St Maarten ATTRACTIONS See all

St. Maarten Cruise Port

St. Maarten, along with its neighbor St. Martin, occupies the smallest island in the world that is under the dominion of two countries, Holland and France. It is rapidly developing and becoming a port of call for the Eastern Caribbean. The ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 684 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Marcus S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

We got to see all major sights.Price was very reasonable

Doing what: Shore Excursion: Philipsburg to Marigot Sightseeing Tour

Miroslava K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

very nice trip for czech turist: srdečně doporučujeme, bezvadná organizace a průvodce, pláž u letiště s letadly nad hlavou je zážitek, stejně jako koupačka
petr a spol

Doing what: St Maarten Shore Excursion: Orient and Maho Beach Half-Day Tour

Raith N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Ein freundlicher Fahrer und eine gute Organisation.

Doing what: St Maarten Shore Excursion: Orient and Maho Beach Half-Day Tour

Margaret M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Amazing beaches ist we visited orient beach which was wonderful perfect beach and beautiful warm sea then we went to maho beach very busy but truly amazing you can almost touch the planes as they land at the airport both beaches are well worth a visit a great excursion by viator I would recommend this trip to anyone

Doing what: St Maarten Shore Excursion: Orient and Maho Beach Half-Day Tour

karenosellsazhms

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

We found our tour Agents, waiting for us, very easy to find. We ending up being the only two people on our tour! Our driver and our guide, were both from the area, and drove us all over the island, stopping so we could take photos. We had fun watching the airplanes fly over the beach with all the people in the water and on the sand! We were able to have lunch and plenty of time to shop! After touring for about 4 hours, they offered to take us to Orient Beach, for another stop, but we were too tired and ready to go back to the ship! We would highly recommend this company and tour with them again!

Doing what: St Maarten Shore Excursion: Beaches and Shopping in Marigot

Wayne M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

This trip is amazing ,I would highly recommend to everyone ,The directions and efficiency of the whole outfit is very well put together .Adrian and Joell where so funny and entertaining ,Great music as well .The Lunch was delicious and fast .The only thing I would say was disappointing is we ran out of Beer Idont think they were prepared for a few drinkers on board . However that been said I would definitely go again .Thank you so much for such an amazing adventure

Doing what: St Maarten Shore Excursion: Snorkeling and Speed Boat Tour

Johnny S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Third time in Saint Maarten great place to visit beautiful beaches and good food. I do recommend it for all travellers to visit Saint Maarten.

Doing what: St Maarten Shore Excursion: Orient and Maho Beach Half-Day Tour

kcarrigan26

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Fantastic tour! The boat was well maintained and spacious thanks to a no-show group of 7. The marina is an easy 10 minute walk from the port and Mike and Bob were waiting to greet us. Our captains Adrian and Joel were terrific. We weren't able to visit all the usual spots on the tour due to rough seas, but we didn't feel like we missed out on anything. Lunch at Caribbean Grill was the best food we had all week. They had us back to the marina in plenty of time for another leisurely 10 minute stroll back to the ship. We are already looking forward to planning another visit to St. Maarten and would book this tour again in a heartbeat.

Doing what: St Maarten Shore Excursion: Snorkeling and Speed Boat Tour

nancy s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Jose was friendly, knowledgeable and accommodating. He left a engineering job in Texas to move to the island for a happier life. My only complaint would be that our departure time said corresponds with the docking of the ship. We were off the ship at 8:30ish, but didn't leave in the van until 10:30ish. I would have preferred an actual departure time, so as not to waste ours, waiting for Jose's arrival.

Doing what: St Maarten Shore Excursion: Orient Beach, Marigot and Maho Beach

PETER A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

We had 15 trips in the Caribbean this one was the best. Well organised plenty of rum punch and beer and a very good guide.

Doing what: St Maarten Shore Excursion: Orient and Maho Beach Half-Day Tour

Marsha B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Great excursion. Spent 2 hours on each beach and enjoyed every minute. Food and restrooms available on each. Saw numerous topless sun bathers on Orient beach but none on Maho beach. Only downside was the traffic on the island. Driving to and from the beaches was very slow.

Doing what: St Maarten Shore Excursion: Orient and Maho Beach Half-Day Tour

Glenn M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

We had a great trip. We chose to book our tour online rather than use the cruise ship excursions. Worked about great. Less expensive and a terrific tour of the island, both sides. At the end we were at Maho Beach and got to watch several major airlines planes come in right overhead. Our driver was informative, entertaining and easily understood. His knowledge of the island was exceptional and his passion for it was obvious. Would strongly recommend Viator Tours. BTW, this was our first time going on excursions not set up by the cruise. This is how we will do it from now on....

Doing what: St Maarten Shore Excursion: Island Sightseeing Tour from Philipsburg

Sharon M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Wellington was our driver. He was excellent. Knew the places inside and out. He kept us on our toes by throwing in some facts that were silly. This promoted communication among the group of passengers plus with him. It was a fun excursion, nice to get to know the area, other people and Wellington. I would highly recommend this tour group and if you get Wellington it will be even better.

Doing what: St Maarten Shore Excursion: Island Sightseeing Tour from Philipsburg

Jodi s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Jose was great! We went all over the island and got a lot of history and info from Jose. Jose never left any of the sites we visited and was very flexible to work with.

Doing what: St Maarten Shore Excursion: Orient Beach, Marigot and Maho Beach

Juliane H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

The tour was exactly as described. There were only 4 of us and the driver Roland gave us an experience we will never forget. We learned the history of the two nations and more. We loved the planes over Mahoney beach, the pastries at Sarahfinas apple tart is a must! Bring cash they don't take cards. and shopping in Philipsburg. Roland walked us a short distance into the heart of the town and gave us a time to meet back. We explored Philipsburg stopping at the Guavaberry Emporium where we sampled and bought this local liquor. We really got the flavor of this beautiful island thanx to this tour. We highly recommend this!

Doing what: St Maarten Shore Excursion: Island Sightseeing with Shopping

jburkey1

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

It was raining when we arrived in port, however we still decided to take the tour. The meeting place was easy to find and the staff was very welcoming. Our driver was very accomodating as there were only 6 of us, which was great. We went swimming at Orient Beach in the rain then boarded the van and went to Maho. Amazing. We had plenty of time to watch the planes. Highly recommend this tour. We found out that people paid way too much for the same or less on the ship.

Doing what: St Maarten Shore Excursion: Orient and Maho Beach Half-Day Tour

Diana C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

My sister and I loved this tour. We watched the planes come in and were able to rent a beach chair, after we walked up and down the beach, and just kick back and enjoy the show. We didn't stand up when the planes when came in, and I'm glad as the people who did told us it was like getting sand blasted. Overall a good way to spend a morning in port.

Doing what: St Maarten Shore Excursion: Orient and Maho Beach Half-Day Tour

Bob45

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

When our cruise ship arrived in St. Maarten, my wife and I were met by Gerard, who greeted us with a friendly smile. Gerard was the perfect tour guide. He took us around the island to visit both the Dutch and French sides, stopping at scenic overlooks and historic locations for pictures. He even honored our photo requests along the route, which were not on his planned itinerary. The tour was made even more interesting by Gerard's historical and cultural references, enriched by his anecdotes and willingness to answer my many questions. Should you decide to visit St. Maarten, be sure to book with VIATOR Tours and ask for Gerard if you are looking for a wonderful tour with a friendly and informative tour guide.

Doing what: Shore Excursion: St Maarten Beach, Sightseeing and Shopping Tour

Patrick T USA

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

The ex. trip was a decent circumnavigation of the island, despite the occasional rain shower. It was a good exploratory tour that could help with deciding future trips. Our driver was Paul, who was very talkative and seemed to enjoy sharing the various amenities that the island has received over the years. He made plenty of stops at various overlooks for the passengers to get out and take pictures. For many stops, he also offered to help take pictures i.e., family shots, etc.. Throughout the trip, he regaled us with miscellaneous historical and cultural tidbits.

We first stopped at an overlook of Oyster Bay, then proceeded to the Rotary Point near Caye Chateau and related islets. Unfortunately, the Urchin Man was not present at this stop due to hospitalization or illness. The site was scenic nonetheless. Afterward, we made our way to the Orleans Qtr. and a stop at Paradise View. At that time, all of us passengers declined the stop to get out and explore. So we next went to Kontiki's on Orient Beach. Unfortunately, it was rainy when we got there so no one was able to get any sub bathing in. The rain did eventually stop, but it was still windy. Plus, the crowds seemed to have immediately came out from shelters and began staking claims of sand. So, we all explored around the area - shops, restaurants not many were opened yet, etc. Since the rain sort of hampered any beach time plans, we convinced Paul to let us load up and proceed onwards on the tour. After crossing the northern part of the island, we snaked our way into Grand Case, where we stoped at the salt mill display. Marigot was next, where we were offloaded and stopped for a prescheduled lunch at Rosemary's. The food was really good and not too expensive. The wait time was a little slow though, which severely cut into any shopping time that could have been had in Marigot. From there, we next stopped at the treaty monument on the French/Dutch border, before proceeding on to Maho Beach. We got there in just in time and in the middle of the slew of midday inbound flights. Everyone got off and proceeded to spend about an hour there taking pictures of the aircraft landing and taking off, and getting some sun in between downpours. After everyone was satisfied, we all loaded up and returned to the dock. Paul did offer to stop and drop off folks in Philipsburg, but no one took advantage.

Overall, the trip was a nice preview of the island and what it had to offer. Unfortunately, the rain influenced the amount of time we had at the various stops. Stops like Marigot and Orient Beach were shortened, through no fault of Paul's. If I had to modify this itinerary, I'd add more time to the Marigot and Orient Beach stops to allow passengers more time to shop and explore.

Doing what: St Maarten Shore Excursion: Beaches and Shopping in Marigot

Dlak United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

We both enjoyed this tour that took us to two beaches we had not visited in St. Maarten. We were late beginning our tour as the other couple did not show up. Eventually we took off thirty minutes late without them and they joined us later on Orient Beach. We were not penalized any time for this. A plus for Amigo Tours! The pick-up location is hard to find, however, and we suggested to our driver that a more descriptive explanation be given. We asked at the Visitor Information desk, as you enter the port in St. Maarten, and they were able to direct us to the location after we failed to find it ourselves. Orient Beach is lovely and the beach we were taken to could have been
improved by including the beach chairs. We opted to drop our towels on one of the few sandy spots and skip the additional charges for the short time we were there. Our driver picked us and the other couple up at the agreed upon time and we headed to Maho Beach. With so many ships in port, including the Allure of the Seas, the small beach was basically standing room early. Eventually someone picked up their towel and we dropped ours. Water was nice and it was exciting to see the planes fly over, but when it is this crowded, one hour or one hour and a half is enough time at this beach. Bathrooms here were questionable as we never saw any. Everyone should do these two beaches at least once if you visit St. Maarten, however, and this was an affordable way to do so.

Doing what: St Maarten Shore Excursion: Orient and Maho Beach Half-Day Tour

Pedro fidel R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The company that provided the service was very formal and accomdating, our guide Ronald was great!

Doing what: St Maarten Shore Excursion: Beaches and Shopping in Marigot

Jboxjohnson

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Comprehensive tour of St. Maarten! Our guide was Deuce, and everyone seemed to know and love him. We enjoyed holding a variety of sea creatures and feeding and petting iguanas. We had about an hour to swim and relax at Orient Beach. Standing under the approaching planes at Maho Beach was amazing!

Doing what: St Maarten Shore Excursion: Maho Beach and Lucas Bay Sightseeing

Jessica P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

we really enjoyed this! our tour guide was Bert. Orient Beach had free wifi for our use, and you got a chair for just 5. not crowded at all. by the time it started to fill in, we were off to Maho.

saw some great planes, and we were there for the take off of the American Airlines flight. my other half was on the fence for the jet blast and loved it!

you had 2 hours total at each beach, and you drove the entire circumference of the island so you got to see alot. I highly recommend the guacamole at Sunset Bar maho beach. Dee-lish!

Doing what: St Maarten Shore Excursion: Orient and Maho Beach Half-Day Tour

mauroboccuni

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Very recommended tour. The captain of the speed boat was the best we could have!

Doing what: St Maarten Shore Excursion: Snorkeling and Speed Boat Tour

Darlene T USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We took this as a shore excursion. It was just my family and I so essentially a private tour. It sure beat sharing a motor coach with 50 others. The guide was great and the beaches beautiful.

Doing what: St Maarten Shore Excursion: Beaches and Shopping in Marigot

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message