Taiwan ATTRACTIONS See all

Taroko Gorge National Park

Some of Asia’s most spectacular scenery awaits you at Taroko Gorge National Park, Taiwan’s foremost tourist draw. There’s an incredible range of landscape here: imagine Sumatra snuggling up to Sweden and you get some idea of the variety. Marble ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 516 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Lim A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

This is one of my favourite tour offered by Edison Travel. Our guide was Josephine. Shes a professional tour guide and speaks fluent English and Japanese. We had a very wonderful lunch in a 5 star hotel. It was all really delicious and we couldnt finish it all since it was a lot. The guide was really passionate in explaining everything during our journey and made time for us to get off for a while to take selfie. This tour is not only good for family or couple but also for those who travelling alone. You can make new friends here and our journey from Taipei-Hualien and Hualien-Taipei was really awesome in very good train.
Totally worth it and Recommend it for everybody.

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

Lim A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

This is one of my favourite tour offered by Edison Travel. Our guide was Josephine. Shes a professional tour guide and speaks fluent English and Japanese. We had a very wonderful lunch in a 5 star hotel. It was all really delicious and we couldnt finish it all since it was a lot. The guide was really passionate in explaining everything during our journey and made time for us to get off for a while to take selfie. This tour is not only good for family or couple but also for those who travelling alone. You can make new friends here and our journey from Taipei-Hualien and Hualien-Taipei was really awesome in very good train.
Totally worth it and Recommend it for everybody.

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

Kristin Leigh B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Lenny, our tour guide, was wonderful! Very knowledgeable and kind.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

Erin J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

This tour highlighted some of the main sights of the Taroko Gorge. The sights are definitely unique - the gorge features marble mountains and some of the bluest water you'll see. The temple by the waterfall is beautiful but the trail there was closed when I was there.

Josephine, the tour guide, did a great job of accommodating the more and less physically able by allowing extra time to see the sight you could either stay or go further on the trail and come back. She's a funny and enthusiastic guide! I appreciated that she was a native to the area. She has an inspiring story of how she got to where she was - you go girl!

The tour starts with a 3 hour train ride there, you'll be able to fuel up at 7 Eleven before the train ride. You then meet Josephine, and the driver and go on a 15 minute ride to the gorge. The first stop is at the entrance of the gorge, unremarkable. The 2nd stop is at a short hike along the river. This is stroll down a dirt road, not strenuous. We then stop at the Swallow's grotto where swallows nest in the caves. More views of the river and gorge while walking through the cave. The driver will drop you off in the beginning and meet you at the end of the walk each time. Lunch is at a very luxurious hotel - you can choose between chicken, beef, and tofu. The presentation was nice but the food itself was just ok. Next you see the famous temple waterfall. It's actually farther off in the distance than I thought it would be.

Next on the tour is the marble factory - the standard overpriced factory tour with pushy sales people. Next you go to a beach with some food vendors. The rocks on the beach are interesting and have quartz in veins in them. Next is a train ride back to Taipei - 2.5 hours.

Overall, I give this tour high marks because the price is right for what you get.

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

Jeremiah G USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was an excellent tour. It is sponsored and subsided by the Taiwan Tourism Board, which is why you can stay in 5-star hotels for this price. Our tour had 33 members but everyone got along and was on time at every stop. Our guide, Alan, was excellent--knowledgeable and humorous. Only thing I'd like to note is that the itinerary here on Viator is out-of-date. Nothing serious, just be aware that days two and four differ somewhat from what is posted here. I'd suggest checking with the local provider after booking for the most up-to-date itinerary.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

awfriedman

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

A long train ride and bus ride from Taipei but worth every minute. Coming from the Grand Canyon State of Arizona this sight rivals ours in its natural beauty and wonder. The tour thru the park affords you the opportunity to do some degree of hiking and the ability to take in tremendous views of both mans and Mother Nature work. The guide was very knowledgeable and got off the bus at every stop to explain what we were looking at and to answer any of our questions. The lunch stop at a five star hotel was very good and enabled the tour bus group to get to know one another. The train ride provided and opportunity to see the country-side outside of Taipei.

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

Enrico T

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

the natural beauty of Taroko Gorge is undeniably amazing. the day tour with viator was great as well. I personally surprised the value of the trip is really good, which includes with return tickets, pick up from the hotel, and the 5 star lunch. overall, the tour was great. some recommendation is the tour guide language English was unclear at times, but she was really caring and looked like she has done so many times of tour guiding. Perhaps, some English pronunciation practice could make the tour even better. But generally, i had so much fun to join the tour, meeting new friends, and had inspired in so many ways. Cheers

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

Keng Teik K

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

We had a wonderful time!
The private tour to Taroko National Park is definitely worth every single cent of it.
I would like to especially extend out gratitude and appreciation to our tour guide Mr Jason Lee. He has been exceptionally friendly and helpful, providing us all the detail informations and additional private detours!
I strongly recommended it!

Doing what: Private Day Tour: Taroko National Park from Hualien City

Susan D

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

The place is quite far and the travel time is long but it's really worth it.

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

Marion H

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

RAS sur l'organisation.
RAS sur la ponctualité.
Nous avons passe 1/2 journée dans les gorges de Taroko et quelques heures sur Hualien....
Le repas aborigènes nétait pas a notre gout.
Logan s'est plie en 4 pour nous faire plaisir et est un garçon très sympathique
finalement nous avons apprécié Hualien.

Doing what: 2-Day Private Taroko Gorge Trip from Taipei

Dale

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

The day we went, the guide seemed stressed rearranging trAin tickets and arranging special meals . Tour seemed disorganized at times. Would have liked to knOw more about the area as we drove by in the bus. We got the nformation about places we stopped only. Guide was good about taking pictures of you. Meal was ok. Train ride back was long , boring and train was overcrowded. If you have seen Grand Canyon, this tour may disappoint you.

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

Katherine P

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

The gorge is great, but the tour is not great. I took another tour of this gorge some 20 years ago and it has changed quite a bit with more development, etc. The tour company was a little casual about taking care of guests some people couldn't keep up and there was little accommodation for them.

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

paulo.neuhaus

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

Taroko Gorge portion was spectatcular but too short, to make room for an inane afternoon made up of a bizarre trip to a marble and gem factory and a stop by a desolate and windsept spot on the waterfront. That trip badly needs to be recalibrated!

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

Jean E S

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

Taroko is gorgeous and amazing!
Worth the train ride out there!
The tour felt pointless. Guide was enthusiastic, but her English is extremely hard to understand. Spoke too quickly and switched between Chinese and English so frequently I got lost. Seemed distracted with her cellphone.

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

Anthony W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

A well organized and professionally run trip. The tour guide, David Harn was excellent as was the driver whose name we regrettably didn't get. The highlights were Sun Moon Lake and Taroko Gorge which, despite the rain, were spectacular. We'd have liked to have had more time at each place and, if we return to Taiwan, we'll hope to be able to spend a few days at Sun Moon Lake especially.
All four hotels were great and definitely 5 or more star quality but we did have some problems with our order for dinner at the Chinese Restaurant at the last hotel as our order was not taken correctly and the meal we finally received was late. Others had the same problem. Apart from that one incident, the trip was great and we recommend it. Ton.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

Sai Kiran N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Jojo was so friendly and showed us the best spots! Really enjoyable :)

Doing what: Private Day Tour: Taroko National Park from Hualien City

Alan H United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Great experience. James our tour guide made the tour was truly outstanding and would recommend this tour for first time
travelers.

Doing what: 2-Day Private Taroko Gorge Trip from Taipei

Anh T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

The Queen of Taroko herself was pretty entertaining - thanks Josephine for an amazing time.

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

Ryan Stephen S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

What a fantastic tour! Would recommend this to anyone. Guide was EXTREMELY knowledgeable and helpful. We saw so much of Taiwan in such a little amount of time. The hotels in this tour were each spectacular in their own way. The only very minor downside was the tour was in both English / Chinese for mainland tourists, so a bit of patience is required when listening to the guide.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

For people who are adventurous and need a break from city, this tour is for your. Was at first reluctant when we saw that the tour will take 13 hours coming from Taipei. But it was a very convenient and relaxing trip. There is a guide that will pick you up from your hotel and drop you off on the train platform and vice versa. From Hualien another local guide will be picking you up from the platform and the same guide will be with you throughout the trip.The train from Taipei to Hualien is very comfortable it was modern and spacious the tour is not all walking and there are alot of beautiful sights to absorb. The 5 star lunch at the SILKS hotel was also good. The weather was abit gloomy when we went there so there was rain here and there. They provide umbrellas and hard hats during the tour. Dont forget to pack extra battery for your camera or phone if youre using it as camera. And extra socks if the weather is wet.

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

john a

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Excellent guide and we saw many interesting and amazing sites. The hotels were great and good buffet dinners. I would highly recommend this lovely tour. You will see a lot in a short amount of time. Met some good people on the tour as well. Had some good conversations. But people will leave you alone if you prefer that. Perhaps a few too many videos shown on the bus, but they are informative and some people may like them. Nice video on building the long tunnel. I liked watching that! But it's nice to have some quiet time to nap on the bus. Of course, a perfect balance is difficult to find. Great tour! The guide was very personable and informative and responsive.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

Darcy S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Loved this tour! The gorge was breath-taking!

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

Darcy S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Tour was great and the gorge was beautiful!

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

dougmoss

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

I wanted to get to Taroko but was not keen on doing this on my own.....so VIATOR offered a day trip from Taipei. Why Not? What an adventure in a good way! You leave very early in the morning by train. The early departure is made up for the beautiful views of early morning light on the rice fields, hills and the seaside towns. You are met at the train station in Hualien/Jian and get a tour of this cool town and then up into the national park. The national park is stunning. You get hard hats during a section of the journey with rocks all around and views that are amazing. There are many stops and several shorts walks. The tour guide was great. She is funny woman with a great sense of humor. She speaks excellent English and loves what she does. I would have enjoyed an hour or so to hike around at a few places and skip the marble stop or really even lunch. The nature is what this trip is all about. I would recommend it to friends who want a day trip to Taroko from Taipei. I want to go back and spend a few days in this area hiking and exploring the cool towns. PS. The mountains and beaches for this area are stunning and make this trip special as well!!!!!

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

Jim Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

A very nice trip, the tour guide was very helpful and professional but talked too much of political issues which could upset some visitors

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message