The east coast of Australia acts as a 'whale highway' for humpback whales, which, from May to December, cruise close to Sydney's shore on their annual migration. During this time, you are virtually guaranteed to see humpbacks, dolphins, other sea ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 168 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Melanie L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We watched 2 whale at the end. Great and happy.

Doing what: Sydney Whale-Watching Cruise

Linda B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We had a marvellous trip with 2 whales within 50 yards of the boat for at least half an hour. We also spotted 2 other whales as well. Weather was fine on our trip but I would recommend anyone prone to seasickness to take some travel sickness tablets as you are out in the open sea for some time. Lunch was very good and all facilities well presented. Trip made all the more interesting and entertaining by our guide Biggles and our Captain Travis got us as close as possible to the whales. Great afternoon.

Doing what: Sydney Whale-Watching Cruise Including Lunch

Nicholas A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Cruise operation worked hard to make sure we saw whales and extended our time. I have never seen humpbacks so close up. Great experience.

Doing what: Sydney Whale-Watching Cruise

Becky

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Had the best whale watching trip! We had four whales that were putting on a show around us the whole time. Dolphins showed up as well and we saw seals on the way back in. Was way above my expectations. I would definitely recommend this.

Doing what: Sydney Whale-Watching Cruise

Gregory D H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Outstanding! Paul was an outstanding tour guide. He kept us informed all through the trip with excellent knowledge of the whales and Sydney's coastline.

Doing what: Sydney Whale-Watching Cruise

Mark S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed this trip with a excellent guide with years of knowledge on whales. Lunch was also to a good standard.

Doing what: Sydney Whale-Watching Cruise Including Lunch

setan_muacks

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

whale in nature just awesome

Doing what: Sydney Whale-Watching Cruise

Jennifer F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

When I booked this trip I didn't think I would see any whales but I was wrong the whole experience was just amazing and worth every dollars. My granddaughter took some lovely pictures of the whales and I will definitely do this trip again. Thank you so much for the amazing day

Doing what: Sydney Whale-Watching Cruise Including Lunch

Ananda Prakash U

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Fantastic. Guide, Mr. Biggles was very informative and knowledgeable. The sea was very rough and almost everyone threw up. But we got to see many whales ....and when one leaps out of the water.....its just amazing.

Doing what: Sydney Whale-Watching Cruise Including Lunch

Christine F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Fantastic- would recommend anyone who has the chance to do this. Great commentary and lovely food

Doing what: Sydney Whale-Watching Cruise Including Lunch

Matt A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

My mom and I loved going on this short little cruise. Whale sightings are guaranteed. Apparently we got a heckuva tour though as we had whales the WHOLE TIME we were out. They had one jump out of the water once and slap their tails another time. Most of the time it was just going out and in rolling it's back across the surface of the water. The guide we had was fantastic and really let us in on a lot of whale facts which I didn't know before. Super educational but fun too.

Doing what: Sydney Whale-Watching Cruise

tabasco456

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great weather and great crew! They found whales within 30 minutes of our departure and stayed with them throughout the cruise until it was time to return to port. They were approachable with questions and knowledgable in their answers. A terrific day!

Doing what: Sydney Whale-Watching Cruise

Thomas T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

A fun tour. We saw a group of 3 whales much of the time we were out. I would do it again if I were back in Sydney in June.

Doing what: Sydney Whale-Watching Cruise

Stephanie G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Amazing... Loved every second. Even towards the end of migration we managed to spot 3/4 different mammals. Steer clear if you suffer with sea sickness though.

Doing what: Sydney Whale-Watching Cruise Including Lunch

Alex U

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Very enjoyable, lived up to all my expectations. Saw several whales

Doing what: Sydney Eco Whale Watching Small Group Cruise

Stella R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

I highly recommend this trip, we had a guide called biggles who was fantastic and certainly knew where to go and see the whales, he was very knowledgeable. The barbecue lunch was very nice, a very well organised trip

Doing what: Sydney Whale-Watching Cruise Including Lunch

Caroline W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

What a fantastic experience! The crew was professional, the food was good, and the weather was beautiful. Most importantly, the crew cares deeply about the whales. Our commentator was incredibly knowledgeable and, while they always worked to get us a good view, safety of the whales was of utmost importance. Thanks for a fantastic day!

Doing what: Sydney Whale-Watching Cruise Including Lunch

Penny P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Saw a pod of a mother with 2 babies! Lots of scenery besides.

Doing what: Sydney Whale-Watching Cruise

Sarah G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Guide was informative and friendly, thoroughly enjoyed every minute and well worth the money

Doing what: Sydney Whale-Watching by Speed Boat

Gary G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Excellent nice guys good boat at least 5 different whales including mother and calf

Doing what: Sydney Whale-Watching Cruise

Thi Quynh Ngan N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Absolutely excellent experience. Highly recommended !

Doing what: Sydney Whale-Watching Cruise

bramers

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Nice tour - unfortunately the whales didn't cooperate, but that's life. I'd take it again anyway!

Doing what: Sydney Whale-Watching Cruise Including Lunch

Steve

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Really fun, definitely worth it, so exciting to see the whales. Very relaxing.

Doing what: Sydney Eco Whale Watching Small Group Cruise

Vincent L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

The cruise was filled with first-rate information. And the guides were attentive to finding whales to watch but stayed with them for a considerable time so that we could really experience seeing them.

Doing what: Sydney Whale-Watching Cruise

Laura P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

The tour was simply amazing!
Our guide was extremely nice and since it was very windy that day, he also offered us to go on a day with less wind.
The speedboat ride itself was fun too, but I would recommend to bring chewing gum if you get seasick easily.
All in all: awesome tour, I would definitely do it again!

Doing what: Sydney Whale-Watching by Speed Boat

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message