With its Georgian sandstone buildings, narrow alleyways, historic pubs, and regenerated warehouses, The Rocks is one of Sydney’s oldest and most popular precincts. Set back from Circular Quay, it was one of the earliest parts of Sydney to be ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 33 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Deepthi

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Excellent tour. Margaret was very informative even if she seemed somewhat bewitched and partial to the only other German couple on the walking tour. Tour itself involved all points of interest within the Rocks area and a very interesting history lesson. Do it on the 1st day to get your bearings.

Doing what: The Rocks Walking Tour: the Original Guided Walking Tour of The Rocks

kmootien

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Really good tour and tour guide. Got to see all of the great places to see in Sydney with time to spend in each area
- good photo points of the opera house and scenery
- the rocks
- manly beach
- bondi beach
- river cruise, which was much better than I expected. Buffet was very nice, and it wasn't rushed.

I would highly recommend.

Doing what: Sydney Day Tour with Optional Sydney Harbour Lunch Cruise

Catherine Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Our tour was fantastic. Gregg was a great guy to spend a couple of hours with. We have been to the Rocks before, but never with someone who could tell us so much. Would recommend.

Doing what: The Rocks Pub Walking Tour

Joanna S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

I enjoyed this guided walking tour of the Rocks area of Sydney very much. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable about the history and the topography of this oldest part of Sydney as well as the characters that inhabited this area at various periods in the history of the settlement that became Sydney. I had a glimpse into the daily lives of the various peoples who inhabited the area: the convicts, the military men and the free settlers all contributed in some way to the settlement. It was also explained to us how, in later years, the area became run down and, due to the publicity campaign waged by a prominent man, the Rocks area of Sydney was saved for posterity to become the tourist attraction that it is today. The guided walk was well worth the 90 minutes time space during the morning of the day that I was in Sydney. I would really recommend this walking tour to any one planning to visit Sydney.

Doing what: The Rocks Walking Tour: the Original Guided Walking Tour of The Rocks

Candi W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Brian was our guide and had 40 years experience so he was a wealth of knowledge. The tour was very interesting and educational. Besides his knowledge, Brian was also very funny and made the tour very enjoyable. I would highly recommend The Rocks walking tour to anyone visiting Sydney.

Doing what: The Rocks Walking Tour: the Original Guided Walking Tour of The Rocks

jeanievan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

There is nothing like incorporating a little activity while exploring a new city! Our group took the 5-hour Sydney Harbor Bridge tour we got lucky and were the only three on the tour. Our tour guide was a new addition to the Bonza Bike Tour tour staff - and she did a marvelous job. She was well trained, quite knowledgeable about the history of the city, and had an engaging and enjoyable personality.

The bikes and equipment were in good condition and were comfortable to ride. The bike ride was gentle for the most part, however, there were three to four short, steep hills that can be considered challenging by some. Don't worry if you can't make it all the way - it is encouraged to get off your bike and walk it up the hill if you can't peddle it. There are frequent stops along the way to linger and talk about the sites. We also stopped for a picnic lunch for 30 to 45 minutes - a tasty sandwich and a bottle of water were provided by the tour operator.

The tour started in The Rocks area of Sydney. The ride over the Sydney Harbor Bridge was stunning! We spent some time riding through the North Shore of Sydney and the Kirribilli area, Luna Park and Lavendar Bay. We crossed the bridge a second time for more spectacular views, and navigated a meandering shoreline to Darling Harbor. We visited the Botanical Gardens, the ANSAC Memorial, and many other sites way too many to mention. There were plenty of photo and Q and A opportunities along the way.

It was such an enjoyable day and the absolute best way to see Sydney! Do it on a bike!

Doing what: Sydney Bike Tours

Jan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was absolutely the best. Our guide, VIckie, was wonderful and very knowledgable. She went above and beyond what we expected. We loved the Rocks so much that we went back the next day and visited some local pubs. Would recommend this to others! Jan

Doing what: The Rocks Walking Tour: the Original Guided Walking Tour of The Rocks

Miki

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Very interesting tour as it roams around the narrow streets and alley ways of The Rocks whilst learning the history and significant events that shaped it into the iconic place that it is today.

Doing what: The Rocks History and Pub Walking Tour

DEBORAH R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

The Rocks history was very interesting and our tour guide was very knowledgeable. The pub we stopped at for dinner was where the locals go and the food was excellent. The beer selections our guide recommended were perfect. My husband and I were the only one on this 3 hour tour and so glad that it was not cancelled!!

Doing what: The Rocks History and Pub Walking Tour

Genaro V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This walking tour is most educational as it tackled the history of Australia and our tour guide Tony Hutchinson is entertaining and thorough with his historical accounts as he traversed us to the streets and thoroughfare of the Rocks. We have a great time...worth every penny. Thank you.

Doing what: The Rocks History and Pub Walking Tour

Susan M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

The Rocks walking tour is a must do if you come to Sydney. More so if you are a history buff. There were lots of information provided by our excellent tour guide Vickie. So that we have an idea how The Rocks looked like before, our tour guide carried old photos of the settlement and showed them to each and every one of us as we stop at a particular destination. We had enough time to ask questions and also to take photos. Make sure to wear comfortable shoes and be ready to climb up and down the Argyle Stairs.

Doing what: The Rocks Walking Tour: the Original Guided Walking Tour of The Rocks

aldosue

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Fantastic night out. Gregg our guide who also owns the company was a wealth of information about Sydney and the Rocks area. Visited 3 interesting bars along the way and had a drink at each and a bit of a history lesson thrown in about the pubs we visited. Would highly recommend this tour to everyone.

Doing what: The Rocks Pub Walking Tour

Denzil

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

was knowledgeable knowing the history of and around Rocks , i was lucky as i was the only person on this tour , Allison my guest was just excellent and explained in detail about all the different sites visited . i would definitely recommend this tour if you don't mind walking around and exploring.

Doing what: Sydney Guided Walking Tour

Dean and Evelia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great way to spend the evening! The Rocks is a very interesting and fun part of Sydney.

Doing what: The Rocks History and Pub Walking Tour

Judith T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was absolutely the best way to see Sydney for we who hadn't been before. We didn't actually feel the need to get off at all, it was too good to leave. Took a lot of photos and had enough time at each place to see all we needed that day.
The following day we did a tour of the Harbour and visited the Maritime Museum and The Rocks.and knew where we were going.
Thanks again. It was nice to hear Paul Makin doing the commentary, and good that it is available to other languages.

Doing what: Sydney and Bondi Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Barry S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Excellent introduction to the history of Sydney and the area around the Rocks. Small group -- there were 8 of us and the length of the trip was just right. The tour worked well for us as this was our first visit to Sydney.

Doing what: Sydney Guided Walking Tour

Keith S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

We had a great time in Sydney. The hop on hop bus was wonderful we got to see lots of Sydney. It was easy to find and to use. We have a beautiful time at the Rocks on Sunday and really enjoyed the market.

Doing what: Sydney and Bondi Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Hj Mohd Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

A fantastic way to see Sydney in a day ( 24 hr ticket ).We really enjoy our lunch of fresh fish and chip at Bondi Beach.The weather was a bit cold and windy on the deck of the bus.We stopped at The Rocks,Opera House,and Bondi Beach.Sydney was raining heavily the next day.We recommend strongly to first time visitors who have few days to stay in Sydney.

Doing what: Sydney and Bondi Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Ernesta D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

A very pleasant experience which my Italian friends loved as well. We stopped in Bondi and then continued with the next bus, then we did the same at the Rocks and we enjoyed the freedom of been able to do just that. Very good drivers and coordinators, all careful to give us a very good experience. To be highly recommended.

Doing what: Sydney and Bondi Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Robert S United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

Excellent tour with a knowledgeable and entertaining guide who gave some real insights into the history of The Rocks. I'd recommend this one strongly

Doing what: Sydney Guided Walking Tour

Barbara O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2011

Colin gave us a lot of interesting information and made the history of The Rocks come alive for us. I'd highly recommend the walking tour to anyone.

Doing what: Sydney Guided Walking Tour

DEAN W Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

An excellent way to see the Sydney CBD,Bondi,and travel thru' some of Sydney's most expensive real estate. I would recommend this to anybody visiting Sydney,in fact,it's the sort of tour one should do when visiting any city. The only complaint was the lack of clear signage to identify the appropriate bus stop at The Rocks.This was where we intended to first engage the bus and we had to ring the helpline to identify it's approximate location.While waiting for th ebus there were 3 other groups who also looked very unsure as to whether they were in th eright spot.Other stops along the way were better signed.

Doing what: Sydney and Bondi Hop-on Hop-off Tour

David T USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

Wow, what a great experience! We would have missed so many wonderful sights had we not booked 48 hours on this amazing tour one day would not have been enough. The Sydney tour took us to numerous places where the free city shuttle didn't go. We enjoyed it so much that we took one complete 90 min. tour before we started to hop off and on to see specific sights Sydney Opera House, the Rocks, etc., and it was definitely dependable. At the conclusion of the 2nd day we took the entire tour again, and enjoyed every minute of it we selected the top outdoor seats the entire time - it was the best way to truly see the sights and get lots of great camera shots. We also took the Bondi Beach tour, and it was fantastic. Our trip to Sydney was complete because of this tour bus, and we would highly recommend it!!! Additionally, the tour bus drivers were extremely nice, helpful, and super accommodating.

Doing what: Sydney and Bondi Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Simon C Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

Fascinating journey through the rocks.

Doing what: Sydney Guided Walking Tour

Joyce S Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2009

This tour was wonderful. We took the guided walk on a beautiful cool, sunny day, and our guide was friendly, enthusiastic and helpful. Our 2-hour walk took in the main sights of the Rocks, the Harbour Bridge and the Opera House but also managed to fit in the Botanic Gardens and a few 'off the beaten track' spots and tips I would have never found otherwise. We were in a small group, and the information was intelligently delivered and entertaining. It was a perfect way to introduce myself to Sydney and get my bearings with the help of a local. Overall, a great value tour that comes highly recommended.

Doing what: Sydney Guided Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message