Gorgeous beaches, spectacular coast, surf, dolphins, sunshine, plus castles and countryside. What’s not to love about Portugal’s playground, The Algarve? Well, the crowds of tourists for one. In peak season, from July to September, the Portuguese ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 126 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

robert c

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Finally we got around to visiting a winery, but the way we got there was even better. We booked a tour through Viator now owned by Trip Advisor, which is owned by Wyndam with Delfem Martins who operates Bike My Side out of Portimao. He has an Ural bike with a side car Russian made and one person rides in the sidecar while the other rides behind Delfim. He has a handle in front of the seat behind him so there is no need to hug him as you wheel around the area, a fact that Delfim appreciated when he found out it would be me riding on the back and Kris in the side car. It was classic! We first went for a ride around the area with Delfim giving us tidbits about the history and the area, and then to a winery owned by a German sculptor. All in all he owned 62 acres of land with his work scattered among the grapes. All of the wines are estate wines and our tasting was private. We had a great time talking wine and laughing about cultural differences. After tasting nine different wines I was glad not to be driving. They were all good to excellent and we purchased three bottles. We next headed back to Portimao and rode through parts of the old town with Delfem talking about the history of the area. It was then on to a place that sells canned fish. Here we had a large toasted slice of rustic bread covered with tomatoes, garlic and olive oil with mackerel and sardines on top. This was served with a large salad and a glass of wine. The lady who ran the establishment spent time talking to us about a variety of things yes, politics was part of it, which was a re-run of all the other political discussions we have had. When we finished we headed out to the beach for the sunset, but the clouds that had moved in spoiled that. Still, cruising along in the dusk and driving right out on an overlook of the beaches without having to get off the bike was really great. After this, because where we were staying was on his way home, Delfim dropped us off at our door. What was supposed to be a three-hour tour had turned into over four hours. It was the best tour I have been on and, to barrow the Nike slogan Just Do It! For more information about the area go to their website

Doing what: Private Tour: Algarve Wine and Tapas Tour by Sidecar Motorcycle from Portimao

Erika S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

It was more than marvelous. High recomendable. We got in to the aves and we also saw the dolphins.

Doing what: Caves and Dolphin Watching Cruise from Albufeira

Elaine N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Loved it, the dolphins came right up beside our boat and the caves were fantastic. Got to see the beautiful coastline and hidden beaches. Amazing

Doing what: Caves and Dolphin Watching Cruise from Albufeira

R F C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

A great adventure. Took my two disabled sons, they loved it. Would happily do this again

Doing what: Caves and Dolphin Watching Cruise from Albufeira

Anu A Estonia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Really exciting tour, even if it wasn't the warmest weather in the end of October. We managed to see dolphins and a sea turtle. Caves and whole coast line are just amazing!

Doing what: Caves and Dolphin Watching Cruise from Albufeira

Paddy R

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

the trip was very nice, the travel time was a little on the long side. was good to get a quick half day tour for a taste of Lisbon. it would need two or more days to visit the city properly. the Bus tour staff were very good and efficient.

Doing what: Lisbon Day Trip from the Algarve

Akila R

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Convenient tour which gives you a quick overview of The place.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Albufeira Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Amarjit B

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2016

We were really disappointed with this trip. We didn't see any dolphins but that's fine as these are wild animals and it's to be expected. Although I do wonder how many people actually get to see dolphins?. What was really disappointing was the cave tour, I was really looking forward to exploring the caves, but we only went inside one and the rest we passed at almost breakneck speed. As we were going past these caves so fast, it became quite boring as all the caves pretty much looked the same and once you've seen one you've seen them all.

Not for us.

Doing what: Caves and Dolphin Watching Cruise from Albufeira

ian.pepall

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2016

This was one of the dullest bus tours I have ever been on. Albufeira is a lovely place with loads going for it but as a venue for a bus tour it has little to offer. I would stick to the beach activities, restaurants and shops if I were you.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Albufeira Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Paul H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Utterly brilliant!! The caves and beaches are stunning as was the boat ride out to sea to search for Dolphins we were fortunate not only to see them but also a giant turtle
Would definitely recommend this trip!!!!!

Doing what: Caves and Dolphin Watching Cruise from Albufeira

Andrew p

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Absolutely brilliant

Doing what: Algarve Jet Boat Tour from Albufeira

Matthew B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

A lot of fun, and super comfortable! Delphin was a great guide with a ton of insight about Portimao and the surrounding area. We visited one winery and stopped into a little restaurant for a tapas style lunch. While I would have hoped for another food stop although we did go to the market, but it was Tuesday so not busy, this was a fantastic tour that I'll recommend to friends travelling to the area for sure

Doing what: Private Tour: Algarve Wine and Tapas Tour by Sidecar Motorcycle from Portimao

Dan M

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2016

Great for getting out of Salgados into Albufiera but that's about it ... stops at the most
ridiculous places including a empty run down hotel complex that's up for sale , also the bus is almost too big for some of the very narrow streets on the route

Doing what: City Sightseeing Albufeira Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Anita L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Excellent tour
Good fun for all age groups
Well worth the money

Doing what: 'Leaozinho' Pirate Ship Cruise from Albufeira

dgaine59

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We had a great time - very pleaseant and knowlegable guide, took us to vineyard and then for delicious tapas with lots of interesting stops on the way. A fun, enjoyable way to spend an afternoon - highly recommend!

Doing what: Private Tour: Algarve Wine and Tapas Tour by Sidecar Motorcycle from Portimao

Carl G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Highly recommend this. Was a great experience and we were lucky enough to see dolphins not far off our boat. The caves are beautiful and the boat goes up inside some of them. Would do this tour again.

Doing what: Caves and Dolphin Watching Cruise from Albufeira

melanie m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Exhilerating ride and dolphins too!

Doing what: Caves and Dolphin Watching Cruise from Albufeira

toptag

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Interessante Rundfahrt an der beeindruckenden Küstenlinie entlang. Delphine haben wir auch gesehen. Jederzeit wieder!

Doing what: Caves and Dolphin Watching Cruise from Albufeira

Susan L

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

The day was good but really hot at 45 degrees in Seville that day.
Driver and guide were very good and polite. I did feel that the three hours in Seville were not really long enough when you took out the time to find a lunch place and eat. If I was to go to Seville again, I would stay overnight and return the next day, allowing more time for shopping and sightseeing. I wanted to do the horse and cart trip around Seville, but did not have enough time since the experience was to take 50 minutes.

Doing what: Seville Day Trip from the Algarve

David W

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Great tour guide and well worth a try.

Doing what: Quarteira and Vilamoura Seaside Segway Tour

Niladri S

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2016

Total duration of trip7hrs actual sightseeing time2hrs the rest of the time is spent picking up and dropping off the passengers 3hrs and travelling2hrs. This tour is not a good value for money or time spent !!

Doing what: Lagos and Sagres Half-Day Tour from the Algarve

Andrew N

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2016

Sold as a Dolphin spotting experience, there was no effort made to find any. Didn't appreciate the accusing and patronising attitude from the staff because my daughter didn't want to go in the sea - there was a reason!

On a side note, I also didn't appreciate the constant pestering, via email, from Viator. I know when my trip is - I booked it! I don't need to be constantly reminded!

Doing what: 'Leaozinho' Pirate Ship Cruise from Albufeira

P u

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2016

No Dolphins seen, it was a very rocky ride and my child and I were very sick for the last hour . Not for people who get travel sickness.

Doing what: Caves and Dolphin Watching Cruise from Albufeira

Alexandra S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great experience! The tour guides were very friendly and experienced. The caves are breathtaking! Unfortunately, the dolphins didn't show up, but we still had a great time.

Doing what: Caves and Dolphin Watching Cruise from Albufeira

Mihaela R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Highly recommend trip. The guides are really helpful and know the area well. Really nice views

Doing what: 'Leaozinho' Pirate Ship Cruise from Albufeira

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message