The incredible fortress of Masada, located in the astonishing Judean Desert near the Dead Sea, has been symbolic to the Israeli people since the Roman era, symbolizing bravery and self-sacrifice in the face of adversity. The plateau is surrounded ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 521 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Lilli Mary S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The Masada and Dead Sea tour was wonderful. Our tour guide was very informative. She gave a very good account of the history of the Masada rebels. The view from the top of Masada was fantastic.
When we got to the Dead Sea, my son and I wasted no time in changing into our swimwear therefore we got to spend quite a bit of time in the water and covering ourselves with the rich mud.
I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Tel Aviv

dessymed Bulgaria

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Leona R Canada

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Well organized and punctual. A safe driver and a well informed guide. A disruption to our schedule caused by a major accident on the highway ahead of us was well handled. I would recommend this tour to anyone.

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Tel Aviv

gxn Brasil

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Fantastic view, but we missed the sunrise because of the weather conditions. The tour guy was awesome. I recommend this trip.

Doing what: Masada Sunrise, Ein Gedi and Dead Sea Trip from Jerusalem

Matt L

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Good tour worth the workout.

Doing what: Masada Sunrise, Ein Gedi and Dead Sea Trip from Jerusalem

Edward E

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

I've enjoyed the Masada tour, but there was an accident on our way to the Dead Sea, and we arrived there late, in the dark, and it was pretty cold. Also the dead sea beach was pretty shabby. I would suggest flipping the itinerary around and do the Dead Sea before Masada.

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Tel Aviv

Tadashi K

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

You can explain what you want, as you expected.

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Jerusalem

Bridget S

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

More of a 2.5 star than a 3, but there doesn't seem to be a half star option. Masada was great and the driver was great, but it was a gong show getting to the tour bus including a taxi driver who was sent to get me when the bus couldn't get to me because of some accident and expected me to know where to tell him to take me. Sort of scary when you're in a foreign city and don't speak any Hebrew and are dropped at what looks like a University with no tour bus in sight. After that misadventure, and finding the right bus around the corner in a whole sting of buses, we were off. The camel stop was ok, the second stop at the Dead Sea cosmetics outlet seemed unnecessary when I discovered later that they had the same products at the gift shop at Masada. Masada was excellent, truly memorable, and our guide knew what he was talking about, so we had a very good tour there. However, because we started late and there was obviously no attempt to make up the time anywhere, by the time we got to the Dead Sea and had changed and had found where the trucks to take us to the water were, we had about five minutes in the water before we were told that we beach was closing and had to run to take the last truck back to the change rooms. Most of us hadn't even had a chance to find the mud. There was no attempt to make up for the mishaps of the morning in any way. I would have appreciated a free drink and snack or something along those lines. Our guide sort of apologized, as in sorry for this morning but it wasn't my fault so I wasn't impressed there. The driver was great and super polite and friendly though. I'd take a different tour company next time to see the Dead Sea, like really see it. Tip: bring flip flops to wear in the water because the crystallized salt is as sharp as glass.

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Jerusalem

Nancy M

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

Yael, our tri-lingual guide, was fantastic. We were especially interested in Ein Geri but didn't get dropped off there until 3 pm. The guard didn't want to sell us tickets because they ask people to leave at 3:30and close at 4 pm. We argued our way in and had to rush to the first sight. Despite running we weren't able to make it to the upper waterfall. Staff at Ein Gedi made us leave the grounds and stand out in the street waiting for the bus to pick us up. The 5 of us on the tour for Ein Gedi felt that part of the reason we were so late being dropped off was because we were on a Spanish/ English tour. Everything had to be said twice which took twice as long. This also rushed us ridiculously through lunch. We enjoyed the Masada and our tour but felt slighted on what we wanted to be the focus of our excursion. Viator should not combine Spanish/English tours without informing customers and should not combine Ein Gedi customers on a bus with those interested in the Dead Sea.

Doing what: Masada and Ein Gedi Nature Reserve Day Trip from Jerusalem

Margit B

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2017

Is was a bad Tour guide and a disapointing Tour.
It ended before the time we payed for. An 8 hours Tour made in 4 hours. NOT good

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Jerusalem

Leslie S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Our tour guide Ari was great. He was very knowledgeable and helpful. Everything ran smoothly. It was a little cold at the Dead Sea, but not anyone's fault!

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Jerusalem

Elise F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

The tour was great. Very informative. It is a long day. But worth it. Get there before the Dead Sea is ruined!

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Tel Aviv

tim

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

A very good tour and worth the visit, The driver was very good, The guide was very good Charlie
The Tour was not to bad walking around and not over taxing, I would suggest taking water.

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Jerusalem

Catarina L

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

The trip was very well organized but the time in the Dead Sea was not enough to enjoy it without being in a rush.

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Tel Aviv

rmezzara

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

Wonderful trip. The guide was knowledgeable and provided good insight into the current state of events in Israel. The restaurant at the Masada was crowded and somewhat disorganized but the best of the situation was made. The dead sea was very crowded that day but we did get into the water and it was wonderful.

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Jerusalem

very1225

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

it was a great trip, the place is amazing and our guide Charlie is very knowledgeable.
but there were so many stops to changed passengers from one car to another, from one place to another....it was a bit waste of time.
otherwise, recommended!

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Tel Aviv

SILVANO Z

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2016

we didn't see anything

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Tel Aviv

gabriel.enache11

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

The wonderful views from the top of the mountain at Massada, the heroic history of the Massada rebels and the unique experience of floating in the Dead Sea makes for a great one day trip from Tel Aviv.

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Tel Aviv

Dkrigstin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

The Dead Sea was amazing!

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Jerusalem

Gursharan K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

A truly enjoyable and interesting day trip to the fortress of Masada, overlooking the Dead Sea. The pick-up and drop-off was convenient and on time and the trip was extremely well-organized, made all the more enjoyable by our guide Rotem, who kept us constantly informed about the sights and the excursion destinations. Both destinations of Masada and Dead Sea are extremely popular so be prepared to share these places with coachloads of other visitors. Having said that, this does not ruin one's own enjoyment in any way! The fortress at Masada turned out to be fascinating, with a fascinating history and a breath-taking location. The tour around the fortress requires a fair bit of walking so comfortable walking shoes are recommended as is a bottle of water. There is a water supply on site so bottles can be re-filled. Walking around the place is not strenuous but do be prepared for some rough ground. The location of the fortress on top of the mesa means that there are opportunities for taking lovely images of the surrounding landscape with the Dead Sea in the distance. The tour of Masada ends at the cafe and this was packed! I'd suggest carrying a packed lunch to avoid the long lines in the cafe more time could be spent at the on-site store or taking photos! The Dead Sea did not disappoint either. It gets fairly busy but the resort is such that coach loads of people disperse and it doesn't feel packed. The tour allowed plenty of time at Dead Sea for a dip and a rest. There is a self-service restaurant as well as other food and drink outlets as well as a souvenir store. For those who have forgotten to carry their swim suits, etc., the store stocks these! Both Masada and Dead Sea were great but I favored Masada over Dead Sea and would have favored more time there. However, that's a personal choice. All in all, a great trip and well worth the money.

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Jerusalem

SEE WAI C

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

The coach has a long delay for pick up. It is late for 35 minutes. Since we are tourists, a bit worry wait at the wrong place.

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Tel Aviv

Andrea M

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Jerusalem

Michael M

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2016

Actual tour received was not the tour I had booked. I booked this tour expecting a visit to Masada and the Ein Gedi Nature Preserve. What I received was a shorter than expected visit to Masada, NO visit to Ein Gedi, an unexpected stop at a Dead Sea cosmetic factory, and an unexpected visit to the Dead Sea. This tour is falsely advertised! The visit to Ein Gedi was scrubbed because of a potential for flash flooding. On returning to Tel Aviv our driver was going to drop us off a couple of blocks from our hotel in the rain. This we refused and insisted on being taken to our hotel, which is in accordance with what is stipulated in the purchase price of the tour. We did not receive what was advertised.

Doing what: Masada and Ein Gedi Nature Reserve Day Trip from Tel Aviv

Sergio M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Very good tour!! The Tour Guides were very knowledgeable and had a great sense of humor. I always my tours with Viator when I travel.

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Tel Aviv

Sharon B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Great experience travelling with a guide that has a thorough knowledge of the country.

Doing what: Private Tour: Masada and Dead Sea Day Trip from Jerusalem

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message