Unlike Moscow's red bricks and onion domes, St Petersburg's network of canals and Baroque and Neoclassical architecture give the city a European flavor. Get a taste for this sophisticated city with this three-day itinerary.   Day 1: Grand ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 423 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Robert V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Most practical way to visit the palaces!

Doing what: Tour of Pushkin (Tsarskoye Selo) and Catherine Palace

David H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Excellent. Our tour guide Nadya is very knowledgeable and punctual. She also speaks excellent English and is fluent in all aspects of Russian history. Her degree from the University of St. Petersburg also has equipped her to be well versed in international affairs. We highly recommend Nadya for your St. Petersburg tour needs.

Doing what: Russian Art Walking Tour of St Petersburg: Church of the Saviour on Spilled Blood and the Russian Museum

Cynthia A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great museum, the guide was very knowledgable and friendly. Long day on our feet.

Doing what: Small-Group St Petersburg Hermitage Museum Tour with Skip-the-Line Entry and Summer Early Access

Deborah B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Skipped the hours long lines and had a very informative, pleasant tour. Allowed in early and well worth every penny. Guide was a professor in the off season. Having only six people in our group allowed us to see so much, ask questions, and not have to follow a huge group of tourists. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Small-Group St Petersburg Hermitage Museum Tour with Skip-the-Line Entry and Summer Early Access

g.cardoza.a

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Fortunately, we were only 6 people on the tour and everything was great. The palace is amazing and all went smoothly. It seems it's always very crowded, but our tour guide Lidia took the time to explain everything in detail and of course, we recommend this tour to everyone, because it's a must do in St. Petersburg.

Doing what: Tour of Pushkin (Tsarskoye Selo) and Catherine Palace

Kerry B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We were meet on time and fast tracked through the long lines of people waiting to enter Hermitage. We had an outstanding guide who gave us a select tour of key areas of the museum, and an historical perspective to the various works over three hours. Other group tours seemed to have much larger numbers - we were a group of six and were able to ask questions of our guide throughout the tour. I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Small-Group St Petersburg Hermitage Museum Tour with Skip-the-Line Entry and Summer Early Access

Brooks T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Nadia was incredibly knowledgeable about the city and her English was perfect. When it turned out that the Russian Museum didn't open until 1pm that day, which was when our tour was scheduled to end, she extended the tour and we saw some additional sights before looping back to the museum.

When we finally did make it to the Russian Museum, I was amazed at Nadia's knowledge of both the museum building's history and the artwork in each room -- far beyond what I'd expect for a general city tour.

Highly recommended... if you do one thing in St. Petersburg, do this tour.

Doing what: Russian Art Walking Tour of St Petersburg: Church of the Saviour on Spilled Blood and the Russian Museum

edward n

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Couldn't fault in any way. On time, great guide, not rushed, very informative, highly recommended tour and company

Doing what: Small-Group Catherine Palace and Pavlovsk Palace Tour from St Petersburg

Graham R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Valeria was an excellent guide who showed us the most important parts of the museum with efficiency but also great enthusiasm for the works of art inside. My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed the tour and would recommend this tour to anyone who would like to skip the line when we visited, the line was 200 meters long and it was raining! and would like to have a professional, friendly, and knowledgable guide. Thank you, Valeria!

Doing what: Small-Group St Petersburg Hermitage Museum Tour with Skip-the-Line Entry and Summer Early Access

David N

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Excellent guide who showed us many extras. Unfortunately the museum opens an hour later on thursdays, so although we ran 90 minutes over the expecred time, we still had a lot to see by ouselves which was not a big problem.The russian 19 and 20th century art is extremely interesting. Cathedral fascinating, maybe because it seems totally out of place.

Doing what: Russian Art Walking Tour of St Petersburg: Church of the Saviour on Spilled Blood and the Russian Museum

Beverly W Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Very good tour, enjoyed it immensely, not to be missed.

Doing what: Grand Tour of St Petersburg

Kathleen D

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Our guide was good, I had a little trouble hard understanding with his hard accent,at first but he had a full english vocabulary. The other guests in our group misunderstood that the boat ride was only ONE WAY HOME... Not both ways. So they made a big stink which ruined OUR tour. Wish the tour was longer as our guide was very knowledgable and would liked to have gotten more info from him.

Doing what: Peterhof Grand Palace and Gardens Tour with Neva Boat Ride

steve k

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

A reasonable review of much of the collection. I was disappointed that we did not see any of the impressionist collection

Doing what: Small-Group St Petersburg Hermitage Museum Tour with Skip-the-Line Entry and Summer Early Access

Robert E W

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

The tour did not start well. Had to queue for over half an hour and then it was rush to finish at 12.30 for one couple. Then after the guides return he only stayed another half hour and he was off!ere When I inquired if the ticket was valid modern museum across the courtyard told yes but was not !!!

Doing what: Small-Group St Petersburg Hermitage Museum Tour with Skip-the-Line Entry and Summer Early Access

Eben F USA

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

We had an unusual experience. Our very friendly, well educated guide met us at the hotel as indicated at 10am. We didn't know that we needed to be on a boat with English narration that left at 10:30. It was more than a 30 minute walk for us to where the boat left so we missed it and had to wait an hour for the next boat that was Russian narration. Due to the loudness of the speaker system on the boat and not wanting to interfere with what other passengers were hearing, our guide has to whisper to us in English about what we were seeing.
Other than that, the sights are magnificent.

Doing what: Neva River Sightseeing Cruise in St Petersburg

Crowded

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

Elena was a great tour guide however when I booked I had requested a car for 2 people which I thought mean't we would be the only people on the tour. Elena said that 2 additional people booked after us. However they were picked up first and so got the forward facing seats in the van so we didn't get to look at the buildings etc. from the car as couldn't see out the window properly. We also didn't go to the waxworks as mentioned on our tour description.

Doing what: Grand Tour of St Petersburg

Montri N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Very nice tour guide! Good English, explaining all the history.
Thank you!

Doing what: Peterhof Grand Palace and Gardens Tour with Neva Boat Ride

David M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Nice clean minivan with comfortable leather seating. Good friendly driver and excellent lady guide who had good English and was always ready to stop for closer views and photo ops.

Doing what: St Petersburg by Night: City Sightseeing Tour

Nicholas L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

An excellent tour. Elena, our guide, gave us an in-depth understanding of Russian history and art. She took us to see the icon which had defended Novgorod during a siege and also an antique monastery by a lake outside the city.

Doing what: Novgorod Small-Group Tour from St Petersburg

Andrew C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

very enjoyable, right level of detail and an ideal introduction. The guide was charming

Doing what: Small-Group St Petersburg Hermitage Museum Tour with Skip-the-Line Entry and Summer Early Access

Cynthia C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We were delighted with this tour. Aliona was charming and very knowledgeable and was able to transmit her knowledge to us beautifully. Her English is nigh on perfect. We shall recommend this tour and Aliona to any friends coming to St. Petersburg.

Doing what: Small-Group St Petersburg Hermitage Museum Tour with Skip-the-Line Entry and Summer Early Access

zute

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I liked this tour because the guide let us take our time going through the palaces and their gardens. Both palaces had unique features that made for an interesting half-day. Pavlovsk Palace doesn't have the swarms of tour groups -- which makes for a leisure tour of the palace and a leisure stroll through the gardens.

Doing what: Small-Group Catherine Palace and Pavlovsk Palace Tour from St Petersburg

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message