Nestling in the embrace of York’s miraculously preserved wall is one of the great medieval town centers of Europe. You can walk the wall itself and then descend to the winding streets including the narrow Snickelways and the Shambles, now ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 126 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Bruce

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Easy to use no issues at all

Doing what: The York Pass

Angela F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our tour of England, Scotland and Wales. Our guide, Dave Neil was wonderful. He made history come alive and took the effort to make the trip a delight for everyone. He personalized the tour by playing music synched to the area Scottish music while in Scotland, Beetles when traveling to Liverpool, etc., and shared his favorite Deans shortbread cookies and specialty cheeses he picked up while in Chester. Our driver, Kevin was excellent and the rapport between them was fun. We were amazed at Kevins ability to maneuver the large bus through the narrow city streets. The bus was very clean, comfortable and roomy. Hotel accommodations were surprisingly high-end. Hilton, Radisson Blu, etc. and the breakfasts were fine. We had a great tour group of 35 from across the globe and wished we had more time to enjoy them.

Of the extra tours, we recommend the Liverpool tour and touring the castles. Most people think theyre all the same, but they are not. The tour of the Cardiff castle was a personal favorite. Without our tour guide, we would have missed the castles rich history and meaning of the decorative details of each room. The Edinburgh castle has a dramatic history and is in itself entirely different and distinct. We opted out of the Scottish dinner and decided to discover the city of Edinburgh. In short, our tour of the UK was simply excellent and were looking forward to exploring more of the world with Viator.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Britain Tour: Edinburgh, Stonehenge, York, Bath, and Cardiff from London

theaterlover

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2016

Town is small and walkable waste of money to purchase bus ticket not a good value.

Doing what: City Sightseeing York Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Wendy S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

A great way to see an overview of the City and then decide which bits you want to go back to. Drivers helpful and informative. Would definitely recommend this tour and try other cities as well.

Doing what: City Sightseeing York Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Anthony E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

I took my grandchildren aged 10 and 9 and they thoroughly enjoyed the experience. I would recommend using priority booking as we went to the front of the queue and only had to wait a short time before we were in the dungeon.

Doing what: Skip the Line: The York Dungeon

Carol L H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Everyone thoroughly enjoyed this experience. The staff at the entrance was wonderful and caring in explaining what to expect so that younger members of our group were comfortable entering the experience. The characters were excellent in portraying the roles. There was a good balance of expectation, unexpected and humor as well as facts about the history involved.

Doing what: Skip the Line: The York Dungeon

Adrienne R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed the tour. We hopped on and off 3 times, and all the drivers were pleasant and helpful. The recording was very informative, although it would be helpful if there were short pauses to allow for thinking!

Doing what: City Sightseeing York Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Tyree L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Loved it! Genuinely scary but in a giggly way. Be warned,I thought that I was going to have to take my 12 year old out at one point as she was so freaked out!

Doing what: Skip the Line: The York Dungeon

Colin M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was a great experience for our group of 6. It started with the guy in character outside who kept our party busy while one of our party went to use toilets elsewhere since there are none in the building. There was no line to skip as such since we arrived around 10 in the morning. The actors were definitely into their roles. We had a good time and learned a few things on the way. It's good that you are told up front that the actors will not touch you, since they made some dramatic scary up close and personal appearances at times when the lights have gone out.

Note that once you've done this, you will not get anything big out of it a second time. It is a smaller, but more enthusiastic version of the London Dungeon.

Doing what: Skip the Line: The York Dungeon

Mary H

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

We were only in York for a day, and felt seeing the city on this hop-on, hop-off bus was the most efficient way to see the highlights. The live guide, and also the recorded tour, were very interesting. This was clearly very popular, and it was sometimes difficult to squeeze back on the bus if we had gotten off at big tourist site.

Doing what: City Sightseeing York Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Linda Y

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

Great way to take a full tour of the City and then narrow down the places you want to explore in more depth.

Doing what: City Sightseeing York Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Angela G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Punctual buses, which were clean, tidy and comfortable. The commentary was enjoyable and informative with a touch of humor. The drivers were polite and friendly. Great experience all round.

Doing what: City Sightseeing York Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Chloe

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Skip the Line: The York Dungeon

Amelios K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I took my wife and two teenage daughters to The York Dungeon while on holiday in Yorkshire. We were looking for something to do on a cold, damp Summers day! This attraction was ideal, very informative well presented and fun. The actors who played various characters engaged the audience and kept everyone entertained. Maybe a little spooky in some places for very young children. Great fun.

Doing what: Skip the Line: The York Dungeon

Peter D

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Good use of an hour but not very scary. Gives some good stories.

Doing what: Skip the Line: The York Dungeon

Janet M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great experience, friendly drivers - so good we did the whole tour twice in one day!

Doing what: City Sightseeing York Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Glenda P Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great way to see and hear about all the history York has to offer. Fully recommend the tour

Doing what: City Sightseeing York Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

WNYNancy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

A great overview of York!

Doing what: City Sightseeing York Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

J Brent L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

While I have given this tour the 5 star highly-recommended rating, I would also point out that Viator doesn't get the credit, Insight Vacations the actual tour provider receives the accolades. Our booking confirmation from Viator stated a 7:15 am pickup in London on day one, with no mention of Insights involvement in the process. In fact Viator had stated if we had any issues we should contact their provider Evan Evans tours. No sign of a bus by 7:45...I call Evan Evans and they inform me they haven't worked with Viator in years. No contact info for Viator provided other than an email address.
Thinking at this point our tour is a bust, a bus pulls up just after 8:00 am from Insight and I'm relieved to find our names on their list. Poor and incorrect information from Viator will have me dealing directly with Insight in future. As for the tour, great work by our Insight director Brad Dick and driver Michael Elliot. Two top-notch professionals who kept us on track and made this quick tour one of the most interesting we've been on. A great sampler for those hoping to come back to Britain for a lengthier stay at one or more of these locations.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Britain Tour: Edinburgh, Stonehenge, York, Bath, and Cardiff from London

Ankit K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Value for money, should surely get one if you are visiting York.

Doing what: The York Pass

Mark E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Informative, interesting to myself, and my 11 and 6 year old...although upstairs in the open air essential and a great way to find out about some of the past of this beautiful historic city.

Doing what: City Sightseeing York Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

kim t

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Fantastic, great value for money as heaps of free entry to the attractions and discounts to lots of eatery's etc. What a beautiful place York is wish we had longer there.

Doing what: The York Pass

Michael R

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

We enjoyed the tour very much despite the long days on the bus. Cardiff was a waste as you arrive after the castle closes and there isn't much to do in the city. Our guide gave us 2 hours at Stonehenge which everyone agreed was too long while we could have used the time in Bath. Bus was comfortable and wifi worked for the most part. Our tour guide, Tom, was knowledgeable and accommodating..

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Britain Tour: Edinburgh, Stonehenge, York, Bath, and Cardiff from London

Kent R

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

We visited several venues and definetly got our money's worth. Castle Howard was our favorite and expensive without the York Pass.

Doing what: The York Pass

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message