Steeped in traditional Chinese culture, with influences from Japan and the island's own indigenous tribes, Taiwan is a destination full of surprises. Beyond the bustling metropolises are lush tropical landscapes, rushing rivers, hot springs and ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 655 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Jeremiah G USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was an excellent tour. It is sponsored and subsided by the Taiwan Tourism Board, which is why you can stay in 5-star hotels for this price. Our tour had 33 members but everyone got along and was on time at every stop. Our guide, Alan, was excellent--knowledgeable and humorous. Only thing I'd like to note is that the itinerary here on Viator is out-of-date. Nothing serious, just be aware that days two and four differ somewhat from what is posted here. I'd suggest checking with the local provider after booking for the most up-to-date itinerary.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

Dianne C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The weather was not ideal on the day of our tour, but it did not impact too much on the experience. Billy, our guide was very personable and easygoing and looked after us well. The highlights of the tour for me were the visits to the Tea Museum and Teahouse where we learnt so much about the history of tea and its culture. A highly recommended tour!

Doing what: Tea of Taipei: Small-Group Tour with Taipei City Sightseeing

Enrico T

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

the natural beauty of Taroko Gorge is undeniably amazing. the day tour with viator was great as well. I personally surprised the value of the trip is really good, which includes with return tickets, pick up from the hotel, and the 5 star lunch. overall, the tour was great. some recommendation is the tour guide language English was unclear at times, but she was really caring and looked like she has done so many times of tour guiding. Perhaps, some English pronunciation practice could make the tour even better. But generally, i had so much fun to join the tour, meeting new friends, and had inspired in so many ways. Cheers

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

Dale

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

The day we went, the guide seemed stressed rearranging trAin tickets and arranging special meals . Tour seemed disorganized at times. Would have liked to knOw more about the area as we drove by in the bus. We got the nformation about places we stopped only. Guide was good about taking pictures of you. Meal was ok. Train ride back was long , boring and train was overcrowded. If you have seen Grand Canyon, this tour may disappoint you.

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

Katherine P

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

The gorge is great, but the tour is not great. I took another tour of this gorge some 20 years ago and it has changed quite a bit with more development, etc. The tour company was a little casual about taking care of guests some people couldn't keep up and there was little accommodation for them.

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

Anthony W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

A well organized and professionally run trip. The tour guide, David Harn was excellent as was the driver whose name we regrettably didn't get. The highlights were Sun Moon Lake and Taroko Gorge which, despite the rain, were spectacular. We'd have liked to have had more time at each place and, if we return to Taiwan, we'll hope to be able to spend a few days at Sun Moon Lake especially.
All four hotels were great and definitely 5 or more star quality but we did have some problems with our order for dinner at the Chinese Restaurant at the last hotel as our order was not taken correctly and the meal we finally received was late. Others had the same problem. Apart from that one incident, the trip was great and we recommend it. Ton.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

Anh T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

The Queen of Taroko herself was pretty entertaining - thanks Josephine for an amazing time.

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

Ryan Stephen S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

What a fantastic tour! Would recommend this to anyone. Guide was EXTREMELY knowledgeable and helpful. We saw so much of Taiwan in such a little amount of time. The hotels in this tour were each spectacular in their own way. The only very minor downside was the tour was in both English / Chinese for mainland tourists, so a bit of patience is required when listening to the guide.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

Natasha T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This tour was a lot of fun! Our guide picked us up and took us to Jiufen, giving us interesting information about Taipei's history and development throughout the drive there. We met with a really nice 82-year-old man who used to work in the gold mines and shared his personally experience with us. We then enjoyed seeing the golden waterfall, having a nice lunch and exploring Jiufen old street, checking out the Shifen waterfall, and then writing our wishes on lanterns and sending them off. Beautiful sights, our guides were informative, and it's always an added bonus to meet really great people from all over the world too. Thanks for a great day!

Doing what: Pingxi and Jiufen Day Trip From Taipei with Sky Lantern Experience

T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

For people who are adventurous and need a break from city, this tour is for your. Was at first reluctant when we saw that the tour will take 13 hours coming from Taipei. But it was a very convenient and relaxing trip. There is a guide that will pick you up from your hotel and drop you off on the train platform and vice versa. From Hualien another local guide will be picking you up from the platform and the same guide will be with you throughout the trip.The train from Taipei to Hualien is very comfortable it was modern and spacious the tour is not all walking and there are alot of beautiful sights to absorb. The 5 star lunch at the SILKS hotel was also good. The weather was abit gloomy when we went there so there was rain here and there. They provide umbrellas and hard hats during the tour. Dont forget to pack extra battery for your camera or phone if youre using it as camera. And extra socks if the weather is wet.

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

john a

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Excellent guide and we saw many interesting and amazing sites. The hotels were great and good buffet dinners. I would highly recommend this lovely tour. You will see a lot in a short amount of time. Met some good people on the tour as well. Had some good conversations. But people will leave you alone if you prefer that. Perhaps a few too many videos shown on the bus, but they are informative and some people may like them. Nice video on building the long tunnel. I liked watching that! But it's nice to have some quiet time to nap on the bus. Of course, a perfect balance is difficult to find. Great tour! The guide was very personable and informative and responsive.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

Darcy S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Loved this tour! The gorge was breath-taking!

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

Darcy S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Tour was great and the gorge was beautiful!

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

dougmoss

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

I wanted to get to Taroko but was not keen on doing this on my own.....so VIATOR offered a day trip from Taipei. Why Not? What an adventure in a good way! You leave very early in the morning by train. The early departure is made up for the beautiful views of early morning light on the rice fields, hills and the seaside towns. You are met at the train station in Hualien/Jian and get a tour of this cool town and then up into the national park. The national park is stunning. You get hard hats during a section of the journey with rocks all around and views that are amazing. There are many stops and several shorts walks. The tour guide was great. She is funny woman with a great sense of humor. She speaks excellent English and loves what she does. I would have enjoyed an hour or so to hike around at a few places and skip the marble stop or really even lunch. The nature is what this trip is all about. I would recommend it to friends who want a day trip to Taroko from Taipei. I want to go back and spend a few days in this area hiking and exploring the cool towns. PS. The mountains and beaches for this area are stunning and make this trip special as well!!!!!

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

Jim Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

A very nice trip, the tour guide was very helpful and professional but talked too much of political issues which could upset some visitors

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

Philip R S L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

A tour not to be missed a v good introductory experience to determine which place to re-visit in your future trips.
Taiwan is one country most would like to re-visit I am one of them.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

tomisue78

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

Beautiful drive. Two hour train ride each way. Did not enjoy the jade factory at the end of the tour.

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

Shu-Hui C

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

For full disclosure purpose, this is my third time on this tour with my friends. So the tour itself is highly recommended for first timer visiting Taiwan as a sampler but just be aware of possible situation that may occurred.

The good:
The driver, Mr. Chang, was excellent. He navigated the curvy, windy and narrow roads expertly. The bus was very clean and comfortable for all 5 days.
The tour guide, David, was very energetic. He was very organized. If there is one thing that could be better is if he could provide more in depth introduction or details of the attractions we visited. We know that he is new to this industry, but it would been better if he provided more historical perspective. One last thing, I wish I could understand him better, because too often he jumped from Mandarin Chinese to English and vice versa in mid sentences, unless you are bilingual it would be hard to comprehend.

The so-so:
All the hotels we stayed were rated 5 or 5 stars. Based on those rating, I had certain expectation. First night we stayed at Fleur de Chine Sun Moon Lake, the room was good size, nicely appointed, nice partial lake view. Dining option was very very limited, the choices were buffet at 45 per person or a la carte restaurant or the main floor lounge bar. The a la carte restaurant turned us away without any explanation other than no room. What kind of restaurant or 5 star hotel turn away paying customers? If you want your customers to dine at the buffet, just say so! Second night we stayed at Grand Hi-Lai Hotel in Kaoshiung. It is within a department store, we were escorted into the hotel through the side entrance. Definitely do not feel like a 5 star welcome or check in. On our third night, we stayed at Hotel Royal Chihpen. Although the infrastructure is not as new as other hotels we stayed at but the services made the stay enjoyable, a truer 5 star experience than the others.

The bad:
On our last night, we stayed at the Silks Place Taroko. The hotel is situated in a very unique place, in the gorge. The beautiful view can't be denied. However, we were quite disappointed in the service we received. There were 8 of us on the tour, we were assigned very different quality rooms. Our white friends were assigned the bigger room. To add insult to injury, when we walked in to the hotel restaurant on the first floor, we were summarily turned away, stating that there are no room. The party of 2 behind us were seated promptly. This is the definition of bad service!

Overall, we enjoyed our tour, the attractions we visited were very beautiful. But the incidents that occurred during the tour that take away from the good part of our tour. There were occasions where we were treated differently because what we were perceived us to be. I do not think it is the fault of Edison Tour but it does take away from the whole experience. I have had better experience in the past.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

john a

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

Good guide and the park is lovely, but not overwhelmingly so. A nice park close to the city. Nice waterfall in the park. If you don't want to sit in the hot public bath, you may not want to do this tour. You are only allowed into the pool area if you sit in the bath, not just to see the pool or watch people understandably. Not much to see if you decide to walk around that hot spring area on your own. If you like hot springs and bathing then it may be a good tour for you. Overall, a nice tour.

Doing what: Yangmingshan National Park and Hot-Spring Half-Day Tour from Taipei

Natasha T

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2016

This tour was convenient and the Taroko Gorge is stunning. My guide picked me up at my hotel and took us through to the train platform and waited until we got on our train and found our seats before leaving. After a 2.5 hour train ride, we were met by our guide Josephine and driven around the sites within Taroko Gorge to walk and take pictures. It was raining and it was nice that the tour provided umbrellas for us. Same easy transit back to Taipei and no opportunity to get lost as the driver was waiting on the platform outside of our train car to direct us back to the different cars who were taking people back to their hotels.

The reason I only gave this tour 3 stars instead of the many 5 star ratings is that I tend to consider a tour that mainly just drops you off in places for 20 minutes to take photos to not really be a tour. While Josephine was nice and it's impressive that she gave the itinerary and instructions in Chinese, English and Japanese, almost no information was given throughout about history, development or what we were looking at. She would tell you this is X name of place, be back on the bus at X time but she didn't tell us about the shrine or why it was built or anything, you had to read about that on your own at the signs there or research later by yourself. She was not easy to understand and she did not attempt to get to know the group or make it easy to approach her to ask questions like many of the other tour guides I had on tours in Taipei so in comparison, while the Taroko Gorge is a sight to behold, the tour aspect of this trip was not up to par in my opinion and felt more like having a driver for a day after a company made travel arrangements than being on a true tour.

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

Evelyn R

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2016

The view was great. Didn't really get to hike and it up close but was able to stop in most of the good view points. Our tour guide, Josephine, talks too fast. She's translating it to 3 languages but she talks too fast that it sounds scripted. It's a very big group of tourists so I think if you can hire a van and a driver, it would be better.

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

uheintz1

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Great tour but very rainy. Would have been even nicer if the weather would have been better. Nobodies fault Kelly the tourguide
was funny and very entertaining. Great personality. Loved the places we visited, the waterfalls, Jiufen, Grandpa a former employee
of a Japanese mining company in Jiufen, then of course Pingsi were we made our own lantern and let it fly. Would do this tour again
and highly recommend it.

Doing what: Pingxi and Jiufen Day Trip From Taipei with Sky Lantern Experience

Gela Philippines

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Surprised to find out that I was the only one who signed up on the tour the day I had it. Since I got Alan, the tour guide, all to myself, I had the chance to ask him every curiosity I had with the city and the country. Since we had extra time, we also rode the bus to our last destination. This is probably the best tour to experience the city like a local. Will highly recommend this to my friends.

Doing what: Taipei in Motion: City Day Tour by Bike, Metro and Foot

Grant K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

I didn't have any real expectations when I went to Taiwan and Taipei to me was just another large city. So after spending 3 days in Taipei it was fantastic to leave and get out into the country. I rarely do organised tours but found this tour to be fantastic! It was at an easy leisurely pace and we visited some really interesting/amazing/beautiful sites and a few not so interesting sites each to their own. The tour Leader Allan was fantastic. Super friendly, super helpful and gave a nice insight into the culture of Taiwan. The Hotels were 5 star and the first and last hotels were by far superior. Two hotels had amazing hot springs, indoor and out, so it was great relaxing in them after a day exploring. Also two of the hotels were in remote areas so you did need to eat dinner there. The prices were reasonable and they had several different eating options. The Taroko gorge was hands down the absolute highlight of the trip even the highlight of my 10 days in Taiwan. Stunning scenery, a few fantastic walks and the Silk Hotel with its amazing pools was also beautiful. It would be fantastic to spend 2 nights there and experience some hiking or other activities. Or to just laze by the pool.
Overall this trip gives you a great insight of Taiwan. It covers all the major destinations and i really can't fault it, although coming from Sydney Australia and living on the beach my only disappointment was not being able to swim at some of the many beaches we saw.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

nharrison

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

I did this tour last year and Aurora was fantastic. Very knowledgable and it was an interesting tour. Well worth it.

Doing what: Pingxi and Jiufen Day Trip From Taipei with Sky Lantern Experience

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message