doing what: Split Walking Tour Including Diocletian's Palace and Traditional Snack

Karen F

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

thanks - great job

Doing what: Medjugorje and Mostar Day Trip from Split

Faheem K

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

The tour guide was very informative and Klis Fortress was definitely worth checking out. As was the palace. Might be able to book for cheaper in the palace directly but overall, not bad.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Tour in Split

Jcroatia

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2016

Meet on arrival and checked in but no vouchers waiting just an itinerary that we already had. No information available regarding room times or where we were at. This was the beginning of many emails going to and fro to find out what was required and where to meet etc. Split is such a beautiful place in the old town it was a shame it started on a disappointing note. First transfer occurred on time but still no vouchers. Again transfer early morning but on arrival at hotel no amenity for early checkin. Get used to dropping bags and have something organised to do. Have bathers in your back back I'd you want to go swimming. Information on hotel terrible and on checkin they wanted to write down credit card details but had no mechanism for destroying the information. Cash deposit required as they had never heard of preauthorising the card using the EFT machine. No further tours offered by the tour company so they missed out on more business. The hotel in Dubrovnik when we eventually arrived on a rather messy transfer was the worst for the trip. Rooms tiny and could not move around beds. Covers on beds not clean and bathroom so small you needed to have the door open to dry yourself. Staff not interested in guests and we felt like pests rather than customers. It was a shame as Dubrovnik is a great city and where the hotel is located is great for beach and only a short ride on the number 6 bus to the old town. We could have arranged the trip using an alternate service as the agent was invisible and we did not even have the correct agent name when we were transferred as it was never advised. Trying to work with Viator is also challenging especially when you are booking for more than two persons but who would have thought two couples booking the same trip was so difficult.

Doing what: 8-Day Independent Dalmatian Coast Tour from Split: Hvar, Korcula and Dubrovnik

Eva S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

It was a perfect day trip: the tour started at the port where our very nice guide Miro greeted us. He speaks English perfectly and helped us to get used to the E-bike very quickly. It is definitely the best way to get around Solta which is quite hilly, but shows many different facets of the island. Our first stop after our arrival was the visit at the beekeeper, where we could try out many different kind of honey. It was very delicious and informative. We were lucky enough to hear the bee queen sing! Afterwards we visited a farmer whose wife served us homemade stuff olives, oil, wine, dessert.... Absolutely delicious! We especially enjoyed their homemade cherry liqueur. In the afternoon we took a swim at a pebble beach which was perfect for us: only some locals and extremely clear water. We definitely recommend this tour!

Doing what: Solta Island Day Trip from Split: Sightseeing and Food Tour by Electric Bike

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message