Easily the wildest place in Sydney, the Taronga Zoo is a sprawling sanctuary where over 4,000 animals crawl and chirp just minutes from the heart of downtown. Visitors can see the fuzzy face of a native koala as it first wakes up from a nap, or ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 395 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

mcleanking

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great experience! To make the most of this we started our day by taking an early ferry from Circular Quay, then walking the zoo ourselves and spending as much time as we wanted in each area. Our guided tour began at 2:00 p.m. and Lisa, our Zookeeper Guide, was outstanding. Her knowledge of the species and her confidence in handling the individual animals made it a special experience for us. We were able to feed, pet and learn about many different Australian animals. We highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Sydney Taronga Zoo General Entry Ticket and Wild Australia Experience

Carolyn L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This went smoothly. It's a short but beautiful boat ride and same for the gondola, but both are worth the extra money for an extra fun trip to the zoo.

Doing what: Sydney Harbour Cruise with Taronga Zoo Entry Ticket

Jaime W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

On a recent trip to Sydney, I booked this private tour of native Australian animals at Taronga Zoo. I'm not really a zoo person, but wanted to give this a try as these are not animals you see at every other zoo. My tour guide was Nat, and she was great! I got behind the scenes look at caring for the animals, and was even able to feed and hold some!

I highly recommend this tour for anyone who wants a more in depth experience...even if you don't normally like or go to zoos! I loved it, and would do it again. :

Doing what: Sydney Taronga Zoo General Entry Ticket and Wild Australia Experience

michelle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The boat cruise was a great convenience and the zoo was great but it was mostly under construction.

Doing what: 3-Day Sydney Harbour Hop-On Hop-Off Cruise Pass Including Taronga Zoo Entry

amandaburtonsmith

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

An excellent trip. Very versatile in boat timings to allow you to enjoy the zoo for as long as you want. Leonie was giving a talk on our boat in each direction and was informative with a delightful sense of humour. A really good way to combine a cruise with a trip to the zoo. Be aware that you will not get close to koalas unless you buy a koala experience ticket at the zoo. The keepers are very knowledgeable. There is a large emu strolling freely about who is a bit scary ! It's a lovely place that has conservation as a focus.

Doing what: Sydney Harbour Cruise with Taronga Zoo Entry Ticket

Lynne M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was fantastic. You get a private tour from a zoo keeper and have access to all of Australia's native animals. From feeding the kangaroos to being up close to the koalas no touching and wallabes. Go behind the scenes to see how and what they are fed. The groups are small so all questions can be asked and answered.

Doing what: Sydney Taronga Zoo General Entry Ticket and Wild Australia Experience

Peter M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

What a great experience! Our tour guidezoo keeper was fantastic and extremely knowledgeable.

Doing what: Sydney Taronga Zoo General Entry Ticket and Wild Australia Experience

Karen D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The Zoo was great and taking the ferry is definitely the way to go.

Doing what: Sydney Harbour Cruise with Taronga Zoo Entry Ticket

Kelly G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The behind the scenes tour at Taronga Zoo was an amazing experience. The zookeeper, Becky, was knowledgeable and delightful. We not only fed wallabys but going into animal enclosures, feeding animals, and holding some were beyond our expectations. We learned about native Australian animals and some that are endangered and why. Becky's passion for animals was evident. If you enjoy animals then this is your tour!

Doing what: Sydney Taronga Zoo General Entry Ticket and Wild Australia Experience

day trips

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

it was great . The zoo keeper was a great tour guide

Doing what: Sydney Taronga Zoo General Entry Ticket and Wild Australia Experience

Matt A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Such a fun visit! We enjoyed going with Captain Cook across Sydney Harbour. The folks were nice and the tour was laid back and fun. We hopped a train to Circular Quay which spits you right out at the warf. Captain Cook cruises was at warf 6 - but it's easy to find once you get off the train.

They take you right over to Taronga and you can take the sky rail up to the zoo entrance. Worth doing I think. The park felt a bit like I imagine Jurassic Park might feel like. : Lots of fun and some great animals to see. We had a blast.

Doing what: Sydney Harbour Cruise with Taronga Zoo Entry Ticket

abhijit.banerjee

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Fantastic experience. Truthfully, we only got to see half the zoo - and concentrated on the Australian animals and the Kids area and the Seals. That itself will take a few hours with a 5-year-old. The beauty of the zoo is that there is so much information, and the exhibits are so nicely placed. The Australian walkabout is especially lovely with the kangaroos just sitting there in front. The seal show was superb - short, informative, and wonderfully coordinated. The play area is a good place for adults to relax while kids go wild. Overall - definitely recommended. Tip: Keep plenty of time in hand for the ferry - it can get really crowded and you may end up waiting 30 more minutes for the next one.

Doing what: Sydney Taronga Zoo General Entry Ticket

C Denise G L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

One of the most beautiful zoos in the world. We enjoyed the birdshow, the seal show. Do not miss it if you go to Sydney.

Doing what: Sydney Harbour Cruise with Taronga Zoo Entry Ticket

Jenny L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I love this zoo and this tour - it's my second time for both!! I got to feed animals, hold animals, take pictures of animals, etc, etc -- it's a must for animal lovers!!

Doing what: Sydney Taronga Zoo General Entry Ticket and Wild Australia Experience

Johnny P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The zoo was amazing. The behind the scenes tour was a little lacking as I was expecting it to be a little more comprehensive of the entire park and not just some of the reptiles and night animals. However, the zoo itself is great and has a wonderful view of the the Sydney Opera house and bridge.

Doing what: Sydney Taronga Zoo General Entry Ticket and Wild Australia Experience

Jane F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This trip was all I had hoped for and more. I was vey lucky as there were only three people so we had plenty of up close and personal encounters. Paul our guide was lovely and so passionate about his work at the zoo. He was full of fascinating stories and interesting facts and it was a good learning curve. Getting so close to the animals was amazing and for me a dream come true. The zoo is lovely and it was good to see so many different animals than you woyuwoyuld at home. Would recommend this to any one.

Doing what: Sydney Taronga Zoo General Entry Ticket and Wild Australia Experience

Sean B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great tour. Got to see animals we don't have in NY. The zoo keeper was friendly and answered all the questions.

Doing what: Sydney Taronga Zoo General Entry Ticket and Wild Australia Experience

wes s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The behind the scenes of the Zoo was amazing!

Doing what: Sydney Taronga Zoo General Entry Ticket and Wild Australia Experience

Trina B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was such a great zoo! We participated in the 'Behind the Scenes' tour, and Gemma was fantastic! It was so great to see some amazing Australian animals up close and personal :

Doing what: Sydney Taronga Zoo General Entry Ticket and Wild Australia Experience

Sarah B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The 3 day hop on hop off ferry was great, not only did we get to see the harbour but we got off and toured anything we wanted to see when we wanted. 3 days was more than enough to see everything at a pace that suited us. Taronga zoo has to be the best zoo in Australia, well worth going even if you've been to a dozen zoos already.

Doing what: 3-Day Sydney Harbour Hop-On Hop-Off Cruise Pass Including Taronga Zoo Entry

Peter G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Amazing day. The zoo keeper and the 6 other customers in our group were all lovely people. Behind the scenes it certainly was. Excellent zoo with magnificent views of Sydney.

Doing what: Sydney Taronga Zoo General Entry Ticket and Wild Australia Experience

Eulalie C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Amazing zoo to view some of the well-known animals in Australia: koalas, kangaroos and tasmanian devils! Also one of the zoo with the nicest views of Sydney. The place can get crowded in the afternoon so try getting there early. The gondola ride, included with the ticket is really nice!

Doing what: Sydney Taronga Zoo General Entry Ticket

Shelagh W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Absolutely brilliant day. Zoo is excellent and travelling to and from on the ferry just adds to the whole experience.

Doing what: Sydney Harbour Cruise with Taronga Zoo Entry Ticket

Charles V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The Australia experience made the Zoo trip for us. The behind the scenes looks into how the zoo works and closer contact with some animals was the best part.

Doing what: Sydney Taronga Zoo General Entry Ticket and Wild Australia Experience

Clark C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The behind the scenes actually, behind the cages part of the tour was wonderful. The keepers train the animals to respond to visitors, but never force them to do so. They are allowed to familiarize themselves at their own pace. The Bilbies sp? were especially adorable in this regard.

Only disappointing part of tour was that the Sky Safari was closed for maintenance.

The round trip ferry ride from the Circular Quay to Taronga was also a good deal with views of the bridge and Opera House.

Doing what: Sydney Taronga Zoo General Entry Ticket and Wild Australia Experience

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message