It may be hard to imagine, when you’re planning a relaxing getaway to the beautiful beach resort destination of Taormina, but you may want a break from the beaches at some point during your trip. Luckily, Taormina is within a short distance from ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 362 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

qwhites

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

The Valley of the Temples and Villa Romana are amazing places to visit and should not be missed. It is a long way to travel and the driving part of the trip was slowed due to numerous road works underway but this will make the driving part of the trip much better in the very near future. Despite it being a long day we would still make the effort as the Temples and Villa were well worth it.

Doing what: Valley of the Temples and Villa Romana del Casale Day Trip from Taormina

Michael T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

I would absolutely recommend it! We saw so much on the water and the islands. The volcano was smoking and we saw sparks spewing out at night! The food was great and the crew was very welcoming. It was a great value.

Doing what: Aeolian Islands Day Trip from Taormina: Stromboli and Panarea

Suzigloworm

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Brilliant trip. Took the coach to the base of Etna. The cable car takes you up so far and then you catch a jeep up to the summit. When you get off the cable car you are asked if you want to hire a coat - I would highly recommend this as it's really cold thousands of feet up Etna! We just had shorts and tops on - not ideal! Once at the top you meet up with your guide and they take you round various craters - absolutely fantastic - would love to do it again.

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

Suzigloworm

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

I can highly recommend this trip. Picked the coach up at Taormina which took as to the port. Had plenty of time to explore both islands. When we got to Vulcano we were shown the mud baths ... bit to smelly for my liking!

Doing what: Aeolian Islands Day Trip from Taormina: Lipari and Vulcano

Maria Catena S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

FANTASTIC!!!!!! It was great and I highly recommend doing it all-the full day one!!!
Mt Etna was beautiful and our local tour guide was great. We drove up to the top and even took the cable car!
We had a day to see Mt Etna and this was a great way! It was well organised and I recommend it to everyone!
Worth doing!

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

kku99

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The guide Heidi was great!!! Very knowledgeable and happy to share the info.

Doing what: Aeolian Islands Day Trip from Taormina: Stromboli and Panarea

kku99

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Well worth every A true experience and a thrill of a lifetime.

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

Shane E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Although the weather conditions on Mt Etna obscured any good views of the mountain, this trip was worth it. Taking the cable car and 4-wheel drive bus to the 3000 metre mark was also worth the extra cost. The landscape was amazing - like the surface of the moon or of Mars.

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

Shane E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

A long time on the bus from Taormina, and a long day, but worth it. The Valley of the Temples was fascinating, and the mosaics at Villa Romana deserved more time to view them. The lunch break was too long, and in an area where there was very little to see.

Doing what: Valley of the Temples and Villa Romana del Casale Day Trip from Taormina

Gary T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This trip is a highlight of any visit to Taormina. We went to the top and while it was nice sunny on the way up it clouded over at the top and were unable to actually see the sun set. The trip down over the lava fields in the dark and fog was exhilarating. The subsequent dinner was very good.

Doing what: Sunset Mount Etna Tour from Taormina

neeta b

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Travelled 1st week in Sept 2016. HIghly recommend. Although an early start 0730 pick up from near hotel, the day was well organised and not hectic. This was great for my parents who are a bit slow-paced. The coach was very comfortable, clean and relaxing which made the travelling seem less arduous. Again, a welcome for my parents. Our guide had a great sense of humour. He was ever so friendly with everyone and took time to speak to people personally. For the French tourists, his French was superb! Syracusa is an important place to visit so worth the trip. We had a lovely leisurely lunch on the waterside in Ortygia. In both places you have the option to follow the local guide or roam around at your own pace. There was good amount of time in each place. And we returned to the hotel late afternoon which gave us time to rest/shower/change in our hotel before heading out for another splendid evening in Taormina. The relaxed pace, flexibility, comfort, and friendliness of this trip makes this a great day out and definitely worth the reasonable fees. we all enjoyed it alot. highly recommend

Doing what: Syracuse Day Trip from Taormina

John A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Very well done. The sommelier was knowledgeable and informative, the vineyards beautiful, and the wines and lunch delicious.

Doing what: Mt Etna Wineries Tour from Taormina

Bonnie F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

OUr guide, Tommy, was excellent. We very much enjoyed this excursion. He was right on time picking us up and made sure we made it back to our cruise ship within plenty of time. He was quite knowledgeable about the area, history and so forth. We learned a lot, saw a lot, and were entertained. I would recommend this co.

Doing what: Messina Shore Excursion: Private Day Trip to Taormina and Mt Etna

Susan R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed the temples, ruins and Villa Romana mosaics. The bus trip is a long one though. Be prepared for delays in pick ups and drop off times due to traffic conditions.

Doing what: Valley of the Temples and Villa Romana del Casale Day Trip from Taormina

Vladimir K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was beautiful experience.

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

sue_fletcher55

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Really enjoyed the tour, one of our holiday highlights. Alex was brilliant, knowledgable and engaging. The wineries were all different and a very interesting mix, lunch in the third vineyard was excellent. Small group tour was also good as it was very personal. Would recommend.

Doing what: Mt Etna Wineries Tour from Taormina

Andreas A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Excellent day trip to do if you don't have much time, otherwise I recommend spending at least a night in Panarea and Stromboli! Very beautiful places to be!

Doing what: Aeolian Islands Day Trip from Taormina: Stromboli and Panarea

Hector P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

I really enjoyed this tour, especially when we visited Ortyga. We were well looked after on the coach and both guides were really good. I think this was good value for money.

Doing what: Syracuse Day Trip from Taormina

davidmstalker

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Lovely informative historical day out. Well described by guides on bus and in town and at Archaelogical park.

Doing what: Syracuse Day Trip from Taormina

davidmstalker

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Graet tor and round trip. Impressed by multi-language skills of guide who filled us in with al lsorts of information.

Doing what: Palermo and Cefalù Day Trip from Taormina

davidmstalker

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Well worth going up to craters. Again guides gave lots of useful information.

Doing what: Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

kristyn m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

You just have to see this when you're in Sicily

Doing what: Valley of the Temples and Villa Romana del Casale Day Trip from Taormina

Robert S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great tour! A must do

Doing what: Mt Etna Wineries Tour from Taormina

Adrienne M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

There is no other way I would have seen these islands. So the opportunity alone was worth it! We got to go to the beach on one island and eat a very late lunch on the other. Fabulous.

Doing what: Aeolian Islands Day Trip from Taormina: Stromboli and Panarea

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message