Erfahren Sie mehr über unsere Antwort auf Covid-19. .

Mehr lesen
Letzte Suchanfragen
Löschen
Kathedrale von Taormina (Dom) und Piazza del Duomo
Kathedrale von Taormina (Dom) und Piazza del Duomo

Kathedrale von Taormina (Dom) und Piazza del Duomo

Wie in den meisten italienischen Kleinstädten führt Sie die Hauptstraße von Taormina zur Hauptkirche der Stadt. In Taormina bedeutet dies, dass Sie, wenn Sie den Corso Umberto entlang gehen, schließlich auf der Piazza del Duomo und am Dom selbst ankommen.

Der Dom von Taormina, der San Nicolò di Bari gewidmet ist, wurde im 13. Jahrhundert erbaut. Sein Design ist typisch für viele Kirchen seiner Zeit - das Äußere ähnelt eher einer befestigten Burg als einem Gotteshaus. Aus diesem Grund hat es den Spitznamen "Festungskathedrale" oder "Cattedrale Fortezza".

Der Dom wurde über den Ruinen einer kleinen bestehenden Kirche erbaut, und ein Teil des typischen Taormina-Marmors, der für den Bau der Säulen verwendet wurde, scheint aus den Ruinen des Teatro Greco stammen, das sich über der Stadt befindet. Die Haupttür wurde in den 1630er Jahren im Renaissancestil umgebaut und in derselben Wand ein Rosettenfenster angebracht.

Die Piazza vor dem Dom ist nicht überraschend die Piazza del Duomo. Der Barockbrunnen in der Mitte der Piazza wird von einer Statue einer Zentaurin bedeckt, die das Symbol von Taormina darstellt. Weitere Gebäude mit Blick auf die Piazza sind das Rathaus von Taormina und ein ehemaliges Palazzo-Hotel. Der Dom ist täglich von 9 bis 20 Uhr für Besucher geöffnet.

Mehr erfahren
Taormina, Sicily

Touren und Aktivitäten zum Erkunden von Kathedrale von Taormina (Dom) und Piazza del Duomo

Es wurden keine Ergebnisse gefunden.

Wie wäre es mit etwas anderem?Alle Touren für Taormina anzeigen

No reviews, be the first!

  • Address: Taormina, Sicily, Italy

Taormina ATTRACTIONS See all

Taormina Duomo and Piazza Tours

As is the case with most small Italian towns, Taormina’s main street will lead you to the town’s main church. In Taormina, that means when you walk along the Corso Umberto, you will eventually arrive in the Piazza del Duomo and at the Duomo itself.

Taormina’s Duomo, dedicated to San Nicolò di Bari, was built in the 13th century and its design is typical of many churches of its era - the exterior more closely resembles a fortified castle than a house of worship. For this reason, it has the nickname of the “fortress cathedral,” or “cattedrale fortezza.”

The Duomo was built over the ruins of a small existing church, and some of the signature Taormina pink marble used in the construction of the columns appears to have been taken from the ruins of the Teatro Greco that sits above the town. The main door was rebuilt in the 1630s in the Renaissance style, and a rose window added in that same wall.

The piazza in front of the Duomo is, unsurprisingly, the Piazza del Duomo. The Baroque fountain at the center of the piazza is capped by a statue of a female centaur, which is Taormina’s symbol. Other buildings facing the piazza include Taormina’s town hall and a former palazzo turned hotel. The Duomo is open to visitors every day from 9am until 8pm.

Tours & Tickets

See all

Taormina Segway Tour, Taormina, null
TVRM_SORTED : false ESSENTIAL : ADMISSION :

Taormina Segway Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended 6 Reviews

Explore the chic coastal town of Taormina by self-balancing electric Segway! The 3-hour tour takes in all the sights around its oldest neighborhood, Borgo ...  Read more

Location: Taormina, Italy
Duration: 3 hours (approx.)

From USD $117.47
Taormina Shore Excursion: City Segway Tour, Taormina, Segway Tours
TVRM_SORTED : false ESSENTIAL : ADMISSION :

Taormina Shore Excursion: City Segway Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended 2 Reviews

Leave the cruise port and set off to explore the chic coastal town of Taormina by self-balancing electric Segway! This fun 3-hour shore excursion takes in all ...  Read more

Location: Taormina, Italy
Duration: 3 hours (approx.)

From USD $117.47

See all

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message