The incredible fortress of Masada, located in the astonishing Judean Desert near the Dead Sea, has been symbolic to the Israeli people since the Roman era, symbolizing bravery and self-sacrifice in the face of adversity. The plateau is surrounded ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 527 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Eva Iceland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

The trip was wonderful, but we needed more time to stay at the Dead Sea, but everything else was wonderful.

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Jerusalem

Vlad C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

This was amazing. I paid for a Masada trip and I got so much more. My guide was Amir, and if you have the opportunity to get him as guide, do it. It changed my view of Israel and made me love this country. He is a very smart man with a very big love for life and you will notice that as soon as you see him. On knowledge - 10.
PS. Do not dare to leave this man out of sight while doing the guided trip of Masada. You will regret it.

Thank you Amir.
Vlad C.

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Tel Aviv

Michael L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Masada is a must see if you go to Israel. Our guide was Norbert, he was wonderful. Very knowledgeable and friendly, he tailored the tour to the group. We were a mixed group with French and English speakers and he was able to handle this very well. I never felt as if we were getting less of an explanation because he was interpreting for two languages. Time actually spent on Masada was adequate, as was the time spent at the Dead Sea. We did make stops at the Ahava store, where you could buy products if you wished, but my husband and I spent the time getting a snack and coffee. We never felt pressure to purchase. All in all a great tour, with a great guide, at a fair price point.

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Tel Aviv

Lilli Mary S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The Masada and Dead Sea tour was wonderful. Our tour guide was very informative. She gave a very good account of the history of the Masada rebels. The view from the top of Masada was fantastic.
When we got to the Dead Sea, my son and I wasted no time in changing into our swimwear therefore we got to spend quite a bit of time in the water and covering ourselves with the rich mud.
I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Tel Aviv

dessymed Bulgaria

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Joan S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Excellent tour and guide, Amir! He was very detailed on the history of Masada, and used a lot of visuals as well. Would highly recommend seeing this area of Israel including a swim in the Dead Sea!

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Jerusalem

Leona R Canada

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Well organized and punctual. A safe driver and a well informed guide. A disruption to our schedule caused by a major accident on the highway ahead of us was well handled. I would recommend this tour to anyone.

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Tel Aviv

gxn Brasil

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Fantastic view, but we missed the sunrise because of the weather conditions. The tour guy was awesome. I recommend this trip.

Doing what: Masada Sunrise, Ein Gedi and Dead Sea Trip from Jerusalem

Matt L

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Good tour worth the workout.

Doing what: Masada Sunrise, Ein Gedi and Dead Sea Trip from Jerusalem

Edward E

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

I've enjoyed the Masada tour, but there was an accident on our way to the Dead Sea, and we arrived there late, in the dark, and it was pretty cold. Also the dead sea beach was pretty shabby. I would suggest flipping the itinerary around and do the Dead Sea before Masada.

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Tel Aviv

edward.dragonetti Brasil

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Excelente roteiro com grupo reduzido e guia atencioso. A disposição, atenção e conhecimento do guia fizeram a diferença.

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Jerusalem

Jerome B

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

pretty amazing trip, though I found the tour is too long at mesada. on the way there you get different views of the dead sea and dunes, would have been nice if the driver stopped at a few of these spots on the road for us to take pics. Dead sea was good.

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Jerusalem

Tadashi K

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

You can explain what you want, as you expected.

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Jerusalem

Bridget S

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

More of a 2.5 star than a 3, but there doesn't seem to be a half star option. Masada was great and the driver was great, but it was a gong show getting to the tour bus including a taxi driver who was sent to get me when the bus couldn't get to me because of some accident and expected me to know where to tell him to take me. Sort of scary when you're in a foreign city and don't speak any Hebrew and are dropped at what looks like a University with no tour bus in sight. After that misadventure, and finding the right bus around the corner in a whole sting of buses, we were off. The camel stop was ok, the second stop at the Dead Sea cosmetics outlet seemed unnecessary when I discovered later that they had the same products at the gift shop at Masada. Masada was excellent, truly memorable, and our guide knew what he was talking about, so we had a very good tour there. However, because we started late and there was obviously no attempt to make up the time anywhere, by the time we got to the Dead Sea and had changed and had found where the trucks to take us to the water were, we had about five minutes in the water before we were told that we beach was closing and had to run to take the last truck back to the change rooms. Most of us hadn't even had a chance to find the mud. There was no attempt to make up for the mishaps of the morning in any way. I would have appreciated a free drink and snack or something along those lines. Our guide sort of apologized, as in sorry for this morning but it wasn't my fault so I wasn't impressed there. The driver was great and super polite and friendly though. I'd take a different tour company next time to see the Dead Sea, like really see it. Tip: bring flip flops to wear in the water because the crystallized salt is as sharp as glass.

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Jerusalem

Nancy M

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

Yael, our tri-lingual guide, was fantastic. We were especially interested in Ein Geri but didn't get dropped off there until 3 pm. The guard didn't want to sell us tickets because they ask people to leave at 3:30and close at 4 pm. We argued our way in and had to rush to the first sight. Despite running we weren't able to make it to the upper waterfall. Staff at Ein Gedi made us leave the grounds and stand out in the street waiting for the bus to pick us up. The 5 of us on the tour for Ein Gedi felt that part of the reason we were so late being dropped off was because we were on a Spanish/ English tour. Everything had to be said twice which took twice as long. This also rushed us ridiculously through lunch. We enjoyed the Masada and our tour but felt slighted on what we wanted to be the focus of our excursion. Viator should not combine Spanish/English tours without informing customers and should not combine Ein Gedi customers on a bus with those interested in the Dead Sea.

Doing what: Masada and Ein Gedi Nature Reserve Day Trip from Jerusalem

Margit B

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2017

Is was a bad Tour guide and a disapointing Tour.
It ended before the time we payed for. An 8 hours Tour made in 4 hours. NOT good

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Jerusalem

Leslie S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Our tour guide Ari was great. He was very knowledgeable and helpful. Everything ran smoothly. It was a little cold at the Dead Sea, but not anyone's fault!

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Jerusalem

Elise F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

The tour was great. Very informative. It is a long day. But worth it. Get there before the Dead Sea is ruined!

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Tel Aviv

tim

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

A very good tour and worth the visit, The driver was very good, The guide was very good Charlie
The Tour was not to bad walking around and not over taxing, I would suggest taking water.

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Jerusalem

Catarina L

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

The trip was very well organized but the time in the Dead Sea was not enough to enjoy it without being in a rush.

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Tel Aviv

rmezzara

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

Wonderful trip. The guide was knowledgeable and provided good insight into the current state of events in Israel. The restaurant at the Masada was crowded and somewhat disorganized but the best of the situation was made. The dead sea was very crowded that day but we did get into the water and it was wonderful.

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Jerusalem

very1225

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

it was a great trip, the place is amazing and our guide Charlie is very knowledgeable.
but there were so many stops to changed passengers from one car to another, from one place to another....it was a bit waste of time.
otherwise, recommended!

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Tel Aviv

SILVANO Z

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2016

we didn't see anything

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Tel Aviv

gabriel.enache11

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

The wonderful views from the top of the mountain at Massada, the heroic history of the Massada rebels and the unique experience of floating in the Dead Sea makes for a great one day trip from Tel Aviv.

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Tel Aviv

Dkrigstin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

The Dead Sea was amazing!

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Jerusalem

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message