Taiwan ATTRACTIONS See all

Taroko Gorge National Park

Some of Asia’s most spectacular scenery awaits you at Taroko Gorge National Park, Taiwan’s foremost tourist draw. There’s an incredible range of landscape here: imagine Sumatra snuggling up to Sweden and you get some idea of the variety. Marble ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 507 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Jeremiah G USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was an excellent tour. It is sponsored and subsided by the Taiwan Tourism Board, which is why you can stay in 5-star hotels for this price. Our tour had 33 members but everyone got along and was on time at every stop. Our guide, Alan, was excellent--knowledgeable and humorous. Only thing I'd like to note is that the itinerary here on Viator is out-of-date. Nothing serious, just be aware that days two and four differ somewhat from what is posted here. I'd suggest checking with the local provider after booking for the most up-to-date itinerary.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

Enrico T

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

the natural beauty of Taroko Gorge is undeniably amazing. the day tour with viator was great as well. I personally surprised the value of the trip is really good, which includes with return tickets, pick up from the hotel, and the 5 star lunch. overall, the tour was great. some recommendation is the tour guide language English was unclear at times, but she was really caring and looked like she has done so many times of tour guiding. Perhaps, some English pronunciation practice could make the tour even better. But generally, i had so much fun to join the tour, meeting new friends, and had inspired in so many ways. Cheers

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

Keng Teik K

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

We had a wonderful time!
The private tour to Taroko National Park is definitely worth every single cent of it.
I would like to especially extend out gratitude and appreciation to our tour guide Mr Jason Lee. He has been exceptionally friendly and helpful, providing us all the detail informations and additional private detours!
I strongly recommended it!

Doing what: Private Day Tour: Taroko National Park from Hualien City

Dale

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

The day we went, the guide seemed stressed rearranging trAin tickets and arranging special meals . Tour seemed disorganized at times. Would have liked to knOw more about the area as we drove by in the bus. We got the nformation about places we stopped only. Guide was good about taking pictures of you. Meal was ok. Train ride back was long , boring and train was overcrowded. If you have seen Grand Canyon, this tour may disappoint you.

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

Katherine P

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

The gorge is great, but the tour is not great. I took another tour of this gorge some 20 years ago and it has changed quite a bit with more development, etc. The tour company was a little casual about taking care of guests some people couldn't keep up and there was little accommodation for them.

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

Anthony W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

A well organized and professionally run trip. The tour guide, David Harn was excellent as was the driver whose name we regrettably didn't get. The highlights were Sun Moon Lake and Taroko Gorge which, despite the rain, were spectacular. We'd have liked to have had more time at each place and, if we return to Taiwan, we'll hope to be able to spend a few days at Sun Moon Lake especially.
All four hotels were great and definitely 5 or more star quality but we did have some problems with our order for dinner at the Chinese Restaurant at the last hotel as our order was not taken correctly and the meal we finally received was late. Others had the same problem. Apart from that one incident, the trip was great and we recommend it. Ton.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

Sai Kiran N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Jojo was so friendly and showed us the best spots! Really enjoyable :)

Doing what: Private Day Tour: Taroko National Park from Hualien City

Alan H United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Great experience. James our tour guide made the tour was truly outstanding and would recommend this tour for first time
travelers.

Doing what: 2-Day Private Taroko Gorge Trip from Taipei

Anh T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

The Queen of Taroko herself was pretty entertaining - thanks Josephine for an amazing time.

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

Ryan Stephen S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

What a fantastic tour! Would recommend this to anyone. Guide was EXTREMELY knowledgeable and helpful. We saw so much of Taiwan in such a little amount of time. The hotels in this tour were each spectacular in their own way. The only very minor downside was the tour was in both English / Chinese for mainland tourists, so a bit of patience is required when listening to the guide.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

For people who are adventurous and need a break from city, this tour is for your. Was at first reluctant when we saw that the tour will take 13 hours coming from Taipei. But it was a very convenient and relaxing trip. There is a guide that will pick you up from your hotel and drop you off on the train platform and vice versa. From Hualien another local guide will be picking you up from the platform and the same guide will be with you throughout the trip.The train from Taipei to Hualien is very comfortable it was modern and spacious the tour is not all walking and there are alot of beautiful sights to absorb. The 5 star lunch at the SILKS hotel was also good. The weather was abit gloomy when we went there so there was rain here and there. They provide umbrellas and hard hats during the tour. Dont forget to pack extra battery for your camera or phone if youre using it as camera. And extra socks if the weather is wet.

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

john a

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Excellent guide and we saw many interesting and amazing sites. The hotels were great and good buffet dinners. I would highly recommend this lovely tour. You will see a lot in a short amount of time. Met some good people on the tour as well. Had some good conversations. But people will leave you alone if you prefer that. Perhaps a few too many videos shown on the bus, but they are informative and some people may like them. Nice video on building the long tunnel. I liked watching that! But it's nice to have some quiet time to nap on the bus. Of course, a perfect balance is difficult to find. Great tour! The guide was very personable and informative and responsive.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

Darcy S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Loved this tour! The gorge was breath-taking!

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

Darcy S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Tour was great and the gorge was beautiful!

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

dougmoss

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

I wanted to get to Taroko but was not keen on doing this on my own.....so VIATOR offered a day trip from Taipei. Why Not? What an adventure in a good way! You leave very early in the morning by train. The early departure is made up for the beautiful views of early morning light on the rice fields, hills and the seaside towns. You are met at the train station in Hualien/Jian and get a tour of this cool town and then up into the national park. The national park is stunning. You get hard hats during a section of the journey with rocks all around and views that are amazing. There are many stops and several shorts walks. The tour guide was great. She is funny woman with a great sense of humor. She speaks excellent English and loves what she does. I would have enjoyed an hour or so to hike around at a few places and skip the marble stop or really even lunch. The nature is what this trip is all about. I would recommend it to friends who want a day trip to Taroko from Taipei. I want to go back and spend a few days in this area hiking and exploring the cool towns. PS. The mountains and beaches for this area are stunning and make this trip special as well!!!!!

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

Jim Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

A very nice trip, the tour guide was very helpful and professional but talked too much of political issues which could upset some visitors

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

Philip R S L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

A tour not to be missed a v good introductory experience to determine which place to re-visit in your future trips.
Taiwan is one country most would like to re-visit I am one of them.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

tomisue78

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

Beautiful drive. Two hour train ride each way. Did not enjoy the jade factory at the end of the tour.

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

Shu-Hui C

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

For full disclosure purpose, this is my third time on this tour with my friends. So the tour itself is highly recommended for first timer visiting Taiwan as a sampler but just be aware of possible situation that may occurred.

The good:
The driver, Mr. Chang, was excellent. He navigated the curvy, windy and narrow roads expertly. The bus was very clean and comfortable for all 5 days.
The tour guide, David, was very energetic. He was very organized. If there is one thing that could be better is if he could provide more in depth introduction or details of the attractions we visited. We know that he is new to this industry, but it would been better if he provided more historical perspective. One last thing, I wish I could understand him better, because too often he jumped from Mandarin Chinese to English and vice versa in mid sentences, unless you are bilingual it would be hard to comprehend.

The so-so:
All the hotels we stayed were rated 5 or 5 stars. Based on those rating, I had certain expectation. First night we stayed at Fleur de Chine Sun Moon Lake, the room was good size, nicely appointed, nice partial lake view. Dining option was very very limited, the choices were buffet at 45 per person or a la carte restaurant or the main floor lounge bar. The a la carte restaurant turned us away without any explanation other than no room. What kind of restaurant or 5 star hotel turn away paying customers? If you want your customers to dine at the buffet, just say so! Second night we stayed at Grand Hi-Lai Hotel in Kaoshiung. It is within a department store, we were escorted into the hotel through the side entrance. Definitely do not feel like a 5 star welcome or check in. On our third night, we stayed at Hotel Royal Chihpen. Although the infrastructure is not as new as other hotels we stayed at but the services made the stay enjoyable, a truer 5 star experience than the others.

The bad:
On our last night, we stayed at the Silks Place Taroko. The hotel is situated in a very unique place, in the gorge. The beautiful view can't be denied. However, we were quite disappointed in the service we received. There were 8 of us on the tour, we were assigned very different quality rooms. Our white friends were assigned the bigger room. To add insult to injury, when we walked in to the hotel restaurant on the first floor, we were summarily turned away, stating that there are no room. The party of 2 behind us were seated promptly. This is the definition of bad service!

Overall, we enjoyed our tour, the attractions we visited were very beautiful. But the incidents that occurred during the tour that take away from the good part of our tour. There were occasions where we were treated differently because what we were perceived us to be. I do not think it is the fault of Edison Tour but it does take away from the whole experience. I have had better experience in the past.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

Natasha T

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2016

This tour was convenient and the Taroko Gorge is stunning. My guide picked me up at my hotel and took us through to the train platform and waited until we got on our train and found our seats before leaving. After a 2.5 hour train ride, we were met by our guide Josephine and driven around the sites within Taroko Gorge to walk and take pictures. It was raining and it was nice that the tour provided umbrellas for us. Same easy transit back to Taipei and no opportunity to get lost as the driver was waiting on the platform outside of our train car to direct us back to the different cars who were taking people back to their hotels.

The reason I only gave this tour 3 stars instead of the many 5 star ratings is that I tend to consider a tour that mainly just drops you off in places for 20 minutes to take photos to not really be a tour. While Josephine was nice and it's impressive that she gave the itinerary and instructions in Chinese, English and Japanese, almost no information was given throughout about history, development or what we were looking at. She would tell you this is X name of place, be back on the bus at X time but she didn't tell us about the shrine or why it was built or anything, you had to read about that on your own at the signs there or research later by yourself. She was not easy to understand and she did not attempt to get to know the group or make it easy to approach her to ask questions like many of the other tour guides I had on tours in Taipei so in comparison, while the Taroko Gorge is a sight to behold, the tour aspect of this trip was not up to par in my opinion and felt more like having a driver for a day after a company made travel arrangements than being on a true tour.

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

Evelyn R

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2016

The view was great. Didn't really get to hike and it up close but was able to stop in most of the good view points. Our tour guide, Josephine, talks too fast. She's translating it to 3 languages but she talks too fast that it sounds scripted. It's a very big group of tourists so I think if you can hire a van and a driver, it would be better.

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

Grant K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

I didn't have any real expectations when I went to Taiwan and Taipei to me was just another large city. So after spending 3 days in Taipei it was fantastic to leave and get out into the country. I rarely do organised tours but found this tour to be fantastic! It was at an easy leisurely pace and we visited some really interesting/amazing/beautiful sites and a few not so interesting sites each to their own. The tour Leader Allan was fantastic. Super friendly, super helpful and gave a nice insight into the culture of Taiwan. The Hotels were 5 star and the first and last hotels were by far superior. Two hotels had amazing hot springs, indoor and out, so it was great relaxing in them after a day exploring. Also two of the hotels were in remote areas so you did need to eat dinner there. The prices were reasonable and they had several different eating options. The Taroko gorge was hands down the absolute highlight of the trip even the highlight of my 10 days in Taiwan. Stunning scenery, a few fantastic walks and the Silk Hotel with its amazing pools was also beautiful. It would be fantastic to spend 2 nights there and experience some hiking or other activities. Or to just laze by the pool.
Overall this trip gives you a great insight of Taiwan. It covers all the major destinations and i really can't fault it, although coming from Sydney Australia and living on the beach my only disappointment was not being able to swim at some of the many beaches we saw.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

Jessika R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This tour was amazing from start to finish! Our driver who put us on the train was great, Josephine our tour leader was exceptional. Taroko Gorge is amazing, I highly recommend a visit if you are in Taiwan. The timing was great, the information was great, you could tell that Josephine is really interested in what she does, and really friendly. The lunch was incredible as well! I highly recommend with tour with Josephine as your leader!

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

Thomas F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

The best experience for the money, would totally do it again we had such a great time and could never have done it ourselves.
Great hotels, food, views, attractions and company on the coach! Our Tour guide was great as well. Will always remember this.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

rlrsb1982

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

Great way to see Taiwan in a short time. Taipei is a wonderful city. Bus very comfortablle but a bathroom would have meant less bathroom breaks which cut into time at the sites themselves. Tour guide and bus driver were very good Would love to have had another day at Sun Moon Lake - beautiful location. Hotels were 4 - 5 Recommended for people who like bus trips.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message