Sydney ATTRACTIONS See all

Hunter Valley

This fertile patch of paradise north of Sydney is one of Australia’s prime wine-growing and gourmet-food producing regions. Lushly carpeted with vineyards and dotted with historic country towns, it’s a popular tourist region attracting holidaying ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 280 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

jae s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

We had an amazing time! Don, our driver and guide, was personable, knowledgeable, and flexible. The animal park, where we were able to pet koala, python, croc, and kangaroos, was a treat and the two wineries were fantastic in their own ways. Lunch was delicious! I was pleasantly surprised how good the food was! By the end of the tour, we had bonded with our tour mates.

Doing what: Hunter Valley Wineries and Wilderness Small-Group Tour

Judy Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

We went to 3 wineries and one distillery. These entrepreneurs were great hosts and very knowledgeable about the area history, climate and economy. We thoroughly enjoyed the new owners of Lucy's run. We even got pictures of kangaroo under the olive trees. Wonderful family owned winery. We wish them the best. Our lunch was awesome at Leo Gate Estate. But they didn't really talk much about the wine production but maybe we were too busy enjoying the food. Our bus driver was a hoot ... mister laid back. Are there still hippies?

Doing what: Hunter Valley Wine Tour Including Lunch, Cheese, Chocolate and Distillery Tastings

Duane J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

The wine tasting tour was excellent and well worth the money! Our tour guide Daniel was enthusiastic and made the trip even more enjoyable. All wine tasting locations as well as the distillery tasting were well done. I would recommend this tour to anyone!

Doing what: Hunter Valley Wine Tour Including Lunch, Cheese, Chocolate and Distillery Tastings

John B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Awesome winery tour. Our tour driver, Peter, was very knowledgeable and friendly. All of the wineries were terrific. Had a wonderful lunch as well. Great afternoon!

Doing what: Hunter Valley Wineries and Wilderness Small-Group Tour

Anna A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Wonderful and relaxing day trip to Hunter Valley! We got to enjoy some tasty wines at three different wineries, one of which also gave us samples of really good cheeses, try different vodka flavors at the distillery, sample chocolate and a piece of fudge, and enjoy a scrumptious lunch while taking in the beautiful landscape. We really enjoyed the smaller group tour because it allowed us more time to spend at each place without feeling overly rushed. Our tour guide Sebastian was awesome! He was very informative, engaging, and genuinely seemed to enjoy spending the day with us. It is a bit of a drive from Sydney to Hunter Valley a bit over 2 hours, but Sebastian kept us entertained the whole way and he had a great playlist for us to enjoy.

Doing what: Hunter Valley Wine Tour Including Lunch, Cheese, Chocolate and Distillery Tastings

Henry P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Had an amazing time. John our tour guide and driver was very friendly and informative. We had the 3 course meal. However it was a bit of a rush as the people that were having the one or two course meal finished way before we did and we still have to wait for the 3rd course. The wine was soso to be honest but it was a nice tour anyway.

Doing what: Hunter Valley Wine Tour Including Lunch, Cheese, Chocolate and Distillery Tastings

john s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was a very enjoyable tour, Hunter Valley should not be missed, we visited 3 wineries, a vodka distillery, a chocolate tasting location, and enjoyed cheese samples at one winery, we enjoyed a superb steak with potatoes, salad and a glass of wine along with wine tasting at one of the wineries plus for the best part our driver and tour guide Flinders Stokes was the very Best you could ask for, he was very informative, knowledgeable and uniquely skilled to make your day a memorable one, enjoy your day, we will definitely return.

Doing what: Hunter Valley Wine Tour Including Lunch, Cheese, Chocolate and Distillery Tastings

Hunter J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

We were looking for a smaller more intimate group trip and this was great! Sebastian was our guide and he was entertaining and kept the whole group involved and having a good time. Would definitely recommend this to anyone wanting to visit the Hunter Valley.

Doing what: Hunter Valley Wine Tour Including Lunch, Cheese, Chocolate and Distillery Tastings

Bonnie J K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Jim, our chef, tour guide, driver, and all was fantastic. He is passionate about his work and very personable. He shares historical information as we went along. We had such a variety of experiences starting at the Perth fishmarkets. His food was wonderful and perfect for wine paring. You can tell the wineries really like him and they gave us the VIP treatment, with Mount View Winery serving us any wines on their list. It is great value for the cost. I would do this tour again. Thanks Jim for such a great time!! Bonnie for California

Doing what: Chef-Led Hunter Valley Gourmet Food and Wine Day Trip from Sydney

Sheena R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our Hunter Valley Wine Tasting Tour. The guide Henry was excellent and good company too. It is good to get a guide who knows his history and he made everyone feel at ease.
The Leogate winery was excellent and the food we had at lunch was the best we had in our 4 day visit to Sydney. I would have liked a bit more time at the last stop to enjoy the gardens and see more of the boutique shops but that would have been at the cost of the other stops which were so good. Can highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Hunter Valley Wine Tasting Day Tour from Sydney

dmswitzer1325

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

It's rather a long bus ride, but worth the trip if you enjoy wine at all. The small group size was perfect, and the wilderness preserve was great - we got to feed kangaroos that were hopping around us, pet a koala and a reptile, and also to see indigenous animals that were safely contained such as wombats, Tasmanian devils, dingoes, and a crocodile. All of the wines were outstanding, and the wineries choose wine varieties that are not readily available in the US. The gourmet lunch at one winery was definitely that. Very much recommend this tour!

Doing what: Hunter Valley Wineries and Wilderness Small-Group Tour

Danielle M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We had a wonderful day with Jimmy, despite the rain. He even made the journey to the Hunter Valley interesting and informative with his running commentary from the driver's seat. He catered very well for my food intolerance and did not make me feel left out at all, which is often the case with these kinds of things. I cannot recommend this trip enough. It is well worth the money.

Doing what: Chef-Led Hunter Valley Gourmet Food and Wine Day Trip from Sydney

Brenda R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Really enjoyed this tour. Great driver who was very knowledgeable. Very enjoyable day. Started off at a wildlife park which was just great and then on to the wineries and a great lunch. Bought some beautiful wine only to lose it at the border when we left Sydney. Very disappointing. Other than that really recommend this tour.

Doing what: Hunter Valley Wineries and Wilderness Small-Group Tour

Marion S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Hunter Valley wines are something to write home about! When our driver came to pick up, he informed us that we were only ones on the bus and they still conducted the tour, however the bus driver was informed that two others would join us, a newly married couple in their late 40's. The three wineries served us about 8 different wines, at least 4 red and 4 whites sometimes more! I was glad I was not driving. Lunch was included, although no wine was served, we were able to bring our own bottle to enjoy and we did. The driver was informative, knowledgeable and very upbeat. He made the tour come alive. The cheeses were great. If you have the time go on this tour!! You will really enjoy it.

Doing what: Small-Group Hunter Valley Wine and Cheese Tasting Tour from Sydney

jeanievan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

There is a reason this tour is 5-Star across the board - his name is Jimmy and he is a chef and tour guide extraordinaire! I share the sentiment with other posters that this was THE HIGHLIGHT of our Australia visit. It is worth every dollar - as the value to dollar spent is exceptionally high!

It is a small group tour - there were eight of us which allowed for significant interaction with the chef and tour participants. We began the day at the Sydney Fish Market for a tour and to pick up fresh fish for the day's menu. Behind the scenes is fascinating!

Jimmy coordinates with boutique wineries in the Hunter Valley who let him cook and serve gourmet items with their wine that he prepares from a retrofitted kitchen in the back of his tour van. We first had breakfast with pancakes, flat bread breakfast sandwiches, and fruit made and prepared on an outdoor griddle/grill at a park on the Flukesberry River, which was half way between Sydney and the Hunter Valley beautifully timed stop to eat and stretch our legs. It was delightful! With our wine pairings throughout the day, Chef Jimmy also served sushi, antipasto with chorizo, asparagus and field mushrooms, steamed barramundi, kangaroo sliders, and Wattleseed crème brulee. Perfecto!
You will not go hungry on this tour!

We visited three wineries: Mount View Estate, Savannah Estate, and Saddler's Creek. I understand that Jimmy rotates between 6 to 8 wineries to optimize the experience. The interaction with the winemakers and staff was excellent we ended up with six bottles of wine that we purchased from our visits. It was not uncommon to have generous pours of 3 to 4 whites and 3 to 4 reds at each winery - so you are exposed to a wide variety of wines.

We took seven tours during our visit to Australia. This one stands out over all of the others! Jimmy has a unique offering in this tour that no others have - I highly recommend Jimmy and his gourmet wine tour of the Hunter Valley.

Doing what: Chef-Led Hunter Valley Gourmet Food and Wine Day Trip from Sydney

ayman h

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

attractive tour made with my wife and little son for hunter valley luncheon by R44 helicopter in Sydney its was a very well organized starting from pick up us from the hotel until drop back . everything on time . we spent a great time with a expert pilot who explain and answer all our inquiries and we have a very tasty lunch .finally we appriciates the arrangments and the staff .

Doing what: Hunter Valley Luncheon Tour by Helicopter

lisa b

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Loved it - Our guide was great. Feeding the Kangaroos on the way up was incredibly cool. The first winery was beautiful - our host was funny and extremely knowledgeable and the wine was great. The second winery was a bit more corporate meets Liberace with crystal chandeliers everywhere and a helipad - not my favorite - but the wine was good and we had a fun lunch there. Net net a great day that I would happily recommend. And the small group format is certainly the way to go.

Doing what: Hunter Valley Wineries and Wilderness Small-Group Tour

Glenn P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great tour. Easy day trip from Sydney to the wine country and a nice selection of stops to sample the wines and have a great lunch. The tour was well organized and run and the driver was knowledgeable and friendly to all.

Doing what: Hunter Valley Wine Tasting Day Tour from Sydney

Trevor C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

It was a very good day - visited 3 wineries, chocolate shop and smelly cheese factory. Tour guide was funny and informative and the group interacted well! A very enjoyable day and well worth the time to see the fantastic Hunter Valley

Doing what: Small-Group Hunter Valley Wine and Cheese Tasting Tour from Sydney

Noelle J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Excellent tour. Wine was great, food was good. The tour guide was nice and informative. Had a great day.

Doing what: Hunter Valley Wine Tasting Day Tour from Sydney

Nicholas K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Awesome tour company. Dan, our driver and guide for the day, was very friendly and helpful. He made all of us feel right at ease and took care of us as we stopped at each wine tasting. He was even kind enough to drop off something we forgot on the van on his day off! Great guide, great company.

Doing what: Hunter Valley Wine Tour Including Lunch, Cheese, Chocolate and Distillery Tastings

S L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Excellent tour with great guide and generous wine tastings. Well worth it.

Doing what: Hunter Valley Wineries and Wilderness Small-Group Tour

ferreilo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We had a fabulous day! The driver was excellent, the service of the tour was everything that was described! We had so much fun, and enjoyed the various wineries and stops along the way.

Doing what: Hunter Valley Wine Tasting Day Tour from Sydney

Sjaklawrence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Guide from AAT Kings was brilliant and kept us very informed. A very relaxing time sipping wines and sampling produce.

Doing what: Hunter Valley Wine Tasting Day Tour from Sydney

Carl R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our bus driver, Stephen, was wonderful, giving us lots of history and explaining the sites along the way to Hunter Valley. The wineries were very accommodating from the tours to the tastings! The wines were excellent, the lunch that was included was superb. If you like wine - then this tour is for you.

Doing what: Hunter Valley Wine Tasting Day Tour from Sydney

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message