Glencoe offers some of the finest landscape in Scotland, indeed the whole of the UK, where dramatic mountains sweep down to glens (valleys) until they meet the moody waters of the lochs. While this is a site of historical significance due to ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 2955 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

cain w

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Great tour but in winter you will miss out on scenery as the sun sets early just after 4pm. Excellent tour guide.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Michael F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

The tour was guided by Jonathan from Rabbies Tours. Jonathan had excellent historical knowledge of the Highlands with a great sense of humor. He blend of history and comic relief made the trip thoroughly enjoyable. In addition, Jonathan had choreographed music relevant to the area or subject matter that was a really nice touch. The beauty of the area speaks for itself. Plenty of stops along the way for bathroom breaks orbiters to eat/shopping! Highly recommended and be sure to ask to be in Jonathan's group!

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Muglich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Really nice day. Ewan did a really nice job. Very knowledgeable. Lots of beautiful stops. Long day but worth it. Got to see the Scottish Highlands, Fort Williams, etc. Fairly priced for sure. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small Group Day Trip from Glasgow

Kathleen R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

This was a great day trip. Our driver/guide Roger made it extra special with his interesting and humorous commentary. The scenery is beautiful and open country is a wonderful contrast to Edinburgh which was great. The long day is worth the trip. Days are short in the winter, which we knew, but would not have missed it. Rabbie's put together a fun and informative trip. We opted not to do the Loch Ness boat trip and had a relaxing lunch and a beer at The Bothy. Have to say the warm fire was much enjoyed! Would recommend this for anyone wanting a taste of the Highlands and rural Scotland.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

maddison c

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Really good long day tour , it was snowing and very interesting. great if you dont have much time and want to see everything,

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small Group Day Trip from Glasgow

Leah C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Had a great tour guide Barney and was one of my favorite things I've done so far as an abroad student.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Kate A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

This was an amazing tour. Highly recommended but be prepared for a long day. The tour was only a few minutes short of 12 hours. It was worth it though. There were a good number of sights to see, very interesting stops like that quaint city of Pitlochry and just enough perfectly timed stops for bathroom breaks. Our driver and guide, Stewart, was funny and very knowledgeable. He had great stories and made learning about Scotland fascinating. The traditional Scottish folk, celtic and more modern tunes during the ride made the entire tour a great sneak preview of Scotland.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small Group Day Trip from Glasgow

Harjyot T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Totally recommend if your into nice amazing scenic views. Tour guide was really good, the drive was nice. Had fun!! Worth the money....

Doing what: Scottish Highlands Day Trip from Edinburgh with Audio Guide

mrinalini.batra

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

This was the first trip I took with Viator and I was glad I had done so. The tour guide was amazing - at times, we had a little trouble following his scottish accent but it was otherwise fine. He was amazingly well-versed in History and gave us not only the commentary about the places we visited and passed through but also shared anecdotes which provided information about life in Scotland. His delivery kept us engrossed. I was most impressed by his stories which told us about how some well-known English phrases had come about.

Scotland was debating on Secession at the time and he also told us about the prevalent mood in the country. This trip led me to choose Viator in other countries. I have found them to be slightly expensive but safe and reliable.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

jianbing c

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

It's a trip much better than I expected. In one day we saw ducks swimming, seagulls gliding on peaceful loch, green mountains with snow, multiple castles, pretty sea port. Together with the wonderful music and tour guide, it's a trip which goes to the heart.

Highly recommend if you only have a couple of days to tour Scotland.

Doing what: West Highland Lochs, Glencoe and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Glasgow

Karis C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Did the overnight 2 day tour into the Highlands from Edinburgh with Rabbie and #39;s Tour Company. My trip to Scotland wouldn and #39;t have been complete without it. I and #39;m actually glad I did it in the winter as the snow on the mountains in the Highlands made it even more beautiful!

Very well rounded trip that included the Dalwhinnie whiskey distillery, stunning nature walk in the Hermitage forest, overnight stay in Inverness, time to do a cruise on Loch Ness and tour Urquart castle on the lake, and lots of photo ops in Glencoe and the Highlands. It was enough time to see all the highlights without feeling too rushed.

Our tour guide was Alan and he was phenomenal! Besides being an all around nice guy and knowledgeable tour guide, he has a gift of bringing his love of Scottish history to life via storytelling at its best. You not only feel like you just saw Scotland but that you traveled through Scottish history. Listening to Scottish history was like listening to a soap opera....it was that good.

This trip should not be missed!

Doing what: 2-Day Loch Ness and Inverness Small Group Tour from Edinburgh

tcroz97

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

Beautiful, relaxing trip even with the drizzle at times. Didn't see Nessie but saw lots of other fun stuff.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Marlene C

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2017

12 hours on a bus....plus side plenty of stops to goto bathroom...Down sides...bring your own food for snacks etc....your lucky to catch a lunch where some other tours bus didn't take over the place...last stop was Perth town and everyone rolled their eyes in every shop or eatery cause all busses stop there...as for the tour well get ready for a roller coaster ride...driver drives too fast and roads are very narrow. He took a break in the middle of nowhere with not even good scenery for 30 min and wasted time. He didn't want to stop for pictures. When we did stop he said we had 2 min to take pics and that was it. He probably stopped 4-5 times for 2 min pics....then huffed as the last person got on. He also said that he wanted to hurry up and get ahead of other tour busses and didn't like The Spanish tour bus especially.There were hispanics on the bus who didn't look happy at that comment. If you want to take pictures like everyone does don't go on this tour......very disappointed. Plus he talks the ENTIRE time for 12 hours! seriously....rent a car

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Catherine H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

I'm guessing half the experience is about the itinerary and the other half is dependent on the tour guide. Ours was fantastic. Grant was extremely entertaining, knowledgeable, accommodating and enthusiastic I think it would be hard not to have a wonderful time with him at the helm. We booked the tour at the last minute as kind of an afterthought, in August 2016, and we were so happy we had the opportunity to do it. We got to see beautiful forests, rivers, peaty ponds and lochs, historic viewpoints, and even Birnam Woods! We are more theater geeks than drinkers, so the tour of the distillery was kind of an interesting bonus than the reason for doing this tour, but it was fascinating to see the distillation process and fun to think of Alan Cumming getting his start in this little town. We appreciated the small group size, which gave us the opportunity to move around more nimbly and also converse with Grant from time to time and learn even more. So much of what you remember from a trip depends on the people you encounter, and we came away smitten with Scotland, in large part thanks to Grant. Thanks for a great tour!

Doing what: Highland Lochs, Glens and Whisky Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Sok Hian T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The day trip to the highlands was amazing! We had a really wonderful tour guide, Francisca, who was engaging and bubbly. Scottish history was introduced in storytelling fashion cue different voices and sound effects, making it more interesting and engaging. There were songs by Scottish bands played on the van as well, making the Scotland experience much more alive. It wasn't all just talking and listening to music, there were also quiet moments for the participants to rest.

We had a smooth journey up to the Highlands with enough pit stops for us to rest, as well as lots of short stops at scenic spots for us to capture the beautiful scenery on our cameras.

This was quite a flexible tour as well there was a boat tour on Loch Ness that was optional. So we had quite some time to explore the area if we choose not to go on the boat tour.

The ride back home was nice too, with fun facts being included as we passed by several iconic structures such as the Fourth Bridge.

To end off, this the tour group size is just right. We had 13 members on the van out of the maximum 16, and it was a cosy number. The duration and tempo of the tour was also very well-managed.

Special shoutout and thanks to our tour guide Francisca who was so actively sharing with us what she knows and offering to take photos for us as well at the photo spots! :

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

audi2111

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Dave is an excellent guide. B and B Inverness was lovely. Arrived at 5pm and left the next morning at 8am. Dave went out of his way to accommodate what we wanted. Took us up to see snow, then a lovely sunset on a beach. The Loch Ness boat ride was sold out so face arranged a private boat. Amazing.

Doing what: 2-Day Loch Ness and Inverness Small Group Tour from Edinburgh

Barbara W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Totally enjoyable experience. We had a great driver who was very willing to share his knowledge of Scottish history. Thanks Barney! We had a good number of stops each day. The Isle of Skye was amazing as was the scenery on the way. Totally recommend Rabbies tours.

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye Small-Group Tour from Edinburgh

Iris E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This tour was dynamite. Only down side was the reduced daylight because we took the tour in December - but the tour guide played plenty of Scottish music and regaled us with history and tales. We enjoyed this tour so much that we booked the same tour company for a day tour of St. Andrews and the fishing villages. I have no hesitation in recommending this tour to anyone.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

christine k

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

it was such a beautiful day!!!!
i would of regret it much if we came to scotland and not have gone to that trip
special thanks to our driver,guide,historian, officer and much more ... Jeff!!!!!

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Vanessa H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Audrey was a fantastic guide, we had a lot of factors against us - weather, bridge being shut, traffic - but she entertained us with fabulous Scottish history stories and stopped at some truly beautiful spots. She was a lot of fun and this tour was a great way to see other parts of Scotland.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Juliette m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Great tour! If you don't have much time in Scotland but want to discover the beautiful Highlands, this tour is for you!
Great Tour leader/driver, who has great knowledge about history, he talking all along the journey so that the time spent in the minibus seems shorter, he was great all the way!
A lot of stops are made for picture purpose, the landscape is worth it! The highlight of this tour is Loch Ness. You have the possibility to go on a boat tour 13 supplement or/and visit of Urquhart castle. Boat trip is a must do, the lady on the boat gives you so much information about the Loch and Nessie!
We didn't have the best weather to visit the region but it was really worth it, especially with a tour leader like this one!

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small Group Day Trip from Glasgow

Daveen USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Awesome Tour, Awesome Scenery. Loved the cruise on Loch Ness. Was a little cold and rainy, but it was still enjoyable.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small Group Day Trip from Glasgow

elladacas

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Wow what views! We were blown away by the spectacular scenery and the grandeur of Scotland. Wow just wow. We had many stop offs where we could explore the location/towns and take pictures! 12 hours flew by! Honestly didn and #39;t think it would but it did and we had some great Scottish music for company!

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Timothy T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Very good tour with friendly staff and great driver / operator. HIGHLY recommend very good value!!!

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small Group Day Trip from Glasgow

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message