Taiwan ATTRACTIONS See all

Sun Moon Lake

Located in central Taiwan, Sun Moon Lake is one of the only natural lakes in the country and arguably the most beautiful. Lalu Island divides the lake in two, with one part resembling a moon and the other the sun, giving it its name. The hiking ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 188 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

mario f

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

IT WAS A MARVELOUS EXPERIENCE FROM BEGINNING TILL END, FROM THE TRIP ITSELF, TO THE TOUR MANAGER PETER LEE, TO THE GREAT HOTELS WE HAD AND SO ON AND ON..
WON'T BE THE LAST TIME I BOOKED TROUGH VIATOR..

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

David P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Amazing Experience! In only 5 days, we visited Taiwan's most famous scenic areas including beaches, temples, night markets, and more. Our guide Alan Chou kept us very interested in the history behind each attraction. Me and my parents had a lot of fun! We definitely recommend this trip.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

Shuy S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our trip around Taiwan was terrific. Everything was well organized, the hotels are really 5 stars. Our guide, Alan Chou, was incredible! Wonderful experience!

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

Martin P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

A great trip with a good guide and wonderful hotels.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

aacjane

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our trip around Taiwan was wonderful! We could not have had anything better. We learned so much about the island. Our guide, Alan, was incredible. He was very informative and knew everything we asked him. He spoke many languages so I was impressed that I could speak French with him. The island was very beautiful and we could never have had this experience on our own. Thanks to all.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

henry.li211

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We had a wonderful time and the weather also co-operated only rained 1 day. We enjoyed all the places we were at and it sure was 5 star hotels, all the staff were friendly and accommodating. Our tour guide Alan, was knowledgeable with the facts and histories of all the places we went. His sense of timing and kept the tour on time was impeccable. Finally with his humor made all that much more pleasant. Definitely recommend to anyone.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

kedwards01

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was one of the best tours I took in Taiwan and am really glad I decided to do the overnight. The guide was very very nice and friendly and even allowed all of the members of the tour group to decide if we wanted to do a boat ride on the Sun Moon Lake which was a nice treat! I would have felt like my trip was not complete had I not gotten to do so!!!

Doing what: 2-Day Tour of Sun Moon Lake, Puli and Lukang from Taipei

Estela M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The 5 day best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei was excellent. The itenirary and hotel acccommodations are first rate and our tour guide Alan Chou was fantastic.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

Ian H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

First class tour that surpassed ou expectations which I would certainly recommend to anyone wanting to get an overview of what Taiwan has to offer in a short space of time.
Where to begin.... The choice of stops and tourist attractions was well thought out and these are covered adequately by the Viator itinerary.
Our guide Alan Chou who was exceptional as tour leader conducted the tour in both Chinese and English. He was witty, informative, very knowledgeable and always more than happy to explain anything during the trip. Bus driver was also very helpful and always smiling.
The hotels we stayed in were all truly 5 star everyone expressed surprise and delight at this as we all expected less. Each hotel had it's own redeeming features but the hot springs hotel at Sun Moon Lake was our favourite. The Taroko Gorge was the highlight of the trip for us.
One of the other delights of this trip was that there was a mix of people from all over the world and all age groups. We made some very good friends during the five days. I would suggest you bring a map of Taiwan you can pick one up from your departure hotel, so that you can follow the route. Also a guide book such as Lonely Planet would be useful but not essential.
Bring adaptors for the local power points.
Although you usually eat in the hotels which can be quite expensive, the hotels all had a buffet option for around 1,000 Taiwan and the guide always tells you other options when available

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

christian h

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great tour, great guide, great people on the bus. Would highly recommend the tour for anyone who would like to see as much of Taiwan as possible but does not have much time to do so. The hotels were also really good.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

Peter D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This tour is an excellent introduction to Taiwan outside of Taipei. Very good accommodation on each of the four nights, and a very good route selection. Lots of temples, sights, beaches, lakes and gorges to view, and periodic walks and hikes to break up the long drives. Our guide, Peter Lee, was knowledgeable, competent and interested in the welfare of his clients. Having a good guide makes a tour that more enjoyable. Highly recommended.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

h_vassilios

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Every trip must start and finish with safety. Therefore a big thank you to our Bus Driver!!!
What can I say for this trip. Just amazing. Our Tour Guide David was very knowledgeable with a good sense of humor and really friendly.
Yes, it is a tour with a lot of hours inside the Bus but the scenery and the surroundings during these 3 days were just unforgettable.
It is difficult to express with words what our eyes saw by visiting the Sun Moon Lake, the Alishan National Scenic Area, and all the magnificent Temples during our 3 day Tour.
The Hotels? The dinner buffet and the breakfast buffet at the Fleur de Chine and also the breakfast on the Nice Prince Hotel?
Everything was just perfect.
Yes, I fully recommend this Tour.

Thank you once more David for making us feel comfortable during these 3 days and learning so many things about Taiwan.

Doing what: 3-Day Tour of Sun Moon Lake, Puli, Lukang and Alishan National Scenic Area from Taipei

Omar Augusto P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Very good itinerary, gave me a good overview of some of the best attractions in Taiwan, very nice hotels and very professional english-speaking guide.

Doing what: 4-Day Tour of Central and Southern Taiwan from Taipei Including Kaohsiung and Sun Moon Lake

Presh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Great tour - we learned allot from our tour guide David. He was a very kind and informative tour guide and he even took our pictures for us. He was right on time for pick up and he answered every question we had. Sun Moon Lake made this tour worth it. The lake is absolutely beautiful, our tour guide let us take the boat from the other side of the lake and met us at the hotel, which was a great experience. The next day, we were taken to a couple more temples and was given some time to go shopping and walk around. We did not feel rushed at all. On our way back from Taipei we had not booked a hotel ahead of time, but David offered to help us find one until we were satisfied. We enjoyed this tour, but the only thing I would complain about is that we did not stop by the Guangxing Paper Factory.

Doing what: 2-Day Tour of Sun Moon Lake, Puli and Lukang from Taipei

Paul W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Great itinerary. Gave me a good overview of some of the best attractions in Taiwan. Very professional english-speaking guide, love the hotel choices!

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

Wilson W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

It was really excellent, especially the best tour guide Eric. He is the best tour guide we have ever had in all of our trips up to now.
Wilson Wong-Ching/ Irma Lau de Wong

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

kyawmlwin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

I thoroughly enjoyed this trip. Initially, I was not sure about my decision since I had to pay more since I am a solo traveler and they had to put me in a single room. But it turned out to be an excellent one. The trip was very well organized. Our guide Lenny was friendly and very resourceful. Hotels were excellent especially the first and last nights. I have already recommended this trip to my other friends and family.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

Christina C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Amazing tour. Very lovely area. The hotel and city were a lot of fun. Nothing special about Lukang. They put you on a train to come back. Ours was delayed but they were waiting for us in Taipei. No problems. Well worth it and would definitely recommend it.

Doing what: 2-Day Tour of Sun Moon Lake, Puli and Lukang from Taipei

Bonnie C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Wonderful experience. Issac Lee was an outstanding tour guide. We really got to appreciate the beauty of the Island.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

Ravi C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Our tour guide Eric was fantastic! Everything was well organized, we stayed at the very best hotels, and saw the highlights of the island. We were extremely pleased.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

Dave N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

My wife and I have a great time. Michael, our tour guide was great. It was a small 'bus', with lots of room. The bus makes frequent enough stops for bathroom and snacks, and the food is generally not expensive.
It rained part of the tour, but it was expected, so we packed accordingly. The hotels are very nice with friendly staff, especially at Sun Moon Lake. There is quite a bit of driving on this tour, as these areas are 'remote'. The tour is 'short', but it gives you a taste of the mountain region of Taiwan.

Doing what: 3-Day Tour of Sun Moon Lake, Puli, Lukang and Alishan National Scenic Area from Taipei

Flavio F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

The hotels are really 5stars, good tour guide and a lot to see and experience.
My only complain: the tour was bilingual where it should have been only in english. Anyway, 5 star rating deserved despite have of the time I had to listen to a chinese explanation.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

shiang

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great tour! Our tour guide Alan and bus driver Mr. Chen were fantastic. Mr. Chen was very accommodating with his driving. Alan was very knowledgeable about the area in regards to food, attractions and much more. He was also very funny and made everyone very comfortable. The days were well planned with a lot of time reserved for leisure and exploring the area. I would go again if i could!

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

Jennifer S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This is an excellent tour was well worth the money. We got to see many beautiful sights and stayed in 5 star hotels. Our tour guide Tony Lin was friendly and knowledgeable about the major cities in Taiwan and may provide additional info for some of the local cities. The schedule is a bit tight, but provides a good glimpse into the highlights of Taiwan. The hotels were excellent and the food tasty. We would recommend this tour to our friends.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

inga

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Absolutely LOVED our trip. Our tour guide Mike and driver were the best. I was so looking forward to Alisha National Park and was not disappointed with the Cherry blossoms and the 1000 year old cypress trees. Driving and stopping in tiny towns was truly amazing and more people who go there for business should take more time away and explore Taiwan. Will recommend Mike to all our friends and thank you Viator for making this possible.

Doing what: 3-Day Tour of Sun Moon Lake, Puli, Lukang and Alishan National Scenic Area from Taipei

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message