The wild, windswept Orkney Islands lie off the northernmost tip of the British mainland (at around the same latitude as Stockholm) and are noted for their stunning scenery and historic sites stretching back millennia. There are about 70 islands all ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 301 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Ronald L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great trip. It was a very long day but really enjoyed it. The weather was not on our side but the coach guide kept us happy.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

Lisa S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Long day, but totally worth it! Make the trip up; you won and #39;t regret it. The bus driver on Orkney was entertaining and kind!!

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

Gabriel A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great way to spend the day.From the booking to finding the harbour everything was easy to find.The tour was guided by the driver/commentator who was a very informed and funny guy who knew a joke or two :) The time spent at each stop was appropriate and we saw every and #34;must see and #34; attraction of Orkneys!

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from John O'Groats

nessa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

very nice tour. nice guide. beautiful views

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

Olivia S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The bus tour on Orkney, with tour guide Andy, was outstanding. He gave a detailed and clear history of each location and told lots of funny local stories as well. Our 7 year old daughter loved it as much as the parents and grandparents did !! Excellent value for money too

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

Doreen R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Enjoyed the trip,Scott our guide misinformed us about Penelope Keith having opened a tea room in Avoch,not sure where he got his info from.Plastic gloves should be worn when making coffees especially after handling money for our sandwiches. Bus driver with funny hat was excellent with info .

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

Brian M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Excellent tour. The driver/guide was 1st class. He was knowledgeable, informative and amusing..

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from John O'Groats

Suzy S United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Outstanding opportunity to see and experience many of the awesome historic sights in the Orkney Islands! Days were action-packed, but evening allowed plenty of time to relax, enjoy a good meal, and check out the pretty sea side town of Kirkwall. Our guide was knowledgeable, personable, and easy going which added to the fun of the tour. It was all that we hoped for!

Doing what: 3-Day Orkney Islands Tour from Inverness

Lisa L USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Amazing day! Really glad I booked this tour vs taking the car ferry over. There was enough time at each place. I think the shorter tour would not have have been enough time. The guide was very knowledgeable and friendly. He even stopped at a few places not listed on the itinerary for photo ops which was lovely.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from John O'Groats

Jana L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The tour guide we had on Orkney was quite friendly and very knowledgeable about the geography, history and culture of Orkney. The whole trip was very organized and the photo ops were amazing! Highly recommend to anyone curious about Orkney and #39;s historical sites.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

Matthew F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great tour, very well run. I would have preferred skipping the Italian chapel and use the time to get out of the bus for quick pictures at the standing stones of stenness, but otherwise I think the itinerary was great.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

Ms Janette Anne D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Fascinating, informative, fabulous experience. Loved all aspects of the tour from the comfort of the seats to the amazing sights.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

Ole Wilhelm A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great and interesting day!

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

Anita D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Had a fantastic day! Well looked after and got a great taster of an amazing place. We'll be back soon.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

Cathy M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

jreed1545

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

A very very good trip. Just the right amount of stops. The guides gave lots of relevant historical information. The island guide was superb - lots of very interesting information and a great communication style. This trip was a very good value

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

patricia d

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We all enjoyed the Orkney day trip and felt it was well organised. We think that we got a good idea of the highlights of the Islands and found the driver/ guide to be very knowledgeable and interesting.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

Bonnie G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Absolutely fabulous and the highlight of our visit to Scotland. The coach driver/tour guide was the icing on the cake. Very entertaining!!!

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

morbeys

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent trip, well organised, comfortable coach and very good tour guide who had interesting and informed local knowledge. If you only have a day to spare like us I would fully recommend this tour

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from John O'Groats

Nancy C United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was a great tour. They managed to fit in an acceptable amount of time at each stop considering the shorter day that had to be scheduled in May. We really enjoyed the driver's comments and historical narrative as he drove between stops. It is absolutely beautiful country and there was such a variety of history from prehistoric to current. This was one of the highlights of our trip to Scotland. Wish we had had another day to go back and further explore.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from John O'Groats

Franklin B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent tour
Audrey was a great guide and gifted story teller
She often would stop often in places not on the tour
but on the way to show us things relating to Scottish history and/ or lifestyle
The variety of scenery and historical features was amazing
The guesthouses were all welcoming and comfy

Doing what: 5-Day Orkney Islands Tour from Edinburgh Including the Scottish Highlands

gillian m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

It certainly came up to my expectation and more. the Italian chapel was an inspiration and the highlight of the trip for me..

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from John O'Groats

Tristan W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Fantastic tour! The tour is with Rabbie's and is very well planned. The mini coach is comfortable - only eight people on this tour so was plenty of room in the coach. The guide Heather was fantastic, very knowledgable, great customer service skills, good sense of humour and great story teller! The accommodation arranged was very suitable, stay at the Hildeval in Kirkwall, very friendly hosts and comfortable rooms. I will definitely travel with Rabbie's again when I'm next in Scotland.

Doing what: 5-Day Orkney Islands Tour from Edinburgh Including the Scottish Highlands

George M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Loved the whole experience.Very well organised.Coach driver was very knowledgeable and funny.great day on Orkney.Thankyou.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from John O'Groats

Mrs M M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We had a great time learning about the Isles. Andy was great guide. It was great to hear the history of the place. The weather was good, wonderful sunshine.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message