With a history dating back to Viking times and a wealth of well-preserved medieval architecture, the picturesque city of Uppsala makes a popular day trip from Stockholm, located an hour north of the capital. Despite being Sweden’s fourth largest ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 12 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Daniella v

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

A few weeks before this tour I received an e-mail that the tour was upgraded to a full day tour including Uppsala. The tour was great, there were only 4 of us so it felt like a private tour. Urban, the tourguide, has a lot of knowledge and shares his knowledge with enthusiasm and humour. It would highle recommend this tour!

Doing what: Viking History Half-Day Tour from Stockholm

John D M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This is a trip to be highly recommended. We were picked up from our Stockholm hotel at the agreed time in a very comfortable minibus. We were given a tour of many Viking era sites and our guide was both entertaining and very knowledgeable on virtually any subject. We were taken to a farmhouse where we saw the Granby rune stone and were given coffee and warm apple pie. The tour finished with a visit to both old and modern Uppsala. There were many highlights but the burial mounds were not to be missed. We enjoyed our day. The weather could not have been better.

Doing what: Viking History Day Trip from Stockholm Including Uppsala

Pablo V Mexico

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

On your way to Sigtuna you will stop several times at different Viking sites. You will hear about the history of this places and look at some nice runes. You will stop for coffee and freshly baked pastries.

Both Sigtuna and Uppsala are great and our tour guide was friendly and knowledgeable.

Doing what: Viking History Day Trip from Stockholm Including Uppsala

Sharon M USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Very, very informative with a wonderful tour leader. The only suggestion I have is that a map be distributed so we know where sites that are not in Sigtuna and Uppsala are located (eg, runes and mounds).

Doing what: Viking History Half-Day Tour from Stockholm

Patricia P. J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Our guide Urban gave us a an exceptional private tour of the area around Stockholm, since we were the only ones booked. Our 6 hours turned into 8 hours as we had the chance to explore at a more leisurely pace. One of the highlights that we will long remember was going to a private farm and enjoying refreshments with the owner and learning about her life in rural Sweden. The Uppsala burial mounds and the old Uppsala Church at the site was another memorable part of the day. It was our favorite church in all of the ones we visited around the Baltic. At our stop in the beautiful very ancient town of Sigtuna we had over an hour to explore on our own and eat lunch in a flower filled patio. Then there were the runes and visiting so many sites where they stood, along the road sides, deep in the forest and up on a farmer's hill, We really got a deep sense of the history we were witnessing. This is one tour not to be misses!!!

Doing what: Viking History Half-Day Tour from Stockholm

Debra H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

I was very pleased with the vast knowledge our driver had and the ground we covered in one day! I am still processing some of the information and hope to research a little more about the runes. I appreciated Yueben's theories on some issues which he clearly would state as his opinion. This tour gave me such an overview of the Vikings but also the trip provided an insight into how the Swedish towns and people live today. This was an extra bonus that I would not of gotten if we did not go to Sigtuna and Uppsala. Also my friend and I had an extra complication of time to catch our flight to Oslo. Our driver dropped us off at the Arlanda terminal which we were very grateful for and made our flight with a little time to spare.

Doing what: Viking History Half-Day Tour from Stockholm

Dennis H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

Even on a rainy day, an enjoyable and informative tour. Good way to take in the countryside, see Sigtuna and Old Uppsala, have coffee and cake at a working farm, and of course view historic runes and churches. Out guide, Urban, is a good man - not only knowledgeable,
he mailed my cell phone which I left in the van to our hotel in Oslo at his own expense trusting me to reimburse him.

Doing what: Viking History Half-Day Tour from Stockholm

Truth Teller

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

The tour guide was very knowledgeable and had a lot of information, and his English was excellent, but I sometimes struggled to understand his accent which may just be me. You see a lot of runestones, the burial mounds, the cathedral at Uppsala, some little churches, some ruins, the countryside outside Stockholm etc, so its very good if you're on a quick trip

Doing what: Viking History Day Trip from Stockholm Including Uppsala

Joseph O United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Overall I'd give it a thumbs up. I took the Viking History Day Trip from Stockholm including Uppsala. This was the full day tour and not the half day one. It lasted roughly 9 hours from 8:00 to 17:00. Urban was great as our tour guide. There's not a lot of walking but elderly folks may want to skip the ruins in the rocky cow pasture mixed with cow poop. The other stops had more level walking.

My only regret was that we didn't spend any time in Uppsala other than a quick visit to the cathedral. Uppsala is a nice college town and I was looking forward to exploring stores and restaurants, even if only for one hour. The tour description says Lastly, head for new Uppsala, where you have time to explore on your own.... or delve into its charming old quarter and shopping streets. I understand Urban's schedule needs to be felexible based on time at each site and traffic etc.. but I wish I had known we were skipping the walk around Uppsala from the start. Exploring Uppsala was part of my reason for selecting this tour. Also, the 30 minute stop at Stigtuna was a little too short to eat lunch at a restaurant. Some people were able to grab a quick pre-made sandwich at the local grocery store.

So overall I liked it, and would recommend it to others. If you want to walk around Uppsala, I recommend making this known to your guide from the beginning. I automatically assumed it was standard given what the website said.

Doing what: Viking History Day Trip from Stockholm Including Uppsala

laurie

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Our tour met our expectations, especially because Urban, our tour guide - a native Swede who spoke perfect English, was our gracious and knowledge-filled host. We enjoyed the Uppsala region and the personal way we were introduced to Viking history. The towns and countryside were lovely. I liked learning to understand the declarations on a couple of the many rune stones, and how local culture, religion, and belief systems evolved over the ages. We loved the hot beverage and delicious homemade snack included as part of tour in Granby, and were unexpectedly charmed by cows while visiting the farm there. Only difficulty was connecting with the local tour operator by phone or email after our arrival in Stockholm. We were very worried they would not know our hotel location for pick up. There needs to be a better message system with English speakers on phone calls. We did try to reach them more than 24 hours ahead as instructed. Finally our hotel desk concierge contacted them and pick up was on time morning of tour.Whew!

Doing what: Viking History Day Trip from Stockholm Including Uppsala

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2007

The tour was very comprehensive. We got to see many Viking historical sites that we never would have been able to see otherwise. We wouldn't have known they were there. We also got to see two really beautiful and interesting cities: Uppsala and Sigtuna.

Doing what: Viking History Half-Day Tour from Stockholm

Diva

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

OVER RATED.. THERE IS LESS THAN EXPECTED VIKING HISTORY IN SWEDEN. WHAT I ENJOYED SOMEWHAT WAS UPPSALA AND THE CATHEDRAL.. THE REST OF THE TRIP WAS VERY MISSABLE. OVER PRICED ALSO. WILL CERTAINLY BE MORE CAREFUL BEFORE TAKING ANOTHER VIATOR TRIP . THE GUIDE WAS VERY KNOWLEDGEABLE AND THE SHORT STOP AT THE SMALL FARM WAS A GOOD TOUCH.

Doing what: Viking History Day Trip from Stockholm Including Uppsala

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message