Taiwan ATTRACTIONS See all

Sun Moon Lake

Located in central Taiwan, Sun Moon Lake is one of the only natural lakes in the country and arguably the most beautiful. Lalu Island divides the lake in two, with one part resembling a moon and the other the sun, giving it its name. The hiking ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 197 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Anthony W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

A well organized and professionally run trip. The tour guide, David Harn was excellent as was the driver whose name we regrettably didn't get. The highlights were Sun Moon Lake and Taroko Gorge which, despite the rain, were spectacular. We'd have liked to have had more time at each place and, if we return to Taiwan, we'll hope to be able to spend a few days at Sun Moon Lake especially.
All four hotels were great and definitely 5 or more star quality but we did have some problems with our order for dinner at the Chinese Restaurant at the last hotel as our order was not taken correctly and the meal we finally received was late. Others had the same problem. Apart from that one incident, the trip was great and we recommend it. Ton.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

Thomas F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

The best experience for the money, would totally do it again we had such a great time and could never have done it ourselves.
Great hotels, food, views, attractions and company on the coach! Our Tour guide was great as well. Will always remember this.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

Grant K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

I didn't have any real expectations when I went to Taiwan and Taipei to me was just another large city. So after spending 3 days in Taipei it was fantastic to leave and get out into the country. I rarely do organised tours but found this tour to be fantastic! It was at an easy leisurely pace and we visited some really interesting/amazing/beautiful sites and a few not so interesting sites each to their own. The tour Leader Allan was fantastic. Super friendly, super helpful and gave a nice insight into the culture of Taiwan. The Hotels were 5 star and the first and last hotels were by far superior. Two hotels had amazing hot springs, indoor and out, so it was great relaxing in them after a day exploring. Also two of the hotels were in remote areas so you did need to eat dinner there. The prices were reasonable and they had several different eating options. The Taroko gorge was hands down the absolute highlight of the trip even the highlight of my 10 days in Taiwan. Stunning scenery, a few fantastic walks and the Silk Hotel with its amazing pools was also beautiful. It would be fantastic to spend 2 nights there and experience some hiking or other activities. Or to just laze by the pool.
Overall this trip gives you a great insight of Taiwan. It covers all the major destinations and i really can't fault it, although coming from Sydney Australia and living on the beach my only disappointment was not being able to swim at some of the many beaches we saw.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

Betty J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

A great way to see Taiwan! You can't get better value than this. The driver and tour guides were excellent. The hotels were all 5-star hotels with great breakfasts. My husband usually does not like bus tours. But the quality of the hotels and pace of the tour won him over. Thank you Edison Travel!

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

Davis L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We both thoroughly enjoyed our tour. The hotels were fantastic and five star. Alan Chou was our tour guide and he was great - gave us great advice, information about upcoming weather and lots of great information about what we saw and the history of things. I would recommend this tour for anyone who wants to see Taiwan.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

Peter M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We saw all the highlights of Taiwan in 5 days in the comfort of an airconditioned coach with an excellent tour guide Alan. The hotels were fabulous - we just wished we could have spent more time in them to enjoy the facilities and our beautiful rooms. We particularly enjoyed the beautiful East Coast and the spectacular Taroko Gorge.
We felt that the itinerary was unnecessarily full in the first two days. We would have liked to spend the morning at Sun Moon Lake as the rest of the second day was not particularly interesting. Especially, we did not enjoy the 2 and a half hours we had to spend at Fo Guang Shan Monastery - aptly described by our tour guide as a 'Buddhist Disneyland.' It had no architectural merit and was lacking in spiritual beauty as well.
Otherwise, it was a very enjoyable tour and a good introduction to Taiwan.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

STEPHEN M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

GREAT TRIP WITH A VERY PROFESSIONAL GUIDE AND DRIVER. EXTREMELY ENTERTAINING.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

STEPHEN M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

GREAT TRIP WITH A VERY PROFESSIONAL GUIDE AND DRIVER. EXTREMELY ENTERTAINING.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

Soe Sanda W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The tour guide was very funny and helpful. The hotels were all 5-4 stars and it was amazing to stay in them.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

mario f

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

IT WAS A MARVELOUS EXPERIENCE FROM BEGINNING TILL END, FROM THE TRIP ITSELF, TO THE TOUR MANAGER PETER LEE, TO THE GREAT HOTELS WE HAD AND SO ON AND ON..
WON'T BE THE LAST TIME I BOOKED TROUGH VIATOR..

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

David P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Amazing Experience! In only 5 days, we visited Taiwan's most famous scenic areas including beaches, temples, night markets, and more. Our guide Alan Chou kept us very interested in the history behind each attraction. Me and my parents had a lot of fun! We definitely recommend this trip.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

Shuy S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our trip around Taiwan was terrific. Everything was well organized, the hotels are really 5 stars. Our guide, Alan Chou, was incredible! Wonderful experience!

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

Martin P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

A great trip with a good guide and wonderful hotels.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

aacjane

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our trip around Taiwan was wonderful! We could not have had anything better. We learned so much about the island. Our guide, Alan, was incredible. He was very informative and knew everything we asked him. He spoke many languages so I was impressed that I could speak French with him. The island was very beautiful and we could never have had this experience on our own. Thanks to all.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

henry.li211

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We had a wonderful time and the weather also co-operated only rained 1 day. We enjoyed all the places we were at and it sure was 5 star hotels, all the staff were friendly and accommodating. Our tour guide Alan, was knowledgeable with the facts and histories of all the places we went. His sense of timing and kept the tour on time was impeccable. Finally with his humor made all that much more pleasant. Definitely recommend to anyone.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

kedwards01

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was one of the best tours I took in Taiwan and am really glad I decided to do the overnight. The guide was very very nice and friendly and even allowed all of the members of the tour group to decide if we wanted to do a boat ride on the Sun Moon Lake which was a nice treat! I would have felt like my trip was not complete had I not gotten to do so!!!

Doing what: 2-Day Tour of Sun Moon Lake, Puli and Lukang from Taipei

Estela M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The 5 day best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei was excellent. The itenirary and hotel acccommodations are first rate and our tour guide Alan Chou was fantastic.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

Ian H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

First class tour that surpassed ou expectations which I would certainly recommend to anyone wanting to get an overview of what Taiwan has to offer in a short space of time.
Where to begin.... The choice of stops and tourist attractions was well thought out and these are covered adequately by the Viator itinerary.
Our guide Alan Chou who was exceptional as tour leader conducted the tour in both Chinese and English. He was witty, informative, very knowledgeable and always more than happy to explain anything during the trip. Bus driver was also very helpful and always smiling.
The hotels we stayed in were all truly 5 star everyone expressed surprise and delight at this as we all expected less. Each hotel had it's own redeeming features but the hot springs hotel at Sun Moon Lake was our favourite. The Taroko Gorge was the highlight of the trip for us.
One of the other delights of this trip was that there was a mix of people from all over the world and all age groups. We made some very good friends during the five days. I would suggest you bring a map of Taiwan you can pick one up from your departure hotel, so that you can follow the route. Also a guide book such as Lonely Planet would be useful but not essential.
Bring adaptors for the local power points.
Although you usually eat in the hotels which can be quite expensive, the hotels all had a buffet option for around 1,000 Taiwan and the guide always tells you other options when available

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

christian h

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great tour, great guide, great people on the bus. Would highly recommend the tour for anyone who would like to see as much of Taiwan as possible but does not have much time to do so. The hotels were also really good.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

Peter D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This tour is an excellent introduction to Taiwan outside of Taipei. Very good accommodation on each of the four nights, and a very good route selection. Lots of temples, sights, beaches, lakes and gorges to view, and periodic walks and hikes to break up the long drives. Our guide, Peter Lee, was knowledgeable, competent and interested in the welfare of his clients. Having a good guide makes a tour that more enjoyable. Highly recommended.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

h_vassilios

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Every trip must start and finish with safety. Therefore a big thank you to our Bus Driver!!!
What can I say for this trip. Just amazing. Our Tour Guide David was very knowledgeable with a good sense of humor and really friendly.
Yes, it is a tour with a lot of hours inside the Bus but the scenery and the surroundings during these 3 days were just unforgettable.
It is difficult to express with words what our eyes saw by visiting the Sun Moon Lake, the Alishan National Scenic Area, and all the magnificent Temples during our 3 day Tour.
The Hotels? The dinner buffet and the breakfast buffet at the Fleur de Chine and also the breakfast on the Nice Prince Hotel?
Everything was just perfect.
Yes, I fully recommend this Tour.

Thank you once more David for making us feel comfortable during these 3 days and learning so many things about Taiwan.

Doing what: 3-Day Tour of Sun Moon Lake, Puli, Lukang and Alishan National Scenic Area from Taipei

Omar Augusto P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Very good itinerary, gave me a good overview of some of the best attractions in Taiwan, very nice hotels and very professional english-speaking guide.

Doing what: 4-Day Tour of Central and Southern Taiwan from Taipei Including Kaohsiung and Sun Moon Lake

Presh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Great tour - we learned allot from our tour guide David. He was a very kind and informative tour guide and he even took our pictures for us. He was right on time for pick up and he answered every question we had. Sun Moon Lake made this tour worth it. The lake is absolutely beautiful, our tour guide let us take the boat from the other side of the lake and met us at the hotel, which was a great experience. The next day, we were taken to a couple more temples and was given some time to go shopping and walk around. We did not feel rushed at all. On our way back from Taipei we had not booked a hotel ahead of time, but David offered to help us find one until we were satisfied. We enjoyed this tour, but the only thing I would complain about is that we did not stop by the Guangxing Paper Factory.

Doing what: 2-Day Tour of Sun Moon Lake, Puli and Lukang from Taipei

Paul W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Great itinerary. Gave me a good overview of some of the best attractions in Taiwan. Very professional english-speaking guide, love the hotel choices!

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

Wilson W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

It was really excellent, especially the best tour guide Eric. He is the best tour guide we have ever had in all of our trips up to now.
Wilson Wong-Ching/ Irma Lau de Wong

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message