St Thomas ATTRACTIONS See all

Charlotte Amalie Cruise Port

St. Thomas is a hugely popular Eastern Caribbean cruise destination, and is well set-up for shore visitors. With great shopping, sightseeing and beach relaxation in easy reach, there’s everything you need for a perfect day ashore on a holiday ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 260 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

skolker

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

We had a great time with the Sunny Liston Tours. Our ship got in 2 hours later than what was posted on our itinerary, plus our ship wasn't able to pull into the pier because another ship was already there so we had to be tendered over. We never dreamed our tour guide would be there when we got off but HE WAS! Great job keeping watch over his reserved guests. We enjoyed the day!

Doing what: St Thomas Shore Excursion: Shopping, Sightseeing and Beach Tour

Gregory F

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

Once we found the tour group, things were pretty good. On our day in port, there were several other large ships there as well, and no one was waiting outside of our ship to greet us. After wandering around for a few minutes, I finally called the phone number listed on the tour voucher and I was told where to go a 5 minute walk from the ship. The shopping portion of the tour was a bit of a joke, however. We were given less than 30 minutes to explore downtown before needing to come back to the vehicle to continue on. The tour itself was great. Our guide was friendly, and knowledgeable about the area. I never felt unsafe for myself or my family including a 4 year old and 9 month old. The beach was beautiful, if a little crowded. I would recommend this tour for anyone with not much time to spare in St Thomas, looking to hit all the high points in a safe and fun, albeit rushed, 5-6 hour day.

Doing what: St Thomas Shore Excursion: Shopping, Sightseeing and Beach Tour

sunshineventuresfl

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2017

we paid to have a stop at the beach, but that never happened. there was so much time allowing us to shop, which was not what we wanted. we wanted time at the beach, but because the ship was leaving at 2:30 so they said, but they should have known prior, this never was part of the tour. Only the people on Carnival got to go to the beach. Why did we pay for something that we never got?
it was all very confusing as to which vehicle we were using and then they made all kinds of ridiculous stops to pick-up water, and then to see the view. Both of these took way too much time as everyone said.....

Doing what: St Thomas Shore Excursion: Shopping, Sightseeing and Beach Tour

Phillip J

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2017

Absolutely the worst shore excursion trip I have ever been on. First, the driver was late and took us about one mile to a shopping area where we were told we had 2 1/2 hours for shopping. I paid for an island tour not a shopping spree. When we finally got going the driver played some very loud music that he attempted to sing along with. During the entire trip he never once pointed out any particular sites or historical facts. This guy should be fired. I'll never book another Viator trip.

Phil Johnson
Illinois
Feb 7, 2017

Doing what: St Thomas Shore Excursion: Shopping, Sightseeing and Beach Tour

Julie N

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Mine was a diverse group of 6 me, my BF, my parents and my teenage kids with a range if mobility issues. We ALL enjoyed this tour.

The shopping was plentiful, the sightseeing was breathtaking and my son and I had a great time renting stand up paddle boards at Sapphire Beach.

Doing what: St Thomas Shore Excursion: Shopping, Sightseeing and Beach Tour

sharon m

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Sunny was fantastic! We had a great time on the party bus! Sunny was knowledgeable and fun.
I would have rather just had an hour at the beach, but ....it was a fun day seeing the island and taking a swim at the beach.
Sunny had soda and water on the back of the bus for us throughout the day.
It was easy to find Sunny at the pier and he got us back to the ship in plenty of time. It was clear that he has a lot of experience with this tour and knows exactly how long it will take. He was always on time or early for everything. It was a nice day.

Doing what: St Thomas Shore Excursion: Shopping, Sightseeing and Beach Tour

Lawrence F

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

We enjoyed the entertaining antics of our tour operator. A quick stop to shop at beginning. Then we were off, a couple of stops to view the Caribbean and Atlantic sides of St Thomas with time to purchase typical tourist stuff. We were then advised the next stop would be the beach for the afternoon. This was an additional 5.00 fee not explained on the voucher or the website. Would have preferred a more leisurely pace with more highlights of what we were passing on the way. It was our first visit and next time I would seek out a sightseeing tour without the beach.

Doing what: St Thomas Shore Excursion: Shopping, Sightseeing and Beach Tour

leawills

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Amazing tour, Wellington the tour guide was superb. Very informative and such a great character. Can't recommend the tour or him enough!

Doing what: St Thomas Shore Excursion: Shopping, Sightseeing and Beach Tour

Lisa W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This Guide was great he sang all day we looked like a party bus coming thru which made it really fun... Very interesting and well done.

Doing what: St Thomas Shore Excursion: Shopping, Sightseeing and Beach Tour

Alayne L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Our Sunny Liston tour was AWESOME! We really got to experience the best of the island and Sunny made the tour even more fun! Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: St Thomas Shore Excursion: Shopping, Sightseeing and Beach Tour

Glenn W

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

This tour was good but I think it was more suitable for a younger crowd. The tour bus was open air which was great but they played loud music the whole trip and pumped the breaks on the bus going up and down the hills to the beat of the music which wasn't necessary. We saw beautiful scenery and stopped for some fantastic photos St Thomas port, Meghans Bay, etc. and eventually we ended up at a nice beach Sapphire Beach but the shopping was nothing special...touristy areas. By the way, we barely made it back to our ship before it sailed for the next port....everyone was a little stressed!

Doing what: St Thomas Shore Excursion: Shopping, Sightseeing and Beach Tour

Lisa J

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2016

It was just a way to get to the beach for the excursion we were really excited for.
The shopping was mostly a flea market area.
Our driver would sing along with his music over the PA - annoying.
He was accommodating to everyone's schedules.

Doing what: St Thomas Shore Excursion: Shopping, Sightseeing and Beach Tour

Jack T

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2016

It wasn't really the tour guide's fault that this was a flop. He had one of the most unattractive islands that exists to work with. Wouldn't
recommend a tour of any type here to anyone.

Doing what: St Thomas Shore Excursion: Shopping, Sightseeing and Beach Tour

Doris C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was our first time kayaking and it was a great experience. Lead guide Lee and other guide Jen were patient, informative, and fun to be around. They were both enthusiastic about the tour and concerned that we were enjoying ourselves and having a good
time. I would highly recommended the tour.

Doing what: St Thomas Shore Excursion: Hassel Island Kayak, Hike and Snorkel Tour

Thomas B United States of ... 

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2016

Argh, to begin with, after writing a full, lengthy review for Viator, then signing in so it could get posted, it disappeared into the web which doesn't incent me to write another. If this tour had not been so bad, I wouldn't bother but others should know to at least be given the opportunity to decide whether or not they'll use Sonny Liston Tours. Viator contracts with Sonny Liston Tours and we've had great fortune with Viator, so months ago, we made reservations for this tour. We exited our ship, sat where the taxi driver directed us to for Sonny Liston and waited, waited, waited. No Sonny Liston buses went by and no Sonny Liston drivers appeared looking for passengers. As we were becoming totally exasperated, a FULL Sonny Liston bus came by exiting the port. Because he had to slow down for a speed bump, we ran out, flagged him down and told him we were supposed to be on their tour. They questioned this and made us show our paperwork, which I had in my hand, then reluctantly told us we could board. Where was our next question? Turns out, one of us had to find room in the bus portion and we other two had to ride in the cab. They assured us we would all be together as soon as we got to Charlotte Amalie. Imagine our surprise when we got to Charlotte Amalie where we 1 had to get off the bus, 2 discovered there were THREE buses with cruise passengers, and 3 had to wait at least a half hour for what we still don't know. Anyway, already hot and thirsty, the three buses finally got ready to board and again, once the large parties were seated, we had NO seats. Turns out, one of our party had to ride in the cab of one bus and another two had to ride in the cab of a second bus. Wow, some family tour!! The drivers assured us that they would work it out, they had overbooked at the last minute and that was out problem how??? and by the first stop they would find seats for us altogether. That DID NOT happen, and we were not happy campers. Add to this overcast, rainy weather, Sonny Liston NOT being at the top of his game so his presentations were lackluster, and us no longer wanting to be on this tour, all the makings of a bad tour. We did not get to tour together until well around the island at Sapphire Beach where many of the tour group got off to stay at the beach. By this time all we wanted to do was get back to town and off the tour. Sapphire Beach was a disappointment because the buildings there are downright depressing shabby and one place open. Beautiful condos in front but then this dismal beachfront presentation. The beach itself is narrow and I'll just leave it at I've been to better. Sad when the little strip of shops fronting the cruise ship ports becomes way more appealing than our shore excursion, especially when you have to pay for the excursion and you can CHOOSE to pay for things you might buy in the shops. It was really just an expensive taxi ride around the island.

Doing what: St Thomas Shore Excursion: Shopping, Sightseeing and Beach Tour

Estefania R

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2016

They delivered what was described on the tour. However, I was not satisfied with some aspects:
1. The driver will pick you up at the port and drive you to the stores. On the way there, he picked up random people charging them 2 to take them to downtown. This resulted in us paying customers being very uncomfortable in the ride. I did not think it was fair.

2. He will drop you off for 2 hours at the shops not worth it in my opinion and then come back and pick you up. However, keep in mind that several other groups were dropped off before hand, so it ends up being a mess to figure out how to fit on the safari buses. My party was divided multiple times and it was like fighting for a seat.

3. He charged other people WAY less than what you are paying through Viator. Another party from our same cruise payed 20 for the same tour.

4. He is LOUD and obnoxious. I understand it was a party bus but he yelled through a broken speaker all the time and it was VERY annoying. He also drove carelessly and made me and my parents very nervous.

In my opinion, you are better off getting a taxi from the port and driving to Magens Bay and stopping for some pictures on the way. Another people from my party did this and they only payed 8 and had a way better experience than I did. You can go straight to the beach and come back and have lunch at the ship.

Doing what: St Thomas Shore Excursion: Shopping, Sightseeing and Beach Tour

kristen a

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2016

Tour was not much of a tour. Was told there would be a gentleman meeting us on the dock with a sign. No sign. Very confused where to find him.
The bus was a safari style which is nice. But he BLARED the music and he SANG ALONG to the music the ENTIRE time. Very very annoying. He never told us anything about the history or the sites we would see. We only saw 1 view fromthe Mountain Top and then he dropped us off everywhere else with no instruction.
This was Sonny Liston Tours. Usualy Viator is great but this time was a miss.

Doing what: St Thomas Shore Excursion: Shopping, Sightseeing and Beach Tour

Janice L F

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2016

I really didn't learn that much about the island or the people. I learned a lot about shopping centers and where restaurants were but information that might have been interesting was not to be had. We stopped at a couple of tourist places on our way up the mountain
and stopped at a super tourist place at the top. Honestly, though, the best part of the tour was the homemade banana daiquiri
at the top of the mountain. And the downtown St. Thomas shopping area was just one jewelry store after another. Who could tell if there were really good deals or not. Maybe if we had a guide who told us something meaningful about the island than we would have had a better time. Definitely I do not recommend this tour

Doing what: St Thomas Shore Excursion: Shopping, Sightseeing and Beach Tour

Barbara S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Maybe not what you were expecting, but so much fun! Sunny Liston is over the top with his entertaining nature. If you want the Caribbean experience this is the tour for you.

Doing what: St Thomas Shore Excursion: Shopping, Sightseeing and Beach Tour

MICHELLE K

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

We were supposed to leave on the tour at 11:30am, but the guide made us go as soon as we got off the ship 10:30am. The guide was very nice, but very loud. If you sat near the front, got a headache from the loud speaker he was yelling through. If you sat in the back, you got sick due to the way the bus bounces during the very fast speed, sudden turns and stops. There was a lot of sightseeing while on the go, but very little stop time. Finally at the end of the tour, we did get 2 hours at Megan's Bay where we could unwind from the unpleasant drive. Megan's Bay was beautiful, but I'm not sure how it got rated in the top 10 of all beaches in the world as proclaimed. The beach was very crowded and cost 5 to go in, which was odd. And it cost us 28 for 4 slices of pizza and one bottle of water. The tour did deliver though on their guarantee to get us back to the ship before it left us. We did get to see a lot in a very short amount of time, which was good, but it just seemed like too fast paced and way too loud.

Doing what: St Thomas Shore Excursion: Shopping, Sightseeing and Beach Tour

pegm

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2016

This tour was the worst. The transportation was old and tattered they moved several of us who booked with viator to older equipment that was very difficult to get in and out. We had to wait for another van at each stop for another guide to describe what we should see. JUST TERRIBLE

Doing what: St Thomas Shore Excursion: Shopping, Sightseeing and Beach Tour

Melissa S

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2016

This tour was absolutely horrible. It took an hour before it left the port. We had to wait on open air bus for an hour in the extreme heat while the driver tried locating everyone on the tour. Very disorganized. The tour narrative was terrible too. I learned hardly nothing from the tour guide. My mother who was with me the tour guide provided no assistance to help her get on and off the bus. When I was wheeling my mom in her wheelchair sunny Liston told me wow your getting muscles. I thought that was awfully rude. He never even offered assistance. I couldn't wait for the tour to be finally over. And we were not the only ones. One lady said when we arrived she said thanks me the J. Would definitely not recommend this tour!

Doing what: St Thomas Shore Excursion: Shopping, Sightseeing and Beach Tour

mcmac501

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

we had a family group of 9, both young and old, it was excellent and entertaining, fun for all.

Doing what: St Thomas Shore Excursion: Shopping, Sightseeing and Beach Tour

Melissa L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was a fantastic tour. So much fun! I would definitely recommend!

Doing what: St Thomas Shore Excursion: Shopping, Sightseeing and Beach Tour

Marion

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We had an awesome time, singing and laughing the whole tour.

Doing what: St Thomas Shore Excursion: Shopping, Sightseeing and Beach Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message