Taipei, the capital and largest city in Taiwan, has everything you’d want from a big city: monuments and museums, a buzzing nightlife, a rich food culture, easy transportation and some of Asia’s best shopping. Most travelers who come to Taiwan use ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 178 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Erin J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

This tour highlighted some of the main sights of the Taroko Gorge. The sights are definitely unique - the gorge features marble mountains and some of the bluest water you'll see. The temple by the waterfall is beautiful but the trail there was closed when I was there.

Josephine, the tour guide, did a great job of accommodating the more and less physically able by allowing extra time to see the sight you could either stay or go further on the trail and come back. She's a funny and enthusiastic guide! I appreciated that she was a native to the area. She has an inspiring story of how she got to where she was - you go girl!

The tour starts with a 3 hour train ride there, you'll be able to fuel up at 7 Eleven before the train ride. You then meet Josephine, and the driver and go on a 15 minute ride to the gorge. The first stop is at the entrance of the gorge, unremarkable. The 2nd stop is at a short hike along the river. This is stroll down a dirt road, not strenuous. We then stop at the Swallow's grotto where swallows nest in the caves. More views of the river and gorge while walking through the cave. The driver will drop you off in the beginning and meet you at the end of the walk each time. Lunch is at a very luxurious hotel - you can choose between chicken, beef, and tofu. The presentation was nice but the food itself was just ok. Next you see the famous temple waterfall. It's actually farther off in the distance than I thought it would be.

Next on the tour is the marble factory - the standard overpriced factory tour with pushy sales people. Next you go to a beach with some food vendors. The rocks on the beach are interesting and have quartz in veins in them. Next is a train ride back to Taipei - 2.5 hours.

Overall, I give this tour high marks because the price is right for what you get.

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

Lim A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

This is one of my favourite tour offered by Edison Travel. Our guide was Josephine. Shes a professional tour guide and speaks fluent English and Japanese. We had a very wonderful lunch in a 5 star hotel. It was all really delicious and we couldnt finish it all since it was a lot. The guide was really passionate in explaining everything during our journey and made time for us to get off for a while to take selfie. This tour is not only good for family or couple but also for those who travelling alone. You can make new friends here and our journey from Taipei-Hualien and Hualien-Taipei was really awesome in very good train.
Totally worth it and Recommend it for everybody.

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

Lim A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

This is one of my favourite tour offered by Edison Travel. Our guide was Josephine. Shes a professional tour guide and speaks fluent English and Japanese. We had a very wonderful lunch in a 5 star hotel. It was all really delicious and we couldnt finish it all since it was a lot. The guide was really passionate in explaining everything during our journey and made time for us to get off for a while to take selfie. This tour is not only good for family or couple but also for those who travelling alone. You can make new friends here and our journey from Taipei-Hualien and Hualien-Taipei was really awesome in very good train.
Totally worth it and Recommend it for everybody.

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

awfriedman

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

A long train ride and bus ride from Taipei but worth every minute. Coming from the Grand Canyon State of Arizona this sight rivals ours in its natural beauty and wonder. The tour thru the park affords you the opportunity to do some degree of hiking and the ability to take in tremendous views of both mans and Mother Nature work. The guide was very knowledgeable and got off the bus at every stop to explain what we were looking at and to answer any of our questions. The lunch stop at a five star hotel was very good and enabled the tour bus group to get to know one another. The train ride provided and opportunity to see the country-side outside of Taipei.

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

Therese Camille A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Fun day trip outside Taipei. My favorite was the sky lantern experience. We made our own lantern, wrote our wishes, and sent it up!

I like that the group is small, we didn't spend a lot of time waiting for people to regroup. Our guide spoke English well. In Jiufen, she showed us what to try and which are famous. The van is clean and comfortable. Water is provided and even WIFI!

I highly recommend this to everyone.

Doing what: Pingxi and Jiufen Day Trip From Taipei with Sky Lantern Experience

dougmoss

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

I wanted to get to Taroko but was not keen on doing this on my own.....so VIATOR offered a day trip from Taipei. Why Not? What an adventure in a good way! You leave very early in the morning by train. The early departure is made up for the beautiful views of early morning light on the rice fields, hills and the seaside towns. You are met at the train station in Hualien/Jian and get a tour of this cool town and then up into the national park. The national park is stunning. You get hard hats during a section of the journey with rocks all around and views that are amazing. There are many stops and several shorts walks. The tour guide was great. She is funny woman with a great sense of humor. She speaks excellent English and loves what she does. I would have enjoyed an hour or so to hike around at a few places and skip the marble stop or really even lunch. The nature is what this trip is all about. I would recommend it to friends who want a day trip to Taroko from Taipei. I want to go back and spend a few days in this area hiking and exploring the cool towns. PS. The mountains and beaches for this area are stunning and make this trip special as well!!!!!

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

For people who are adventurous and need a break from city, this tour is for your. Was at first reluctant when we saw that the tour will take 13 hours coming from Taipei. But it was a very convenient and relaxing trip. There is a guide that will pick you up from your hotel and drop you off on the train platform and vice versa. From Hualien another local guide will be picking you up from the platform and the same guide will be with you throughout the trip.The train from Taipei to Hualien is very comfortable it was modern and spacious the tour is not all walking and there are alot of beautiful sights to absorb. The 5 star lunch at the SILKS hotel was also good. The weather was abit gloomy when we went there so there was rain here and there. They provide umbrellas and hard hats during the tour. Dont forget to pack extra battery for your camera or phone if youre using it as camera. And extra socks if the weather is wet.

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

Natasha T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This tour was a lot of fun! Our guide picked us up and took us to Jiufen, giving us interesting information about Taipei's history and development throughout the drive there. We met with a really nice 82-year-old man who used to work in the gold mines and shared his personally experience with us. We then enjoyed seeing the golden waterfall, having a nice lunch and exploring Jiufen old street, checking out the Shifen waterfall, and then writing our wishes on lanterns and sending them off. Beautiful sights, our guides were informative, and it's always an added bonus to meet really great people from all over the world too. Thanks for a great day!

Doing what: Pingxi and Jiufen Day Trip From Taipei with Sky Lantern Experience

Edgard V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Perfect layover tour experience.
Our guide Fred Chang was incredibly entertaining and informative. We then went on to spend over 2 weeks in 4 countries in Asia and he was the best tour guide we had.
The lunch at the Taipei 101 was superb.

Doing what: Taipei Layover Tour: Private City Sightseeing with Round-Trip Airport Transport

kyliet

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

We had a fantastic day with our small group of 5 people on this tour. On the way to Jiufen we saw the 2 colour sea and a beautiful waterfall then walked through the famous Jiufen town and tasted some local food and had lunch with a beautiful view. Drove to another amazing waterfall and short walk then onto Pingxi for the lantern release which was a unique experience,especially when the train comes through! Train ride to Jingtong and a walk through the old quaint station shops then headed back to Taipei.We were lucky to have Laura as our tour guide who was so friendly and did a wonderful job.I Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Pingxi and Jiufen Day Trip From Taipei with Sky Lantern Experience

david.los

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This is one of the best day tours I have ever been on. You will be met by a tour rep at your hotel who will bring you to the main train station, provide you with tickets and guide you to the correct platform. The train ride is an approximately 3 hour journey on a local train. The scenery on the east coast of Taiwan is beautiful and the train takes you through small towns, rice paddies, green mountains and near the ocean. Once you arrive in Hualien you will be greeted by a guide in our case Josephine who will bring you to a small coach and will guide your activities for the balance of the day. The Taroko Gorge is spectacular and Josephine the self described Queen of Taroko will take you places where other tours are not allowed to go. There are many stops for photographs and the ride itself is great. Afterward we had a delicious traditional lunch which was great. Not all foods will be attractive to the western palate but there is enough variety for those like me who are less adventurous. Due to the closure of the Taroko visitor centre due to a recent typhoon, there was more time to do other things in the afternoon which included trips to east coast cliffs, a store with local stone carving and jewelry and the stone sculpture park. The store we went to is huge and you can buy pieces made from rainbow jade which is only found in Taiwan as well as Taiwanese Rose Stone. After the tour you are brought back to the rail station and to the platform for the train back to Taipei. There are a few things that should be mentioned. First, expect a full day. We were met at our hotel at 5:50 AM and didn't get back until 7:30 PM. However, the train ride was very relaxing and believe me the tour is worth every penny! Also, I can't recommend Josephine highly enough. She is very friendly and extremely knowledgeable. She can also get into places that are off limits because of her local contacts. She is truly the queen of Taroko. We highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

Lili W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great tour guide and comfortable half-day tour outside of Taipei CBD. Enjoyed the small, intimate tour group as there were only 6 of us including the driver and the guide.

Doing what: Chiufen Village (Jiufen) and Northeast Coast Half-Day Tour from Taipei

Debra W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Spencer was an amazing tour guide. We saw so much and had such a great time. I would recommend this tour to anyone who has a long layover in Taipei. We felt safe and the food was a new experience but so very good!

Doing what: Taipei Layover Tour: Private City Sightseeing with Round-Trip Airport Transport

Vonna H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our guide was great. She took us to the major sites and made sure that we saw everything that was listed on the tour. The Gorge is beautiful, would have even been better if it had been sunny. We really enjoyed the two Aboriginal meals. Highly suggest that people get out of Taipei and see another part of Taiwan.

Doing what: 2-Day Private Taroko Gorge Trip from Taipei

kedwards01 United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This tour was a helpful insight to Taipei. We were a little disappointed however with the lack of a hotel pickup due to location. Most of the sights we could have just seen for ourselves if we were staying in the location of the pickups offered.

Doing what: Taipei Half-Day City Tour

YeeKhin L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This is definitely worth it. We were able to get the same guide from the UltimateTaipei tour Tina who was able to explain to us the various interesting nuggets to details that we would not have gotten if we had gone on our own. The lantern experience and the narrow alley way that inspired spirited away was great. Tina even suggested where and when to take pictures at the various location.

Doing what: Pingxi and Jiufen Day Trip From Taipei with Sky Lantern Experience

Ling-Mei W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We had a wonderful time, from when we were picked up to when we arrived in Hualian. Our tour guide Mr. James Kuo was knowledgeable, friendly and warm. He was a great driver who made us feel safe on hairpin turns and added new destinations to our itinerary as our schedule permitted, without feeling rushed. We loved learning about the geology and history of Shakadang trail, walking along beaches and enjoying delicious aboriginal food. He also was very considerate of dietary preferences, as we love seafood but other travelers may not. The Taipei team also had great coordination. Wonderful job to the Topology team!

Doing what: 2-Day Private Taroko Gorge Trip from Taipei

Maarten V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The organization was splendid. They picked me up at the said time 5.30, and a few hours later I was in Hualien. I saw a lot of things, the view was breathtaking, nice lunch with specially made vegetarian dishes for me. It was a great tour and I would highly recommend this to anybody having a spare day in Taipei! Buy your souvenirs in the aboriginal village, they are very nice and not expensive.

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

Michael Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The tour was amazing must try.... get to see the outside of Taipei... lots of snack to buy, interesting shopping and amazing pic opportunities. Our guide was amazing and Def deserves a big tip from us at the end.

Doing what: Chiufen Village (Jiufen) and Northeast Coast Half-Day Tour from Taipei

Japandrea02

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Before booking, I read all the wonderful reviews about the Taroko Gorge. I agree with them... The Gorge is breathtaking. The guides are friendly and knowledgeable. The Chinese lunch was quite good! However, I will share my tips about the trains.

The morning train to the gorge is a bit over 3 hours and while comfortable and cool with the AC, the bathroom was a squatty potty. Now, I can use a squatty potty better than most, but the train was also seriously rough and bouncy. There wasn't even a bar to hold onto and the urine from the previous person was sloshing about. I would suggest skipping your morning coffee. I just couldn't stomach the bathroom.

So naturally I was nervous about the train ride home and I avoided drinking too much water throughout the day. That was unnecessary as the train home was more like the Narita Express if you've visited Tokyo. Comfortable seats, snack cart coming through, vending machines on the train, AND a great Western toilet. Plus this ride was much, much smoother. I should have bought a beer at the station and enjoyed my two hours on a much quicker, luxury ride back to Taipei.

Yes, please visit the gorge, but just plan ahead. I wish I had known to skip the morning coffee.

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

James K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Excellent tour, great day trip. Strongly recommended if you want to escape Taipei for a day and visit the interior. The guides were friendly and informative and took good care of us. The views are spectacular, the gorge is well worth a visit.

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

melissa l

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The guide Mr Tai was friendly and helpful, as well as knowledgeable.
Had given my friend and I a fruitful and insightful trip.
Would definitely recommend this for a different experience in taipei!

Doing what: Taipei in Motion: City Day Tour by Bike, Metro and Foot

kanpatricia0

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Highly recommed !!The spectacular landscape of Taroko Gorge is an absolute must see if you're visiting Taiwan.This 13 hrs tour was well worth the time. Good trip and guide. Josephine is knowledgeable and entertaining. Very well organized full day trip by the Tour Company from Taipei.

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

kanpatricia0

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Friendly, knowledgeable and very helpful tour guide and driver. The village was interesting, charming and well worth a visit when in Taipei. Highly recommend for a half day outing. Very well organized trip by Edison Tour Company from Taipei.

Doing what: Chiufen Village (Jiufen) and Northeast Coast Half-Day Tour from Taipei

Robert S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Our day tour was awesome!!! We saw Taipei 101, Bao and Confucius temple, and the changing of the guards! Truly an amazing family adventure.

Doing what: Taipei Layover Tour: Private City Sightseeing with Round-Trip Airport Transport

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message