Steeped in traditional Chinese culture, with influences from Japan and the island's own indigenous tribes, Taiwan is a destination full of surprises. Beyond the bustling metropolises are lush tropical landscapes, rushing rivers, hot springs and ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 606 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Soe Sanda W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The tour guide was very funny and helpful. The hotels were all 5-4 stars and it was amazing to stay in them.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

STEPHEN M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

GREAT TRIP WITH A VERY PROFESSIONAL GUIDE AND DRIVER. EXTREMELY ENTERTAINING.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

STEPHEN M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

GREAT TRIP WITH A VERY PROFESSIONAL GUIDE AND DRIVER. EXTREMELY ENTERTAINING.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

Peter M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We saw all the highlights of Taiwan in 5 days in the comfort of an airconditioned coach with an excellent tour guide Alan. The hotels were fabulous - we just wished we could have spent more time in them to enjoy the facilities and our beautiful rooms. We particularly enjoyed the beautiful East Coast and the spectacular Taroko Gorge.
We felt that the itinerary was unnecessarily full in the first two days. We would have liked to spend the morning at Sun Moon Lake as the rest of the second day was not particularly interesting. Especially, we did not enjoy the 2 and a half hours we had to spend at Fo Guang Shan Monastery - aptly described by our tour guide as a 'Buddhist Disneyland.' It had no architectural merit and was lacking in spiritual beauty as well.
Otherwise, it was a very enjoyable tour and a good introduction to Taiwan.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

David W

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

The Taroko Gorge is a place everyone should see. It is worth the long trip from Taipei to Hualien to see the Gorge. Josephine is an excellent guide and would recommend everyone to go.

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

Lisa

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Taroko Gorge was breathtaking! The tour is a bit pricey, but well worth it. Lunch was good, and views were amazing. The marble factory and beach stops were unnecessary, but at least we had some time to rest. Bring water and an extra shirt!

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

Jolanda G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Absolutely fabulous. Claire and Mark were the best! Was the best tour ever.

Doing what: Pingxi and Jiufen Day Trip From Taipei: Old Pingxi Railway Line and Sky Lantern Experience

David P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Amazing Experience! In only 5 days, we visited Taiwan's most famous scenic areas including beaches, temples, night markets, and more. Our guide Alan Chou kept us very interested in the history behind each attraction. Me and my parents had a lot of fun! We definitely recommend this trip.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

Margaret L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

It was a long day, but such a wonderful day trip. All three of the guides were incredibly helpful. Joesphine was fun and friendly. The hiking, the views, and lunch were all well worth it!

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

Catherine A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

It was really nice friendly and the guide so helpful. I was alone so it was nice to meet such nice people on the tour.

Doing what: Taipei Night Tour including Din Tai Fung Dinner

mario f

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

IT WAS A MARVELOUS EXPERIENCE FROM BEGINNING TILL END, FROM THE TRIP ITSELF, TO THE TOUR MANAGER PETER LEE, TO THE GREAT HOTELS WE HAD AND SO ON AND ON..
WON'T BE THE LAST TIME I BOOKED TROUGH VIATOR..

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

Stephanie C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

One of the huge highlights of my trip. If you splurge on a tour while in Taiwan, this one is worth it.

Nice small group that all spoke English. The lanterns were exciting to set off even during the day time. Jiufen was great and our guide led us to all the good cheap places to eat. Definitely worth the money as you have a air-conditioned van that will pick you up and drop you off. Tour started at a reasonable time and we returned just in time for dinner and night market activity.

Our guide Tina was so great. She was enthusiastic and I enjoyed everything she talked to us about when going to Pingxi and Jiufen. She was genuinely excited to show us around and was very helpful explaining and giving us recommendations on what to eat. I think she really made the tour.

Doing what: Pingxi and Jiufen Day Trip From Taipei: Old Pingxi Railway Line and Sky Lantern Experience

Beth C

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

No one accompanied us on the train ride contrary to tour description. Could have skipped beach and marble showroom. Nothing to do at the beach since we were told not to touch the water.

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

Julian A

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

A good way to see the places that are more difficult to access as an independent traveller. The hotels are all excellent - two had hot springs piped into a pool in the room! Alan is a good, well-informed guide.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

Jess L

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Taroko Gorge was something I had heard about only through friends, but seeing it was an absolute delight. I was taken to numerous stops in the national park and was given ample time to run about and get a feel of the natural landscape. Most tours I've been on only let you stop for a few pictures, and then not much is said, but Josephine the tour guide allowed all of us to step off the bus and experience the beauty of the gorge. She also spoke to each and every one of us - sometimes even at different times - about the gorge itself and the landscape of Taiwan in doing this, she allowed each of us to feel as though we were having a casual conversation with a friend, whom she individually cared about, rather than just being in a tour. My favourite part was seeing the Liwu River cutting into the marble stone it was definitely a sight worth seeing. Overall, I had a fantastic time and would highly recommend this trip to my friends and family. Thanks for a lovely visit!

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

DR CHRISTINA C

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

Overall was good. Worth seeing most places. Hotels were 5* with wide selection of food for buffet breakfast. But spent many hours sitting in the coach, no choice for dinner on some nights except the hotel which was very pricey. Slight push to buy souvenirs at recommended places.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

Duncan United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Amazing place, a gem that everyone visiting Taiwan should see!

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

Shuy S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our trip around Taiwan was terrific. Everything was well organized, the hotels are really 5 stars. Our guide, Alan Chou, was incredible! Wonderful experience!

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

Larry M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

First tour I and #39;ve ever done and it was fantastic! The tour guide was very knowledgable and entertaining. We saw a lot of great sights and beautiful spots even outside of the gorge as well. Would definitely do it again!

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

wesleyyen

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great tour through Taroko Gorge!

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

wanderboy Singapore

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Tina provided us an excellent tour of Jiufen and Shifen. The tour was actually more than I expected.

Definitely a must go if youre a solo traveller who wants to cover lots of places in one day!

Doing what: Pingxi and Jiufen Day Trip From Taipei: Old Pingxi Railway Line and Sky Lantern Experience

Vered S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Very well organized! Josephine - the tour guide- was great ! Lunch was wonderful as well
I heighly recommend this trip!

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

Giddy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our tour guide was very informative and very entertaining.

Doing what: Taipei Night Tour including Din Tai Fung Dinner

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message