Many of the fine Australian wines served at Sydney's world-class restaurants and wine bars are sourced from New South Wales' famous Hunter Valley vineyards. The Hunter Region is around 150km (95 miles) north of Sydney, and it produces some of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 239 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

jae s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

We had an amazing time! Don, our driver and guide, was personable, knowledgeable, and flexible. The animal park, where we were able to pet koala, python, croc, and kangaroos, was a treat and the two wineries were fantastic in their own ways. Lunch was delicious! I was pleasantly surprised how good the food was! By the end of the tour, we had bonded with our tour mates.

Doing what: Hunter Valley Wineries and Wilderness Small-Group Tour

John B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Awesome winery tour. Our tour driver, Peter, was very knowledgeable and friendly. All of the wineries were terrific. Had a wonderful lunch as well. Great afternoon!

Doing what: Hunter Valley Wineries and Wilderness Small-Group Tour

Sheena R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our Hunter Valley Wine Tasting Tour. The guide Henry was excellent and good company too. It is good to get a guide who knows his history and he made everyone feel at ease.
The Leogate winery was excellent and the food we had at lunch was the best we had in our 4 day visit to Sydney. I would have liked a bit more time at the last stop to enjoy the gardens and see more of the boutique shops but that would have been at the cost of the other stops which were so good. Can highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Hunter Valley Wine Tasting Day Tour from Sydney

dmswitzer1325

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

It's rather a long bus ride, but worth the trip if you enjoy wine at all. The small group size was perfect, and the wilderness preserve was great - we got to feed kangaroos that were hopping around us, pet a koala and a reptile, and also to see indigenous animals that were safely contained such as wombats, Tasmanian devils, dingoes, and a crocodile. All of the wines were outstanding, and the wineries choose wine varieties that are not readily available in the US. The gourmet lunch at one winery was definitely that. Very much recommend this tour!

Doing what: Hunter Valley Wineries and Wilderness Small-Group Tour

Brenda R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Really enjoyed this tour. Great driver who was very knowledgeable. Very enjoyable day. Started off at a wildlife park which was just great and then on to the wineries and a great lunch. Bought some beautiful wine only to lose it at the border when we left Sydney. Very disappointing. Other than that really recommend this tour.

Doing what: Hunter Valley Wineries and Wilderness Small-Group Tour

Marion S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Hunter Valley wines are something to write home about! When our driver came to pick up, he informed us that we were only ones on the bus and they still conducted the tour, however the bus driver was informed that two others would join us, a newly married couple in their late 40's. The three wineries served us about 8 different wines, at least 4 red and 4 whites sometimes more! I was glad I was not driving. Lunch was included, although no wine was served, we were able to bring our own bottle to enjoy and we did. The driver was informative, knowledgeable and very upbeat. He made the tour come alive. The cheeses were great. If you have the time go on this tour!! You will really enjoy it.

Doing what: Small-Group Hunter Valley Wine and Cheese Tasting Tour from Sydney

lisa b

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Loved it - Our guide was great. Feeding the Kangaroos on the way up was incredibly cool. The first winery was beautiful - our host was funny and extremely knowledgeable and the wine was great. The second winery was a bit more corporate meets Liberace with crystal chandeliers everywhere and a helipad - not my favorite - but the wine was good and we had a fun lunch there. Net net a great day that I would happily recommend. And the small group format is certainly the way to go.

Doing what: Hunter Valley Wineries and Wilderness Small-Group Tour

Glenn P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great tour. Easy day trip from Sydney to the wine country and a nice selection of stops to sample the wines and have a great lunch. The tour was well organized and run and the driver was knowledgeable and friendly to all.

Doing what: Hunter Valley Wine Tasting Day Tour from Sydney

Trevor C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

It was a very good day - visited 3 wineries, chocolate shop and smelly cheese factory. Tour guide was funny and informative and the group interacted well! A very enjoyable day and well worth the time to see the fantastic Hunter Valley

Doing what: Small-Group Hunter Valley Wine and Cheese Tasting Tour from Sydney

Noelle J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Excellent tour. Wine was great, food was good. The tour guide was nice and informative. Had a great day.

Doing what: Hunter Valley Wine Tasting Day Tour from Sydney

S L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Excellent tour with great guide and generous wine tastings. Well worth it.

Doing what: Hunter Valley Wineries and Wilderness Small-Group Tour

ferreilo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We had a fabulous day! The driver was excellent, the service of the tour was everything that was described! We had so much fun, and enjoyed the various wineries and stops along the way.

Doing what: Hunter Valley Wine Tasting Day Tour from Sydney

Sjaklawrence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Guide from AAT Kings was brilliant and kept us very informed. A very relaxing time sipping wines and sampling produce.

Doing what: Hunter Valley Wine Tasting Day Tour from Sydney

Carl R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our bus driver, Stephen, was wonderful, giving us lots of history and explaining the sites along the way to Hunter Valley. The wineries were very accommodating from the tours to the tastings! The wines were excellent, the lunch that was included was superb. If you like wine - then this tour is for you.

Doing what: Hunter Valley Wine Tasting Day Tour from Sydney

tabasco456

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our tour guide, Scott, was very knowledgeable and shared a lot of great information about Hunter Valley and the wineries we were visiting, as well as information about Australia. The day was delightful!

Doing what: Hunter Valley Wineries and Wilderness Small-Group Tour

Brittany D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Tour was great! Had a good variety of wineries- would have been great if we could go to 1 more.

Doing what: Small-Group Hunter Valley Wine and Cheese Tasting Tour from Sydney

Stephen Wendy W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Fantastic! Amazing! Weather was predicted to be wet, but it was fine and warm, beautiful. We loved the commentary along the way by the driver, who was great. He was warm and conversational with us, and made the day enjoyable. Loved the wineries and the tastings! Thank you!

Doing what: Hunter Valley Wine Tasting Day Tour from Sydney

Carol B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our small-group Hunter Valley Wine and Cheese tasting tour was a great experience. Steve, our driver and guide, really made the trip fun and interesting.

Doing what: Small-Group Hunter Valley Wine and Cheese Tasting Tour from Sydney

tiffchen1124

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Jim was a great tour guide who kept us entertained throughout the trip. The selection of a large commercial winery, smaller winery, and a boutique winery was great for experiencing what is on offer at the Hunter Valley. Although the cheese tasting wasn't as elaborate as the wine tasting, I still ended up buying some of the cheese that was sampled. Lunch was provided which was a nice surprise.

Doing what: Small-Group Hunter Valley Wine and Cheese Tasting Tour from Sydney

Robert D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent trip to the Hunter Valley. Our coach driver was very informative and very amusing. A thoroughly enjoyable day with an excellent selection of wines to taste and a more than ample lunch included,

Doing what: Hunter Valley Wine Tasting Day Tour from Sydney

George M T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We really enjoyed our wine and cheese tasting tour with Nigel. He made it a great experience, answered all our questions, and a good view of life in NSW and the areas we passed through and the wineries we visited, and we met some really nice people on our tour. Going on a small group tour lets you meet other people but also you get a more personalized tour. Enjoyed all the wineries, and the cheese. Great day. Learned things about wine and wine making I didn't know and we got to drink some really good wine.

Doing what: Small-Group Hunter Valley Wine and Cheese Tasting Tour from Sydney

valerie b

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This tour was a great tour for a couple of reasons. I now know I prefer small group tours, the guide was very pleasant to be with. The wineries we visited were hospitable and generous with their wine selections. Lunch was included. We ate at Leogate Winery and it was exceptional. Highly recommend!

Doing what: Hunter Valley Wineries and Wilderness Small-Group Tour

Claude I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Not only did we taste great wines at three wineries and have a delicious lunch at the Hunter Valley Resort, we got to see kangaroos on the loose at Hope Estates winery. Beautiful area and good wines.

Doing what: Hunter Valley Wine Tasting Day Tour from Sydney

Jane Jamie H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Paul was an amazing guide!! He was extremely knowledgeable and moved us through the activities in a way that allowed us just enough time at each spot without feeling rushed. It was wonderful to be able to see the animals/reptiles at the park just as it was opening, and the wine tastings were all enjoyable. Thank you, Paul!

Doing what: Hunter Valley Wineries and Wilderness Small-Group Tour

jimmyz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

As expected, knowledgeable guide, great wine and scenery!!

Doing what: Hunter Valley Wineries and Wilderness Small-Group Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message