Easily the wildest place in Sydney, the Taronga Zoo is a sprawling sanctuary where over 4,000 animals crawl and chirp just minutes from the heart of downtown. Visitors can see the fuzzy face of a native koala as it first wakes up from a nap, or ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 402 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

jeanievan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Wow!!!! This is a wonderful opportunity like no other to be exposed to the behind the scenes of a world-class zoo. The tour began by taking a Sky Tram up the hill to the start of the tour and top of the zoo - what a great view of the zoo and its animals from the sky! The zoo keepers and guides were knowledgeable, professional and answered all of our questions regarding the zoo, the animals, and their care. We fed the kangaroos and wallabies. The wallabies were very human-friendly and we were able to pet them while we fed them. We spent time up close and personal with the koala bears - we even had photo opportunities. The group also visited the inner sanctum of the zoo kitchen, where we learned about food sources and preparation. We even participated in putting some of the meals together - I received a handful of live worms - with eyes closed - that are part of the Bilbie diet. We then visited the Nocturnal House and met a couple of Bilbies who were anxiously awaiting their meal. We also spent time with a platypus - a most unusual mammal with venom secreting glands. We were treated to tea and scones, and had the rest of the day to explore the rest of the zoo. This experience is one I will cherish always, as I had the opportunity to experience these animals and their surroundings like never before and likely, never again.

Doing what: Sydney Taronga Zoo General Entry Ticket and Wild Australia Experience

Mike C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

AMAZING,
This is a must do for the solo traveler like me, couples, and families with well behaved children. Its not often you get to see the inner workings of a zoo and this gives you a small sneak peek. Our zookeeper guide was amazing as well. She was fun, friendly and very informative.

Doing what: Sydney Taronga Zoo General Entry Ticket and Wild Australia Experience

Mike C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Amazing Amazing Amazing!
This is a must do. Its not often you get to go behind the scenes and see the inner workings of a zoo but this gives you a small sneak peek. Out tour guide was fun, friendly and informative. I would recommend this to anyone who asks, such as solo travelers like myself, couples and families with well behaved children with manners.

Doing what: Sydney Taronga Zoo General Entry Ticket and Wild Australia Experience

Ed M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great experience at the zoo. All the workers and volunteers were polite and helpful. Must see part of any trip!

Doing what: Sydney Taronga Zoo General Entry Ticket

Prabhat P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We family with young child had a fantastic behind the scenes tour with Vanessa. We fed various creatures and it was an educational experience to learn how the zoo participates in conservation. The tour was of about 2 hours and ended with a snack and drink in the lovely View restaurant, We also recommend the seal show and bird show at the zoo which are also done in collaboration with the animals. Vanessa was lovely with our 8 year old. Thank you!

Doing what: Sydney Taronga Zoo General Entry Ticket and Wild Australia Experience

mcleanking

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great experience! To make the most of this we started our day by taking an early ferry from Circular Quay, then walking the zoo ourselves and spending as much time as we wanted in each area. Our guided tour began at 2:00 p.m. and Lisa, our Zookeeper Guide, was outstanding. Her knowledge of the species and her confidence in handling the individual animals made it a special experience for us. We were able to feed, pet and learn about many different Australian animals. We highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Sydney Taronga Zoo General Entry Ticket and Wild Australia Experience

Carolyn L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This went smoothly. It's a short but beautiful boat ride and same for the gondola, but both are worth the extra money for an extra fun trip to the zoo.

Doing what: Sydney Harbour Cruise with Taronga Zoo Entry Ticket

Jaime W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

On a recent trip to Sydney, I booked this private tour of native Australian animals at Taronga Zoo. I'm not really a zoo person, but wanted to give this a try as these are not animals you see at every other zoo. My tour guide was Nat, and she was great! I got behind the scenes look at caring for the animals, and was even able to feed and hold some!

I highly recommend this tour for anyone who wants a more in depth experience...even if you don't normally like or go to zoos! I loved it, and would do it again. :

Doing what: Sydney Taronga Zoo General Entry Ticket and Wild Australia Experience

michelle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The boat cruise was a great convenience and the zoo was great but it was mostly under construction.

Doing what: 3-Day Sydney Harbour Hop-On Hop-Off Cruise Pass Including Taronga Zoo Entry

amandaburtonsmith

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

An excellent trip. Very versatile in boat timings to allow you to enjoy the zoo for as long as you want. Leonie was giving a talk on our boat in each direction and was informative with a delightful sense of humour. A really good way to combine a cruise with a trip to the zoo. Be aware that you will not get close to koalas unless you buy a koala experience ticket at the zoo. The keepers are very knowledgeable. There is a large emu strolling freely about who is a bit scary ! It's a lovely place that has conservation as a focus.

Doing what: Sydney Harbour Cruise with Taronga Zoo Entry Ticket

Lynne M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was fantastic. You get a private tour from a zoo keeper and have access to all of Australia's native animals. From feeding the kangaroos to being up close to the koalas no touching and wallabes. Go behind the scenes to see how and what they are fed. The groups are small so all questions can be asked and answered.

Doing what: Sydney Taronga Zoo General Entry Ticket and Wild Australia Experience

Peter M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

What a great experience! Our tour guidezoo keeper was fantastic and extremely knowledgeable.

Doing what: Sydney Taronga Zoo General Entry Ticket and Wild Australia Experience

Karen D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The Zoo was great and taking the ferry is definitely the way to go.

Doing what: Sydney Harbour Cruise with Taronga Zoo Entry Ticket

Kelly G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The behind the scenes tour at Taronga Zoo was an amazing experience. The zookeeper, Becky, was knowledgeable and delightful. We not only fed wallabys but going into animal enclosures, feeding animals, and holding some were beyond our expectations. We learned about native Australian animals and some that are endangered and why. Becky's passion for animals was evident. If you enjoy animals then this is your tour!

Doing what: Sydney Taronga Zoo General Entry Ticket and Wild Australia Experience

day trips

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

it was great . The zoo keeper was a great tour guide

Doing what: Sydney Taronga Zoo General Entry Ticket and Wild Australia Experience

Matt A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Such a fun visit! We enjoyed going with Captain Cook across Sydney Harbour. The folks were nice and the tour was laid back and fun. We hopped a train to Circular Quay which spits you right out at the warf. Captain Cook cruises was at warf 6 - but it's easy to find once you get off the train.

They take you right over to Taronga and you can take the sky rail up to the zoo entrance. Worth doing I think. The park felt a bit like I imagine Jurassic Park might feel like. : Lots of fun and some great animals to see. We had a blast.

Doing what: Sydney Harbour Cruise with Taronga Zoo Entry Ticket

abhijit.banerjee

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Fantastic experience. Truthfully, we only got to see half the zoo - and concentrated on the Australian animals and the Kids area and the Seals. That itself will take a few hours with a 5-year-old. The beauty of the zoo is that there is so much information, and the exhibits are so nicely placed. The Australian walkabout is especially lovely with the kangaroos just sitting there in front. The seal show was superb - short, informative, and wonderfully coordinated. The play area is a good place for adults to relax while kids go wild. Overall - definitely recommended. Tip: Keep plenty of time in hand for the ferry - it can get really crowded and you may end up waiting 30 more minutes for the next one.

Doing what: Sydney Taronga Zoo General Entry Ticket

C Denise G L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

One of the most beautiful zoos in the world. We enjoyed the birdshow, the seal show. Do not miss it if you go to Sydney.

Doing what: Sydney Harbour Cruise with Taronga Zoo Entry Ticket

Jenny L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I love this zoo and this tour - it's my second time for both!! I got to feed animals, hold animals, take pictures of animals, etc, etc -- it's a must for animal lovers!!

Doing what: Sydney Taronga Zoo General Entry Ticket and Wild Australia Experience

Johnny P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The zoo was amazing. The behind the scenes tour was a little lacking as I was expecting it to be a little more comprehensive of the entire park and not just some of the reptiles and night animals. However, the zoo itself is great and has a wonderful view of the the Sydney Opera house and bridge.

Doing what: Sydney Taronga Zoo General Entry Ticket and Wild Australia Experience

Jane F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This trip was all I had hoped for and more. I was vey lucky as there were only three people so we had plenty of up close and personal encounters. Paul our guide was lovely and so passionate about his work at the zoo. He was full of fascinating stories and interesting facts and it was a good learning curve. Getting so close to the animals was amazing and for me a dream come true. The zoo is lovely and it was good to see so many different animals than you woyuwoyuld at home. Would recommend this to any one.

Doing what: Sydney Taronga Zoo General Entry Ticket and Wild Australia Experience

Sean B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great tour. Got to see animals we don't have in NY. The zoo keeper was friendly and answered all the questions.

Doing what: Sydney Taronga Zoo General Entry Ticket and Wild Australia Experience

wes s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The behind the scenes of the Zoo was amazing!

Doing what: Sydney Taronga Zoo General Entry Ticket and Wild Australia Experience

Trina B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was such a great zoo! We participated in the 'Behind the Scenes' tour, and Gemma was fantastic! It was so great to see some amazing Australian animals up close and personal :

Doing what: Sydney Taronga Zoo General Entry Ticket and Wild Australia Experience

Sarah B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The 3 day hop on hop off ferry was great, not only did we get to see the harbour but we got off and toured anything we wanted to see when we wanted. 3 days was more than enough to see everything at a pace that suited us. Taronga zoo has to be the best zoo in Australia, well worth going even if you've been to a dozen zoos already.

Doing what: 3-Day Sydney Harbour Hop-On Hop-Off Cruise Pass Including Taronga Zoo Entry

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message