The territory north of Stockholm once represented Sweden’s Viking heartland. Their heyday corresponded roughly with the Dark Ages, when they were feared and respected throughout Europe, as far afield as Constantinople. That warrior spirit lives on ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 175 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Larissa N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Urban is a font of excellent information. This is a wonderful tour for history buffs and all those who would like to see something of the lovely Swedish countryside.

Doing what: Viking History Day Trip from Stockholm Including Uppsala

Steven O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Urban was amazing, we had a great time. A highlight of the trip.

Doing what: Viking History Half-Day Tour from Stockholm

Olga R United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Loved this tour full of history. Urban, the tour guide was very knowledgeable and nice. The visit to Uppsala and Sigmut is was amazing.

Doing what: Viking History Day Trip from Stockholm Including Uppsala

mark c

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

excellent tour guide - perfect way to get a history lesson in while exploring the outskirts of Stockholm !!

Doing what: Viking History Day Trip from Stockholm Including Uppsala

Gerald G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was a worthwhile way of spending an afternoon if you have already seen Stockholm. Urban, our guide, really made the experience great. We got much more than expected.

Doing what: Viking History Half-Day Tour from Stockholm

Ross B

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Urban was very informative and provided information in context such that it was interesting throughout the tour. There was only limited time in old town Uppsala for local sightseeing due to the need to grab a bite of lunch. In retrospect we should have taken snacks so that all the time in Uppsala could have been used for walking the old town.

Doing what: Viking History Day Trip from Stockholm Including Uppsala

Sydney H

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

It was a good way to get around quickly but my tour happened to be a bit geriatric. Our guide was very intelligent but droned on a bit. His random swearing and occasional F-bomb was very entertaining though.

Doing what: Viking History Day Trip from Stockholm Including Uppsala

Lucine G USA

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

nothing but churches and rune stones, I think this tour should be for 4-5 hours and not 8 hrs
nice guide

Doing what: Viking History Day Trip from Stockholm Including Uppsala

Juli J

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2016

It would have been nice to have a Viking ship tour included. Too many church tours.

Doing what: Viking History Day Trip from Stockholm Including Uppsala

Sebms_boss

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

My wife and I took this tour on Monday, August 1. It was an absolutely delightful time for us, and we learned so much about the Viking culture from our guide, Urban. The various sites we visited were full of historical artifacts and icons, and, at the end of the tour we felt as if we had experienced a valuable lesson in history of the region. Lunch was in a small town, and we had opportunity to dine with a local couple who were taking their lunch break. We highly recommend this tour to anyone who wants to learn about who the Vikings were and how they lived.

Doing what: Viking History Day Trip from Stockholm Including Uppsala

terencecao46102

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Totally agree with all 5-star reviews.
We did have our hotel pick-up and drop-off. I called them in advance to confirm the time 8:20am.
A free coffee/tea break on the way to Uppsala in a working farm is a great time for chatting or just relaxing.
Urban who is our tour guide and driver is very knowledgeable not only with history of Vikings but also Sweden. He is full of passion for his job and humorous. Make sure to collect some questions for him to answer.

Doing what: Viking History Day Trip from Stockholm Including Uppsala

Marilyn C

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

Interesting to see the ancient Viking sites--details were a bit overwhelming and dates and names will not be easily remembered. Pace was good, the guide was sometimes hard to understand. Seeing the countryside was a real plus. For those interested in Viking history it is a good tour.

Doing what: Viking History Day Trip from Stockholm Including Uppsala

maurice v

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

The minibus arrived at the hotel on time. The only issue was finding out the collection time. Viator only provided a telephone number. We tried to phone the tour operator from the UK but was constantly on hold. We found it's web site and emailed them the day before we left UK. Didn't get a response in time so had to try to contact them from the hotel. Unfortunately still couldn.t get an answer. Fortunately they had emailed with the time. Tour excellent but Viator should include email contact on info packs rather than just phone number as it was getting very worrying to be in Sweden without knowing the pick up time we had arranged two tours on the day we landed so time was very short once we were in Stockholm. Had nice lunch as well and Guide very helpful once on tour.

Doing what: Viking History Day Trip from Stockholm Including Uppsala

Adina M

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

I'm a viking nerd so I didn't learn anything new about the vikings, but I did learn more about historical and modern sweden. I enjoyed seeing the rune stones, burial mounds, and the country side. I wish we would of had more time to explore Uppsala. I really didn't like that we spent so much of time in the Uppsala church.

Doing what: Viking History Day Trip from Stockholm Including Uppsala

Paulo G

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2016

1. There was no pick up at the hotel as advertised
2. They will drop you off wherever they think is best for them
3. There was no information regarding the pick up. Luckily, i had a friend in the same tour who was informed that they wouldn't pick us up
4. The tour is extremely expensive and only includes transportation and guide
5. The tour feels like an endless lecture. There's no time for you to breath, walk on your on or absorb the amount of random information given by the tour guide. If you feel like stopping by for lunch or to buy some mementos, tough luck.

Overall I was extremely disappointed with the tour and wouldn't recommend it.
However, if you don't mind the price and if you feel like sitting on a bus for a long journey, looking at countless old runes and listening to someone talking non stop without much context, this is the tour for you.

Doing what: Viking History Day Trip from Stockholm Including Uppsala

Daniel Antonio R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Informative tour and great way to see the Swedish countryside. If you're looking to learn about the real Vikings, This is the way to go

Doing what: Viking History Day Trip from Stockholm Including Uppsala

Beth H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Lovely Viking tour. Great to see so many Viking runestones. The burial mounds were super cool. Unexpected delight was a stop in countryside at a small farm oozing with charm for a Swedish Fika.

Doing what: Viking History Day Trip from Stockholm Including Uppsala

Christine C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was outstanding! Our guide, Urban, was extremely knowledgeable and friendly. We really enjoyed the fika in Granby and hiking through a field to discover rune stones. Sigtuna was a beautiful as well. If you get a chance to take this your while in Stockholm, do it.

Doing what: Viking History Half-Day Tour from Stockholm

Fiona K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great tour across some of the beautiful Swedish countryside. The tour guide Urban was exceptionally knowledgeable I don and #39;t know how he remembers everything. Thanks for a great day.

Doing what: Viking History Day Trip from Stockholm Including Uppsala

Stephen T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Very interesting plus you get to see the countryside in this full day excursion. Great tour guide as well.

Doing what: Viking History Day Trip from Stockholm Including Uppsala

Diva

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

OVER RATED.. THERE IS LESS THAN EXPECTED VIKING HISTORY IN SWEDEN. WHAT I ENJOYED SOMEWHAT WAS UPPSALA AND THE CATHEDRAL.. THE REST OF THE TRIP WAS VERY MISSABLE. OVER PRICED ALSO. WILL CERTAINLY BE MORE CAREFUL BEFORE TAKING ANOTHER VIATOR TRIP . THE GUIDE WAS VERY KNOWLEDGEABLE AND THE SHORT STOP AT THE SMALL FARM WAS A GOOD TOUCH.

Doing what: Viking History Day Trip from Stockholm Including Uppsala

ALEXANDER H S

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2016

First of all, the hotel pickup is a lie! They sent me a message on the day before the trip asking me to go all the way to the central station to meet them. After i complained, they picked me up 2 blocks from my hotel. The tour is ok-ish, youll see a lot of vicking stones, but that is as far as the vicking thing goes. The guide talks non-stop the whoooole day, and after a while you just wish you could be left in silence for 5min. Overpriced for what it offers.

Doing what: Viking History Day Trip from Stockholm Including Uppsala

Amanda B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great tour guide Urban. He tells you all about history and about Sweden in general. We enjoyed the drive through the countryside while hearing his history and stories. We also liked the nice coffee break at the farm.

Doing what: Viking History Day Trip from Stockholm Including Uppsala

Jonathan P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Very good and informative.

Would highly recommend.

Doing what: Viking History Day Trip from Stockholm Including Uppsala

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message