St Maarten ATTRACTIONS See all

St. Maarten Cruise Port

St. Maarten, along with its neighbor St. Martin, occupies the smallest island in the world that is under the dominion of two countries, Holland and France. It is rapidly developing and becoming a port of call for the Eastern Caribbean. The ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 589 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Tony

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Fantastic! Great crew. The Captain wasn't nearly as salty as the other reviews say. I believe it's his dry whit. Great food and fun! We got the pleasure of having a dog on board. Would go again.

Doing what: St Maarten Shore Excursion: Sailing Tour with Snorkeling and Paddleboarding

L1_sabin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This trip was good but maybe a little long at least for little kids. The island itself is a bit boring with not a lot to see. I dont think next time I would take a tour here. This maybe a good ship day. However the tour itself was great. We got off the ship and easily found the meeting place. We then got into a nice van with DJ our driver and tour guild. There was only one other family with us so a total of 11 plus DJ. There were sodas and rum punch available. We stopped at a few locations for pictures. We then came to a beautiful place with huge waves and giant boulders. A local gentleman there has a little table set out with sea urchins, sea stars and the like that you can hold. Yes, they are alive. He also was very knowledgeable about them. We then went to the best part of the day, a place with no kidding like 300 iguanas. DJ helped the kids feed them. Note the iguana farm has closed down but this was very entertaining. We then went to a beach which was nice but the waves were pretty hard and the wind was strong. Lovely though. We got lunch in Marigot but being it was a Sunday and raining there were not many vendors in the market. The service was slow and the food was ok. We then headed back to the ship. DJ was very helpful and very knowledgeable about the island. I think this is a good trip for perhaps families with older kids as it is a long day in a vehicle. DJ and the company however were great.

Doing what: Shore Excursion: St Maarten Beach, Sightseeing and Shopping Tour

Donna K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The tour was well organized, informative and most importantly, it was lots of fun! Out guide kept everyone engaged and we had plenty of time at each stop.

Doing what: St Maarten Shore Excursion: Island Sightseeing Tour from Philipsburg

william L USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The mailman was great and we cover most of the island

Doing what: Shore Excursion: St Maarten Beach, Sightseeing and Shopping Tour

cecilia w

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

The tour guide was waiting for us and drinks are plentiful. Clear explanation and since we are small group, he was able to accomdate to our need and shorten some of the itnery as we needed. Make sure that the pickup location is all the way to the end of the port. The minivan was a bit hot though!

Doing what: St Maarten Shore Excursion: Island Sightseeing Tour from Philipsburg

Ilene M

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Wellington was a fantastic guide. He was funny and took care of us.

Doing what: St Maarten Shore Excursion: Orient and Maho Beach Half-Day Tour

Kathy G

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

Junior was our driver. Very accommodating, but spoke too fast, -hard to understand. I would have preferred to get more factual data on the island. There were tidbits here and there, but not really comprehensive, with historical, stuff. The bus had no bathroom, and there was no Wi-Fi. This could have enhanced the trip somewhat. This was less expensive than what NCL was offering, and probably just as comprehensive., Sincerely, Kathy

Doing what: Shore Excursion: St Maarten Beach, Sightseeing and Shopping Tour

simone v b b

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I recommend this tour. The places we visited are very beautiful and the tour is very well organized.

Doing what: St Maarten Shore Excursion: Snorkeling and Speed Boat Tour

Sandra H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was awesome and so informative. Jose is very knowledgeable about the island and provides such great feedback. I would recommend this tour to anyone I know. Do not hesitate to book outside of your cruiseline, he is the best!

Doing what: St Maarten Shore Excursion: Orient Beach, Marigot and Maho Beach

Beman P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

great time the guide was full of life funny really gel'd with our whole group very observant to everyones needs its always good to see that the person in charge loves what they do and wants all around to have a good time as well

Doing what: St Maarten Shore Excursion: Snorkeling and Speed Boat Tour

cpick

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Had a blast being driven from the 'french' side to the dutch side party!.. Kids had a blast playing in the surf at Orient beach, and had a load of fun watching planes land above them while they played at Maho beach.. Good, affordable food at Maho beach, and the drinks we cold and strong on the bus! great A/C too

Doing what: St Maarten Shore Excursion: Orient and Maho Beach Half-Day Tour

William H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

One of the best excursions we did on our cruise stop. We walked down to the nude beach, that was a once in a lifetime experience. Then over to Maho beach, right by the runway. To be that close was amazing.

Doing what: St Maarten Shore Excursion: Orient and Maho Beach Half-Day Tour

MALCOLM Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Best tour ever. Couldn't have asked for a better tour guide than Douce. Not only did we get the tour that we actually paid for, but much more in terms of history and culture. Couldn't recommend a better tour.

Doing what: Shore Excursion: Orient Beach and Maho Beach Adventure

ROELSON R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

One of the best tour guide/driver we ever had. Wellington was very funny, knowledgeable, friendly and courteous. He made our off shore trip enjoyable with his jokes and at the same time giving us history of St Martin. Been in St Martin before and Wellington made it more enjoyable. The tour is highly recommended and that goes for Wellington also!

Doing what: St Maarten Shore Excursion: Island Sightseeing Tour from Philipsburg

Elizabeth C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The Governor was the best! 2nd time on his tour!

Doing what: St Maarten Shore Excursion: Orient and Maho Beach Half-Day Tour

julwat16

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was perfect! Our guide was very informative and knew a lot about the history of the island. We were on a nice air-conditioned bus, and had only 6 of us on our tour. The highlight was Maho beach! We were there for an hour and saw 3-4 planes take off and about 7-8 planes come in. Amazing!!

Doing what: St Maarten Shore Excursion: Island Sightseeing Tour from Philipsburg

tnyankfan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This excursion was exceptional. Orient Beach was beautiful. A rum punch and beach chairs were provided we were able to rent an umbrella for 10. All of the beach allows women to be topless there were only a few, but farther down the beach it is totally clothing optional. However, you have to cross a small barrier, or walk through a bar to get to this part of the beach, so it takes a little effort for those who may be worried about this. There were some vendors as other reviews mentioned, but we didn't feel it was a big problem a little annoying at most. After two hours at this beach, it was about a 20 minute air-conditioned ride to the next beach. Drinks were provided on the van rum punch, beer, soda, or water. Maho Beach was unforgettable and unique. This is not a lounging, relaxing beach, but was a highlight of our entire trip for us. The planes landing over your head while you are on the beach or in the water was amazing. Also, if you are a little brave, you can stand behind the jets as they start to take-off down the runway. Many do this each time a plane prepares for take-oof for the experience we did it three or four times. Be forewarned, as the planes fire up their jet engines, it almost blows you off your feet hold onto your hats, sunglasses, towels, etc or they might be blown into the ocean - we saw this numerous times. You also get sandblasted by the wind and blown sand, but definitely a memorable experience. One last thing, we read many negative reviews that this tour was hard to find after exiting the cruise ship. This is partially true because it does require a brief walk and is not in an obvious location. However, we asked some of the locals who pointed us in the right direction. They refer to themselves as the friendly island and everyone we talked to was very friendly and helpful. You are looking for a large sand area with a large tent set-up for shade I think they call it the sandbar.

Doing what: St Maarten Shore Excursion: Orient and Maho Beach Half-Day Tour

Olivia G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our ship was delayed do to a medical emergency on board. I was afraid our excursion was going to be canceled, but that wasn't the case! Our guide was ready for us when we got there with a smile on his face. Both beaches were excellent!

Doing what: St Maarten Shore Excursion: Orient and Maho Beach Half-Day Tour

Karen C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our tour guide, the Governor, was hilarious. He was the best part of the tour.

Doing what: St Maarten Shore Excursion: Orient and Maho Beach Half-Day Tour

Doug J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Wellington was an absolutely wonderful guide! His rum punch was tasty too! We came to the island as a stop on a cruise week. Of the 5 ports we visited this Saint Maarten excursion was our most favorite!

Doing what: St Maarten Shore Excursion: Island Sightseeing Tour from Philipsburg

Lee M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

WONDERFUL experience. Captain Roderick was very knowledgeable and helpful throughout the day. We traveled to the best snorkel spots, ate lunch at a wonderful local place in Grand Case, and got to see many different things only accessible by boat. Well worth the money, we will be doing this again!

Doing what: St Maarten Shore Excursion: Snorkeling and Speed Boat Tour

Vipin A

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Our first island on our tour was an exilirating experience with our tour guide/driver Dudley who was well informed passionate and proud to be living on the Dutch side of the island.He explained the history of the island being split in a Dutch half and French side in an interesting manner.We had unhurried interesting stops to enjoy the beach,shop a little,and also feed some hungry iguanas.If you ever visit St Maartens enjoy this trip and ask for Dudley.We had some friends who joined the trip at the last minute and were very well accomodated.

Doing what: St Maarten Shore Excursion: Island Sightseeing Tour from Philipsburg

Kelly G

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our visit and recommend this tour! Would have liked a little more time in Marigot and not as much at Maho Beach. We got to see both sides of the island and still had plenty of time to make it to the cruise ship. Deuce was a great guide.

Doing what: St Maarten Shore Excursion: Island Sightseeing with Shopping

Mgarnes1

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

I had a great time. Wellington was friendly, funny and courteous. Lots of history, it was worth the investment.

Doing what: St Maarten Shore Excursion: Island Sightseeing Tour from Philipsburg

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message