Tel Aviv ATTRACTIONS See all

Ein Gedi Nature Reserve

An easy day trip from nearby Jerusalem, the Ein Gedi Nature Reserve is located in the Judean Desert, close to the Dead Sea coast, and is one of Israel’s most popular hiking areas. Ein Gedi is a natural playground for outdoors enthusiasts, with ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 14 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

jerry p

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Completely satisfied with the tour. Amir gives insight to some of the reasons and passions involved as well as conveying a fascinating presentation of the historical significance of the place. My number1 guy for Israel tours.

Doing what: Masada and Ein Gedi Nature Reserve Day Trip from Jerusalem

Jennifer B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

I happened to go on this day tour on a day that it was pouring rain in the desert. Despite the crazy weather while at Masada, we did have the chance to see a waterfall in the distance from the flash floods. Apparently this is something so rare and it was interesting to see. The rain did not stop our tour and it was still enjoyable. The only issue was that Ein Gedi was closed due to the rain earlier in the day. So instead, we had the option to go to the Dead Sea. This was a wonderful day tour that I would highly recommend.

Doing what: Masada and Ein Gedi Nature Reserve Day Trip from Tel Aviv

Colin L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Very good tour to Masada and Ein Gedi Nature Park. The lady guide was very good and took particular good care of the older members of the group.

Doing what: Masada and Ein Gedi Nature Reserve Day Trip from Jerusalem

LadyHeatherBug

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Amir once again was AMAZING!! Masada and Ein Gedi were beautiful!

Doing what: Masada and Ein Gedi Nature Reserve Day Trip from Jerusalem

Aviva S

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Comfortable transportation, just enough time at each location!

Doing what: 9 Hour Masada Ein Gedi and Dead Sea Tour from Jerusalem

Shawnea T

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

We are very glad that we went. The driver was well-informed and pleasant. The van was comfortable, and I like the smaller size-less people option. I would have rated it with 5 stars, except that it felt fairly rushed at each of the venues. Having said that, I would do it again!

Doing what: 9 Hour Masada Ein Gedi and Dead Sea Tour from Jerusalem

Matthias K

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Good organisation, helpful staff and guides with great knowledge

Doing what: Masada and Ein Gedi Nature Reserve Day Trip from Tel Aviv

Emmie B

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

It is the very best time to climb the Massada rock. The view was breathtaking beautiful. The time for Ein Gedi was a little short, might be longer. Beach an bath in the Dead See was wonderful. But also this was a little short. Some time to relax and drink something will be nice.

Doing what: Masada Sunrise, Ein Gedi and Dead Sea Trip from Jerusalem

suzanne t

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2015

the sites were fabulous to see. The lunch at the restaurant was eaten in the buffet line as there was not enough time to sit and eat. It was the worse meal I had during my entire trip. Wish we had known about the museum upstairs. That would have. been better time spent. Not much time to take pictures. The tour was rushed

Doing what: Masada and Ein Gedi Nature Reserve Day Trip from Jerusalem

Jorge D

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2015

For a first timer to Masada, the sunrise visit is probably not a good option because facilities are closed and you do not know what you are seeing or what parts of the site are best to go to. The hike along the snake path is too strenuous for all but the fittest--even if you manage to make it all the way, most of us end up feeling sick from the exertion. On the other hand, Ein Gedi is a paradise even in extreme summer heat. The Dead Sea resort is also nice. I wish I had chosen another one of the tours offered by Viator, but I am very satisfied with the professionalism and friendliness of the tour operator Abraham Tours, Jerusalem.

Doing what: Masada Sunrise, Ein Gedi and Dead Sea Trip from Jerusalem

Doris R

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2015

We were unable to go to Ein Gedi which was the main reason for choosing this tour. The stop at the Avaha factory was totally unwelcome. Masada was a good tour. We did not want to go to the Dead Sea and were obliged to go there with the rest of the trip. The resort was very second-class.

Doing what: Masada and Ein Gedi Nature Reserve Day Trip from Tel Aviv

James V

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2014

Pick up was very late. We were then taken to a location where we had to get off one bus and onto a 2nd bus. It was after 10:00 AM by the time we left Jerusalem. Our 2nd bus had two tour groups on it; one for Masada and Ein Gedi and the other for Masada and the Dead Sea.

When we got to Masada the guide kept us moving fairly rapidly, with no time to explore on our own (missing places that others were going to). Often the guide moved quickly to a location and begun talking before the slower (older) part of the group caught up. I believe this was because of the late start and resulting time constraint.

After leaving Masada the Ein Gedi tour group was taken there and left on our own without a guide. The tour bus and guide continued on to the Dead Sea. The bus then came back to pick us up about one and a half hours after drop off. We then went to the Dead Sea and waited to pick up the guide and the people from that tour. Next we went to near Jericho and waited to meet another tour bus. People going to Jerusalem got on one of the buses and people going to Tel Aviv got onto the other bus (both buses had people from both locations). We ended up spending far more time waiting for buses and on buses than we did touring sites.

The description of Ein Gedi does not adequately describe the difficulty of the hike. A minor portion of the trail is on a blacktop path. The majority of it is on a rocky trail with steep slopes and carved steps with loose gravel and sand on them. Of course there were no railings. Many on the tour did not go on the entire trail and I (age 72 with so-so knees) felt it was too dangerous to hike more than a few yards as I quickly encountered downward steps where one was so small that I could not put both feet on the step. My very fit wife was extremely glad I didn't attempt it as the path and steps only got steeper in its undulations.

We did see Ibex, Rock Hyrax and a variety of birds and lizards, so not a total loss for me.

Doing what: Masada and Ein Gedi Nature Reserve Day Trip from Jerusalem

Lawrence G

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2014

This was an awful trip. I signed up for a tour not a taxi. They drove us to each of the locations - dropped us off - nothing about the history of the site - and said I will pick you up in 45 minutes. It was a waste of money.

Doing what: Masada Sunrise, Ein Gedi and Dead Sea Trip from Jerusalem

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message