The territory north of Stockholm once represented Sweden’s Viking heartland. Their heyday corresponded roughly with the Dark Ages, when they were feared and respected throughout Europe, as far afield as Constantinople. That warrior spirit lives on ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 185 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Mircea C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

We loved the tour. It was an amazing trip to take in vacation and the guide was very ok.

Doing what: Viking History Day Trip from Stockholm Including Uppsala

Philip P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Knowledgeable guide and interesting facts!

Doing what: Viking History Half-Day Tour from Stockholm

magaliebeaule

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Very interesting tour leaded by very nice and well informed guides.

Doing what: Viking History Small Group Tour from Stockholm: Half Day

Tomáš V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Interesting and entertaining

Doing what: Viking History Half-Day Tour from Stockholm

cbar4694

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Urban is a very knowledgeable man regarding the history and life in Viking times. The trip was easy paced and the places we went to were very interesting. The dining experience was fine and the drive comfortable. Would recommend this trip to others to gain an insight into Viking times.

Doing what: Viking History Day Trip from Stockholm Including Uppsala

Diana T

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

I really appreciated that they ran this tour even tho the other people who had signed up cancelled, and I ended up being the only one that day. This was great as I had been so looking forward to the tour.

This was a really good mini- introduction to Sweden altho it is technically a tour between rune stones, churches, and historic towns and Viking parliament, Viking farm, and a modern day farm with beautiful Icelandic horses. I had arrived the day before and done some sightseeing around Stockholm, but this trip went out to Sigtuna and we got a view of the beautiful Swedish countryside in between driving to the various historic sites on the tour. This makes it a very good tour for people who have only a short time in Stockholm. Because in Stockholm you will have seen a gazillion museums, night life, frenetic urban economic activity. This tour will give you a break. But you should realize that it is NOT going to be some sensationalized blood and guts TV miniseries Vikings trip from hall to hall or to say here this one killed that one or there this one sailed to do that. Nor is it a sentimentalized cute tour where you go somewhere, take a selfie, go to a gift shop, and see some fake building. Instead, you will see real rune stones by the side of the road, and the site of an ancient local Parliament. Sigtuna is a very old town, and you will get a chance to wander thru it we got a delicious ad very reasonable lunch there. But there really are a lot of things to see, so if you want to go shopping, this is maybe NOT the tour for you.

If you are bringing children or young people, make sure you bring them the day of the week when the Viking Farm recreation is open. We saw it when the exhibits weren't in operation, and it was still great, and it's probably the single thing that would make the biggest impression on kids. But it would be cool when they had people doing things there. I don't know for sure how many reenactors they have when it's open, but it is quite amazing seeing the old buildings and enclosures.

This is definitely a tour for people who use their imaginations. When you stand in one of the clearings in the woods quietly for a bit you can try and imagine it a thousand years ago, and what life was like for the people living here then.

The guides Jonathan and Angus were just great both graduate students in the subjects, and are happy to answer all your questions. It was interesting later in my trip when I was visiting other Swedish historic sites, and even when I was in Norway visiting a stave church and looking at some carvings from churches, how many of the things that Jonathan and Angus had talked about came back to me and shed light on the things I was looking at.

I personally really enjoyed seeing the Icelandic horses at a farm on the route. This wasn't just because they are beautiful, friendly, etc. and because the farm's owner was so hospitable and answered all our questions. But also because the Icelandics are the closest horse breed we have to what the Vikings used to ride the horses on Iceland are descended from Viking horses that were brought there a thousand years ago, and no other horses have been brought there since, so they are the same still. People have started bringing them out of Iceland now because they are such a great breed of horse

This is a low key tour, but you will find afterwards that not only did you really enjoy it, but you learned a lot.

They do have some handouts with descriptions of special historic items that we saw on the tour, and the like. I do think that the tour might be improved by perhaps seeing a family dressed in historically appropriate clothing. This would help kids, at least, relate more to the history. Perhaps this is done at the Viking Farm when the exhibits are open? But even grownups enjoy talking with people who are dressed up and behaving in character from another time as it helps them understand that people 1200 or 800 years ago had many similarities as well as the obvious differences from us.

Doing what: Viking History Small-Group Trip from Stockholm including Sigtuna: Full Day

Larissa N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Urban is a font of excellent information. This is a wonderful tour for history buffs and all those who would like to see something of the lovely Swedish countryside.

Doing what: Viking History Day Trip from Stockholm Including Uppsala

Steven O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Urban was amazing, we had a great time. A highlight of the trip.

Doing what: Viking History Half-Day Tour from Stockholm

Olga R United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Loved this tour full of history. Urban, the tour guide was very knowledgeable and nice. The visit to Uppsala and Sigmut is was amazing.

Doing what: Viking History Day Trip from Stockholm Including Uppsala

Sarah

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great tour!! Highly recommended if you want to know more about before, during and after the Viking age. Angus is a great tour guide and extremely knowledgeable! He was on time at the location and quickly got us on our way. Lots to see and learn, myself and my fiancé had a great day.

Doing what: Viking History Small Group Tour from Stockholm: Half Day

mark c

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

excellent tour guide - perfect way to get a history lesson in while exploring the outskirts of Stockholm !!

Doing what: Viking History Day Trip from Stockholm Including Uppsala

Gerald G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was a worthwhile way of spending an afternoon if you have already seen Stockholm. Urban, our guide, really made the experience great. We got much more than expected.

Doing what: Viking History Half-Day Tour from Stockholm

Ross B

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Urban was very informative and provided information in context such that it was interesting throughout the tour. There was only limited time in old town Uppsala for local sightseeing due to the need to grab a bite of lunch. In retrospect we should have taken snacks so that all the time in Uppsala could have been used for walking the old town.

Doing what: Viking History Day Trip from Stockholm Including Uppsala

Sydney H

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

It was a good way to get around quickly but my tour happened to be a bit geriatric. Our guide was very intelligent but droned on a bit. His random swearing and occasional F-bomb was very entertaining though.

Doing what: Viking History Day Trip from Stockholm Including Uppsala

Lucine G USA

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

nothing but churches and rune stones, I think this tour should be for 4-5 hours and not 8 hrs
nice guide

Doing what: Viking History Day Trip from Stockholm Including Uppsala

Juli J

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2016

It would have been nice to have a Viking ship tour included. Too many church tours.

Doing what: Viking History Day Trip from Stockholm Including Uppsala

Sebms_boss

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

My wife and I took this tour on Monday, August 1. It was an absolutely delightful time for us, and we learned so much about the Viking culture from our guide, Urban. The various sites we visited were full of historical artifacts and icons, and, at the end of the tour we felt as if we had experienced a valuable lesson in history of the region. Lunch was in a small town, and we had opportunity to dine with a local couple who were taking their lunch break. We highly recommend this tour to anyone who wants to learn about who the Vikings were and how they lived.

Doing what: Viking History Day Trip from Stockholm Including Uppsala

terencecao46102

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Totally agree with all 5-star reviews.
We did have our hotel pick-up and drop-off. I called them in advance to confirm the time 8:20am.
A free coffee/tea break on the way to Uppsala in a working farm is a great time for chatting or just relaxing.
Urban who is our tour guide and driver is very knowledgeable not only with history of Vikings but also Sweden. He is full of passion for his job and humorous. Make sure to collect some questions for him to answer.

Doing what: Viking History Day Trip from Stockholm Including Uppsala

Marilyn C

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

Interesting to see the ancient Viking sites--details were a bit overwhelming and dates and names will not be easily remembered. Pace was good, the guide was sometimes hard to understand. Seeing the countryside was a real plus. For those interested in Viking history it is a good tour.

Doing what: Viking History Day Trip from Stockholm Including Uppsala

maurice v

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

The minibus arrived at the hotel on time. The only issue was finding out the collection time. Viator only provided a telephone number. We tried to phone the tour operator from the UK but was constantly on hold. We found it's web site and emailed them the day before we left UK. Didn't get a response in time so had to try to contact them from the hotel. Unfortunately still couldn.t get an answer. Fortunately they had emailed with the time. Tour excellent but Viator should include email contact on info packs rather than just phone number as it was getting very worrying to be in Sweden without knowing the pick up time we had arranged two tours on the day we landed so time was very short once we were in Stockholm. Had nice lunch as well and Guide very helpful once on tour.

Doing what: Viking History Day Trip from Stockholm Including Uppsala

Adina M

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

I'm a viking nerd so I didn't learn anything new about the vikings, but I did learn more about historical and modern sweden. I enjoyed seeing the rune stones, burial mounds, and the country side. I wish we would of had more time to explore Uppsala. I really didn't like that we spent so much of time in the Uppsala church.

Doing what: Viking History Day Trip from Stockholm Including Uppsala

Paulo G

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2016

1. There was no pick up at the hotel as advertised
2. They will drop you off wherever they think is best for them
3. There was no information regarding the pick up. Luckily, i had a friend in the same tour who was informed that they wouldn't pick us up
4. The tour is extremely expensive and only includes transportation and guide
5. The tour feels like an endless lecture. There's no time for you to breath, walk on your on or absorb the amount of random information given by the tour guide. If you feel like stopping by for lunch or to buy some mementos, tough luck.

Overall I was extremely disappointed with the tour and wouldn't recommend it.
However, if you don't mind the price and if you feel like sitting on a bus for a long journey, looking at countless old runes and listening to someone talking non stop without much context, this is the tour for you.

Doing what: Viking History Day Trip from Stockholm Including Uppsala

TIMOTHY F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Very informative. Guides were knowledgeable. Tour began and concluded on time.

Doing what: Viking History Small Group Trip from Stockholm: Short Day

Quinn S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We had a really enjoyable time on this tour. While there are certainly many examples of rune stones in the museums in Stockholm, there and #39;s something to be said about seeing them where they originally were erected.

The guides were also fantastic, and very passionate about their local history and their small tour was very personal.

Doing what: Viking History Small Group Tour from Stockholm: Half Day

Daniel Antonio R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Informative tour and great way to see the Swedish countryside. If you're looking to learn about the real Vikings, This is the way to go

Doing what: Viking History Day Trip from Stockholm Including Uppsala

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message