Taiwan ATTRACTIONS See all

Taroko Gorge National Park

Some of Asia’s most spectacular scenery awaits you at Taroko Gorge National Park, Taiwan’s foremost tourist draw. There’s an incredible range of landscape here: imagine Sumatra snuggling up to Sweden and you get some idea of the variety. Marble ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 460 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Duncan United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Amazing place, a gem that everyone visiting Taiwan should see!

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

Vanessa Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

East Coast- The highlight of the trip would have to be our tour guide, Mr. Vincent. He was a perfect blend of charm and knowledge and was ever so caring about our needs. The only down side was the weather, which was really draining and was unbearable. I would recommend doing this tour in the winter months, when the temperature is pleasant an enjoyable.
Taroko - Splendid location and definite must see in Hualien, Ms. Josephine was funny and charming, since there is a lot to see and take in, it felt a little rushed. But met some really nice people and the weather was pleasant too. This is definitely a must see.

Doing what: 2-Day East Coast and Taroko Gorge Scenic tour

Shuy S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our trip around Taiwan was terrific. Everything was well organized, the hotels are really 5 stars. Our guide, Alan Chou, was incredible! Wonderful experience!

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

Raghav M

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Very enjoyable. Josephine was especially very helpful and entertaining!

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

Rodney L

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

An excellent day with a great guide and beautiful scenery. A must-do tour for first time visitors like us.

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

Timothy L

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Good trip overall. Hard to see an entire national park in a few hours, so it felt kind of rushed...but if you only have a certain amount of time, this is a great option. I enjoyed the trip overall, and loved the beach time at the end.

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

aacjane

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our trip around Taiwan was wonderful! We could not have had anything better. We learned so much about the island. Our guide, Alan, was incredible. He was very informative and knew everything we asked him. He spoke many languages so I was impressed that I could speak French with him. The island was very beautiful and we could never have had this experience on our own. Thanks to all.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

Martin P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

A great trip with a good guide and wonderful hotels.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

ray.susen

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

A great full-day trip. The local tour operator was excellent, with all of the drivers and guides very professional and courteous. As for the gorge it was stunning. Do it!!!

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

Madeline P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Comfortable tour with great views and walks. Fabulous Jacqueline was our guide.

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

Vonna H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our guide was great. She took us to the major sites and made sure that we saw everything that was listed on the tour. The Gorge is beautiful, would have even been better if it had been sunny. We really enjoyed the two Aboriginal meals. Highly suggest that people get out of Taipei and see another part of Taiwan.

Doing what: 2-Day Private Taroko Gorge Trip from Taipei

Johanna S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great tour! Josephine was wonderful and it was very impressive that she managed to conduct the tour in English, Chinese and Japanese at the same time. The scenery was amazing and we stopped at all the best places for photos. Lunch was pretty good, but I wish there was just a little more food.
For anybody going on this tour: there is a bit of hiking involved so wear sturdy shoes. Bring water, sunscreen, a hat and snacks. The air conditioning on the train is freezing so make sure you have a jacket - it's also a really long trip so bring headphones and music or something to occupy the time.
It was a great tour and I look forward to doing it again when I bring my partner to Taiwan!

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

Stephen T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The Taroko Gorge trip was excellent. The guides at each end of the train trip were brilliant. We fitted a lot in at the gorge and lunch had to be rescheduled due to roadworks but the guide did a great job of sorting it all out and keeping us updated. The gorge itself was unforgettable. Would definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

bettine r

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

The Lion Lady is the highlight of the tour, a great personality

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

nayajhen United States of ... 

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2016

The trip and the itinerary was organized well in that at no point were we unclear on what was going on or where we should be. However, beyond the basics the tour was mostly uninteresting. The guide at Taroko seemed to have some sort of a feud with the guides back in Taipei not sure if that was a joke. The tour through the gorge was certainly gorgeous notwithstanding the lack of 'guiding'. We stopped at random points and not much context was given to why we were stopping there or what natural features are interesting. Random pointing at rock formations that look like elephants is not 'interesting' it's just opinions. I wish the guide was more informative about the geography and the history of the gorge and talk about the government's efforts to preserve and protect the forest etc. But instead we were driving around and talking about road construction issues and how this is a 5 star tour. It's a lost opportunity really because the guide was really a local and I wish she had related to us her own experience of getting to know the gorge and details about the gorge itself.

It was certainly getting to be a rainy day by the end so we could've definitely skipped the stop at the beach and most certainly skipped the stop at the Marble store. The highlight of the whole thing was probably the lunch. The lunch at an aboriginal resort was actually quite lovely and really well cooked.

I basically feel like I paid somebody to drive me around the gorge and drive me to lunch. I could've easily organized this myself and a couple of friends with a bit of light research. I was hoping to gain more out of it. Perhaps my expectations were a bit higher.

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

Estela M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The 5 day best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei was excellent. The itenirary and hotel acccommodations are first rate and our tour guide Alan Chou was fantastic.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

Ian H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

First class tour that surpassed ou expectations which I would certainly recommend to anyone wanting to get an overview of what Taiwan has to offer in a short space of time.
Where to begin.... The choice of stops and tourist attractions was well thought out and these are covered adequately by the Viator itinerary.
Our guide Alan Chou who was exceptional as tour leader conducted the tour in both Chinese and English. He was witty, informative, very knowledgeable and always more than happy to explain anything during the trip. Bus driver was also very helpful and always smiling.
The hotels we stayed in were all truly 5 star everyone expressed surprise and delight at this as we all expected less. Each hotel had it's own redeeming features but the hot springs hotel at Sun Moon Lake was our favourite. The Taroko Gorge was the highlight of the trip for us.
One of the other delights of this trip was that there was a mix of people from all over the world and all age groups. We made some very good friends during the five days. I would suggest you bring a map of Taiwan you can pick one up from your departure hotel, so that you can follow the route. Also a guide book such as Lonely Planet would be useful but not essential.
Bring adaptors for the local power points.
Although you usually eat in the hotels which can be quite expensive, the hotels all had a buffet option for around 1,000 Taiwan and the guide always tells you other options when available

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

Nicholas D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Great day out with stunning scenery after the hustle bustle of Taepei City. Our guide David Harn was excellent, interested and enthusiastic without being pushy. The day was ours and we were offered flexibility wherever possible should we have wished to influence the itinerary.

Doing what: Private Tour: Taroko Gorge Day Trip from Taipei

martengo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

I was praying for good weather and it worked perfectly. sunny, hot, great visibility. Very well arranged starting with hotel pick up and hotel drop off. we were all well cared of. Josephine was great, all parts of the tour interesting. Money well spent. Original lunch.

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

kedwards01

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was a very nice tour and a great value for the price. The tour guide was very cheerful and funny and made for a really great day of exploring the Taroko Gorge.

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

henry.li211

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We had a wonderful time and the weather also co-operated only rained 1 day. We enjoyed all the places we were at and it sure was 5 star hotels, all the staff were friendly and accommodating. Our tour guide Alan, was knowledgeable with the facts and histories of all the places we went. His sense of timing and kept the tour on time was impeccable. Finally with his humor made all that much more pleasant. Definitely recommend to anyone.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

Joanne F

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Comprehensive tour with lots of major sites and a good well rounded balance of history and local culture. Great hotels and problems sorted by them really quickly, simple things like having an adaptor. Best buffet was at Taroko gorge hotel. Well organised guide, who could speak in German one moment then English or Cantonese or mandarin the next. Amazing.
Very well worth while way to see Taiwan for the single and new tourist.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

KJCh Poland

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

ciekawa wycieczka

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

WILLESTER Y

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

The guide was funny and informative enough. but it would have been better if we spent more time in the tour rather than the marble factory. The marble factory was such a waste. And would have really appreciated it if there were more time given in exploring the eternal spring shrine rather than just giving a mere 20 minutes to explore. No time to reminisce the place and be in awe since it was always in a hurry. The National Park itself is better than I expected though.

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

David C

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

The tour was well done and the hotels were amazing. One downside to this tour is probably the same for any generic tour, too much time stopping for bathroom, coffee and food and not enough stops along to way for photography. In general, I would say the tour was worth doing and I was pleasantly surprised by the accommodations.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message