Sydney ATTRACTIONS See all

Featherdale Wildlife Park

Cuddle a koala, handfeed a kangaroo, and watch penguins waddle at Featherdale Wildlife Park, just 40 minutes from central Sydney. Celebrating Australia’s unique animals and birds, Featherdale presents all kind of native fauna in a natural bush ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 215 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Andrea M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Even though it was pouring most of the morning, we enjoyed the tour immensly! Our guide, John S., was wonderful and knew how to keep our spirits up. By the end of the walk through the rainforest the clouds had lifted enough to see the Three Sisters, and by lunchtime we could get a nice look over the Blue Mountains already. The morning coffee break as well as lunch were well organized and good, with a variety of food to choose from. The highlight for us was Featherdale Wildlife Park, where we could handfeed kangoroos and not only watch Koalas close up, but also got our photo taken with one! Of course lots of others animals, all rescues, could be visited as well. Back into the city we went by boat on the Parramatta River, which was a really nice way to go back and arrive back at Cirqular Quay. Really a tour to recommend!

Doing what: Blue Mountains Day Trip and River Cruise

martin.aizlewood

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Excellent trip, well organised as usual with Viator partners. The bus driver was terrific and kept us amused throughout the day. The Blue Mountains were spectacular and the Katoomba railway is a must try experience. The Featherdale wildlife park was amazing and to feed and interact with the kangaroos and wallabies was special. The ferry ride back to Sydney was great even though it rained. All in all a great day out and terrific value for money

Doing what: Blue Mountains Day Trip and River Cruise

Allyson H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Andy and Max were simply amazing guides! The trip was perfectly timed so we were able to do all of the planned activities without any rush. In spite of the rain, the blue mountains still astounded. Featherdale is the best animal sanctuary I and #39;ve visited. And the cruise home was the perfect end!

Doing what: Blue Mountains Day Trip and River Cruise

diplobah

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was an awesome trip! Our bus driver shared a lot of great information on the drive. It was a bit foggy at the blue mountains but we had plenty of time to enjoy the rides and go for a hike. The stop at Featherdale wildlife park might have been the highlight! So many local animals to see!

Doing what: Blue Mountains Nature and Wildlife Day Tour from Sydney

THEODORE H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

AAT King organized a great day out to the Blue Mountains, stopping for a morning break in Leura and then into the Blue Mountains and nice lunch, with the return including Featherdale Animal Park. The river cruise at the end into Sydney Harbor was great! Highly recommend this for a full day of fun.

Doing what: Blue Mountains Day Trip and River Cruise

sowers1011 United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This is like three excursions in on! First a scenic tour of the Blue Mountains which includes exciting cable car and inclined railway rides. Then a visit to the awesome Featherdale Wildlife Park with up-close-and-personal interactions with Australian wildlife. And then the evening is capped off with a river cruise ending with nighttime views of the Harbour Bridge and the Sydney Opera House.

Incredible tour and I highly recommend it!

Doing what: Blue Mountains Day Trip and River Cruise

Elizabeth S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Great trip by AAT Kings. Our driver John S was good fun and very knowledgable. We had prepaid for the rides at Scenic World which was good value. The Featherdale Wildlife Park was interesting and the baby koalas were adorable!

Doing what: Blue Mountains Nature and Wildlife Day Tour from Sydney

Carol O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We took this tour to get out of the city and see some of the countryside, and we weren't disappointed. The Blue Mountains were gorgeous, the town of Leura was cute, and the Featherdale Wildlife Sanctuary was a great place to see Australian animals. I highly recommend this tour, the AAT Kings bus was comfortable and clean and our coach driver Peter was knowledgeable and entertaining.

Doing what: Blue Mountains Nature and Wildlife Day Tour from Sydney

lindavfriedman

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

really enjoyed this trip! the views in the mountains were spectacular! and our guide was very informative! - highlight of the day was the Featherdale wildlife park! this is a must if you are in the Sydney area!

Doing what: Blue Mountains Nature and Wildlife Day Tour from Sydney

Elizabeth J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was a beautiful tour. The three included rides were good, but the hike along the boardwalk was our favorite. Afterward, we went to Featherdale Wildlife Park where we got to pet wallabies and a koala bear, and see, among others, kookaburras, a wombat, a Tasmanian Devil, and the beloved Fairy Penguins, smallest penguins in the world.

Doing what: Blue Mountains Nature and Wildlife Day Tour from Sydney

Martha B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our tour guide/driver was John S who was funny, knowledgeable and took care of everyone. He did a great job! Even his expert driving skills paid off when a big box of sponges fell off a truck into our lane on a busy highway.

The scenery at Blue Mountains was such contrast of mountains, temperate rain forests, water falls, and rock formations. Beautiful! The Featherdale Wildlife Park was so much fun and enabled us to see so many animals from this area that we know were rescued and are being treated humanely. You can purchase food to hand feed them, take photos and pet many of them. John S gives you time to see things without rushing you. This was the best tour I did in Australia.

Doing what: Blue Mountains Nature and Wildlife Day Tour from Sydney

mrsbrod.cb

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Jo was very informative and knowledgeable. Scenic World was excellent, could do with longer there to see all the highlights. Featherdale was brilliant, animals all waking up for feeding time, best time of day to visit!

Doing what: Blue Mountains Nature and Wildlife Day Tour from Sydney

Hrushikesh J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

It was a great outdoor experience!. Our journey started on a cold and grey morning but the weather cleared out as we ventured into the Blue Mountains. The mist gradually cleared and we were able to see the Three Sisters. The tour itinerary was perfectly spaced out and the tour guide/driver Peter provided useful nuggets of information throughout the entire journey. He also had a great sense of humour and there was never a dull moment. We had requested for vegetarian meals and we were happy with the choices offered for both breakfast and lunch. The stopover locations and restaurant choices were good. We were a small group of 16 people and the 18 seater bus was just perfect. The only let down was Featherdale Wildlife Park which did not live up to our expectations. While we got to see the Kangaroos, Koalas and Penguins up close, the park is definitely not in the same league as other national parks worldwide. I also did not enjoy watching the exotic Australian birds housed in small cages. The return journey is quite relaxing cruise on Parramatta River to return to Sydney and provides scenic views of Harbour Bridge and Opera House. We had used AATKings for the Great Ocean Road trip at Melbourne and we are extremely happy with both the experiences

Doing what: Blue Mountains Day Trip and River Cruise

Danielle B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Fantastic trip! The Featherdale Wildlife Park was amazing with close up encounters with kangaroos, wallaroos, wallabies, koalas and wombats. The guide was very knowledgable and friendly. The Blue Mountains were gorgeous and we had a couple of nice hikes. Would definitely recommend this experience!

Doing what: Small-Group Blue Mountains Day Trip from Sydney with River Cruise

Patana T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

It was a great day. Brad, our guide and drive did a great job with his fun narration and kept us laugh entire time. Blue Mountain is stunning. I love seeing animals at Featherdale Wildlife where we can actually touch those wallabies, kangaroos, and koala bears. When we arrived at Sydney on Fantasia cruise ship, the Sydney Opera House had just begun the laser and light display. That gave the perfect and memorable ending.

Doing what: Blue Mountains Day Trip and River Cruise

Boi Kui C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Brad the driver and tour guide was perfect. He was patient with everyone and made sure we all are safe and had a great time. Brad was very informative and everyone enjoyed his introduction as we were on the way to see the beautiful and breath taking blue mountains and the 3 sisters.
The trip to the Featherdale Park was perfect too. We had a chance to touch the koala, kangaroos and watched the cute Penguins so closely. My son and I really enjoyed this trip and will definitely recommended anyone who wants to visit the Blue Mountains. Lunch was so so.

Doing what: Blue Mountains Nature and Wildlife Day Tour from Sydney

Margaret H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Fabulous day, hit Featherdale Wildlife Park before the crowds. Excellent guide who shared his knowledge and insights. Small group made it easier to explore.

Doing what: Blue Mountains Deluxe Small Group Eco Tour from Sydney

alefiyah.master

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The Blue Mountains day trip was amazing! Our tour guide, Nigel, was knowledgeable, funny, and a great person to spend the day with. Our group initially had 12 people, but 10 of those people cancelled. The local tour oeprator decided to take us anyway instead of cancelling on us!
Our day started with Featherdale Wildlife Park, then to Blue Mountains and the Three Sisters, scenic hikes, followed by lunch at a cute place called the Conservation Hut, another scenic view, and then the ferry home. The places we were taken had amazing views and we were higher up than the cable car ride which costs 40, which I'm happy Nigel told us wasn't worth doing.
I'm so pleased with everything we did that day and that we decided to go with this smaller company and smaller group rather than those huge buses of 50-80 people. I can't recommend this enough - one of the best things we did in Sydney!

Doing what: Small-Group Blue Mountains Day Trip from Sydney with River Cruise

Joan S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Most enjoyable! Loved Featherdale wallaby and kangaroo park and the river cruise was lovely with the city lights! Would definitely recommend this trip.

Doing what: Blue Mountains Day Trip and River Cruise

Joy B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We spent a very enjoyable day in the Blue Mountains in March. Our driver was very friendly and looked after everyone well. We had a lovely lunch, included in the price. I wasn't really looking forward to the visit to Featherdale Wildlife Park as I'm not particularly fond of zoos but it was surprisingly enjoyable. The cruise back to Sydney was great and I would recommend this option.

Doing what: Blue Mountains Day Trip and River Cruise

Jason C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Having read on the UNESCO World Heritage Sites, I knew about the Blue Mountains, but that didn't prepare me for how much I enjoyed this tour. You get to spend a lot of time on the ground in the Blue Mountains and at the Featherdale Zoo. From our first glimpse of the Blue Mountains through the bus, you'll be excited to get there. You will be able to recognize the Blue Mountains as soon as it comes into view. We got to pet a koala, a kangaroo and a wallaby at the zoo. Our tour guide made the experience that much better. He was great. Funny little guy who couldn't stop talking about how much he loves kangaroo.

After being in Sydney for a few days, this will break the monotony of walking through one of the most scenic cities you'll ever visit. I know that isn't much of a shove to get you outside of the city, but this will be an amazing addition to what will become one of your favorite destinations in the world.

Doing what: Blue Mountains Nature and Wildlife Day Tour from Sydney

William M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The tour was perfect just what we wanted. Our guide, Smokey, was incredibly entertaining....a modern day Crocodile Dundee. We knew we had to see more of Sydney than the city, and were blown away by this scenic area 90 minutes away. It was screaming windy and showery, so the gondola was a little extra excitement. The stop at Featherdale Wildlife Park was one of the highlights for us, providing some neat up close and personal interactions with a koala. The boat ride back to Circular Quay beat the heck out of the Friday afternoon traffic.

Doing what: Blue Mountains Day Trip and River Cruise

Mollie A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

A wonderful tour of the Blue Mountains. Enjoyed the Scenic views and Featherdale Park. Smokie was an awesome tour guide.

Doing what: Blue Mountains Day Trip and River Cruise

Sara B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This tour is well worth the cost. A convenient way to get out of Sydney. Scenic World was a fantastic time, though we recommend doing the tram down into the forest and train back up--shorter lines. Featherdale was delightful and we touched a koala! Bus pick up/drop off does take awhile.

Doing what: Blue Mountains Nature and Wildlife Day Tour from Sydney

Mark B USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Great trip. Featherdale was great animal experience.

Doing what: Blue Mountains Day Trip and River Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message