Many of the fine Australian wines served at Sydney's world-class restaurants and wine bars are sourced from New South Wales' famous Hunter Valley vineyards. The Hunter Region is around 150km (95 miles) north of Sydney, and it produces some of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 230 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

lisa b

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Loved it - Our guide was great. Feeding the Kangaroos on the way up was incredibly cool. The first winery was beautiful - our host was funny and extremely knowledgeable and the wine was great. The second winery was a bit more corporate meets Liberace with crystal chandeliers everywhere and a helipad - not my favorite - but the wine was good and we had a fun lunch there. Net net a great day that I would happily recommend. And the small group format is certainly the way to go.

Doing what: Hunter Valley Wineries and Wilderness Small-Group Tour

Glenn P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great tour. Easy day trip from Sydney to the wine country and a nice selection of stops to sample the wines and have a great lunch. The tour was well organized and run and the driver was knowledgeable and friendly to all.

Doing what: Hunter Valley Wine Tasting Day Tour from Sydney

Trevor C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

It was a very good day - visited 3 wineries, chocolate shop and smelly cheese factory. Tour guide was funny and informative and the group interacted well! A very enjoyable day and well worth the time to see the fantastic Hunter Valley

Doing what: Small-Group Hunter Valley Wine and Cheese Tasting Tour from Sydney

Noelle J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Excellent tour. Wine was great, food was good. The tour guide was nice and informative. Had a great day.

Doing what: Hunter Valley Wine Tasting Day Tour from Sydney

S L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Excellent tour with great guide and generous wine tastings. Well worth it.

Doing what: Hunter Valley Wineries and Wilderness Small-Group Tour

ferreilo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We had a fabulous day! The driver was excellent, the service of the tour was everything that was described! We had so much fun, and enjoyed the various wineries and stops along the way.

Doing what: Hunter Valley Wine Tasting Day Tour from Sydney

Sjaklawrence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Guide from AAT Kings was brilliant and kept us very informed. A very relaxing time sipping wines and sampling produce.

Doing what: Hunter Valley Wine Tasting Day Tour from Sydney

Carl R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our bus driver, Stephen, was wonderful, giving us lots of history and explaining the sites along the way to Hunter Valley. The wineries were very accommodating from the tours to the tastings! The wines were excellent, the lunch that was included was superb. If you like wine - then this tour is for you.

Doing what: Hunter Valley Wine Tasting Day Tour from Sydney

tabasco456

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our tour guide, Scott, was very knowledgeable and shared a lot of great information about Hunter Valley and the wineries we were visiting, as well as information about Australia. The day was delightful!

Doing what: Hunter Valley Wineries and Wilderness Small-Group Tour

Brittany D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Tour was great! Had a good variety of wineries- would have been great if we could go to 1 more.

Doing what: Small-Group Hunter Valley Wine and Cheese Tasting Tour from Sydney

Stephen Wendy W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Fantastic! Amazing! Weather was predicted to be wet, but it was fine and warm, beautiful. We loved the commentary along the way by the driver, who was great. He was warm and conversational with us, and made the day enjoyable. Loved the wineries and the tastings! Thank you!

Doing what: Hunter Valley Wine Tasting Day Tour from Sydney

Carol B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our small-group Hunter Valley Wine and Cheese tasting tour was a great experience. Steve, our driver and guide, really made the trip fun and interesting.

Doing what: Small-Group Hunter Valley Wine and Cheese Tasting Tour from Sydney

tiffchen1124

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Jim was a great tour guide who kept us entertained throughout the trip. The selection of a large commercial winery, smaller winery, and a boutique winery was great for experiencing what is on offer at the Hunter Valley. Although the cheese tasting wasn't as elaborate as the wine tasting, I still ended up buying some of the cheese that was sampled. Lunch was provided which was a nice surprise.

Doing what: Small-Group Hunter Valley Wine and Cheese Tasting Tour from Sydney

Robert D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent trip to the Hunter Valley. Our coach driver was very informative and very amusing. A thoroughly enjoyable day with an excellent selection of wines to taste and a more than ample lunch included,

Doing what: Hunter Valley Wine Tasting Day Tour from Sydney

George M T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We really enjoyed our wine and cheese tasting tour with Nigel. He made it a great experience, answered all our questions, and a good view of life in NSW and the areas we passed through and the wineries we visited, and we met some really nice people on our tour. Going on a small group tour lets you meet other people but also you get a more personalized tour. Enjoyed all the wineries, and the cheese. Great day. Learned things about wine and wine making I didn't know and we got to drink some really good wine.

Doing what: Small-Group Hunter Valley Wine and Cheese Tasting Tour from Sydney

valerie b

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This tour was a great tour for a couple of reasons. I now know I prefer small group tours, the guide was very pleasant to be with. The wineries we visited were hospitable and generous with their wine selections. Lunch was included. We ate at Leogate Winery and it was exceptional. Highly recommend!

Doing what: Hunter Valley Wineries and Wilderness Small-Group Tour

Claude I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Not only did we taste great wines at three wineries and have a delicious lunch at the Hunter Valley Resort, we got to see kangaroos on the loose at Hope Estates winery. Beautiful area and good wines.

Doing what: Hunter Valley Wine Tasting Day Tour from Sydney

Jane Jamie H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Paul was an amazing guide!! He was extremely knowledgeable and moved us through the activities in a way that allowed us just enough time at each spot without feeling rushed. It was wonderful to be able to see the animals/reptiles at the park just as it was opening, and the wine tastings were all enjoyable. Thank you, Paul!

Doing what: Hunter Valley Wineries and Wilderness Small-Group Tour

jimmyz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

As expected, knowledgeable guide, great wine and scenery!!

Doing what: Hunter Valley Wineries and Wilderness Small-Group Tour

Janice J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

We really enjoyed this tour. It was a great introduction to Australia after arriving the day before. Not too exhausting and we saw a couple of wild kangaroos at the wine vineyard.

Doing what: Hunter Valley Wineries and Wilderness Small-Group Tour

Frank

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This was a very enjoyable tour through AATKings. After picking us up from our hotel we did a short tour of Sydney before heading out to Hunter Valley. The bus driver Tom was very informative as we made our way up to the wineries. He made the trip very entertaining with his comments and his wit. The first winery Hope gave us a tour of the operations as we tasted several wines. They also had a brewery with several kinds of beer to sample for a price. Interestingly, there was a stage on their property used for concerts with acts such as Rod Stewart, Bruce Springsteen and the Rolling Stones performing in the past. Kangaroos could be seen hoping on the property.
We had a very delicious lunch at the second winery where a couple of glasses of wine were served during lunch. Again, there was a brewery at this location and various kinds of beer could be purchased.
The third winery McGuigan gave us a sample of six to eight types of wine. The presentation was terrific and the wines were very good.
I would recommend this trip to anyone who enjoys a good time and a relaxing day visiting several wineries.

Doing what: Hunter Valley Wine Tasting Day Tour from Sydney

Snow Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Wonderful day out, with a very knowledgeable and fun driver thanks Jim! Tasted some wonderful wines and took some home too. Comfy ride, good company, fine wines and some tasty morsels all helped make the day.

Doing what: Small-Group Hunter Valley Wine and Cheese Tasting Tour from Sydney

Yau Hing Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Steve, the guide, was great! The wines were interesting too because some of them are quite rare, eg chambourcin, and/or aren and #39;t sold outside the wineries. This is definitely one tour I and #39;ll consider signing up for again and again!

Doing what: Small-Group Hunter Valley Wine and Cheese Tasting Tour from Sydney

Diane S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This tour was enjoyable and well worth the cost. Our tour guide was great, giving us a lot of information about the area, the wines were good and the wilderness park was fun.

Doing what: Hunter Valley Wineries and Wilderness Small-Group Tour

KEL50

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Outstanding small group allowing to listen and ask questions along the way...Visited two wineries and had a fantastic lunch at a private resort.

Doing what: Hunter Valley Wineries and Wilderness Small-Group Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message