The State Hermitage (Государственный Эрмитаж) is one of the largest and oldest art and cultural museums in the world. The museum was originally built privately under the orders of Catherine the Great, housing her ever-growing collection; however, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 61 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Frederick B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was a great way to see the main sites of St. Petersburg. Elena, our tour guide, met me at the front door of my hotel around 10 minutes prior to the scheduled pickup, and a comfortable van then took us to meet the other 4 people in our group, staying a few blocks away. We drove first to the Fortress of St. Peter and Paul, and then on to tour several of the main cathedrals and other sites. Elena also guided us to a shop with very high quality jewelry and marushka dolls - a bit pricey but much better than the stuff found in the shops along Nevsky Forum. After lunch we had a guided tour of the Hermitage. Elena provided extensive knowledge of the history and life in current day St. Petersburg. We even had an insightful discussion of Russian vs. Western attitudes towards autistic children. I greatly appreciated this inside view of the city in a small group where we could ask all sorts of questions. I would highly recommend this tour to anyone wanting an introduction to the city.

Doing what: Grand Tour of St Petersburg

DakotaSOD

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our tour guide was Valeria Mozhina. She was incredible. Extremely knowledgeable and very interesting. We were exhausted but really wanted to spend several more hours with her talking about all of the wonders in the Hermitage.

Doing what: Hermitage Museum Gold Room Tour with a Curator including All-Day admission to the Museum

luke.szarafinski

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

I booked a private full day tour of St Petersburg. My guide Ekatarine was very knowledgeable and provided plenty of information about the history of this city and threw in interesting anecdotes and jokes here and there. We were driven in a comfortable car between each landmark which was very convenient. The sites included the St Peter and Paul fortress, stunning Church on the Spilled Blood and St Isaac's Cathedral and ridiculously opulent Hermitage. It was all very well oranised with plenty of time to take pictures and have a short rest. This tour also involved delicious Russian style lunch. Highly recommended to individuals who prefer sightseeing in unrushed and luxurious manner.

Doing what: Grand Tour of St Petersburg

Leo J

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Informative guide Lydia and interesting tour. Unfortunately, the Hermitage Museum itself is very crowded making it difficult to access some of the works on display.

Doing what: State Hermitage Museum Small-Group Walking Tour

Kerry B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We were meet on time and fast tracked through the long lines of people waiting to enter Hermitage. We had an outstanding guide who gave us a select tour of key areas of the museum, and an historical perspective to the various works over three hours. Other group tours seemed to have much larger numbers - we were a group of six and were able to ask questions of our guide throughout the tour. I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Small-Group St Petersburg Hermitage Museum Tour with Skip-the-Line Entry and Summer Early Access

Kathleen R

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed our tour of the Hermitage. Our guide Ilya was prompt in his arrival to our hotel and informative. We covered a very large amount of the extremely huge location and history, in a short amount of time. Would highly recommend it! Only thing that would have made it a 5 would have been the chance to see the other State museum across the square where the Impressionist paintings were, as part of this tour. Would have gladly paid additional for this to be bundled.

Doing what: State Hermitage Museum Small-Group Walking Tour

Branislav S Slovakia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

It is really must! Our guide Elena was perfect and she has excellent knowledge. Early access is must in this museum and then you can enjoy the almost empty rooms and all the beauty around. You will see all relevant things from Hermitage within 4 hours. If you like to see the Gold or Diamond rooms please buy tickets immediately after entering to the Hermitage they are only limited numbers and fast are sold out!

Doing what: Small-Group St Petersburg Hermitage Museum Tour with Skip-the-Line Entry and Summer Early Access

Jan M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our guide Elena was wonderful. As we had a tour of the Hermitage the previous day she had chosen parts of the museum we had not previously seen so it was perfect!!

Doing what: Small-Group St Petersburg Hermitage Museum Tour with Skip-the-Line Entry and Summer Early Access

Peter T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our guide Elena was extremely well informed on both the history of the Hermitage and all the major pieces of art. We usually don't use guides when we visit such museums but so glad that we did use Elena, as she enabled us to get the most out of our visit to a museum which I would rate as one of the top 2 museums I have ever visited. Great tour.

Doing what: Small-Group St Petersburg Hermitage Museum Tour with Skip-the-Line Entry and Summer Early Access

Joan P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our tour guide was very informative and set the pace of the tour to suit myself
and my grandson. As my grandson is studying history at university, she was able to answer all his questions in depth.

The Hermitage is a wonderful museum which I would recommend to everyone to visit with our tour guide. Thank you.

Doing what: State Hermitage Museum Small-Group Walking Tour

David N

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Good overview of the vaste Hermitage collection with experienced and passionate guide. We also quickly worked our way round the huge masses of cruise tours. Nice small group with good audio equipment.

Doing what: Small-Group St Petersburg Hermitage Museum Tour with Skip-the-Line Entry and Summer Early Access

Elizabeth C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This tour will take you to parts of the Hermitage cruise ship passengers don't normally reach. We saw all the artefacts from ancient times with an excellent guide who was friendly, courteous and very helpful. We had four hours in the Hermitage without a break - if we did it again, we would ask for a coffee break half way through! Saw the Rembrandts without a crowd. Very nice lunch at a nearby restaurant afterwards.

Doing what: Private tour: The Hermitage Museum and 3-course Traditional Russian Lunch with Russian Vodka

Dmytro H

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

The tour was very good and our guide Olga possesses great knowledge of Hermitage, its history and the jewels of its collection. The only minor hiccup was with the special entrance tickets that the guide could have had before the tour started.
Private tour provides by far better experience when compared to the group tours.

Doing what: Small-Group St Petersburg Hermitage Museum Tour with Skip-the-Line Entry and Summer Early Access

Sonja B

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

This tour was very informative and truly enhanced my visit to Saint Petersburg.

However, 8 hours is almost too little to fit everything in. It didn't help that we wasted time waiting around for our tickets as another guide had mistakenly taken ours. This meant we were quite pressed for time towards the end and had to rush through the Hermitage Museum. Furthermore, as I had evening plans, I didn't have the flexibility to stay longer myself.

The lunch was okay, but for my vegetarian colleague the only option was plain rice with a slice of cucumber and tomato. This is something that needs to be considered - potentially there could be questions when booking regarding diet needs?

All in all, I would definitely recommend this tour for those not staying very long in Saint Petersburg.

Doing what: Grand Tour of St Petersburg

Ellen G

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Must see the Hermitage with a tour guide. Saves time by entering before the crowds and saves wandering around the museum trying to find the sections that interest you. Good overview by our guide Elena, although it seems like she has done this quite a bit and didn't really make an effort to connect with any of the group members. When she described a room or a piece of artwork, it appeared that she would close her eyes and recite her spiel. Most of us got there early at the meeting point, and by the time we were all assembled, we were 11 people. Since this tour is for a maximum of 6, the tour contractor had a second guide and they divided the group between two guides, which was a good move since it was a bit difficult just to keep 6 people together with the guide. Glad I did this tour and glad that I saved it for the last day of my week in St. Petersburg.

Doing what: Small-Group St Petersburg Hermitage Museum Tour with Skip-the-Line Entry and Summer Early Access

Edward H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This is an excellent tour if one wishes to see four historic churches plus the Hermitage Museum with ease, but it is a grueling 8-hour tour with an overload of information. Tour guide Lidea was excellent and had a wealth of information as she took my daughter and I around Saint Petersburg. I'd prefer to see these sites over two days, but am very happy we were able to experience as much of Saint Petersburg as we did in one day.

Doing what: Grand Tour of St Petersburg

Aaron W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

If you get the tour guide Roman, you will get the best tour you've probably ever had. We spent 5 hours in the Hermitage, and an hour walking about the city from our hotel where he met us to the Hermitage. Full of enthusiasm, knowledge and facts. He knows everything about everything in there. Really quite amazing. Can tell he loves the museum, loves the city and loves Russia. Great guide, and the museum is good too!

Doing what: State Hermitage Museum Small-Group Walking Tour

Carol A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Irina was a delight. We enjoyed our tour with her enormously and the 3 hours flew by. She was enthusiastic, knowledgeable and easy to talk to. Her tour provided an overview and orientation which one needs in coming to grips with the vast Hermitage plus her deeper discussion on particular highlights was interesting and filled with insights we otherwise would not have been aware of. This was a terrific tour and we couldn't have had a better guide. TY, Irina.

Doing what: Small-Group St Petersburg Hermitage Museum Tour with Skip-the-Line Entry and Summer Early Access

Edward H

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

A long and rigorous tour with an overland of information. Four churches plus the Hermitage Museum was too much for one day, and I wish we could have split the day into two separate tours. Our guide was knowledgable, professional, and friendly and insisted we experience all aspects of the tour despite the fact it was only my daughter and myself. I'm glad that I took this tour, but did return to the hotel exhausted both physically and mentally.

Doing what: Grand Tour of St Petersburg

Halvor S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

We were picked up at our hotel at 10AM and had a guided walk thru centrum towards the Hermitage Hotel. I highly qualified guide told us about the buildings we passed.
At Hermitage we were met be another guide that had our entrance-tickets no waiting at all, and had a very nice guided 2h-tour in the Hermitage.
I can highly recommend this - great value for money.

Doing what: State Hermitage Museum Small-Group Walking Tour

JWM K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Irina knew a lot about de history off the Hermitage and his owners. She was very helpfull and knew all the answers to our questions. We highly recommend this guide.

Doing what: Small-Group St Petersburg Hermitage Museum Tour with Skip-the-Line Entry and Summer Early Access

Trina S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This was the best tour I have taken through Viator because Elena the tour guide was amazing! I have taken probably 20 tours through Viator in various countries, yet this topped the list. I signed up for the full 8 hour tour. I was the only person on the tour. We had our own driver who drove us from site to site. This helped immensely since it was so cold out. Elena was the most knowledgeable guide I have found to date. She knew a ton of information about each site and could answer all of my questions. The churches are amazing. The lunch was tasty. And the Hermitage was incredible. I am not a huge museum/art girl, but Elena's knowledge brought the art to life. I felt like the day flew by and was sad to see it come to an end. St. Petersburg is a beautiful city and this tour will give you a great overview of the main sites.

Doing what: Grand Tour of St Petersburg

Sandra and Karl F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This was wonderful. the company did everything and more to ensure that our tour of the Hermitage was just wonderful. We had the staircase to ourselves-a wonder! they even arranged tickets for us to see the iInoressionists which are now house in a separate building. I couldn't praise them more. Well worth while.

Doing what: Small-Group St Petersburg Hermitage Museum Tour with Skip-the-Line Entry and Summer Early Access

Lou K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

I found this Hermitage tour to be very worthwhile and educational. The tour guide-Irena-- was very well informed and had good English communication skills. The Hermitage is a large and complex museum that would be difficult for most people to navigate and enjoy without the benefit of a skilled and effective guide like Irena.

Doing what: Small-Group St Petersburg Hermitage Museum Tour with Skip-the-Line Entry and Summer Early Access

Candace R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Leider was a very knowledgeable and personable guide. The Hermitage is huge and she was helpful in making it not feel too overwhelming. A very good tour.

Doing what: State Hermitage Museum Small-Group Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message