St Petersburg ATTRACTIONS See all

Catherine Palace and Park

Catherine Palace (Екатеринский дворец) is one of Russia’s former imperial palaces and summer residence to its tsar’s built on the orders of Catherine I. Now a museum, the baroque style palace has a neoclassical interior that exemplifies Russian ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 172 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Stephen P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Private tour was great. The Tour Guide Anna met us my Wife and I at the ship terminal walked us to the waiting car and driver Igor and away we went. We saw all the sites plus. It was much better than a shore excursion and about the same price. We did give our tour guide and driver a nice tip, but they were worth it. Tour Guide Anna was very knowledgeable on history and was able to answer any questions we had. We felt safe and welcomed the entire time.

Doing what: 2-Day Private City Tour of St Petersburg

Catherine W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This is a great tour, by a well organised company. I highly recommend this tour - it was far superior and much more reasonably priced than the ship tours. The small group meant less time queuing, less time waiting, more sites visited and a much richer, fuller experience.

Nina was our guide and Ivan our driver - both were very professional. Nina's knowledge of St Petersburg history, architecture and culture is amazing. She is enthusiastic and obviously loves St Petersburg and tour guiding. With her great organisational skills and vast experience with the itinerary she was able to keep us all on schedule, without feeling rushed, so that we could see everything on the itinerary - and with St Petersburg's traffic that is not easy. Ivan's driving is amazing and even in the chaotic traffic we felt completely safe while he navigated through traffic jambs. The itinerary included all the most significant sites of St Petersburg that can be seen in two days - and combined with Nina's fantastic information we learned more, and appreciated more, of St Petersburg than we thought possible.

The tour company was running many tours from our ship in St Petersburg - everyone in our van was from the same country- we were all introduced to each other and had a great two days together. The van was modern, clean and well maintained. Access to the internet was great. The two souvenir shops we visited, while reasonably expensive, had a great variety of good quality merchandise - I wanted some souvenirs and didn't want to spend too much time out of a tight schedule to do this, so it suited me well.

The two restaurants visited were interesting and I enjoyed the food. The only criticism is that I would have loved to buy a glass of wine with each meal, but it was just too difficult to negotiate.

Doing what: 2-Day Highlights City Tour of St. Petersburg

Rebecca J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

It was a wonderful tour. Our guide Lida who great.

Doing what: Tour of Pushkin (Tsarskoye Selo) and Catherine Palace

judymmbell

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Excellent tour. There were only six of us and we traveled in a comfortable mini-van. The tour guide was knowledgeable, accommodating and spoke English very well. We were able to see everything that we had hoped to see and still had some of the day left for other activities. Highly recommended.

Doing what: 4-hour Semi-Private Catherine's Palace and Amber Room Tour

Florence B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Wonderful, knowledgable guide eased us through the crowd and gave us a room by room narrative.
She was at our hotel promptly with driver and a large comfortable car. Would highly recommend.

Doing what: St Petersburg Private Tour of Catherine Palace and Park in Tsarskoe Selo

Robert G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

A thorough but relaxing visit to the palace and grounds. The guide was informative without overloading you with information. Great flexibility to take in some areas of the grounds not mentioned in the brochure, which afforded the opportunity to see inside the secluded Hermitage.

Doing what: Private Tour: Pushkin Day Trip from St Petersburg Including Catherine Palace

Ilana E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This tour was definitely well worth it. Well organised and interesting, with just the right balance between information, activities and a relaxed pace. Our tour guide, Olga, was very knowledgeable and helpful, even arranging a restaurant booking for us in the evening. Our driver, Alexander, was helpful and friendly. This tour, with its mix of historical, cultural and scenic attractions, is ideal if you have only two days in St Petersburg. Peterhof Gardens, Catherine's Palace and the State Hermitage Museum were all highlights. The Hermitage, in particular, was much more enjoyable as part of a guided tour. There is just so much to see that it was really helpful to have a knowledgeable guide to pick out a few choice rooms and exhibits to focus on. I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: 2-Day Private City Tour of St Petersburg

Geoff R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We had an excellent guide for our visit who met us at our hotel. On the way to Pushkin we were given a full history of St Petersburg and it's development, from Peter the Great to the modern day most informative. Our driver dropped us close to the Palace and the guide took us through the Palace giving us a superb narrative on the way. There was time for pictures as well as to take more time over items we specifically wanted to see, for example the pictures in the Amber room. Our guide was incredibly well informed we could not have asked for better. The trip was tailored to what we wanted, where we wanted to go and what we wanted to do. We were taken back to the hotel and were left knowing that we would use Viator again to organise our trips!

Doing what: Tour of Pushkin (Tsarskoye Selo) and Catherine Palace

cassio.fonte

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We had a very pleasant experience with this tour. Our guide was Mr Roman who was very professional and knowledgeable. Recommended!

Doing what: Tour of Pushkin (Tsarskoye Selo) and Catherine Palace

Judith M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Outstanding tour with Roman. An absolute must if you go to St Petersburg.

Doing what: Tour of Pushkin (Tsarskoye Selo) and Catherine Palace

Leane K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The guide Lydia was knowledge, friendly and spoke amazing English. I could not have done these locations by myself - she was great. It was worth doing the 2 stops as they both had a different feel. The gardens were less attractive as it is going into winter, but the interiors were incredible.

Doing what: Tour of Pushkin (Tsarskoye Selo) and Catherine Palace

arjlakin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Just perfect: excellent guide, careful driver, comfortable car, no queueing. This tour is simply the best possible way of seeing Saint Petersburg in two days. It was also great value - especially compared with the limited private tours offered by the cruise ships.

Doing what: 2-Day Private City Tour of St Petersburg

Alan P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Wonderful first rate tour a complete history lesson Our tour guide Katrina was awsum !!!

Doing what: 2-Day Private City Tour of St Petersburg

Doylton D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

It was a very pleasant experience. This was my 3rd trip to St. Petersburg but my first trip to Catherine Palace. Our tour guide was an excellent English speaker and very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Tour of Pushkin (Tsarskoye Selo) and Catherine Palace

David C. United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

They were punctual and very knowledgable about the history of St. Petersburg.
Well worth the money spent.

Doing what: 2-Day Private City Tour of St Petersburg

Jill L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

I already sent a review last week.

Doing what: 2-Day Private City Tour of St Petersburg

thubearfitzgerald

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Qualified guide and efficient driver. Guide answered my questions and was informative.

Doing what: 2-Day Private City Tour of St Petersburg

Vladimir S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Excellent experience. Especially with Lida as a guide. She was really good. Gave us a lot of details and history stories.

Doing what: Tour of Pushkin (Tsarskoye Selo) and Catherine Palace

Alex M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our two day private tour was excellent. The local guides were very courteous and knowledgeable. We had two different tour guides each day and they were both excellent. They were flexible to change the preset itinerary to suit our plans. We would recommend this private tour to all visitors.

Doing what: 2-Day Private City Tour of St Petersburg

Edward H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Excellent tour!! Well organized, great tour guide, knowledgeable and very considerate of the group.
We will certainly use TJ Travel for our next excursion.

Doing what: 2-Day Highlights City Tour of St. Petersburg

Ricardo L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Although we had a problem with the booking form (the hotel address and telephone number didn and #39;t store), Viator could find a good solution. Today we did the tour with the guide Elena. It was fantastic! The place is really nice, and Elena an excellent guide. Thank you!

Doing what: Tour of Pushkin (Tsarskoye Selo) and Catherine Palace

Ken C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Wonderful 2 days with a wonderful guide Katya and driver Genady apologises if spelling of names wrong.

Well worth the money and at a good pace .

Doing what: 2-Day Private City Tour of St Petersburg

T B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Very beautiful Palace. Amber Room is quite unique. A lot of history behind the place and the Royals. We had a very good English guide. Gardens are photo-worth. Do recommend.

Doing what: Tour of Pushkin (Tsarskoye Selo) and Catherine Palace

Tarsila F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The guide was amazing and the tour perfect. It is an expensive tour, but it is worthwhile.

Doing what: 4-hour Semi-Private Catherine's Palace and Amber Room Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message