The incredible fortress of Masada, located in the astonishing Judean Desert near the Dead Sea, has been symbolic to the Israeli people since the Roman era, symbolizing bravery and self-sacrifice in the face of adversity. The plateau is surrounded ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 508 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Leslie S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Our tour guide Ari was great. He was very knowledgeable and helpful. Everything ran smoothly. It was a little cold at the Dead Sea, but not anyone's fault!

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Jerusalem

Elise F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

The tour was great. Very informative. It is a long day. But worth it. Get there before the Dead Sea is ruined!

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Tel Aviv

Catarina L

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

The trip was very well organized but the time in the Dead Sea was not enough to enjoy it without being in a rush.

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Tel Aviv

SILVANO Z

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2016

we didn't see anything

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Tel Aviv

gabriel.enache11

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

The wonderful views from the top of the mountain at Massada, the heroic history of the Massada rebels and the unique experience of floating in the Dead Sea makes for a great one day trip from Tel Aviv.

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Tel Aviv

Dkrigstin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

The Dead Sea was amazing!

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Jerusalem

Gursharan K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

A truly enjoyable and interesting day trip to the fortress of Masada, overlooking the Dead Sea. The pick-up and drop-off was convenient and on time and the trip was extremely well-organized, made all the more enjoyable by our guide Rotem, who kept us constantly informed about the sights and the excursion destinations. Both destinations of Masada and Dead Sea are extremely popular so be prepared to share these places with coachloads of other visitors. Having said that, this does not ruin one's own enjoyment in any way! The fortress at Masada turned out to be fascinating, with a fascinating history and a breath-taking location. The tour around the fortress requires a fair bit of walking so comfortable walking shoes are recommended as is a bottle of water. There is a water supply on site so bottles can be re-filled. Walking around the place is not strenuous but do be prepared for some rough ground. The location of the fortress on top of the mesa means that there are opportunities for taking lovely images of the surrounding landscape with the Dead Sea in the distance. The tour of Masada ends at the cafe and this was packed! I'd suggest carrying a packed lunch to avoid the long lines in the cafe more time could be spent at the on-site store or taking photos! The Dead Sea did not disappoint either. It gets fairly busy but the resort is such that coach loads of people disperse and it doesn't feel packed. The tour allowed plenty of time at Dead Sea for a dip and a rest. There is a self-service restaurant as well as other food and drink outlets as well as a souvenir store. For those who have forgotten to carry their swim suits, etc., the store stocks these! Both Masada and Dead Sea were great but I favored Masada over Dead Sea and would have favored more time there. However, that's a personal choice. All in all, a great trip and well worth the money.

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Jerusalem

SEE WAI C

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

The coach has a long delay for pick up. It is late for 35 minutes. Since we are tourists, a bit worry wait at the wrong place.

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Tel Aviv

Andrea M

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Jerusalem

Michael M

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2016

Actual tour received was not the tour I had booked. I booked this tour expecting a visit to Masada and the Ein Gedi Nature Preserve. What I received was a shorter than expected visit to Masada, NO visit to Ein Gedi, an unexpected stop at a Dead Sea cosmetic factory, and an unexpected visit to the Dead Sea. This tour is falsely advertised! The visit to Ein Gedi was scrubbed because of a potential for flash flooding. On returning to Tel Aviv our driver was going to drop us off a couple of blocks from our hotel in the rain. This we refused and insisted on being taken to our hotel, which is in accordance with what is stipulated in the purchase price of the tour. We did not receive what was advertised.

Doing what: Masada and Ein Gedi Nature Reserve Day Trip from Tel Aviv

Sergio M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Very good tour!! The Tour Guides were very knowledgeable and had a great sense of humor. I always my tours with Viator when I travel.

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Tel Aviv

Sharon B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Great experience travelling with a guide that has a thorough knowledge of the country.

Doing what: Private Tour: Masada and Dead Sea Day Trip from Jerusalem

KARL MANUEL V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Fantastic tour with our wonderful tour guide Talia. Masada is a must see for everyone visiting Israel as it is truly a stunning historical and geographical side. The one downside to the tour, and most tours with this company, are the small buses, which seemed to be made for midgets, as they were very uncomfortable for anyone over 180cm.

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Tel Aviv

Markus P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Very interesting tour, very well organised except that the pick-up in Jerusalem was late, but I blame that on traffic. We had an amazing guide called Ohad, very sweet, very helpful, very knowledgeable. Would do it again. I only wished the bus would have stopped more often for picture-taking, the scenery along the way is stunning.

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Jerusalem

dagiles2

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Masada is exceptional! Walking the site, learning the history, and soaking in the views made for wonderful morning. Our guide provided great context to understand the site. After lunch, we drove to the Dead Sea. We had ample time to swim/float and relax before driving back. I gave this a score of 4 instead of 5 because there was a lack of communication about timing - when lunch would end, when to meet after the Dead Sea - that left us wondering and a bit confused. A few extra comments - 1 I was picked up by a taxi in the morning and taken to a common meeting point where all tours operated by the company depart. We then left in a van to proceed with the tour. 2 There was a food court at Masada where people in the tour were encouraged to grab lunch. Prices ranged from 30-100NIS. 3 Individuals were dropped of at their hotels or the airport after the tour.

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Jerusalem

Pedro F

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

The guide, Riki, was very good but the trip itself is no to interesting as we had thought... I thought there are more roman remnants in Masada.

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Tel Aviv

Janine M

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

The guide knew a lot. It was in spanish and english. Again the english part was first. I have a daugther and it was too hot. Due to the english part we have to wait all the time under the sun. She started feeling bad. The guide should have take that in account.

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Jerusalem

Mallfever8

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2016

It was extremely hot in the Masada. I feel this tour should be done in the morning instead of at 1:00 when it is 107 F. You could eleminate the tourist gift shops and make them later in the day. The Dead Sea was definitely an experience , bring beach closed in shoes to walk into the water with and on the sand . Bring soap for the shower you will need to wash off and a towel. Bring lots of sun screen for the day.

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Tel Aviv

Joan United States of ... 

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2016

The guide Hava was probably the worst guide we've ever had. She was rude to the passengers and was more concerned about her own wellbeing as opposed to the travelers. This was clearly the Tour from Hell. First, we were told about 20 minutes into the tour and after we left that we would not be able to go to Ein Gedi, one of the reasons we took the tour. She said it was flooded but my husband called the site and found out it was in fact open. We then had to spend an hour at the Dead Sea with nothing to be able to appreciate it as we did not think we were gong there so brought no swinsuit, etc. instead we were stuck sitting outside with a multitude of bugs. The tour of Masada was poor at best. She seemed to know very little about it and instead kept referring the group to a Hollywood movie for her explanations, and in many cases, she was wrong. Instead of actually seeing The Who,ecsite she made us go back down early because she was hungry so we missed important parts of the normal tour as she did not covered only about 3/4 of the site. Other guides we heard while walking the site had a far better tour than what we got. Finally, she put herself over her group. One family was the only one from Tel Aviv on the tour others were all from Jerusalem. She was unaware that they had no way back to Tel Aviv and then in the next breath said she was getting off the bus soon so she could go back to Tel Aviv at the same time as the family was wondering how they were going to get home but was making little attempt to give this family her slot. Eventually it all worked out but only after the group started speaking out. She is the worst! You need to do better and get people who are knowledgeable and experienced on the sites they guide that was not the case here. A major disappointment for all of us on that tour.

Doing what: Masada and Ein Gedi Nature Reserve Day Trip from Jerusalem

Steve A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great guide. Masada story amazing. Enjoyable trip.

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Jerusalem

Caspian

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

It was very hot, but I enjoyed the experience

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Tel Aviv

Suri K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Liat is a fantastic guide who is very passionate about her job. She ensured we thoroughly enjoyed the tour. The bus captain and Liat even made pit stops along the way to capture some memorable pictures. I will definitely book other tours with her team when I am back to Israel.

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Tel Aviv

Scott F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Excellent day!!!! Rotem and Gutman were superb guide and driver.

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Tel Aviv

Gavin R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

the tour guide was telling very interesting stories and in interesting way: his mane is Manu i think

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Tel Aviv

Cameron J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great tour. Masada was by far the highlight for me. The only negative is that the tour was in English and Spanish so everything had to be repeated twice... This definately added to the time on top of the mountain and cut into our Dead Sea time.

The Dead Sea was interesting as a place you have to say you have seen before it disappears completely but the spa we stopped at certainly didn't give off a luxury vibe. As mentioned above, we didn't end up having much time at The Dead Sea because we took so much time at Masada. That worked for me but I know people were disappointed they didn't have a bit more time to float and do the mud treatments. I was happy just to dip my feet in for 10 minutes... Which did wonders for my dried and cracked feet!!!

One tip for the Dead Sea part of the tour is to bring cheap flip flops that you don't mind getting salt on... The shoreline and the surface under the water is totally crystallized and painful to walk on with bare feet.

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Tel Aviv

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message