Steeped in traditional Chinese culture, with influences from Japan and the island's own indigenous tribes, Taiwan is a destination full of surprises. Beyond the bustling metropolises are lush tropical landscapes, rushing rivers, hot springs and ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 634 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

uheintz1

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Great tour but very rainy. Would have been even nicer if the weather would have been better. Nobodies fault Kelly the tourguide
was funny and very entertaining. Great personality. Loved the places we visited, the waterfalls, Jiufen, Grandpa a former employee
of a Japanese mining company in Jiufen, then of course Pingsi were we made our own lantern and let it fly. Would do this tour again
and highly recommend it.

Doing what: Pingxi and Jiufen Day Trip From Taipei with Sky Lantern Experience

Gela Philippines

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Surprised to find out that I was the only one who signed up on the tour the day I had it. Since I got Alan, the tour guide, all to myself, I had the chance to ask him every curiosity I had with the city and the country. Since we had extra time, we also rode the bus to our last destination. This is probably the best tour to experience the city like a local. Will highly recommend this to my friends.

Doing what: Taipei in Motion: City Day Tour by Bike, Metro and Foot

Grant K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

I didn't have any real expectations when I went to Taiwan and Taipei to me was just another large city. So after spending 3 days in Taipei it was fantastic to leave and get out into the country. I rarely do organised tours but found this tour to be fantastic! It was at an easy leisurely pace and we visited some really interesting/amazing/beautiful sites and a few not so interesting sites each to their own. The tour Leader Allan was fantastic. Super friendly, super helpful and gave a nice insight into the culture of Taiwan. The Hotels were 5 star and the first and last hotels were by far superior. Two hotels had amazing hot springs, indoor and out, so it was great relaxing in them after a day exploring. Also two of the hotels were in remote areas so you did need to eat dinner there. The prices were reasonable and they had several different eating options. The Taroko gorge was hands down the absolute highlight of the trip even the highlight of my 10 days in Taiwan. Stunning scenery, a few fantastic walks and the Silk Hotel with its amazing pools was also beautiful. It would be fantastic to spend 2 nights there and experience some hiking or other activities. Or to just laze by the pool.
Overall this trip gives you a great insight of Taiwan. It covers all the major destinations and i really can't fault it, although coming from Sydney Australia and living on the beach my only disappointment was not being able to swim at some of the many beaches we saw.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

nharrison

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

I did this tour last year and Aurora was fantastic. Very knowledgable and it was an interesting tour. Well worth it.

Doing what: Pingxi and Jiufen Day Trip From Taipei with Sky Lantern Experience

kyliet

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

We had a fantastic day with our small group of 5 people on this tour. On the way to Jiufen we saw the 2 colour sea and a beautiful waterfall then walked through the famous Jiufen town and tasted some local food and had lunch with a beautiful view. Drove to another amazing waterfall and short walk then onto Pingxi for the lantern release which was a unique experience,especially when the train comes through! Train ride to Jingtong and a walk through the old quaint station shops then headed back to Taipei.We were lucky to have Laura as our tour guide who was so friendly and did a wonderful job.I Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Pingxi and Jiufen Day Trip From Taipei with Sky Lantern Experience

Jessika R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This tour was amazing from start to finish! Our driver who put us on the train was great, Josephine our tour leader was exceptional. Taroko Gorge is amazing, I highly recommend a visit if you are in Taiwan. The timing was great, the information was great, you could tell that Josephine is really interested in what she does, and really friendly. The lunch was incredible as well! I highly recommend with tour with Josephine as your leader!

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

lemacdm

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

A really fun thing to do for Halloween! Shane was a very good leader. Really enjoyed the mine tour, too.

Doing what: Pingxi and Jiufen Day Trip From Taipei with Sky Lantern Experience

Thomas F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

The best experience for the money, would totally do it again we had such a great time and could never have done it ourselves.
Great hotels, food, views, attractions and company on the coach! Our Tour guide was great as well. Will always remember this.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

oluwabunkola o

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

It was very nice and the tour guide and driver were lovely. I do wish though that we explored Yangmingshan National Park more. It was too short I feel.

Doing what: Yangmingshan National Park and Hot-Spring Half-Day Tour from Taipei

VforVera

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

This was a lovely tour of Jinguashi, Jiufen and Pingxi. We had to weather the patches of rain, but Billy, our tour guide was very friendly and accommodating.

First stop was Jinguashi, where we got to meet an 80 year old retired miner ah-bei who was a local resident and native of Jinguashi. Learning about they glory days of Jinguashi's gold mining industry and exploring Jinguashi with the ah-bei was very insightful. He gave us insight on how the area had changed throughout the decades. It was a very thoughtful and personal touch to the Jinguashi experience. I really enjoyed meeting the ah-bei. If I had a suggestion, it'd be to help smoothly translate the Taiwanese to English between the ah-bei and non-Taiwanese speakers.

Second stop was exploring Jiufen, which is fun as always.

Third stop was Pingxi. The sky lantern making class was such a fun experience. I really loved this part of the tour. The class was taught by a local elderly couple of Pingxi who have had their sky lantern class making shop for multiple generations. It was nice to learn from the ah-ma who taught us. If there was a suggestion I had for this part of the tour, it would be to allow us to decide if we wanted to make our own lanterns or to buy ready-made lanterns so that we could explore the rest of Pingxi. Leaving immediately after the sky lantern making class was a bit wanting and it would have been great if we could have an extra 15 to 20 minutes after the class to look around Pingxi.

Otherwise, this was a lovely tour and highly recommended if you wanted to spend a day around Jiufen and Pingxi.

Doing what: Pingxi and Jiufen Day Trip From Taipei with Sky Lantern Experience

Jessika R

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

I enjoyed this tour, we did have a private van which was nice but that meant we did not get to ride on the historical train which I had been excited about. The old mine, waterfalls and Jiufen were really cool but the highlight of the day was when we got to make our own lanterns and release them which was an incredible experience. Our tour leader was Helena, she was ok. She did provide us with some information but she had her phone out a lot which was a bit of a downer. I would still highly recommend this tour as it was really neat and a highlight of my Taiwan trip!

Doing what: Pingxi and Jiufen Day Trip From Taipei with Sky Lantern Experience

PAUL R

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

Great package! Tour began at 10am and ran until app. 6pm with drop-off at participants and #39; hotels. Jiufen was incredibly packed with tourists, but that seemed to be part of the draw: seeing how many people fit in the windy narrow streets. Releasing a sky lantern was a fun, unique experience.

Doing what: Pingxi and Jiufen Day Trip From Taipei with Sky Lantern Experience

rlrsb1982

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

Great way to see Taiwan in a short time. Taipei is a wonderful city. Bus very comfortablle but a bathroom would have meant less bathroom breaks which cut into time at the sites themselves. Tour guide and bus driver were very good Would love to have had another day at Sun Moon Lake - beautiful location. Hotels were 4 - 5 Recommended for people who like bus trips.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

lemacdm

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2016

Our leader kind of rushed us through. Needed more time for photos. A good itinerary. All the places we went were beautiful and the people were welcoming. Try the red dragon fruit, Yum.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

VTRR123

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2016

This tour offers a general picture of Taiwan in 5 days. However, most of the time is spent on the bus. Even though Taiwan is not a large island, the roads are narrow and winding and transfers take a lot of time. Taroko National Park was the highlight, although little time was spent there. Some of the other stops were completely forgettable: Love River cruise, Kaohsiung street market, jade shop, biscuit shop.
Hotels were 5-star as advertised and offered beautiful facilities, although one could hardly enjoy them since we arrived late and left early in the morning.
The tour description mentions English-speaking guide, however the tour was conducted in both English and Mandarin, with more time spent on the latter. This should have been disclosed in advance and would have been a deal breaker for me. No headsets were provided despite the size of the group 28 and the guide provided minimal or no explanations while visiting sites.
The bus was not particularly comfortable. With such a large group, the guide should have arranged some sort of seat rotation for the sake of fairness.
Meals were not included. A couple of times the guide arranged fixed-price group lunches at local restaurants. Other lunch stops were made in small towns with very limited choices: street vendors, 7-Eleven, hole-in-the-wall local restaurants with no English menu and no English spoken. Those with special dietary requirements vegetarian, etc. were out of luck. The guide was not helpful at recommending suitable places. For dinner there was usually no choice other than the pricey hotel buffet.
I wouldnt recommend this tour. A small-group, English-only tour with a more attentive guide would be far more enjoyable.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

Kelly K

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2016

My friend and I booked this tour as an efficient way to have dinner at a busy, popular restaurant that doesn't take reservations Din Tai Fung and see some things that would be good to have a guide explain to us night market, temple. We were extremely disappointed in the tour.

The tour that we thought we were going to have was, in this order:
1. Longshan Temple
2. Huaxi Street night market
3. Din Tai Fung
4. Taipei 101

We were dropped off at Taipei 101 first, where Din Tai Fung was also located. The first thing that we did was eat. Another couple on our tour had been with Felix earlier in the afternoon, and they asked him if they should eat something prior to the tour. He told them yes, and they had their McDonald's wrappers with them in the van. I would have been furious if that had happened to me!

The food at Din Tai Fung was very good, but Felix was nowhere to be found to explain the food. We had to flag down servers to ask them what was in each dish, and some of them did not speak English and couldn't help us.

We then went up to the observation deck of Taipei 101. One of the members of our group stayed behind as he had already been up to the top, and the ticket was an additional charge on top of the tour fee. Felix asked us to walk around the observation deck and meet back near the exit to go back down the elevator at a certain time. Half of our group took a few minutes longer, but it was very crowded. Felix was super upset at this tardiness and almost reprimanded the couple of people who took slightly longer than asked. Our other group member was downstairs waiting for us, he said, so we had to hurry back. Our other group member knew that he would be on his own for a while, so I didn't think there needed to be such a need to rush. We zoomed past the damper ball which sounded interesting to me, but I didn't get to read any of the information about it. Felix also didn't share any information with us.

We then drove to the night market. We walked through the shops and Felix didn't talk much. Every so often he would point out something interesting, or very briefly explain it to the two or three people closest to him and then keep going. The last stop was the temple, where Felix talked the most. However, even that wasn't very informative. Felix's English was not that great, so it was difficult to understand him. Overall, I did not think that the tour provided the value that I was expecting.

Doing what: Taipei Night Tour including Din Tai Fung Dinner

Marco S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Excellent tour and excellent guide. We got to know the city by bike, subway and walk in an incredible way. The guide was just perfect, he spoke English very well and treated us amazing. I recommend this tour at all. Regards from Mexico.

Doing what: Taipei in Motion: City Day Tour by Bike, Metro and Foot

Davis L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We both thoroughly enjoyed our tour. The hotels were fantastic and five star. Alan Chou was our tour guide and he was great - gave us great advice, information about upcoming weather and lots of great information about what we saw and the history of things. I would recommend this tour for anyone who wants to see Taiwan.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

Marco S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Excellent tour, guide was so funny and multi-language speaker, he just treated us amazing. I recommend this tour at all, also the dinner was great. All stops were just perfect and we liked the way guide led all the tour.

Doing what: Taipei Night Tour including Din Tai Fung Dinner

Dev

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Great, I highly recommend this tour. Everything was as stated in the description

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

david.los

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This is one of the best day tours I have ever been on. You will be met by a tour rep at your hotel who will bring you to the main train station, provide you with tickets and guide you to the correct platform. The train ride is an approximately 3 hour journey on a local train. The scenery on the east coast of Taiwan is beautiful and the train takes you through small towns, rice paddies, green mountains and near the ocean. Once you arrive in Hualien you will be greeted by a guide in our case Josephine who will bring you to a small coach and will guide your activities for the balance of the day. The Taroko Gorge is spectacular and Josephine the self described Queen of Taroko will take you places where other tours are not allowed to go. There are many stops for photographs and the ride itself is great. Afterward we had a delicious traditional lunch which was great. Not all foods will be attractive to the western palate but there is enough variety for those like me who are less adventurous. Due to the closure of the Taroko visitor centre due to a recent typhoon, there was more time to do other things in the afternoon which included trips to east coast cliffs, a store with local stone carving and jewelry and the stone sculpture park. The store we went to is huge and you can buy pieces made from rainbow jade which is only found in Taiwan as well as Taiwanese Rose Stone. After the tour you are brought back to the rail station and to the platform for the train back to Taipei. There are a few things that should be mentioned. First, expect a full day. We were met at our hotel at 5:50 AM and didn't get back until 7:30 PM. However, the train ride was very relaxing and believe me the tour is worth every penny! Also, I can't recommend Josephine highly enough. She is very friendly and extremely knowledgeable. She can also get into places that are off limits because of her local contacts. She is truly the queen of Taroko. We highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Taroko Gorge Full-Day Tour from Taipei

Hérica K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Great small tour. Driver and tour guide were very good at their job. They went above and beyond to achieve our expectations and have a good visit in Taiwan. Got to see several sites and learned so much, the tea plantations were definitely a highlight for me. So beautiful! Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Tea of Taipei: Small-Group Tour with Taipei City Sightseeing

Betty J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

A great way to see Taiwan! You can't get better value than this. The driver and tour guides were excellent. The hotels were all 5-star hotels with great breakfasts. My husband usually does not like bus tours. But the quality of the hotels and pace of the tour won him over. Thank you Edison Travel!

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

Prisicillapeterson

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

It was a wonderful tour! The days were long and few stops could've been eliminated. Example - the Marble Factory. I would've liked to have gotten to the hotels earlier to enjoy the amenities. The hotels were beautiful and made the trip worth it! But it was very tiring to be on a bus everyday for 8-10 hours.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon Lake, Taroko Gorge, Kaohsiung and Taitung

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message