Taiwan ATTRACTIONS See all

Taroko Gorge National Park

Some of Asia’s most spectacular scenery awaits you at Taroko Gorge National Park, Taiwan’s foremost tourist draw. There’s an incredible range of landscape here: imagine Sumatra snuggling up to Sweden and you get some idea of the variety. Marble ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 486 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Grant K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

I didn't have any real expectations when I went to Taiwan and Taipei to me was just another large city. So after spending 3 days in Taipei it was fantastic to leave and get out into the country. I rarely do organised tours but found this tour to be fantastic! It was at an easy leisurely pace and we visited some really interesting/amazing/beautiful sites and a few not so interesting sites each to their own. The tour Leader Allan was fantastic. Super friendly, super helpful and gave a nice insight into the culture of Taiwan. The Hotels were 5 star and the first and last hotels were by far superior. Two hotels had amazing hot springs, indoor and out, so it was great relaxing in them after a day exploring. Also two of the hotels were in remote areas so you did need to eat dinner there. The prices were reasonable and they had several different eating options. The Taroko gorge was hands down the absolute highlight of the trip even the highlight of my 10 days in Taiwan. Stunning scenery, a few fantastic walks and the Silk Hotel with its amazing pools was also beautiful. It would be fantastic to spend 2 nights there and experience some hiking or other activities. Or to just laze by the pool.
Overall this trip gives you a great insight of Taiwan. It covers all the major destinations and i really can't fault it, although coming from Sydney Australia and living on the beach my only disappointment was not being able to swim at some of the many beaches we saw.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

Jessika R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This tour was amazing from start to finish! Our driver who put us on the train was great, Josephine our tour leader was exceptional. Taroko Gorge is amazing, I highly recommend a visit if you are in Taiwan. The timing was great, the information was great, you could tell that Josephine is really interested in what she does, and really friendly. The lunch was incredible as well! I highly recommend with tour with Josephine as your leader!

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

Thomas F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

The best experience for the money, would totally do it again we had such a great time and could never have done it ourselves.
Great hotels, food, views, attractions and company on the coach! Our Tour guide was great as well. Will always remember this.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

rlrsb1982

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

Great way to see Taiwan in a short time. Taipei is a wonderful city. Bus very comfortablle but a bathroom would have meant less bathroom breaks which cut into time at the sites themselves. Tour guide and bus driver were very good Would love to have had another day at Sun Moon Lake - beautiful location. Hotels were 4 - 5 Recommended for people who like bus trips.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

lemacdm

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2016

Our leader kind of rushed us through. Needed more time for photos. A good itinerary. All the places we went were beautiful and the people were welcoming. Try the red dragon fruit, Yum.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

VTRR123

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2016

This tour offers a general picture of Taiwan in 5 days. However, most of the time is spent on the bus. Even though Taiwan is not a large island, the roads are narrow and winding and transfers take a lot of time. Taroko National Park was the highlight, although little time was spent there. Some of the other stops were completely forgettable: Love River cruise, Kaohsiung street market, jade shop, biscuit shop.
Hotels were 5-star as advertised and offered beautiful facilities, although one could hardly enjoy them since we arrived late and left early in the morning.
The tour description mentions English-speaking guide, however the tour was conducted in both English and Mandarin, with more time spent on the latter. This should have been disclosed in advance and would have been a deal breaker for me. No headsets were provided despite the size of the group 28 and the guide provided minimal or no explanations while visiting sites.
The bus was not particularly comfortable. With such a large group, the guide should have arranged some sort of seat rotation for the sake of fairness.
Meals were not included. A couple of times the guide arranged fixed-price group lunches at local restaurants. Other lunch stops were made in small towns with very limited choices: street vendors, 7-Eleven, hole-in-the-wall local restaurants with no English menu and no English spoken. Those with special dietary requirements vegetarian, etc. were out of luck. The guide was not helpful at recommending suitable places. For dinner there was usually no choice other than the pricey hotel buffet.
I wouldnt recommend this tour. A small-group, English-only tour with a more attentive guide would be far more enjoyable.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

Davis L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We both thoroughly enjoyed our tour. The hotels were fantastic and five star. Alan Chou was our tour guide and he was great - gave us great advice, information about upcoming weather and lots of great information about what we saw and the history of things. I would recommend this tour for anyone who wants to see Taiwan.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

Dev

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Great, I highly recommend this tour. Everything was as stated in the description

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

david.los

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This is one of the best day tours I have ever been on. You will be met by a tour rep at your hotel who will bring you to the main train station, provide you with tickets and guide you to the correct platform. The train ride is an approximately 3 hour journey on a local train. The scenery on the east coast of Taiwan is beautiful and the train takes you through small towns, rice paddies, green mountains and near the ocean. Once you arrive in Hualien you will be greeted by a guide in our case Josephine who will bring you to a small coach and will guide your activities for the balance of the day. The Taroko Gorge is spectacular and Josephine the self described Queen of Taroko will take you places where other tours are not allowed to go. There are many stops for photographs and the ride itself is great. Afterward we had a delicious traditional lunch which was great. Not all foods will be attractive to the western palate but there is enough variety for those like me who are less adventurous. Due to the closure of the Taroko visitor centre due to a recent typhoon, there was more time to do other things in the afternoon which included trips to east coast cliffs, a store with local stone carving and jewelry and the stone sculpture park. The store we went to is huge and you can buy pieces made from rainbow jade which is only found in Taiwan as well as Taiwanese Rose Stone. After the tour you are brought back to the rail station and to the platform for the train back to Taipei. There are a few things that should be mentioned. First, expect a full day. We were met at our hotel at 5:50 AM and didn't get back until 7:30 PM. However, the train ride was very relaxing and believe me the tour is worth every penny! Also, I can't recommend Josephine highly enough. She is very friendly and extremely knowledgeable. She can also get into places that are off limits because of her local contacts. She is truly the queen of Taroko. We highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

Betty J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

A great way to see Taiwan! You can't get better value than this. The driver and tour guides were excellent. The hotels were all 5-star hotels with great breakfasts. My husband usually does not like bus tours. But the quality of the hotels and pace of the tour won him over. Thank you Edison Travel!

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

Prisicillapeterson

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

It was a wonderful tour! The days were long and few stops could've been eliminated. Example - the Marble Factory. I would've liked to have gotten to the hotels earlier to enjoy the amenities. The hotels were beautiful and made the trip worth it! But it was very tiring to be on a bus everyday for 8-10 hours.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

Pasi H

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

We went by train from Taipei to Hualien, which was an opportunity itself to see Taiwan. Taroko had amazing views, we visited there several locations which was great! The only things not as perfect were that the lunch was mediocre and that we did not arrive back to Taipei by the scheduled time. But nevertheless I definitely recommend this trip!

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

elizabeth m

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2016

The tour was ok, however the tour guide was very rude to me and made feel very uncomfortable during the whole trip. I would expect a more friendly behaviour

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

MARTA A

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2016

The natural beauty of the gorges is impressive not to be missed! The train ride is long but worth the effort specially if the weather is fine. It was a pity our guide was so badly organized her poor English made her instructions difficult to follow. Regrettably she allowed little time for the beautiful hike along the river and falls gave us a time and meeting point to join the bus, which later changed without all participants knowing about it. Instead, we wasted precious time at a coffee shop - where there was nothing to see not do but wait for lunch - which we had much too early and in a hurry. She took us back to a coffee shop, before we finally visited the gorges,with no explanations then she took us to a stone-factory, gave us ten minutes to walk to the sea shore and on to the station to wait for the train...
We got the impression that she was pressed to get rid of us. I wish other visitors more luck in what should be a wonderful tour.

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

Soe Sanda W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The tour guide was very funny and helpful. The hotels were all 5-4 stars and it was amazing to stay in them.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

STEPHEN M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

GREAT TRIP WITH A VERY PROFESSIONAL GUIDE AND DRIVER. EXTREMELY ENTERTAINING.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

STEPHEN M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

GREAT TRIP WITH A VERY PROFESSIONAL GUIDE AND DRIVER. EXTREMELY ENTERTAINING.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

Peter M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We saw all the highlights of Taiwan in 5 days in the comfort of an airconditioned coach with an excellent tour guide Alan. The hotels were fabulous - we just wished we could have spent more time in them to enjoy the facilities and our beautiful rooms. We particularly enjoyed the beautiful East Coast and the spectacular Taroko Gorge.
We felt that the itinerary was unnecessarily full in the first two days. We would have liked to spend the morning at Sun Moon Lake as the rest of the second day was not particularly interesting. Especially, we did not enjoy the 2 and a half hours we had to spend at Fo Guang Shan Monastery - aptly described by our tour guide as a 'Buddhist Disneyland.' It had no architectural merit and was lacking in spiritual beauty as well.
Otherwise, it was a very enjoyable tour and a good introduction to Taiwan.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

David W

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

The Taroko Gorge is a place everyone should see. It is worth the long trip from Taipei to Hualien to see the Gorge. Josephine is an excellent guide and would recommend everyone to go.

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

Lisa

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Taroko Gorge was breathtaking! The tour is a bit pricey, but well worth it. Lunch was good, and views were amazing. The marble factory and beach stops were unnecessary, but at least we had some time to rest. Bring water and an extra shirt!

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

David P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Amazing Experience! In only 5 days, we visited Taiwan's most famous scenic areas including beaches, temples, night markets, and more. Our guide Alan Chou kept us very interested in the history behind each attraction. Me and my parents had a lot of fun! We definitely recommend this trip.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

Fernando C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Highly recommended. This trail admits up to ~150 persons a day max and the views and experience are stunning. The guide was also very friendly, explained many things about the trail and even took us for some local street food specialties.

Doing what: Spectacular Hiking in Taroko Gorge: Zhuilu Old Trail

Margaret L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

It was a long day, but such a wonderful day trip. All three of the guides were incredibly helpful. Joesphine was fun and friendly. The hiking, the views, and lunch were all well worth it!

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

Jiayong Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Taroko Gorge is amazing. William Ho was a great tour guide. He is very knowledgeable and entertaining to provide us the best experience in Hualien. I highly recommend to this hiking trail you will not be disappointed!!

Doing what: Spectacular Hiking in Taroko Gorge: Zhuilu Old Trail

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message