Sydney ATTRACTIONS See all

Blue Mountains

Almost on the edge of Sydney, and visible on a clear day from the city's observation towers, the beautiful World Heritage-listed Blue Mountains are the perfect destination for an idyllic day trip from the hustle-bustle of downtown Sydney. ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 844 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Dmitri I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The Blue Mountains Day trip was a amazing experience by our tour guide John S was something else, very knowledgeable and with great sense of humor , he manage to make a boring ride to and from the Blue Mountains park a pleasant experience. Thank you John for a great trip!

Doing what: Blue Mountains Day Trip and River Cruise

Sally M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Paul tour guide was great. Ferndale WIldlife Park was excellent - close to animals - hand fed kangaroos - posed for picture with koala. Tour was not exactly as described, but differences were fine. Blue Mountain stops were good, most picturesque spots.

Doing what: Private Tour: Blue Mountains Day Trip from Sydney Including Featherdale Wildlife Park

Chrissy United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

A great tour with a great guide! If you are spending some time in Sydney, I would strongly recommend visiting the Blue Mountains!

Doing what: Small-Group Blue Mountains Day Trip from Sydney with River Cruise

Danny Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Amazing! A whole day visiting the Blue Mountains! Beautiful! Also we saw koalas and kangaroos! Highly recommended tour! Our tour guide was Andy. The guy knows the whole AU history and explains history in a fun manner. Thank you.

Doing what: Blue Mountains Day Trip and River Cruise

les.grandy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Our tour guide, Adam, was super knowledgable and charismatic which really made this a wonderful tour. It was informational without being annoying and we were able to change our itinerary around in order to make the most of our time at the Blue Mountains and avoid inclement weather.

Lunch left a bit to be desired, so I'd pack a bar or small snack if you're picky.

The bus was small 20 people which was nice because we were able to bypass many of the large charter buses and get ahead of the lines at the animal park and the ferry back.

Also, there's a small amount of light hiking if you choose to go out to certain look out points so I'd recommend wearing ath-leisure if possible.

Doing what: All Inclusive Blue Mountains Small-Group Day Trip from Sydney

Sean L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Very happy with the day trip. We packed many activities into the day trip: quick driving tour of the city, several blue mountain lookouts, cable car and tram ride into the valley, breakfast tea and lunch stops food was very good, 2 short hikes, zoo stop, olympic park, nice ferry boat road back into Sydney. Mixed in with the activities was Andrew's sharing of his extensive knowledge of Sydney, Australian history, the Blue Mountains and local culture.

Doing what: Blue Mountains Small-Group Day Trip from Sydney

Paulrobertwilson

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Great tour seeing all the sights. As it was a small group and bus you are ahead of the big tour groups and many Chinese visitors. This makes such a difference. The tour itself is great comprising off all the major attractions in the blue mountains.

Doing what: All Inclusive Blue Mountains Small-Group Day Trip from Sydney

Keith K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

A definite must do while in Sydney, the Blue Mountains is the most awe-inspiring place I have ever been to, scenery alone makes this trip worthwhile, boat cruise after back under the Harbour Bridge rounds the day off very nicely, highly recommended

Doing what: Blue Mountains Day Trip and River Cruise

diplobah

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was an awesome trip! Our bus driver shared a lot of great information on the drive. It was a bit foggy at the blue mountains but we had plenty of time to enjoy the rides and go for a hike. The stop at Featherdale wildlife park might have been the highlight! So many local animals to see!

Doing what: Blue Mountains Nature and Wildlife Day Tour from Sydney

Anthony T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Great guide and experience to the beautiful Blue Mountains. Enjoyed the various rides, especially the one that is like a train and took a very exciting steep climb. Well worth a trip outside Sydney.

Doing what: All Inclusive Blue Mountains Small-Group Day Trip from Sydney

Janis R H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Robert our tour guide with Anderson Tour Company was friendly, informative and a articulate expert on Australia history and sights. We got a bonus tour of the Sydney Olympic center and extra lookout views at sublime point. If you want a complete experience of the Blue Mountains and learn about the Aboriginal culture as well as get a river boat cruise into Sydney Harbour then look no further. Small group is the way to go. We had 20 and it was a delightful experience. AWESOME and worth the money!

Doing what: All Inclusive Blue Mountains Small-Group Day Trip from Sydney

Carl P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Great tour, great our guide. Very fun day exploring the blue mountains! Loved the wildlife sanctuary as well!

Doing what: All Inclusive Blue Mountains Small-Group Day Trip from Sydney

dsbs86

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Great tour. Especially enjoyed the Sydney Harbour Lunch Cruise. The trip to the Blue Mountains was enjoyable and beautiful.

Doing what: 2-Day Combo: Sydney City Tour, Sydney Harbour Lunch Cruise and Blue Mountains Day Trip

romazzino

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Absolutely amazing experience. Loved our guide and the entire tour. The best ever, truly. Blue Mountains are amazing and this was the best way to see it. The stop at Featherdale Wildlife Park was awesome too and the return to Sydney by ferry boat was awesome!!! Would recommend and do it again!

Doing what: All Inclusive Blue Mountains Small-Group Day Trip from Sydney

Stacey M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Great, simple way to see the Blue Mountains - our tour guide was knowledgeable and entertaining.

Doing what: Blue Mountains Small-Group Day Trip from Sydney

Patty H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This was a great day trip. Our guide Adam was funny and knowledgable. The gondola ride gave excellent views of the Three Sisters. The railway car up the mountain was very steep and that made it fun! We all loved the animal park where we saw, petted and fed kangaroos, koalas and a Tasmanian devil. The boat ride back to the Sydney Harbor gave us a chance to see Sydney from a totally different perspective and that was an unexpected plus. I definitely recommend this trip and hope you get Adam as your guide.

Doing what: All Inclusive Blue Mountains Small-Group Day Trip from Sydney

cacook421

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Excellent all day tour, our guide Joe was extremely informative. Very flexible, but organized with the day. Provided lots of history and updated us on the plan for the day. Wifi on the bus all day, small tour group size made it comfortable. Blue Mountains are gorgeous and should not be missed, animal park is good, however we feel the Taronga Zoo had more to offer.

Doing what: Blue Mountains Day Trip and River Cruise

Steven H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Wow. Only 7 on this trip some cancellations and our guide/driver Nigel. First stop was the animal sanctuary with koalas and roos took some lovely photos and onto the Blue Mountains. With such a small group it was like a private tour with Nigel taking us to many places that would be inaccessible to larger groups. Lunch in the Conservation Hut another place not frequented by large tour groups was really nice with large portions, we even got a free ice cream each as we left. Our guide Nigel turned a good tour into a tremendous day out and really made it special with his knowledge, wit and superb driving skills. Some fantastic photographic opportunities and a day out to remember.

Doing what: Small-Group Blue Mountains Day Trip from Sydney with River Cruise

Donna Jean H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

I thoroughly enjoyed this tour. The trip outside of Sydney was interesting and great to see some rural areas. The Blue Mountains were amazing. We took the lunch option and it was great food and well organized. we were able to pet a kola at the Wildlife Park and it was a highlight.

Doing what: Blue Mountains Nature and Wildlife Day Tour from Sydney

Ewa C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

this hike was fantastic and we had such a great time with our hike leader Peter. We have been provided with very detailed instructions far in advance including the hotel pickup which was on exactly on time as on the voucher provided. Peter came with a decent size car which made the journey very enjoyable. It was us two and one more lady on the hike. Peter was very chatty and informative, gave us extra water right before the hike and some snacks to take with us, he also carried our lunch right up to the lunch spot great cheese and ham sandwiches!! and some banana bread. The hike itself was great and Peter did a great job educating us about various trees, plans and Australian nature. We followed our own pace. After the hike Peter also took us to three sisters which wasn't initially included and also showed us the oldest Australian hotel. All three of us just slept like babies in the car on the way back. We got back to the hotel for 18:30pm right for the evening meal. Overall great experience, communication before the hike was spotless, very knowledgable hike leader and great memories and pictures!. Highly recommended, thanks Peter :

Doing what: Blue Mountain Small-Group Day Hikes from Sydney

Fred H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This was our best excursion ever! Our driver/guide was great. Being a local to the Blue Mountains, he had a lot of first hand knowledge and knew the area very well. He told great, interesting stories about the area. Lunch was at a great restaurant and we were treated like royalty. Would highly recommend this tour to everyone who visits Sydney.

Doing what: Blue Mountains Day Trip and River Cruise

Rebecca V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

A really cool tour in a small group it was really nice. The tour guide was funny and took us to nice places which wasn't that crowded like the normal tourist places in the blue mountains. We had a nice lunch time in a small restaurant in the blue mountains, the food was very good. After the tour we cruised back on the river to sydney and it was amazing too.

Doing what: Small-Group Blue Mountains Day Trip from Sydney with River Cruise

Samantha H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Chris the guide and his trusty 4x4 Utility vehicle takes you on a tour of the Blue Mountains like no other.

You'll get to see stunning vistas and views in locations empty of tourists. And, when he does take you to the popular spots, he finds places and spots away from the crowd for the best camera angles!

He's friendly, informative and is passionate about the Aussie outback. His truck will provide hot and cold drinks and the occasional Aussie snack.

All in all, a great day out exploring all the best bits the Blue Mountains have to offer.

Doing what: Private Blue Mountains Day Trip by 4WD from Sydney or the Blue Mountains

gillian_young4

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Our tour guide Andrew, from AAT King travel, was great, very knowledgeable and took us to the Blue Mountains for the day, and it was good value as included train trip and cable car as well as a trip to one of the towns in the Blue Mountains. A lovely breakfast snack and lunch were provided, so overall very good value for money and it was a highly enjoyable day.

Doing what: Blue Mountains Day Trip and River Cruise

Tours

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This 2-Day Combo tour was the perfect way to experience the Sydney area and the Blue Mountains. On day 1, our tour guide took us all around the Sydney area and stopped for several photo ops. Day 2 we were off to the Blue Mountains in a beautiful, brand new, double-decker Greyhound bus. The two hour drive was broken up with a stop in a quaint town for a coffee/bathroom break. When we arrived at Scenic World, we were given the option of purchasing tickets for the scenic railway, skyway and cableway or take the scenic walkway. We opted to do the cable car, etc. I'm glad we did. We had amazing views of the mountains and beautiful scenery. There was another stop at a lookout and an opportunity to attend an optional Abrogiginal show. Don't miss it! It was only 1/2 hour but worthwhile. Next up was Featherdale Wildlife Center where we were able to see and pet a koala with a photo op. We saw many of the native animals of Australia.It was excellent! Our bus driver, Tony, was very entertaining! He was full of interesting information and humor. We ended our day with a river cruise. It was perfect!

Doing what: 2-Day Combo: Sydney City Tour, Sydney Harbour Lunch Cruise and Blue Mountains Day Trip

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message