Sydney ATTRACTIONS See all

Hunter Valley

This fertile patch of paradise north of Sydney is one of Australia’s prime wine-growing and gourmet-food producing regions. Lushly carpeted with vineyards and dotted with historic country towns, it’s a popular tourist region attracting holidaying ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 297 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Danielle Q

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Great trip to the Hunter Valley!
The tour guide Steve was great - really knowledgeable and funny. He made the trip!
Visited 3 excellent wineries and had plenty to taste in each one. Nice lunch stop off, with a chance to do another wine tasting.

For the price - the trip was great! Would recommend!

Doing what: Small-Group Hunter Valley Wine and Cheese Tasting Tour from Sydney

Tracie-Anne F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Flinders was our coach driver and he was awesome. So funny on the long drive and kept us entertained throughout. The whole day was great, I'm not a wine drinker but came away liking it a lot. Take money with you because you can buy goods other than wine. The chocolate tasting was a short visit but worth it. The Vodka tasting was fascinating and our last wine/cheese tasting stop was so welcoming. Would have liked to have tried more Rose but the selections given were great. Lunch was really nice and worth spending out on the 3 course meal, the venue was set in a beautiful setting I wish we had had time to view the grounds. I would recommend this tour and if I went back to Sydney I would do it again. The ginger Vodka is still a hit at home and the Garlic oil is still going strong.

Doing what: Hunter Valley Wine Tour Including Lunch, Cheese, Chocolate and Distillery Tastings

nyaworski

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Jimmy's tour into the Hunter Valley was the highlight of our time in Sydney. I am so glad we joined this tour instead of one in a 42 passenger bus. We enjoyed the company of 10 other people from all over the world which made our conversations even more interesting. Really loved the choices of vineyards and the generous number tastings at each. The food that Jimmy created was beyond our expectations, tasty in every regard and perfectly prepared. Enjoyed the visit to the fish market in Darling Harbour, the beautiful picnic breakfast on the Hawkesbury River, the Sushi making class, the scenery and commentary provided by Jimmy. Really, just the best 11 hours we spent in the Sydney area!

Doing what: Chef-Led Hunter Valley Gourmet Food and Wine Day Trip from Sydney

Eddie P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

My wife and I went on this trip as we are lovers of a nice red wine. We were not disappointed. We tasted a mass variety of wines. red and white from a select few vineyards. The weather on the day was perfect and the Hunter valley scenery is really beautiful. The tour guide/driver was very jovial and friendly. The group was made up of a variety of nationalities,and we all got on very well. The lunch we were served was of good quality and very very tasty and plentiful. We would recommend this trip and have no complaints at all!

Doing what: Hunter Valley Wine Tasting Day Tour from Sydney

Susan J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

We had a fabulous and long day where we visited three cellar doors and quaffed some fine wine. Joe, our driver/guide was a treat. We would recommend it to anyone who enjoys fine wine and great fun.

Doing what: Hunter Valley Wine Tasting Day Tour from Sydney

John C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The ratings description tells it all. The fish market stop set the tone for the whole day, fun, delicious food and great information. Winery choices were excellent.

Doing what: Chef-Led Hunter Valley Gourmet Food and Wine Day Trip from Sydney

Ariane Arabel A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The trip was great! We were in a small group and it was very nice. Good wines we had. The guide/driver even advised us about a winery near where we had lunch. It took us 3 mins to walk up to it and they had good light cabsav. :

Doing what: Small-Group Hunter Valley Wine and Cheese Tasting Tour from Sydney

tracy g

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

My daughter and myself had an amazing day. We stopped at 3 vineyards, the 2nd was for lunch and wow what a lovely 6 course meal.All 3 vineyards had great hosts who were very informative regarding the different wines produced there.
Henry are driver was very entertaining and a was quite funny, he made the 2 hour drive seem to go quite quickly.

Doing what: Hunter Valley Wine Tasting Day Tour from Sydney

diplobah

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

It was a bit of a drive to Hunter valley but aside from that, we had a good time. Each stop had a good number of wines to taste. The pours were a bit light, especially at the second winery, but they made up for it with the number of tastings. Lunch was good and they were able to provide a vegetarian option for my wife.

Doing what: Hunter Valley Wine Tasting Day Tour from Sydney

laurel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Loved this tour with Jimmy! The day was planned out very well, and the food pairings with the wine were excellent.

Doing what: Chef-Led Hunter Valley Gourmet Food and Wine Day Trip from Sydney

Daniel N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Wonderful tour. The food, wine and guide was great. Very fun day!!

Doing what: Chef-Led Hunter Valley Gourmet Food and Wine Day Trip from Sydney

jae s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

We had an amazing time! Don, our driver and guide, was personable, knowledgeable, and flexible. The animal park, where we were able to pet koala, python, croc, and kangaroos, was a treat and the two wineries were fantastic in their own ways. Lunch was delicious! I was pleasantly surprised how good the food was! By the end of the tour, we had bonded with our tour mates.

Doing what: Hunter Valley Wineries and Wilderness Small-Group Tour

Judy Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

We went to 3 wineries and one distillery. These entrepreneurs were great hosts and very knowledgeable about the area history, climate and economy. We thoroughly enjoyed the new owners of Lucy's run. We even got pictures of kangaroo under the olive trees. Wonderful family owned winery. We wish them the best. Our lunch was awesome at Leo Gate Estate. But they didn't really talk much about the wine production but maybe we were too busy enjoying the food. Our bus driver was a hoot ... mister laid back. Are there still hippies?

Doing what: Hunter Valley Wine Tour Including Lunch, Cheese, Chocolate and Distillery Tastings

Duane J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

The wine tasting tour was excellent and well worth the money! Our tour guide Daniel was enthusiastic and made the trip even more enjoyable. All wine tasting locations as well as the distillery tasting were well done. I would recommend this tour to anyone!

Doing what: Hunter Valley Wine Tour Including Lunch, Cheese, Chocolate and Distillery Tastings

John B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Awesome winery tour. Our tour driver, Peter, was very knowledgeable and friendly. All of the wineries were terrific. Had a wonderful lunch as well. Great afternoon!

Doing what: Hunter Valley Wineries and Wilderness Small-Group Tour

Anna A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Wonderful and relaxing day trip to Hunter Valley! We got to enjoy some tasty wines at three different wineries, one of which also gave us samples of really good cheeses, try different vodka flavors at the distillery, sample chocolate and a piece of fudge, and enjoy a scrumptious lunch while taking in the beautiful landscape. We really enjoyed the smaller group tour because it allowed us more time to spend at each place without feeling overly rushed. Our tour guide Sebastian was awesome! He was very informative, engaging, and genuinely seemed to enjoy spending the day with us. It is a bit of a drive from Sydney to Hunter Valley a bit over 2 hours, but Sebastian kept us entertained the whole way and he had a great playlist for us to enjoy.

Doing what: Hunter Valley Wine Tour Including Lunch, Cheese, Chocolate and Distillery Tastings

Henry P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Had an amazing time. John our tour guide and driver was very friendly and informative. We had the 3 course meal. However it was a bit of a rush as the people that were having the one or two course meal finished way before we did and we still have to wait for the 3rd course. The wine was soso to be honest but it was a nice tour anyway.

Doing what: Hunter Valley Wine Tour Including Lunch, Cheese, Chocolate and Distillery Tastings

john s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was a very enjoyable tour, Hunter Valley should not be missed, we visited 3 wineries, a vodka distillery, a chocolate tasting location, and enjoyed cheese samples at one winery, we enjoyed a superb steak with potatoes, salad and a glass of wine along with wine tasting at one of the wineries plus for the best part our driver and tour guide Flinders Stokes was the very Best you could ask for, he was very informative, knowledgeable and uniquely skilled to make your day a memorable one, enjoy your day, we will definitely return.

Doing what: Hunter Valley Wine Tour Including Lunch, Cheese, Chocolate and Distillery Tastings

Hunter J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

We were looking for a smaller more intimate group trip and this was great! Sebastian was our guide and he was entertaining and kept the whole group involved and having a good time. Would definitely recommend this to anyone wanting to visit the Hunter Valley.

Doing what: Hunter Valley Wine Tour Including Lunch, Cheese, Chocolate and Distillery Tastings

Bonnie J K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Jim, our chef, tour guide, driver, and all was fantastic. He is passionate about his work and very personable. He shares historical information as we went along. We had such a variety of experiences starting at the Perth fishmarkets. His food was wonderful and perfect for wine paring. You can tell the wineries really like him and they gave us the VIP treatment, with Mount View Winery serving us any wines on their list. It is great value for the cost. I would do this tour again. Thanks Jim for such a great time!! Bonnie for California

Doing what: Chef-Led Hunter Valley Gourmet Food and Wine Day Trip from Sydney

Sheena R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our Hunter Valley Wine Tasting Tour. The guide Henry was excellent and good company too. It is good to get a guide who knows his history and he made everyone feel at ease.
The Leogate winery was excellent and the food we had at lunch was the best we had in our 4 day visit to Sydney. I would have liked a bit more time at the last stop to enjoy the gardens and see more of the boutique shops but that would have been at the cost of the other stops which were so good. Can highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Hunter Valley Wine Tasting Day Tour from Sydney

dmswitzer1325

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

It's rather a long bus ride, but worth the trip if you enjoy wine at all. The small group size was perfect, and the wilderness preserve was great - we got to feed kangaroos that were hopping around us, pet a koala and a reptile, and also to see indigenous animals that were safely contained such as wombats, Tasmanian devils, dingoes, and a crocodile. All of the wines were outstanding, and the wineries choose wine varieties that are not readily available in the US. The gourmet lunch at one winery was definitely that. Very much recommend this tour!

Doing what: Hunter Valley Wineries and Wilderness Small-Group Tour

Danielle M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We had a wonderful day with Jimmy, despite the rain. He even made the journey to the Hunter Valley interesting and informative with his running commentary from the driver's seat. He catered very well for my food intolerance and did not make me feel left out at all, which is often the case with these kinds of things. I cannot recommend this trip enough. It is well worth the money.

Doing what: Chef-Led Hunter Valley Gourmet Food and Wine Day Trip from Sydney

Brenda R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Really enjoyed this tour. Great driver who was very knowledgeable. Very enjoyable day. Started off at a wildlife park which was just great and then on to the wineries and a great lunch. Bought some beautiful wine only to lose it at the border when we left Sydney. Very disappointing. Other than that really recommend this tour.

Doing what: Hunter Valley Wineries and Wilderness Small-Group Tour

Marion S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Hunter Valley wines are something to write home about! When our driver came to pick up, he informed us that we were only ones on the bus and they still conducted the tour, however the bus driver was informed that two others would join us, a newly married couple in their late 40's. The three wineries served us about 8 different wines, at least 4 red and 4 whites sometimes more! I was glad I was not driving. Lunch was included, although no wine was served, we were able to bring our own bottle to enjoy and we did. The driver was informative, knowledgeable and very upbeat. He made the tour come alive. The cheeses were great. If you have the time go on this tour!! You will really enjoy it.

Doing what: Small-Group Hunter Valley Wine and Cheese Tasting Tour from Sydney

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message