Glencoe offers some of the finest landscape in Scotland, indeed the whole of the UK, where dramatic mountains sweep down to glens (valleys) until they meet the moody waters of the lochs. While this is a site of historical significance due to ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 2933 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Catherine H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

I'm guessing half the experience is about the itinerary and the other half is dependent on the tour guide. Ours was fantastic. Grant was extremely entertaining, knowledgeable, accommodating and enthusiastic I think it would be hard not to have a wonderful time with him at the helm. We booked the tour at the last minute as kind of an afterthought, in August 2016, and we were so happy we had the opportunity to do it. We got to see beautiful forests, rivers, peaty ponds and lochs, historic viewpoints, and even Birnam Woods! We are more theater geeks than drinkers, so the tour of the distillery was kind of an interesting bonus than the reason for doing this tour, but it was fascinating to see the distillation process and fun to think of Alan Cumming getting his start in this little town. We appreciated the small group size, which gave us the opportunity to move around more nimbly and also converse with Grant from time to time and learn even more. So much of what you remember from a trip depends on the people you encounter, and we came away smitten with Scotland, in large part thanks to Grant. Thanks for a great tour!

Doing what: Highland Lochs, Glens and Whisky Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Sok Hian T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The day trip to the highlands was amazing! We had a really wonderful tour guide, Francisca, who was engaging and bubbly. Scottish history was introduced in storytelling fashion cue different voices and sound effects, making it more interesting and engaging. There were songs by Scottish bands played on the van as well, making the Scotland experience much more alive. It wasn't all just talking and listening to music, there were also quiet moments for the participants to rest.

We had a smooth journey up to the Highlands with enough pit stops for us to rest, as well as lots of short stops at scenic spots for us to capture the beautiful scenery on our cameras.

This was quite a flexible tour as well there was a boat tour on Loch Ness that was optional. So we had quite some time to explore the area if we choose not to go on the boat tour.

The ride back home was nice too, with fun facts being included as we passed by several iconic structures such as the Fourth Bridge.

To end off, this the tour group size is just right. We had 13 members on the van out of the maximum 16, and it was a cosy number. The duration and tempo of the tour was also very well-managed.

Special shoutout and thanks to our tour guide Francisca who was so actively sharing with us what she knows and offering to take photos for us as well at the photo spots! :

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

audi2111

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Dave is an excellent guide. B and B Inverness was lovely. Arrived at 5pm and left the next morning at 8am. Dave went out of his way to accommodate what we wanted. Took us up to see snow, then a lovely sunset on a beach. The Loch Ness boat ride was sold out so face arranged a private boat. Amazing.

Doing what: 2-Day Loch Ness and Inverness Small Group Tour from Edinburgh

Barbara W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Totally enjoyable experience. We had a great driver who was very willing to share his knowledge of Scottish history. Thanks Barney! We had a good number of stops each day. The Isle of Skye was amazing as was the scenery on the way. Totally recommend Rabbies tours.

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye Small-Group Tour from Edinburgh

Iris E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This tour was dynamite. Only down side was the reduced daylight because we took the tour in December - but the tour guide played plenty of Scottish music and regaled us with history and tales. We enjoyed this tour so much that we booked the same tour company for a day tour of St. Andrews and the fishing villages. I have no hesitation in recommending this tour to anyone.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

christine k

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

it was such a beautiful day!!!!
i would of regret it much if we came to scotland and not have gone to that trip
special thanks to our driver,guide,historian, officer and much more ... Jeff!!!!!

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Vanessa H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Audrey was a fantastic guide, we had a lot of factors against us - weather, bridge being shut, traffic - but she entertained us with fabulous Scottish history stories and stopped at some truly beautiful spots. She was a lot of fun and this tour was a great way to see other parts of Scotland.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Juliette m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Great tour! If you don't have much time in Scotland but want to discover the beautiful Highlands, this tour is for you!
Great Tour leader/driver, who has great knowledge about history, he talking all along the journey so that the time spent in the minibus seems shorter, he was great all the way!
A lot of stops are made for picture purpose, the landscape is worth it! The highlight of this tour is Loch Ness. You have the possibility to go on a boat tour 13 supplement or/and visit of Urquhart castle. Boat trip is a must do, the lady on the boat gives you so much information about the Loch and Nessie!
We didn't have the best weather to visit the region but it was really worth it, especially with a tour leader like this one!

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small Group Day Trip from Glasgow

Daveen USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Awesome Tour, Awesome Scenery. Loved the cruise on Loch Ness. Was a little cold and rainy, but it was still enjoyable.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small Group Day Trip from Glasgow

elladacas

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Wow what views! We were blown away by the spectacular scenery and the grandeur of Scotland. Wow just wow. We had many stop offs where we could explore the location/towns and take pictures! 12 hours flew by! Honestly didn and #39;t think it would but it did and we had some great Scottish music for company!

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Timothy T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Very good tour with friendly staff and great driver / operator. HIGHLY recommend very good value!!!

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small Group Day Trip from Glasgow

amy.skeet

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Great day. beautiful scenery. shame I did it in winter as the drive back was dark for 3-4 hours. but overall very good.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

mauricevanderweiden

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

Tour was oke, but more of drive. To less stops to enjoy the view of the first National park. Loch ness was oke, the second national park and the last stop where in the dark and the shops were closed. They didnt tell us what was disapointing.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small Group Day Trip from Glasgow

Jose E

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2017

This excursion is far away over rated considering what is promised and what you get.

It's true that it's for small groups in a comfortable micro bus and some of the places mentioned are visited, but...

It's not true that you'll see Inverness and, what's most important of all, you won't see Starling castle. It is said in the description on TripAdvisor but it's not true.

So finally you'll end up watching many lakes and many toilets, but not more than that. We've been before in Scotland and it has much more to offer than this.

We finished really disappointed because we specially wanted to visit Starling Castle but, without giving any explanation, we didn't go. It is said nowhere that this visit is or not available on winter. Despite this detail, we could see the castle from the highway 3 miles away and was illuminated so a stop was totally possible.

Apart from that it is said that you'll have a driver and a guide but it's not said that the guidance ends after the stairs of the bus once we go to a place. You're just giving some directions and up to you what comes next.

Finally I must say that the driver we had was very kind and I make responsible the company and its way of making this kind of excursions.

We've taken many tours in other places and it's the first time we have felt scammed.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small Group Day Trip from Glasgow

Graham B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Great way to see the country. Much easier than driving it myself with the added bonus of a very informative tour guide. Worht every penny.

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye and Scottish Highlands Tour from Edinburgh Including 'Hogwarts Express' Ride

Wesley Jin Fai I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Juliet was an amazing tour guide. She was knowledgeable and a great driver. The scenery were amazing. Loads of wonderful spots to take pictures! Highly recommended

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small Group Day Trip from Glasgow

Diane B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Loch Ness was a great ride even in the rain! Though it did brighten up a bit once we got underway. The reason I booked this trip was for the boat ride alone so I cannot understand why some of the fellow passengers did not go. The bus ride up was comfortable and interesting for the commentary from the driver/guide who I am sorry I have forgotten his name as it was September when we did the trip. My first attempts at writing a review did not go well and I lost the words I had so carefully typed! But now with Viator's prompting, I am trying once again. It was memorable and I would go again and again! Plans for a return to the highlands of Scotland are underway! P.S. my lunch of 'a haggis and cheese toasty' as recommended by the guide was wonderful in a charming pub by the canal.

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small Group Day Trip from Glasgow

jurgitabeli

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

THANK YOU Arron for making this trip so wonderful! Had a lot of opportunities to take great pictures or grab a cup of coffee. Beautiful highlands and a great tour guide :) Definitely recommend!

(Russia+Lithuania)

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Tammy P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This was a fantastic tour that I highly recommend.

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye Small-Group Tour from Edinburgh

Linda D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Trip to Isle of Skye was amazing in a small coach bus with a wonderful guide/driver Liam. He pointed out all the historic, scenic spots and stopped where he thought we would get great pictures. He made the trip worthwhile, even in early November. Liam is a history buff and it showed. We learned so much from him about the history of the area, Edinburgh and Scotland. Recommend highly Rabbie's Tour Company.

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye Small-Group Tour from Edinburgh

Yehidaah S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

The tour was amazing! The Isle of Skye had dramatic landscape and was breathtakingly beautiful. Our Scottish guide Uven ( think that and #39;s how its spelt) was awesome and he helped us take beautiful photos at the most appropriate places. He possessed a wealth of knowledge abt Scottish history and music!

Doing what: 3-Day Isle of Skye Small-Group Tour from Edinburgh

Thandar T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Our tour guide Erin Mohr made the trip really fun and informational! I took this trip with my boyfriend and we both had a great time. It's a lot of driving so if you get car sick, I recommend some medicine. The trip followed the timeline well and provided a lot of time for great pictures. I went during December and it was absolutely amazing to see the Scottish highlands!

Doing what: Loch Ness, Glencoe and the Highlands Small-Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message