No one comes to French Polynesia looking for big city buzz, but there are at least a day’s worth of distractions to be had in its compact capital Papeete, on the island of Tahiti. Any exploration of the city starts at the waterfront, where ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 153 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Holly F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Our driver was there on our arrival as promised. We asked her if she could drive us around the island and she was very accommodating. We were interested in golfing so she took us to the course on the island so we could check it out. Waited for us while we had breakfast and offered to take us shopping. Much nicer then using the bigger shuttle services.

Doing what: Private Arrival Transfer: Papeete Airport to Hotel or Cruise Port

Reed O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

My wife and I have never been disappointed using Viator. We booked a 21 day cruise to Hawaii and then sail to Tahiti and surrounding islands. While on Tahiti, our cruise ship did not have any shore excursions. We looked at Viator web site and found a 2.5 hour Segway tour of Papeete, Tahiti. We loved it! The local contact Viator used was Maevaride and the tour guide's name was Chole. She was a wonderful host and ensured we were comfortable operating the Segway prior to the tour. She provided water and a helmet and on the slow speed of the Segway we zipped around the city. Once we were more confident of operation the Segway Chole asked if we wanted to go a bit faster. We said yes and the programed the Segways to go a bit faster - but we still had complete control of the speed. Chole answered all our Papeete questions. Some questions stumped her and she got on here cell phone after we stopped and found out the answer using Google or other means. Overall the tour was a huge success. My wife and I highly recommend it and we are 67 years old.
We are attaching a group photo of us with Chole at a site in Papeete.

Doing what: Discover Papeete by Segway

Liz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was the best day ever. We got to swim with a mother whale and her calf for almost two hours. it was incredible and so peaceful at the same time. Never in my life have I been that close to a whale and I have done a lot of whale and dolphin watch cruises.

Doing what: Tahiti Whale Watching Cruise

Liz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Awesome way to see the city. Guide was fantastic. Really new his history and local stories. Showed us some very pretty government buildings along the boulevard plus especially loved riding along the harbour side and waters edge. Even got to see the markets and buy some pearls.

Doing what: Discover Papeete by Segway

Dave A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Even though we had some MINOR problems with logistics on the way BACK, our trip was PHENOMINAL. The scenery,, people and the FOOD. Thank you all for giving Bianca and myself a WONDERFUL week

Doing what: Shared Departure Transfer: Hotel or Cruise Port to Papeete Airport

Mikef145

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Very fun time on the Segway! After a training lesso, we were off to see the local attractions in Tahiti. We rode around town, saw the church, the presidential palace, the market, Bougainville Park. Segways are new to the area, so many of the locals were amazed to see something like this and many were inquiring about them. At the end we were able to ride them at a higher speed around the square. This part was great! Helmets and water were included. Very nice tour guide. Bring sunscreen!!

Doing what: Discover Papeete by Segway

gmperri55

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

We found everything as it should be - the meeting point was easily located, the guide was very friendly and imparted a good amount of local knowledge. We really had no complaints at all and would recommend this tour.

Doing what: Tahiti Island Tour Including Venus Point, Taharaa View Point and Vaipahi Gardens

John D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Great tour, great instruction first, always made sure we were ok, very safety conscious, great value for money

Doing what: Discover Papeete by Segway

dennismbullard32

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

The tour guide was outstanding and showed us everything we signed up for and more.

Doing what: Tahiti Island Tour Including Venus Point, Taharaa View Point and Vaipahi Gardens

Stephanie N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Gerald was such a super fantastic guide! My husband and I had never ridden Segways before but with Gerald and #39;s instructions we had no problems! And it was so nice that it was just us 3! What an amazing way to see the city! Gerald was a fountain of information and just super!

Doing what: Discover Papeete by Segway

Rob D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Comprehensive and well-planned. Excellent tour leader.

Doing what: Tahiti Island Tour Including Venus Point, Taharaa View Point and Vaipahi Gardens

Christine L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Beautiful tour and great guide...we had a fabulous day and discovered many beautiful secrets of Tahiti's capital.

Doing what: Tahiti Island Tour Including Venus Point, Taharaa View Point and Vaipahi Gardens

Victoria S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Very nice tout guide, very knowledgeable and informative. Nice A/C mini-van, small group, good tour

Doing what: Tahiti Island Tour Including Venus Point, Taharaa View Point and Vaipahi Gardens

Ian R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was a comprehensive tour of the island giving us some amazing highlights

Doing what: Tahiti Island Tour Including Venus Point, Taharaa View Point and Vaipahi Gardens

Gary C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our tour guide Sidney took us deep into Papenoo valley, with stops for sightseeing and photos. He was knowledgeable and helpful about what we were looking at. Sure, the ride was rough at times through the unimproved road, but that was part of the adventure. Glad we did it.

Doing what: Papeete Inner Island Full-Day Jeep Safari

Beverley E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This tour was fantastic, there were 8 of us and we laughed so much....our guide was full of information...and was just a happy fellow.....I would recommend it .....more that what we expected to go round the crater of the volcano and up to the very top.....Glad that we did this one I have passed on the name of the company to our travel agency.

Doing what: Papeete Inner Island Full-Day Jeep Safari

Elsinore A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The tour guide was great. He knew about everything. We loved it!

Doing what: Tahiti Island Tour Including Venus Point, Taharaa View Point and Vaipahi Gardens

Shirley T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Getting through immigration at Papeete took an hour so it was lovely to be greeted by a gentleman holding a beautiful fragrant lei. I was directed to a bus and was on my way within five minutes. As it was six o'clock in the morning the traffic was good and after making two quick stops I arrived at my hotel thirty minutes after departing the airport. So glad after taking a red eye to have the transfer organized. I would definitely recommend using this company.

Doing what: Shared Arrival Transfer: Papeete Airport to Hotel or Cruise Port

Tahiti

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Really great tour, loved it. A lot has changed since our last trip 30 years ago but such a wonderful tour just the same. Our tour guide Sam was very knowledgeable. We visited many places of interest and visited the ancient sacrificial place called the Marae where we got a pic with the largest Tiki there. Highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Tahiti Island Tour Including Venus Point, Taharaa View Point and Vaipahi Gardens

Tessa R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Easy to find. Prompt to start. Safety first. One-on-one instruction. A little practice. And then we were off for two hours of fun, sights, photo-stops, with just the right balance of information about each location, monument, tree, activity etc. This was, for us, a brilliant way to do a fast, value-for-money tour in the sunshine, with an English speaking, enthusiastic guide. Thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and would recommend to others.

Doing what: Discover Papeete by Segway

marilyn w

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour is amazing and a must do while in Papette. Deep into the interior of Tahiti, lots of rough roads to see amazing waterfalls. Our guide was very knowledgeable and only too happy to stop for many photo shoots. Riding in the back of a truck, so much fun.

Doing what: Papeete Inner Island Full-Day Jeep Safari

njkenny

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great tour, well organized. Driver was punctual and our small group enjoyed all the locations that we visited. Very good value for money

Doing what: Tahiti Island Tour Including Venus Point, Taharaa View Point and Vaipahi Gardens

odrobinsonjr

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Outstanding tour and Hero was a great guide. I highly recommend it.

Doing what: Papeete Inner Island Full-Day Jeep Safari

SaSa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Showed up on time-wish he could have helped me with my luggage but it was packed inside very few custom agents 3. Very nice and car had AC.

Doing what: Private Departure Transfer: Hotel or Cruise Port to Papeete Airport

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message