Easily the wildest place in Sydney, the Taronga Zoo is a sprawling sanctuary where over 4,000 animals crawl and chirp just minutes from the heart of downtown. Visitors can see the fuzzy face of a native koala as it first wakes up from a nap, or ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 427 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Danamihai

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

It was a very pleasant trip. The zoo worth to be visited you can spend few good hours there. I want to mention that we had iVenture card and doesn't worth to buy it. They say Swipe and go, there is not such a thing, you have to stay in line at each place you want to visit with everybody else to pick up the ticket. And i lost time going to a certain place to pick up the card, it is probably 10 bucks cheaper for 5 events but too much time lost to pick up the card and then wait in every line like you are buying ticket. When we wanted to go with the Hop on Hop off the bus driver told us that we have to go to a certain location to pick up the tickets for the bus, and that because we had the iventure card, otherwise we could simply pay to him and get on the bus. And when outside is plus 40 C walking to a ceratin location is not very pleasant. Just decide where you want to go and stay in line and buy the ticket, is much easier.

Doing what: Sydney Harbour Cruise with Taronga Zoo Entry Ticket

Taylor L F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

I loved everything about this tour from the minute that I got on the phone to confirm my booking to the moment I left. The staff at the zoo was extremely helpful and accommodating - I was running late from the airport and they couldn't have been more helpful in making sure I was taken care of regardless.If you're lucky enough to have Wendy as your guide, you're in for a treat!

Doing what: Sydney Taronga Zoo's Australian Animals Tour

Diane E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

I really really loved this tour. I went over on he ferry and up to the entrance in the gondola which was fun. Met Robert a very experienced and knowledgeable guide who took 4 of us to see lots of weird and wonderful creatures of Australia. We were able to handle many of them and see them in their houses. This was a very special and enjoyable tour. Had a snack at midday with the guide then spent the rest of the day looking round the rest of the zoo. The giraffes have a wonderful view of Sydney harbour!

Doing what: Sydney Taronga Zoo General Entry Ticket and Wild Australia Experience

Michael M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

This is an amazing zoo. We very much enjoyed the behind the scenes look at the animals, including a baby koala, tasmanian devil, wallabies, kangaroo, emu, and many, many more. Our tour guide was enthusiastic and informative. The zoo itself is inviting and the animals seem to be healthy and happy given that they are in this type of setting. The views of Sydney from here are amazing, particularly from the giraffe habitat. Definitely recommend including this tour!

Doing what: Sydney Taronga Zoo General Entry Ticket and Wild Australia Experience

Donald D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Great zoo. Takes all day to see all the exhibits.

Doing what: Sydney Harbour Cruise with Taronga Zoo Entry Ticket

Debra C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This is the tour I tell folks to book when visiting Sydney. Highly recommended small group tour of the Taronga Zoo! My husband and I enjoyed the behind the scenes / close encounters / personal guided tour of the koalas, feathertail glider, echidna, duckbill platapus, Tasmanian devil, wallabies, food preparation and much more. The tea and lemon desert were very tasty. After the tour we had fun visiting the zoo especially the aviary as it was fun to relax and watch the colorful curious birds. Awesome zoo with very nice hosts and guides.

Doing what: Sydney Taronga Zoo General Entry Ticket and Wild Australia Experience

Brad M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This tour was amazing! Our tour guide was very enthusiastic about showing us around the zoo, and the fact that there was only 3 people in the group made it even better. It allows you to see a completely different side of the zoo that the general public normally wouldn't get to experience, and you get up close and personal with several different animals. One of the best days of my trip by far, highly recommend doing the tour.

Doing what: Sydney Taronga Zoo General Entry Ticket and Wild Australia Experience

Stephanie F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

The tour was excellent and well worth the money. It was very informative. The zoo was very good as well. It looks like it's very large but it really isn't that large. Be aware that you have to take a ferry to the zoo so you need to leave plenty of time to get there.

Doing what: Sydney Taronga Zoo General Entry Ticket and Wild Australia Experience

cacook421

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Excellent experience with Jen, personal tour with a very small group of people. Allowed up close encounters with the Australian animals, only way to start your day at the Taronga zoo.

Doing what: Sydney Taronga Zoo General Entry Ticket and Wild Australia Experience

Patricia L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This is definitely the way to see the zoo and I thought the price was great considering it included admission, the gondola, etc. And it was quite a thrill to be able to spend time in the koala enclosure and I appreciate that the zoo does not allow people to touch these wild animals--a big reason I selected this zoo rather than other wildlife experiences. Our guides were friendly and helpful and I highly recommend this excursion.

Doing what: Sydney Taronga Zoo's Australian Animals Tour

Nikki H United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

The personalized tour was so amazing! I truly highly recommend this. The volunteer's were so knowledgable and friendly. I enjoyed the behind the scenes access that also came with the tour. I learned a lot about the zoo and the Australian animals. I would do this tour again. I don't think you'd be disappointed in booking this tour.

Doing what: Sydney Taronga Zoo's Australian Animals Tour

Walter W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

superb idea, you get behind the scenes, can pet and feed a wallaby, feed a koala, get very close up to the unusual animals of Australia, and see what they do with them. Natalie was our zookeeper guide, she was very pleasant and knowledgeable. Plus, take the ferry over to the zoo and get a cheap harbor cruise with great views of the Opera House and bridge. Strongly recommend this tour, takes about 2 hours or so. Well worth it.

Doing what: Sydney Taronga Zoo General Entry Ticket and Wild Australia Experience

Charlotte D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was truly the best thing we could have done in Sydney. Everyone should see this zoo, it is Great. The zoologist that did our tour was super sweet and caring. The weather was wonderful and the time went by so quickly the day was over befor we realized it.

Doing what: Sydney Taronga Zoo General Entry Ticket and Wild Australia Experience

Rebecca O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Amazing tour! Our guide Robert was phenomenal and gave us so much information during our visit. He was very funny and taught us a lot about all the different animals and made the whole experience just so much fun. The zoo itself is beautiful and I loved that we took a ferry to get to the entrance. The view is picture perfect and you san see everything from the harbor to the bridge to the opera house. I was so glad that I was finally able to cross off meeting a koala from my bucket list. I would highly recommend this tour for anyone whole would like to learn about the animals from a higher level!

Doing what: Sydney Taronga Zoo General Entry Ticket and Wild Australia Experience

Sue

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Fab day at the Zoo..... Old but good and ALL the animals were out, even the Wombat, my Fave!!

Doing what: 3-Day Sydney Harbour Hop-On Hop-Off Cruise Pass Including Taronga Zoo Entry

Barbara M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This worked so well for us. Took a long ride the first day just to get an overview. Went to the zoo. It was nice way to spend part of the day. Then we took another ride just to go for a meal. Fun way to get around.

Doing what: 3-Day Sydney Harbour Hop-On Hop-Off Cruise Pass Including Taronga Zoo Entry

Jgmeinert

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The behind the scenes zoo tour was completely worth this ticket price. We were able to get up close with the koalas and hands on many of the native Australian animals. A cable car ride is included with the ticket price which takes you directly to the ferry to make your way quickly back to the Sydney harbor. Beautiful and well taken care of zoo. The zoo can easily be seen during the day and still have your evening free to book another tour.

Doing what: Sydney Taronga Zoo General Entry Ticket and Wild Australia Experience

jeanievan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Wow!!!! This is a wonderful opportunity like no other to be exposed to the behind the scenes of a world-class zoo. The tour began by taking a Sky Tram up the hill to the start of the tour and top of the zoo - what a great view of the zoo and its animals from the sky! The zoo keepers and guides were knowledgeable, professional and answered all of our questions regarding the zoo, the animals, and their care. We fed the kangaroos and wallabies. The wallabies were very human-friendly and we were able to pet them while we fed them. We spent time up close and personal with the koala bears - we even had photo opportunities. The group also visited the inner sanctum of the zoo kitchen, where we learned about food sources and preparation. We even participated in putting some of the meals together - I received a handful of live worms - with eyes closed - that are part of the Bilbie diet. We then visited the Nocturnal House and met a couple of Bilbies who were anxiously awaiting their meal. We also spent time with a platypus - a most unusual mammal with venom secreting glands. We were treated to tea and scones, and had the rest of the day to explore the rest of the zoo. This experience is one I will cherish always, as I had the opportunity to experience these animals and their surroundings like never before and likely, never again.

Doing what: Sydney Taronga Zoo General Entry Ticket and Wild Australia Experience

Mike C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

AMAZING,
This is a must do for the solo traveler like me, couples, and families with well behaved children. Its not often you get to see the inner workings of a zoo and this gives you a small sneak peek. Our zookeeper guide was amazing as well. She was fun, friendly and very informative.

Doing what: Sydney Taronga Zoo General Entry Ticket and Wild Australia Experience

Mike C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Amazing Amazing Amazing!
This is a must do. Its not often you get to go behind the scenes and see the inner workings of a zoo but this gives you a small sneak peek. Out tour guide was fun, friendly and informative. I would recommend this to anyone who asks, such as solo travelers like myself, couples and families with well behaved children with manners.

Doing what: Sydney Taronga Zoo General Entry Ticket and Wild Australia Experience

Ed M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great experience at the zoo. All the workers and volunteers were polite and helpful. Must see part of any trip!

Doing what: Sydney Taronga Zoo General Entry Ticket

Prabhat P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We family with young child had a fantastic behind the scenes tour with Vanessa. We fed various creatures and it was an educational experience to learn how the zoo participates in conservation. The tour was of about 2 hours and ended with a snack and drink in the lovely View restaurant, We also recommend the seal show and bird show at the zoo which are also done in collaboration with the animals. Vanessa was lovely with our 8 year old. Thank you!

Doing what: Sydney Taronga Zoo General Entry Ticket and Wild Australia Experience

mcleanking

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great experience! To make the most of this we started our day by taking an early ferry from Circular Quay, then walking the zoo ourselves and spending as much time as we wanted in each area. Our guided tour began at 2:00 p.m. and Lisa, our Zookeeper Guide, was outstanding. Her knowledge of the species and her confidence in handling the individual animals made it a special experience for us. We were able to feed, pet and learn about many different Australian animals. We highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Sydney Taronga Zoo General Entry Ticket and Wild Australia Experience

Carolyn L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This went smoothly. It's a short but beautiful boat ride and same for the gondola, but both are worth the extra money for an extra fun trip to the zoo.

Doing what: Sydney Harbour Cruise with Taronga Zoo Entry Ticket

Jaime W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

On a recent trip to Sydney, I booked this private tour of native Australian animals at Taronga Zoo. I'm not really a zoo person, but wanted to give this a try as these are not animals you see at every other zoo. My tour guide was Nat, and she was great! I got behind the scenes look at caring for the animals, and was even able to feed and hold some!

I highly recommend this tour for anyone who wants a more in depth experience...even if you don't normally like or go to zoos! I loved it, and would do it again. :

Doing what: Sydney Taronga Zoo General Entry Ticket and Wild Australia Experience

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message