The Dead Sea is the second saltiest major body of water on earth, and it is this hyper-salinity, which causes swimmers to be super-buoyant within it, that makes it one of Israel’s major attractions. The Dead Sea lies 1,312 feet below sea level and ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 161 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Scott R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Very good day tour to Jerusalem and the Dead Sea, and our guide Eyal was fantastic. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Highlights of Israel Day Trip from Tel Aviv: Jerusalem and the Dead Sea

Cameron J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great tour. Masada was by far the highlight for me. The only negative is that the tour was in English and Spanish so everything had to be repeated twice... This definately added to the time on top of the mountain and cut into our Dead Sea time.

The Dead Sea was interesting as a place you have to say you have seen before it disappears completely but the spa we stopped at certainly didn't give off a luxury vibe. As mentioned above, we didn't end up having much time at The Dead Sea because we took so much time at Masada. That worked for me but I know people were disappointed they didn't have a bit more time to float and do the mud treatments. I was happy just to dip my feet in for 10 minutes... Which did wonders for my dried and cracked feet!!!

One tip for the Dead Sea part of the tour is to bring cheap flip flops that you don't mind getting salt on... The shoreline and the surface under the water is totally crystallized and painful to walk on with bare feet.

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Tel Aviv

Elisa B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Amazing trip. Floating in the Dead Sea, covered in mud, is reallyb a must-do experience! And Masada too, despite the heat, was really awesome.

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Tel Aviv

JULIE M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I highly recommend doing the day trip from Tel Aviv to Jerusalem and the Dead Sea! It was such an incredible historical and cultural experience to go one of the oldest cities in the world! Our tour guide, Amir Call, was brilliant! If you have the opportunity to pick your tour guide, you should request Amir Call. He was knowledgable and gave great insight to the culture, history, religions, languages and overall background of Israel in a way that we could understand and connect. He gave a very well-rounded outlook about Jerusalem and Israel as a whole. The Dead Sea was also incredible! Brilliant experience! I would love to do this trip again!

Doing what: Highlights of Israel Day Trip from Tel Aviv: Jerusalem and the Dead Sea

Irene T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our tour guide Amir C Or was the main reason this tour deserved full 5 stars. He was funny, very knowledgeable and an incredible story teller. Jerusalem was amazing, the Dead Sea was too hot so we could not stay too long in the sea

Doing what: Highlights of Israel Day Trip from Tel Aviv: Jerusalem and the Dead Sea

Ivana V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The trip was amazing! Nice guide, pleasant places, everything fine. : We spend about 4 hours in old city of Jerusalem and then about 1.5 hours enjoying the Dead sea salty water...nice :

Doing what: Highlights of Israel Day Trip from Tel Aviv: Jerusalem and the Dead Sea

Damian K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Well organised. Over 12 hours. Eventual delays did not resulted in shorter time at the Dead Sea 2h.
The guide have had sufficient knowledge, told interesting stories and was passionate about it.

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Tel Aviv

SUSAN C United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

A long day but well worth it. The tour guide was the best. He gave us so much information and it was so interesting. Must make sure you take hat, water, sun cream and flip flops or similar for the Dead Sea which was fun.

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Tel Aviv

Adina P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

So much history. You can still see where the Romans surrounded the last Jewish rebel base. It and #39;s like Star Wars if the Imperials won, but such courage on the part of the Israelites.
The Dead Sea may be the world and #39;s foremost ugliest beach, but it and #39;s funny to see people mudded up.

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Tel Aviv

Martin G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Excellent trip generally.

Unlike some of your reviewers I found the Elvis stop very useful.

However, I would have appreciated also stopping to take photos of where the Dead Sea Scrolls were found.

I assume that there is no alternative to the place we stopped at on the Dead Sea but was very crowded and noisy.

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Tel Aviv

nelson p

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Outstanding tour. Amir as a tour guide was energetic throughout the entire tour. Definitely made you feel welcome. His vast knowledge of the Israel to include Jerusalem and the Dead Sea will keep you constantly engaged. Would definitely recommend the tour especially if Amir is your tour guide.

Doing what: Highlights of Israel Day Trip from Tel Aviv: Jerusalem and the Dead Sea

Ponciano T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Highly recommended tour. Tour guide was very helpful and knowledgeable. Massada is breathtakingly beautiful. The Dead Sea part of the tour is fun. Take time to enjoy swimming/floating in the dead sea!

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Tel Aviv

Grant R United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

A really great tour, spent the morning in Masada and afternoon at the Dead Sea.
Ron the tour guide was brilliant and so knowledgeable.
Tour group consisted of friendly, similar-aged persons.
No more than 16 persons were on our tour and we went in a 16 seater nicely aircon van.
Very comfy. Made some new friends on the tour.
Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Tel Aviv

Sophia C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

great tour - our tour was awesome. wish we spent more time at the dead sea though.

Doing what: Highlights of Israel Day Trip from Tel Aviv: Jerusalem and the Dead Sea

Ida Margrethe E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Wanting to see more of Israel than just our base in Tel Aviv, we booked the Masada and Dead Sea - tour before departing. This tour turned out to be - in a word - FANTASTIC! It was very well organized from Tel Aviv, the bus was comfortable and our tour guide Yael was amazing. She showed great skill in talking about the history of Masada and the significance to Israelis today. The sight itself was very impressive, interesting and tourist - friendly. One note: Take care of the heat and bring lots of water. The sun and heat is treacherous, even in March people with light / Nordic skin such as ourselves can get burned to a crisp! Our guide took good care of us in that respect as well. After Masada it was time for a drive to a beach facility and a dip in the Dead Sea. The facilities were very nice and clean and the swim in the sea itself was memorable for lack of a better word. I had to literally drag my teenagers out of the water when it was time to leave! Arriving late at night in Tel Aviv taxis had been pre-arranged by the tour guides to take all of us to our individual hotels. One of those little things you really value after a long day of sun and beach. This tour is highly recommended, if you wish to combine a history lesson with a therapeutic mud bath!

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Tel Aviv

Mark W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The pick up was a little delayed and the link up site with all of the buses was a little chaotic but it was fine. I am just over 6' tall and the mini-van was a little too mini for the long drive out to Masada. The content itself is great. So much history and great story at Masada, the dead sea is a once in a lifetime experience. Recommend bringing some type of water shoe to make it easier to walk down to the water. Our guide was great and watched all of our bags. Nothing felt too rushed. A great tour that I would recommend to others for sure.

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Tel Aviv

anita v

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was a lot of fun, despite the rain. I was thinking of doing only the Dead Sea tour, but now I know I made the right decisions. Masada is very interesting, doesn't take too long, there are great views and you can learn a lot about history of the area. Make sure you have a sweater for the bus--it can get pretty cool with the air conditioning.. And do not let the Dead Sea water get to your face and eyes! Our guide, Eyal, was really great, understated but knowledgeable. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Tel Aviv

Andyosborn

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This trip was a great way to see both the old Jerusalem and Dead Sea in one day. Our guide was excellent and gave both an historical narrative as well as some contemporary thoughts. Excellent trip and would highly recommend it! Make sure you give your guide a good tip at the end. Our guide Eli definitely earned his!

Doing what: Highlights of Israel Day Trip from Tel Aviv: Jerusalem and the Dead Sea

Ben

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This tour is highly recommended you see beautiful places. a must see the dead sea very healthy. Tour bus operators are very professional

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Tel Aviv

NATALIE A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

It's great that you are picked up and dropped off at your hotel. The tour guide knows his history and is very friendly. This has a ton of history. The Dead Sea is not possible to drown for those people that can't swim. The best time of the year to do this tour is between late October - February because it's not to hot on top of Masada and the Dead is at perfect temperatures. Great tour and worth the money.

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Tel Aviv

Graniel G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This tour was a great day! Masada is quite breathtaking! And the Dead Sea, amazing! Our guide, Amir, was very informative. I recommend this highly!

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Tel Aviv

Bryan L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Amir, our tour guide was very friendly and extremely knowledgeable. We had a great time going to Jerusalem and the Dead Sea and I would highly recommend the tour to just about anyone.

Doing what: Highlights of Israel Day Trip from Tel Aviv: Jerusalem and the Dead Sea

Madison M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Loved the tour guide, Moses, he was the man! So knowledgeable, open to questions, and funny! Obviously you won't get to see everything in the Old City of Jerusalem, but it was the right amount for me. Got to go in through the Jewish Quarter, visit the Wailing Wall, go through the Christian Quarter, see the Church. Then over to the Dead Sea for 2 hours, again for a day tour of trying to get everything in, it was great!

Doing what: Highlights of Israel Day Trip from Tel Aviv: Jerusalem and the Dead Sea

Jonathan W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

perfect day tour!! spent the right amount of time at masada and dead sea...and great tour guides! very knowledgeable....would recommend this for young, married, single, and the elderly. Excellent tour.

Doing what: Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Tel Aviv

Steven R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

I had an AWESOME tour guide. He was very passionate about the history of Jerusalem and gave us great insight about the area. We were given more than enough time to explore the area and the Dead Sea was an experience of a lifetime. I was in a small group so all of our questions were answered about biblical sites. I would definitely do this tour again if given the opportunity.

Doing what: Highlights of Israel Day Trip from Tel Aviv: Jerusalem and the Dead Sea

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message