St Thomas ATTRACTIONS See all

Charlotte Amalie Cruise Port

St. Thomas is a hugely popular Eastern Caribbean cruise destination, and is well set-up for shore visitors. With great shopping, sightseeing and beach relaxation in easy reach, there’s everything you need for a perfect day ashore on a holiday ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 274 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Doris C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was our first time kayaking and it was a great experience. Lead guide Lee and other guide Jen were patient, informative, and fun to be around. They were both enthusiastic about the tour and concerned that we were enjoying ourselves and having a good
time. I would highly recommended the tour.

Doing what: St Thomas Shore Excursion: Hassel Island Kayak, Hike and Snorkel Tour

Adrianna G B USA

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2016

Not impressed. Thought would be in ocean and was just a pool of pet sharks ok but not what expected

Doing what: St Thomas Shore Excursion: Swimming with Sharks at Coral World Ocean Park

Thomas B United States of ... 

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2016

Argh, to begin with, after writing a full, lengthy review for Viator, then signing in so it could get posted, it disappeared into the web which doesn't incent me to write another. If this tour had not been so bad, I wouldn't bother but others should know to at least be given the opportunity to decide whether or not they'll use Sonny Liston Tours. Viator contracts with Sonny Liston Tours and we've had great fortune with Viator, so months ago, we made reservations for this tour. We exited our ship, sat where the taxi driver directed us to for Sonny Liston and waited, waited, waited. No Sonny Liston buses went by and no Sonny Liston drivers appeared looking for passengers. As we were becoming totally exasperated, a FULL Sonny Liston bus came by exiting the port. Because he had to slow down for a speed bump, we ran out, flagged him down and told him we were supposed to be on their tour. They questioned this and made us show our paperwork, which I had in my hand, then reluctantly told us we could board. Where was our next question? Turns out, one of us had to find room in the bus portion and we other two had to ride in the cab. They assured us we would all be together as soon as we got to Charlotte Amalie. Imagine our surprise when we got to Charlotte Amalie where we 1 had to get off the bus, 2 discovered there were THREE buses with cruise passengers, and 3 had to wait at least a half hour for what we still don't know. Anyway, already hot and thirsty, the three buses finally got ready to board and again, once the large parties were seated, we had NO seats. Turns out, one of our party had to ride in the cab of one bus and another two had to ride in the cab of a second bus. Wow, some family tour!! The drivers assured us that they would work it out, they had overbooked at the last minute and that was out problem how??? and by the first stop they would find seats for us altogether. That DID NOT happen, and we were not happy campers. Add to this overcast, rainy weather, Sonny Liston NOT being at the top of his game so his presentations were lackluster, and us no longer wanting to be on this tour, all the makings of a bad tour. We did not get to tour together until well around the island at Sapphire Beach where many of the tour group got off to stay at the beach. By this time all we wanted to do was get back to town and off the tour. Sapphire Beach was a disappointment because the buildings there are downright depressing shabby and one place open. Beautiful condos in front but then this dismal beachfront presentation. The beach itself is narrow and I'll just leave it at I've been to better. Sad when the little strip of shops fronting the cruise ship ports becomes way more appealing than our shore excursion, especially when you have to pay for the excursion and you can CHOOSE to pay for things you might buy in the shops. It was really just an expensive taxi ride around the island.

Doing what: St Thomas Shore Excursion: Shopping, Sightseeing and Beach Tour

Estefania R

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2016

They delivered what was described on the tour. However, I was not satisfied with some aspects:
1. The driver will pick you up at the port and drive you to the stores. On the way there, he picked up random people charging them 2 to take them to downtown. This resulted in us paying customers being very uncomfortable in the ride. I did not think it was fair.

2. He will drop you off for 2 hours at the shops not worth it in my opinion and then come back and pick you up. However, keep in mind that several other groups were dropped off before hand, so it ends up being a mess to figure out how to fit on the safari buses. My party was divided multiple times and it was like fighting for a seat.

3. He charged other people WAY less than what you are paying through Viator. Another party from our same cruise payed 20 for the same tour.

4. He is LOUD and obnoxious. I understand it was a party bus but he yelled through a broken speaker all the time and it was VERY annoying. He also drove carelessly and made me and my parents very nervous.

In my opinion, you are better off getting a taxi from the port and driving to Magens Bay and stopping for some pictures on the way. Another people from my party did this and they only payed 8 and had a way better experience than I did. You can go straight to the beach and come back and have lunch at the ship.

Doing what: St Thomas Shore Excursion: Shopping, Sightseeing and Beach Tour

kristen a

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2016

Tour was not much of a tour. Was told there would be a gentleman meeting us on the dock with a sign. No sign. Very confused where to find him.
The bus was a safari style which is nice. But he BLARED the music and he SANG ALONG to the music the ENTIRE time. Very very annoying. He never told us anything about the history or the sites we would see. We only saw 1 view fromthe Mountain Top and then he dropped us off everywhere else with no instruction.
This was Sonny Liston Tours. Usualy Viator is great but this time was a miss.

Doing what: St Thomas Shore Excursion: Shopping, Sightseeing and Beach Tour

Janice L F

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2016

I really didn't learn that much about the island or the people. I learned a lot about shopping centers and where restaurants were but information that might have been interesting was not to be had. We stopped at a couple of tourist places on our way up the mountain
and stopped at a super tourist place at the top. Honestly, though, the best part of the tour was the homemade banana daiquiri
at the top of the mountain. And the downtown St. Thomas shopping area was just one jewelry store after another. Who could tell if there were really good deals or not. Maybe if we had a guide who told us something meaningful about the island than we would have had a better time. Definitely I do not recommend this tour

Doing what: St Thomas Shore Excursion: Shopping, Sightseeing and Beach Tour

Barbara S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Maybe not what you were expecting, but so much fun! Sunny Liston is over the top with his entertaining nature. If you want the Caribbean experience this is the tour for you.

Doing what: St Thomas Shore Excursion: Shopping, Sightseeing and Beach Tour

MICHELLE K

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

We were supposed to leave on the tour at 11:30am, but the guide made us go as soon as we got off the ship 10:30am. The guide was very nice, but very loud. If you sat near the front, got a headache from the loud speaker he was yelling through. If you sat in the back, you got sick due to the way the bus bounces during the very fast speed, sudden turns and stops. There was a lot of sightseeing while on the go, but very little stop time. Finally at the end of the tour, we did get 2 hours at Megan's Bay where we could unwind from the unpleasant drive. Megan's Bay was beautiful, but I'm not sure how it got rated in the top 10 of all beaches in the world as proclaimed. The beach was very crowded and cost 5 to go in, which was odd. And it cost us 28 for 4 slices of pizza and one bottle of water. The tour did deliver though on their guarantee to get us back to the ship before it left us. We did get to see a lot in a very short amount of time, which was good, but it just seemed like too fast paced and way too loud.

Doing what: St Thomas Shore Excursion: Shopping, Sightseeing and Beach Tour

pegm

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2016

This tour was the worst. The transportation was old and tattered they moved several of us who booked with viator to older equipment that was very difficult to get in and out. We had to wait for another van at each stop for another guide to describe what we should see. JUST TERRIBLE

Doing what: St Thomas Shore Excursion: Shopping, Sightseeing and Beach Tour

Melissa S

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2016

This tour was absolutely horrible. It took an hour before it left the port. We had to wait on open air bus for an hour in the extreme heat while the driver tried locating everyone on the tour. Very disorganized. The tour narrative was terrible too. I learned hardly nothing from the tour guide. My mother who was with me the tour guide provided no assistance to help her get on and off the bus. When I was wheeling my mom in her wheelchair sunny Liston told me wow your getting muscles. I thought that was awfully rude. He never even offered assistance. I couldn't wait for the tour to be finally over. And we were not the only ones. One lady said when we arrived she said thanks me the J. Would definitely not recommend this tour!

Doing what: St Thomas Shore Excursion: Shopping, Sightseeing and Beach Tour

mcmac501

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

we had a family group of 9, both young and old, it was excellent and entertaining, fun for all.

Doing what: St Thomas Shore Excursion: Shopping, Sightseeing and Beach Tour

Melissa L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was a fantastic tour. So much fun! I would definitely recommend!

Doing what: St Thomas Shore Excursion: Shopping, Sightseeing and Beach Tour

Marion

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We had an awesome time, singing and laughing the whole tour.

Doing what: St Thomas Shore Excursion: Shopping, Sightseeing and Beach Tour

Elyse W

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

It was easy to find the tour representative once we disembarked from the ship. The guide took us around and stopped at various vantage points but he didn't give a whole lot of information about St. Thomas along the way. He played and sang along to loud music during most of the trip which I found annoying but my traveling companion thought it was delightful. Different strokes for different folks, I guess. We did get to go to Mountain Top which has a breathtaking view and at that time the guide did give us quite a bit of information about the area and what we were seeing.

Doing what: St Thomas Shore Excursion: Shopping, Sightseeing and Beach Tour

ghowell777

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2016

Unfortunately we did not enjoy this tour. We could have done without the singing which was off key and did not see many sites. The bus was very,very bumpy. Would not take this tour again.

Doing what: St Thomas Shore Excursion: Shopping, Sightseeing and Beach Tour

cpick

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We had no idea what to do with our kids 5/8 at St. Thomas. I found this, and did not do much research, other than the fact we would be able to spend 20 minutes or so 1:1 with a sea lion. Kids had a blast, they even had a photographer who captured a lot of memories for us.. We ended up just buying the USB drive for 75 with all the photos.. Seemed like a great deal compared to the cost of photos onboard the ship.. The staff at Coral World were well educated, knowledgable, and most of all passionate about the animals they care for.. The place is undergoing some renovations, but even though it seems a bit run down, the staff make up for it 100 ...

Doing what: St Thomas Shore Excursion: Sea Lion Encounter at Coral World Adventure Park

andibolstad

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Sven was awesome and so knowledgeable! Very personalized tour, he showed us exactly what we wanted to see. Very good value.

Doing what: St Thomas Shore Excursion: Reef and Turtle Discovery with Honeymoon Beach

Isabel E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Sven and Michelle - Great couple, great tour.
The other couple on the tour took the boat out to the island so it was just us and Sven Kajaking. I didn't want to get my hopes up about the turtles, but we saw 4 or 5. Lunch was delicious, and the snorkeling was the best I've done throughout the Caribbean so far. Lots of coral, different fish, and we even saw squid or cuttlefish?.
I do have to say two things:
1. Remember, this is about 45 min of Kayaking to the island, maybe 20 min of snorkeling with the turtles, another 15 min of Kayaking to the snorkeling spot, maybe 45 min of snorkeling where you are partially swimming against the current, and then about 45-60min kayaking back. You need to be pretty fit, if you want to do both the kajaking and snorkeling.
2. Do not forget to reapply your sunscreen! Trust me, I am speaking from experience.
Although you do get longsleeve neoprene shirts to wear for snorkeling, which helps a little.
Aside from the neoprene shirts, they also supply you with plenty of water, and they take awesome photos for you much better than the ones I took with my underwater camera!
Thank you, Sven and Michelle for this wonderful memory.

Doing what: St Thomas Shore Excursion: Reef and Turtle Discovery with Honeymoon Beach

bonnielynnfox

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Sunny was our tour guide and he is one fun guy! He made us laugh all day long. Great price for a great tour of the island. Wasnt a big fan of Coki beach...very crowded and lots of locals just hanging around. Not much of a food selection. I would choose Sapphire or Megans over Coki next time, they are much cleaner and safer.

Doing what: St Thomas Shore Excursion: Shopping, Sightseeing and Beach Tour

Nigel H

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2016

Little of interest. Badly organised. I have tried to review this poor tour twice before but I am repeatedly asked again. Operator went to wrong ship and we left 30 mins late then kept us waiting in town for ages before a short tour that gave little information . Went to a nice beach but did not stop. A complete waste of time and money.

Doing what: St Thomas Shore Excursion: Shopping, Sightseeing and Beach Tour

Christopher K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great time.we had a party of 9 and we all had a great day

Doing what: St Thomas Shore Excursion: Shopping, Sightseeing and Beach Tour

MICHAEL C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We had a wonderful time on this excursion, I had my husband and three adult children with me, and we all had so much fun. The staff was great, and the two guides were awesome. I would suggest this excursion to my family and friends!

Doing what: St Thomas Shore Excursion: Mangrove Lagoon Kayak and Snorkel Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message