No one comes to French Polynesia looking for big city buzz, but there are at least a day’s worth of distractions to be had in its compact capital Papeete, on the island of Tahiti. Any exploration of the city starts at the waterfront, where ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 139 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Stephanie N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Gerald was such a super fantastic guide! My husband and I had never ridden Segways before but with Gerald and #39;s instructions we had no problems! And it was so nice that it was just us 3! What an amazing way to see the city! Gerald was a fountain of information and just super!

Doing what: Discover Papeete by Segway

Rob D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Comprehensive and well-planned. Excellent tour leader.

Doing what: Tahiti Island Tour Including Venus Point, Taharaa View Point and Vaipahi Gardens

Christine L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Beautiful tour and great guide...we had a fabulous day and discovered many beautiful secrets of Tahiti's capital.

Doing what: Tahiti Island Tour Including Venus Point, Taharaa View Point and Vaipahi Gardens

Victoria S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Very nice tout guide, very knowledgeable and informative. Nice A/C mini-van, small group, good tour

Doing what: Tahiti Island Tour Including Venus Point, Taharaa View Point and Vaipahi Gardens

Ian R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was a comprehensive tour of the island giving us some amazing highlights

Doing what: Tahiti Island Tour Including Venus Point, Taharaa View Point and Vaipahi Gardens

Gary C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our tour guide Sidney took us deep into Papenoo valley, with stops for sightseeing and photos. He was knowledgeable and helpful about what we were looking at. Sure, the ride was rough at times through the unimproved road, but that was part of the adventure. Glad we did it.

Doing what: Papeete Inner Island Full-Day Jeep Safari

Beverley E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This tour was fantastic, there were 8 of us and we laughed so much....our guide was full of information...and was just a happy fellow.....I would recommend it .....more that what we expected to go round the crater of the volcano and up to the very top.....Glad that we did this one I have passed on the name of the company to our travel agency.

Doing what: Papeete Inner Island Full-Day Jeep Safari

Elsinore A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The tour guide was great. He knew about everything. We loved it!

Doing what: Tahiti Island Tour Including Venus Point, Taharaa View Point and Vaipahi Gardens

Shirley T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Getting through immigration at Papeete took an hour so it was lovely to be greeted by a gentleman holding a beautiful fragrant lei. I was directed to a bus and was on my way within five minutes. As it was six o'clock in the morning the traffic was good and after making two quick stops I arrived at my hotel thirty minutes after departing the airport. So glad after taking a red eye to have the transfer organized. I would definitely recommend using this company.

Doing what: Shared Arrival Transfer: Papeete Airport to Hotel or Cruise Port

Tahiti

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Really great tour, loved it. A lot has changed since our last trip 30 years ago but such a wonderful tour just the same. Our tour guide Sam was very knowledgeable. We visited many places of interest and visited the ancient sacrificial place called the Marae where we got a pic with the largest Tiki there. Highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Tahiti Island Tour Including Venus Point, Taharaa View Point and Vaipahi Gardens

Tessa R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Easy to find. Prompt to start. Safety first. One-on-one instruction. A little practice. And then we were off for two hours of fun, sights, photo-stops, with just the right balance of information about each location, monument, tree, activity etc. This was, for us, a brilliant way to do a fast, value-for-money tour in the sunshine, with an English speaking, enthusiastic guide. Thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and would recommend to others.

Doing what: Discover Papeete by Segway

marilyn w

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour is amazing and a must do while in Papette. Deep into the interior of Tahiti, lots of rough roads to see amazing waterfalls. Our guide was very knowledgeable and only too happy to stop for many photo shoots. Riding in the back of a truck, so much fun.

Doing what: Papeete Inner Island Full-Day Jeep Safari

njkenny

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great tour, well organized. Driver was punctual and our small group enjoyed all the locations that we visited. Very good value for money

Doing what: Tahiti Island Tour Including Venus Point, Taharaa View Point and Vaipahi Gardens

odrobinsonjr

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Outstanding tour and Hero was a great guide. I highly recommend it.

Doing what: Papeete Inner Island Full-Day Jeep Safari

SaSa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Showed up on time-wish he could have helped me with my luggage but it was packed inside very few custom agents 3. Very nice and car had AC.

Doing what: Private Departure Transfer: Hotel or Cruise Port to Papeete Airport

SaSa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

My flight was cancelled because of Air Tahiti but they helped me rebook. Got the later flight but the hotel didn't have a place with AC to wait for 5 hours :-

Doing what: Private Arrival Transfer: Papeete Airport to Hotel or Cruise Port

Jordan W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was an awesome way to spend our last day of our honeymoon! We really didn't know what to expect, but certainly weren't disappointed. The jeep ride through the town was even cool, but once we got to the back roads I was blown away. The scenery was beautiful. The ride was quite rough, but we stopped several times to take pictures. The waterfalls were awesome and the swimming spot was very cool. The restaurant was unexpected for me - it was way up, more or less in the middle of nowhere with incredible scenery. The food was excellent too. Our tour guide was a very kind and knowledgable gentleman. He had so much knowledge of the island and was very interesting to listen to. My wife and I are very happy that we chose to do this tour and we highly recommend it!

Doing what: Papeete Inner Island Full-Day Jeep Safari

Barbara R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Again I was the only person not speaking French and again the Tour Guide always told me in English what I was looking at. A great Tour covering the Island. Very interesting and something any visitor to Papeete should do.

Doing what: Tahiti Island Tour Including Venus Point, Taharaa View Point and Vaipahi Gardens

Barbara R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

I was absolutely awestruck with the Black Pearl Museum. The Tour Guide was most helpful to me as I was the only person on the tour not speaking French but I didn't feel as if I missed out on anything as the Tour Guide filled me in with info. a good look at the highlights of Papeete.

Doing what: Papeete City Tour Including the Black Pearl Museum

Jessica O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We did this tour the day we arrived in Papeete so we had the morning to relax then got to see the whole island in 4 hours. Sam was our tour guide and he was so nice and personable. He grew up on the island and gave a lot of information and was funny. We were not able to see some sites due to the rain but he made up for it by taking us to the local supermarket Champion to get souvenirs and food for breakfast. Sam made the tour Great.

Doing what: Tahiti Island Tour Including Venus Point, Taharaa View Point and Vaipahi Gardens

Jessica O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was a fun tour and the group we had was great. The only thing was we were not in a jeep as advertised which was disappointing but non the less a great time. The scenery was so picturesque almost like New Zealand with all the green mountains and waterfalls. We had a great time and we stopped at the only hotel in the mountains for lunch. Lunch was not included but was very good.

Doing what: Papeete Inner Island Full-Day Jeep Safari

Denise M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Our driver was right on time for a 4:30 am pickup. Quite and efficient which was what was appropriate for the early hour. Other passengers kept us waiting for 15 minutes which was a bit annoying. Next time we might book a private transfer to avoid this.

Doing what: Shared Departure Transfer: Hotel or Cruise Port to Papeete Airport

Denise M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Excellent service. We were met at the airport arrival door by our driver with our name on a placard and a welcoming smile. Efficient and pleasant, we were in our hotel room the Pearl Beach Resort 7 kms on the other side of Papeete within about 40 minutes of touchdown. Not speeding though!

Doing what: Shared Arrival Transfer: Papeete Airport to Hotel or Cruise Port

Magicdanna1970

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was a great day the guide knew her history. Answered any question went out of her way great day worth the trip

Doing what: Tahiti Island Tour Including Venus Point, Taharaa View Point and Vaipahi Gardens

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message