The wild, windswept Orkney Islands lie off the northernmost tip of the British mainland (at around the same latitude as Stockholm) and are noted for their stunning scenery and historic sites stretching back millennia. There are about 70 islands all ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 326 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Lisette

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our driver/tour guide was wonderful. So knowledgeable, funny and well spoken. A keeper.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from John O'Groats

Eric S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

My wife and I were very impressed with the Orkney tour. Very informative and a knowledgeable driver/guide in David. It ticked all the boxes for us and a few that we did not expect.

Doing what: 5-Day Orkney Islands Tour from Edinburgh Including the Scottish Highlands

Rebecca F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our tour of the Orkneys was wonderful. Our Driver/Guide David was extremely informative and diversified our agenda to accommodate all of our needs. The accommodations were excellent. Many thanks to David for making our trip unforgettable.

Doing what: 5-Day Orkney Islands Tour from Edinburgh Including the Scottish Highlands

keli_ana

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great tour guide/bus driver on Orkney, lovely scenery and very interesting history.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

Yvonne K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

A brilliant trip, well organised perfect if you only have one day to try to see everything. The coach driver Stuart was very knowledgeable and made the trip with his commentary

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from John O'Groats

Linda S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This trip was fantastic. Rabbie's Tours does an incredible job. Their tour guides are always very knowledgeable.

Doing what: 5-Day Orkney Islands Tour from Edinburgh Including the Scottish Highlands

Lisa B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Orkney is amazing! This was a highlight of our 8 days in Scotland. The island is beautiful and I thoroughly enjoyed seeing Skara Brae, Kirkwall, the stones. Our tour guide on the island, Alan, was simply the best. Great stories and he entertained us every step of the way. We had a traffic issue on the bus on the way up oil truck got stuck that blocked the road for over an hour but they managed to hold the ferry so our tour wasn't ruined. I cannot recommend this tour enough.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

Jim C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Quite splendid. Very helpful and entertaining crew, Scara Brae et al was wholly impressive, and the whole day was wonderful, especially as we had fine sunny weather. I'd happily do this trip again and have recommended it to others.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

E. Charlotte S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Absolutely wonderful, long tour day. The bus was comfortable, the ferry ride was bracing, and the bus driver on the island was both knowledgeable and a terrific, humorous story teller. We particularly enjoyed the World War 2 stories and artifacts, as well as the amazing prehistoric sites.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

SANDRA Victoria E United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

It was great and considering I was not well I can still say it was a suberb trip.
It was a long trip but we will be back. The most interesting trip I have ever had and we have traveled a lot including Canada and America. The commentery was first class.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

svasusarver

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Very nice tour. It would be helpful if the guide on the first segment of the trip would review the day's itinerary. As an example most people didn't understand that a second guide would meet us once we disembarked the ferry from John O' Groats. Otherwise this tour was very well run. The drivers were knowledgeable and very helpful.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

Ina V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This trip was fantastic. The boat ride was terrific.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

cchampaneri

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We had a wonderful trip to Orkney islands. Weather was cool, some drizzling, scenery was beautiful and our guide Karen was very knowledgeable!

Doing what: 5-Day Orkney Islands Tour from Edinburgh Including the Scottish Highlands

Suzanne T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Amazing! Orkney tour guide was great. The bus tour picked us up from the ferry dock and provided commentary throughout the whole tour. Ring of Brodgar and Skara Brae was awesome to see. So much history and places to see on these small islands.
Highly recommended

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

susa3

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

One of two favorite tours during a recent month in the UK, mostly in Scotland. Granted, its not classy capitol city fare but the bus driver was excellent - quite moving to learn about how WWII affected the area, to see the stark landscape and understand more about Neolithic times and when people from Scandanavia came through these lands into the Scottish mainland.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from John O'Groats

Tricia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great day loved the trip. The boat was late and consequently the trip was a bit rushed making up time.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from John O'Groats

Jill K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was a remarkable trip - if only to get a taste of life in the Orkney Islands. We packed so much in to this one day tour from Inverness especially being able to visit Skara Brae and the Brodgar Ring and to see the beauty of these islands. We were very lucky as the day was bright and sunny so the crossing of the Pentland Firth was calm and beautiful - i would highly recommend this to anyone interested in seeing the Orkney Islands - the people were so friendly and kind - much enjoyed - Jill Kirby

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

Sonja S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I had a wonderful time on this tour. The guide was informative and funny. He was also an excellent driver. I only wish that we had slightly more time at the sites that we visited, even just 15 more minutes. But I understand that there are long distances to cover. Overall, the tour was good value for the money, informative, and entertaining.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

Ronald L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great trip. It was a very long day but really enjoyed it. The weather was not on our side but the coach guide kept us happy.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

Lisa S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Long day, but totally worth it! Make the trip up; you won and #39;t regret it. The bus driver on Orkney was entertaining and kind!!

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

Gabriel A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great way to spend the day.From the booking to finding the harbour everything was easy to find.The tour was guided by the driver/commentator who was a very informed and funny guy who knew a joke or two :) The time spent at each stop was appropriate and we saw every and #34;must see and #34; attraction of Orkneys!

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from John O'Groats

nessa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

very nice tour. nice guide. beautiful views

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

Olivia S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The bus tour on Orkney, with tour guide Andy, was outstanding. He gave a detailed and clear history of each location and told lots of funny local stories as well. Our 7 year old daughter loved it as much as the parents and grandparents did !! Excellent value for money too

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

Doreen R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Enjoyed the trip,Scott our guide misinformed us about Penelope Keith having opened a tea room in Avoch,not sure where he got his info from.Plastic gloves should be worn when making coffees especially after handling money for our sandwiches. Bus driver with funny hat was excellent with info .

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message