Taiwan ATTRACTIONS See all

Kenting National Park

White sandy beaches and swaying palms are perhaps not the first things that come to mind when you think of Taiwan, but that’s exactly what you’ll find in the Kenting National Park. This natural treasure has some of the best surf beaches in the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 149 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Jeremiah G USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was an excellent tour. It is sponsored and subsided by the Taiwan Tourism Board, which is why you can stay in 5-star hotels for this price. Our tour had 33 members but everyone got along and was on time at every stop. Our guide, Alan, was excellent--knowledgeable and humorous. Only thing I'd like to note is that the itinerary here on Viator is out-of-date. Nothing serious, just be aware that days two and four differ somewhat from what is posted here. I'd suggest checking with the local provider after booking for the most up-to-date itinerary.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

Philip R S L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

A tour not to be missed a v good introductory experience to determine which place to re-visit in your future trips.
Taiwan is one country most would like to re-visit I am one of them.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

Jim Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

A very nice trip, the tour guide was very helpful and professional but talked too much of political issues which could upset some visitors

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

john a

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Excellent guide and we saw many interesting and amazing sites. The hotels were great and good buffet dinners. I would highly recommend this lovely tour. You will see a lot in a short amount of time. Met some good people on the tour as well. Had some good conversations. But people will leave you alone if you prefer that. Perhaps a few too many videos shown on the bus, but they are informative and some people may like them. Nice video on building the long tunnel. I liked watching that! But it's nice to have some quiet time to nap on the bus. Of course, a perfect balance is difficult to find. Great tour! The guide was very personable and informative and responsive.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

Ryan Stephen S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

What a fantastic tour! Would recommend this to anyone. Guide was EXTREMELY knowledgeable and helpful. We saw so much of Taiwan in such a little amount of time. The hotels in this tour were each spectacular in their own way. The only very minor downside was the tour was in both English / Chinese for mainland tourists, so a bit of patience is required when listening to the guide.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

Anthony W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

A well organized and professionally run trip. The tour guide, David Harn was excellent as was the driver whose name we regrettably didn't get. The highlights were Sun Moon Lake and Taroko Gorge which, despite the rain, were spectacular. We'd have liked to have had more time at each place and, if we return to Taiwan, we'll hope to be able to spend a few days at Sun Moon Lake especially.
All four hotels were great and definitely 5 or more star quality but we did have some problems with our order for dinner at the Chinese Restaurant at the last hotel as our order was not taken correctly and the meal we finally received was late. Others had the same problem. Apart from that one incident, the trip was great and we recommend it. Ton.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

Thomas F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

The best experience for the money, would totally do it again we had such a great time and could never have done it ourselves.
Great hotels, food, views, attractions and company on the coach! Our Tour guide was great as well. Will always remember this.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

Grant K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

I didn't have any real expectations when I went to Taiwan and Taipei to me was just another large city. So after spending 3 days in Taipei it was fantastic to leave and get out into the country. I rarely do organised tours but found this tour to be fantastic! It was at an easy leisurely pace and we visited some really interesting/amazing/beautiful sites and a few not so interesting sites each to their own. The tour Leader Allan was fantastic. Super friendly, super helpful and gave a nice insight into the culture of Taiwan. The Hotels were 5 star and the first and last hotels were by far superior. Two hotels had amazing hot springs, indoor and out, so it was great relaxing in them after a day exploring. Also two of the hotels were in remote areas so you did need to eat dinner there. The prices were reasonable and they had several different eating options. The Taroko gorge was hands down the absolute highlight of the trip even the highlight of my 10 days in Taiwan. Stunning scenery, a few fantastic walks and the Silk Hotel with its amazing pools was also beautiful. It would be fantastic to spend 2 nights there and experience some hiking or other activities. Or to just laze by the pool.
Overall this trip gives you a great insight of Taiwan. It covers all the major destinations and i really can't fault it, although coming from Sydney Australia and living on the beach my only disappointment was not being able to swim at some of the many beaches we saw.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

Betty J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

A great way to see Taiwan! You can't get better value than this. The driver and tour guides were excellent. The hotels were all 5-star hotels with great breakfasts. My husband usually does not like bus tours. But the quality of the hotels and pace of the tour won him over. Thank you Edison Travel!

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

Davis L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We both thoroughly enjoyed our tour. The hotels were fantastic and five star. Alan Chou was our tour guide and he was great - gave us great advice, information about upcoming weather and lots of great information about what we saw and the history of things. I would recommend this tour for anyone who wants to see Taiwan.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

Peter M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We saw all the highlights of Taiwan in 5 days in the comfort of an airconditioned coach with an excellent tour guide Alan. The hotels were fabulous - we just wished we could have spent more time in them to enjoy the facilities and our beautiful rooms. We particularly enjoyed the beautiful East Coast and the spectacular Taroko Gorge.
We felt that the itinerary was unnecessarily full in the first two days. We would have liked to spend the morning at Sun Moon Lake as the rest of the second day was not particularly interesting. Especially, we did not enjoy the 2 and a half hours we had to spend at Fo Guang Shan Monastery - aptly described by our tour guide as a 'Buddhist Disneyland.' It had no architectural merit and was lacking in spiritual beauty as well.
Otherwise, it was a very enjoyable tour and a good introduction to Taiwan.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

STEPHEN M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

GREAT TRIP WITH A VERY PROFESSIONAL GUIDE AND DRIVER. EXTREMELY ENTERTAINING.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

STEPHEN M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

GREAT TRIP WITH A VERY PROFESSIONAL GUIDE AND DRIVER. EXTREMELY ENTERTAINING.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

Soe Sanda W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The tour guide was very funny and helpful. The hotels were all 5-4 stars and it was amazing to stay in them.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

mario f

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

IT WAS A MARVELOUS EXPERIENCE FROM BEGINNING TILL END, FROM THE TRIP ITSELF, TO THE TOUR MANAGER PETER LEE, TO THE GREAT HOTELS WE HAD AND SO ON AND ON..
WON'T BE THE LAST TIME I BOOKED TROUGH VIATOR..

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

David P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Amazing Experience! In only 5 days, we visited Taiwan's most famous scenic areas including beaches, temples, night markets, and more. Our guide Alan Chou kept us very interested in the history behind each attraction. Me and my parents had a lot of fun! We definitely recommend this trip.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

Shuy S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our trip around Taiwan was terrific. Everything was well organized, the hotels are really 5 stars. Our guide, Alan Chou, was incredible! Wonderful experience!

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

Martin P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

A great trip with a good guide and wonderful hotels.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

aacjane

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our trip around Taiwan was wonderful! We could not have had anything better. We learned so much about the island. Our guide, Alan, was incredible. He was very informative and knew everything we asked him. He spoke many languages so I was impressed that I could speak French with him. The island was very beautiful and we could never have had this experience on our own. Thanks to all.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

henry.li211

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We had a wonderful time and the weather also co-operated only rained 1 day. We enjoyed all the places we were at and it sure was 5 star hotels, all the staff were friendly and accommodating. Our tour guide Alan, was knowledgeable with the facts and histories of all the places we went. His sense of timing and kept the tour on time was impeccable. Finally with his humor made all that much more pleasant. Definitely recommend to anyone.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

Estela M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The 5 day best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei was excellent. The itenirary and hotel acccommodations are first rate and our tour guide Alan Chou was fantastic.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

Ian H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

First class tour that surpassed ou expectations which I would certainly recommend to anyone wanting to get an overview of what Taiwan has to offer in a short space of time.
Where to begin.... The choice of stops and tourist attractions was well thought out and these are covered adequately by the Viator itinerary.
Our guide Alan Chou who was exceptional as tour leader conducted the tour in both Chinese and English. He was witty, informative, very knowledgeable and always more than happy to explain anything during the trip. Bus driver was also very helpful and always smiling.
The hotels we stayed in were all truly 5 star everyone expressed surprise and delight at this as we all expected less. Each hotel had it's own redeeming features but the hot springs hotel at Sun Moon Lake was our favourite. The Taroko Gorge was the highlight of the trip for us.
One of the other delights of this trip was that there was a mix of people from all over the world and all age groups. We made some very good friends during the five days. I would suggest you bring a map of Taiwan you can pick one up from your departure hotel, so that you can follow the route. Also a guide book such as Lonely Planet would be useful but not essential.
Bring adaptors for the local power points.
Although you usually eat in the hotels which can be quite expensive, the hotels all had a buffet option for around 1,000 Taiwan and the guide always tells you other options when available

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

christian h

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great tour, great guide, great people on the bus. Would highly recommend the tour for anyone who would like to see as much of Taiwan as possible but does not have much time to do so. The hotels were also really good.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

Peter D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This tour is an excellent introduction to Taiwan outside of Taipei. Very good accommodation on each of the four nights, and a very good route selection. Lots of temples, sights, beaches, lakes and gorges to view, and periodic walks and hikes to break up the long drives. Our guide, Peter Lee, was knowledgeable, competent and interested in the welfare of his clients. Having a good guide makes a tour that more enjoyable. Highly recommended.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

Paul W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Great itinerary. Gave me a good overview of some of the best attractions in Taiwan. Very professional english-speaking guide, love the hotel choices!

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message