For a complete change of pace from Australia's largest city, head out on a day trip which will take you south through small towns, farmland and rugged forests before arriving in the nation's capital: Canberra. Few cities live as harmoniously with ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 48 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Mark D United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Tour of Canberra was excellent. It was a great way to see the capital city.

Doing what: Canberra Day Trip from Sydney

Maz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was a great long day excursion and is really a whistle-stop tour introducing the highlights. Canberra was beautiful and just as we imagined. The ANZAC war memorial was fantastic - we really needed a week to view it properly. We also enjoyed the visit to the National Art Gallery but again the visit was brief. The driver/ guide was knowledgeable and informative and organised our tour stops well. The specialist guides at the Memorial, National gallery and Parliment were equally knowledgeable which added a different dimension to their venues.

Doing what: Canberra Day Trip from Sydney

Philip I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Was a great day. Coach driver was very knowledgeable on the drive to Canberra and guide at the war memorial / parliament was very good.

Doing what: Canberra Day Trip from Sydney

Jack G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Traveling thru the country side to Canberra was breath taking. Once there the visits to the war memorial, Parliament House were interesting. Especially note worthy was seeing the Aboriginal art on display in the museum

Doing what: Canberra Day Trip from Sydney

Ting MN Malaysia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Guides are very friendly and knowledgeable. We really enjoy the trip and gain a lot knowledge pertaining to Canberra.

Doing what: Canberra Day Trip from Sydney

Lynn L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This was the day it rained in Sydney - but we were in Canberra, where the weather was clear. If you have any interest in war museums, allow yourself as much time as possible in the one here. The entry level is for WWI and WWII. The lower floor covers every war and armed conflict Australia has been involved in, from the Boer War to the present day. The museum is incredible - so much to see, so many outstanding displays. From the museum we went to the National Gallery of Art, and then to Parliament, where we sat in on sessions of both House of Representatives and Senate, followed by a drive thru the embassy section. I also have to say that we had one of the world's great bus drivers, Ralph with AATKings. Excellent driver, very knowledgeable and friendly. We stopped in Berrima for a breakfast break excellent food and at Trappers Bakery in Goulburn for dinner - a famous place with very good food. They stayed open for us, as we got there about the time they normally close. I highly recommend this tour as a way to see the capital of the country. The only reason I could see for actually staying in Canberra is if you have to be there for Parliament, or if you want more time for the war museum. It's not a town for tourists. But it's definitely worth a visit.

Doing what: Canberra Day Trip from Sydney

Arnold W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our Canberra guide was extremely knowledgeable. The bus driver and attendant were friendly and went out of their way to provide a great experience. The entire day was well worth it.

Doing what: Canberra Explorer: Australia's Capital City Tour from Sydney

Rebecca G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Long day but pretty scenery and nice tour of Canberra especially being able to visit th Parliament. You can't do that in the US

Doing what: Canberra Day Trip from Sydney

elizabethmurphy01

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Really enjoyed our trip to Canberra, visiting the Museum, the House of Parliament and Senate, etc. Our tour guide was absolutely excellent. We were so pleased that we had decided to do this tour.

Doing what: Canberra Day Trip from Sydney

MARK ANTHONY M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The tour was informative, interesting, and amazing! Julian, our driver, was very informative. driving was very good too and good time management. Barbara, our guide was very knowledgeable, passionate and informative. She definitely knows Canberra very well. i would highly recommend this tour!!

Doing what: Canberra Day Trip from Sydney

Jeff M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Fantastic trip the driver was informative and showed great attention to detail. Spoke to all on board bus with respect. Guides in Canberra were just so informative and knowledgable it made the tours easy. The war memorial is very emotional and parliament house is beautiful. Stunning views everywhere

Doing what: Canberra Day Trip from Sydney

Christopher P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

I thought the tour was excellent. It's a long day with the travel time but I found even the transfer time entertaining with informative commentary along the way. As an introduction to Canberra, I wasn't disappointed in the slightest. I would recommend this tour to anyone who has a spare day to get out of Sydney and see the nation's capital.

Doing what: Canberra Explorer: Australia's Capital City Tour from Sydney

pauls

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This Tour to Canberra was awesome, totally recommend it. Especially the guided tour by local guide Bernard in the National gallery.

Doing what: Canberra Explorer: Australia's Capital City Tour from Sydney

Heather Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Fantastic and are planning to go back to Canberra to spend more time exploring as the tour gave a taste of what is on offer.

Doing what: Canberra Explorer: Australia's Capital City Tour from Sydney

David E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

Really enjoyed the trip to Canberra, it was a long day but well worth the price.
Neil was an excellent driver and a very personable man.
The guided tours at the War Museum and Monument were excellent, as was the Gallery. Parliament House was a little bit rushed once inside, I feel the guide spent too much time outside Parliament. Once inside she spent too much time talking about the marble and where it was from, instead of other more interesting subjects.. Especially as we were short on time. There was no time to buy any souvenirs., I think that when the guide knows that it is just a day trip the commentary could be shortened. I do however intend to return to Canberra in the future. I really did enjoy the trip and would recommend it to everyone. Thank you to Neil.

Doing what: Canberra Explorer: Australia's Capital City Tour from Sydney

Dnice Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2012

its a long bus ride to Canberra from Sydney but our driver made it very enjoyable and interesting, well done Jules. The tour of Memorial was great but need more time to appreciate it. Enjoyed Parliament house tour and guides were very informative. Gallery was same as other galleries wonderiul pieces of art and some that looked like a 3 yr old did it.

Doing what: Canberra Day Trip from Sydney

Anais M G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2012

The tour guide was wonderful. Canberra had so much to offter than I was expecting. The capital was just beautiful. The tour guides did a great job of explaining Australia's coming to story. This was a really sobering tour and I just loved it!

Doing what: Canberra Day Trip from Sydney

Tiffanie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2011

This was by far a fantastic trip. I highly recommend to anyone who wants to take in breathtaking views. This tour included the War Memorial which is the best I've ever seen, the Canberra Art Museum, and of course ACT Parliament House.

Doing what: Canberra Day Trip from Sydney

Hilary C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2011

As a visitor from Ireland Australia is completely different to any other European country but this is my 4th visit here and I love it. I had wanted to visit Canberra before but this time I was determined to make it. The online booking was very straightforward and I'm not young! But it all went through easily and I had no problem. Confirmation was very quick. The trip itself was excellent. Slightly late with the pick up but no panic. The coach was very comfortable, the driver informative without over doing it and there were snack/meal stops on the way - not too long or short and there was a video to watch on the return journey. The tour at Canberra was well organised and timed to perfection - the guide was excellent and full of interesting facts,figures and info. I don't know how she remembered it all! Overall I really enjoyed it, and feel I got fantastic value and would definitely use the company again.

Doing what: Canberra Explorer: Australia's Capital City Tour from Sydney

J K S India

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2010

Extremely well organized. Both the Driver and the guide were outstanding. and enough time given for the visit in Canberra.

Doing what: Canberra Explorer: Australia's Capital City Tour from Sydney

Joanne S Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2010

Was a great informative trip, a long day and plenty to see and do. Was explained that it was a snapshot, so wasn't disappointed when we had a time limit. Would highly recommend this to anyone who wants to see the main points of Canberra.

Doing what: Canberra Explorer: Australia's Capital City Tour from Sydney

Kimberley L Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2009

I have been to Canberra before, but it was awhile back when I was in primary school. My boyfriend and I decided that since we were holidaying in Sydney, to take a visit to Canberra. It was his first trip to Australia, so it made sense to take him to our nation's capital. He loved it! I loved it! The tour group was great. Everyone was from all over the world! The tour guide/bus driver was fantastic! He was very knowledgeable and friendly, and did a great job coordinating everything. This was definitely a worthwhile tour!

Doing what: Canberra Day Trip from Sydney

Virendra Prasad S Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

This is really a good value for the money. I came to Australia for the first time and really wanted to have a tour which would give me a detailed guided tour to Canberra. This trip to Canberra is definitely what I was looking for; it gave me everything and covered every aspect of Canberra I was looking for. Most importantly, I loved the way our guide explained everything to us in a very nice and patient manner. I will surely recommend this tour to my friends, and it is a great value of the money. I would like to thank Viator for this memorable trip to Canberra.

Doing what: Canberra Day Trip from Sydney

C Denise G L

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

If you dont wish to stay overnight in Canberra, i would recommend this tour. The parliament building was beautiful. The national art gallery was not bad. The views on top of the hill was splendid.

Doing what: Canberra Day Trip from Sydney

C Ray M

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

Very nice tour and driver. Enjoyed this tour very much and would recommend to anyone who wants to visit Canberra for the day.

Doing what: Canberra Day Trip from Sydney

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message