Unlike Moscow's red bricks and onion domes, St Petersburg's network of canals and Baroque and Neoclassical architecture give the city a European flavor. Get a taste for this sophisticated city with this three-day itinerary.   Day 1: Grand ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 437 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Vladimir S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Excellent experience. Especially with Lida as a guide. She was really good. Gave us a lot of details and history stories.

Doing what: Tour of Pushkin (Tsarskoye Selo) and Catherine Palace

julienne.stathis

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

A wonderful experience! Loved the small group experience--private tour actually and knowledge of our guide.

Doing what: Grand Tour of St Petersburg

john seymour b

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

tour was first class all on time skipped the line entry . our guide Aliona was excellent 3 hours long only 6 in our group .great tour .

Doing what: Small-Group St Petersburg Hermitage Museum Tour with Skip-the-Line Entry and Summer Early Access

Ricardo L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Although we had a problem with the booking form (the hotel address and telephone number didn and #39;t store), Viator could find a good solution. Today we did the tour with the guide Elena. It was fantastic! The place is really nice, and Elena an excellent guide. Thank you!

Doing what: Tour of Pushkin (Tsarskoye Selo) and Catherine Palace

luke.szarafinski

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

I booked a private full day tour of St Petersburg. My guide Ekatarine was very knowledgeable and provided plenty of information about the history of this city and threw in interesting anecdotes and jokes here and there. We were driven in a comfortable car between each landmark which was very convenient. The sites included the St Peter and Paul fortress, stunning Church on the Spilled Blood and St Isaac's Cathedral and ridiculously opulent Hermitage. It was all very well oranised with plenty of time to take pictures and have a short rest. This tour also involved delicious Russian style lunch. Highly recommended to individuals who prefer sightseeing in unrushed and luxurious manner.

Doing what: Grand Tour of St Petersburg

T B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Very beautiful Palace. Amber Room is quite unique. A lot of history behind the place and the Royals. We had a very good English guide. Gardens are photo-worth. Do recommend.

Doing what: Tour of Pushkin (Tsarskoye Selo) and Catherine Palace

Geraldine C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Unfortunately we were the victims of jet lag and had to skip this. I suggest you don't book it on the night you arrive.

Doing what: Folklore Show 'Feel Yourself Russian' with Russian Buffet Dinner

luke.szarafinski

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

comfortable mini van took us from our hotel in central St Petersburg and took us to Peterhof some 30 minutes away. The tour of Peterhof was great but somewhat rushed only because a large group with us had another tour to catch and were adamant we see everything rather quickly. However, we managed to see everything that we wanted and had plenty of time to take pictures of the beautiful park and fountains around the estate. We got back to St Peterrburg by hydrofoil which was comfortable and quick offering another perspective of the city.

Doing what: Peterhof Grand Palace and Gardens Tour with Neva Boat Ride

Vicki M

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Great trip and the local travel company and guide were great! There were lots of tourists though so would recommend going at a quieter time of the year we went in August.

Doing what: Tour of Pushkin (Tsarskoye Selo) and Catherine Palace

T B

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

The Palace tour by itself is very good. The English guide very knowledgeable. The fountan system reminds me of Tivoli, Italy. The Rooms of the Palace are magnificent.
But don't expect too much from the boat ride as it is just a return boat trip with general public. You just get a voucher to ride for free as you obviously already paid for the transport.
That's why it is a 4 star rating.

Doing what: Peterhof Grand Palace and Gardens Tour with Neva Boat Ride

T B

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2016

Don't bother to book. Too short. Only one admission included to Peter and Paul Fortress. Better use metro/tube for transportation. All good sites are near the stations. Metro is extremely cheap.

Doing what: Grand Tour of St Petersburg

Catherine R

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2016

The meeting point should be in a public place - I had to pay for a train ticket that I wasnt going to use just to meet the group. The guide also wasn't a very good speaker/storyteller and preferred 1:1 conversations which really doesnt work in a group tour setting.

Doing what: Communist Walking Tour of St Petersburg

Robert V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Most practical way to visit the palaces!

Doing what: Tour of Pushkin (Tsarskoye Selo) and Catherine Palace

David H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Excellent. Our tour guide Nadya is very knowledgeable and punctual. She also speaks excellent English and is fluent in all aspects of Russian history. Her degree from the University of St. Petersburg also has equipped her to be well versed in international affairs. We highly recommend Nadya for your St. Petersburg tour needs.

Doing what: Russian Art Walking Tour of St Petersburg: Church of the Saviour on Spilled Blood and the Russian Museum

Cynthia A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great museum, the guide was very knowledgable and friendly. Long day on our feet.

Doing what: Small-Group St Petersburg Hermitage Museum Tour with Skip-the-Line Entry and Summer Early Access

Deborah B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Skipped the hours long lines and had a very informative, pleasant tour. Allowed in early and well worth every penny. Guide was a professor in the off season. Having only six people in our group allowed us to see so much, ask questions, and not have to follow a huge group of tourists. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Small-Group St Petersburg Hermitage Museum Tour with Skip-the-Line Entry and Summer Early Access

g.cardoza.a

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Fortunately, we were only 6 people on the tour and everything was great. The palace is amazing and all went smoothly. It seems it's always very crowded, but our tour guide Lidia took the time to explain everything in detail and of course, we recommend this tour to everyone, because it's a must do in St. Petersburg.

Doing what: Tour of Pushkin (Tsarskoye Selo) and Catherine Palace

Kerry B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We were meet on time and fast tracked through the long lines of people waiting to enter Hermitage. We had an outstanding guide who gave us a select tour of key areas of the museum, and an historical perspective to the various works over three hours. Other group tours seemed to have much larger numbers - we were a group of six and were able to ask questions of our guide throughout the tour. I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Small-Group St Petersburg Hermitage Museum Tour with Skip-the-Line Entry and Summer Early Access

Brooks T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Nadia was incredibly knowledgeable about the city and her English was perfect. When it turned out that the Russian Museum didn't open until 1pm that day, which was when our tour was scheduled to end, she extended the tour and we saw some additional sights before looping back to the museum.

When we finally did make it to the Russian Museum, I was amazed at Nadia's knowledge of both the museum building's history and the artwork in each room -- far beyond what I'd expect for a general city tour.

Highly recommended... if you do one thing in St. Petersburg, do this tour.

Doing what: Russian Art Walking Tour of St Petersburg: Church of the Saviour on Spilled Blood and the Russian Museum

edward n

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Couldn't fault in any way. On time, great guide, not rushed, very informative, highly recommended tour and company

Doing what: Small-Group Catherine Palace and Pavlovsk Palace Tour from St Petersburg

Graham R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Valeria was an excellent guide who showed us the most important parts of the museum with efficiency but also great enthusiasm for the works of art inside. My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed the tour and would recommend this tour to anyone who would like to skip the line when we visited, the line was 200 meters long and it was raining! and would like to have a professional, friendly, and knowledgable guide. Thank you, Valeria!

Doing what: Small-Group St Petersburg Hermitage Museum Tour with Skip-the-Line Entry and Summer Early Access

Juan P G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

It was absolutely wonderful. The tour guide was incredibly knowledgable. Would recommend to anyone who doesn't want to miss out on one of the most beautiful sights in Russia.

Doing what: Tour of Pushkin (Tsarskoye Selo) and Catherine Palace

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message