The wild, windswept Orkney Islands lie off the northernmost tip of the British mainland (at around the same latitude as Stockholm) and are noted for their stunning scenery and historic sites stretching back millennia. There are about 70 islands all ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 316 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

E. Charlotte S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Absolutely wonderful, long tour day. The bus was comfortable, the ferry ride was bracing, and the bus driver on the island was both knowledgeable and a terrific, humorous story teller. We particularly enjoyed the World War 2 stories and artifacts, as well as the amazing prehistoric sites.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

SANDRA Victoria E United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

It was great and considering I was not well I can still say it was a suberb trip.
It was a long trip but we will be back. The most interesting trip I have ever had and we have traveled a lot including Canada and America. The commentery was first class.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

svasusarver

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Very nice tour. It would be helpful if the guide on the first segment of the trip would review the day's itinerary. As an example most people didn't understand that a second guide would meet us once we disembarked the ferry from John O' Groats. Otherwise this tour was very well run. The drivers were knowledgeable and very helpful.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

Ina V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This trip was fantastic. The boat ride was terrific.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

cchampaneri

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We had a wonderful trip to Orkney islands. Weather was cool, some drizzling, scenery was beautiful and our guide Karen was very knowledgeable!

Doing what: 5-Day Orkney Islands Tour from Edinburgh Including the Scottish Highlands

Suzanne T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Amazing! Orkney tour guide was great. The bus tour picked us up from the ferry dock and provided commentary throughout the whole tour. Ring of Brodgar and Skara Brae was awesome to see. So much history and places to see on these small islands.
Highly recommended

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

susa3

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

One of two favorite tours during a recent month in the UK, mostly in Scotland. Granted, its not classy capitol city fare but the bus driver was excellent - quite moving to learn about how WWII affected the area, to see the stark landscape and understand more about Neolithic times and when people from Scandanavia came through these lands into the Scottish mainland.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from John O'Groats

Tricia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great day loved the trip. The boat was late and consequently the trip was a bit rushed making up time.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from John O'Groats

Jill K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was a remarkable trip - if only to get a taste of life in the Orkney Islands. We packed so much in to this one day tour from Inverness especially being able to visit Skara Brae and the Brodgar Ring and to see the beauty of these islands. We were very lucky as the day was bright and sunny so the crossing of the Pentland Firth was calm and beautiful - i would highly recommend this to anyone interested in seeing the Orkney Islands - the people were so friendly and kind - much enjoyed - Jill Kirby

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

Sonja S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I had a wonderful time on this tour. The guide was informative and funny. He was also an excellent driver. I only wish that we had slightly more time at the sites that we visited, even just 15 more minutes. But I understand that there are long distances to cover. Overall, the tour was good value for the money, informative, and entertaining.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

Ronald L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great trip. It was a very long day but really enjoyed it. The weather was not on our side but the coach guide kept us happy.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

Lisa S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Long day, but totally worth it! Make the trip up; you won and #39;t regret it. The bus driver on Orkney was entertaining and kind!!

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

Gabriel A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great way to spend the day.From the booking to finding the harbour everything was easy to find.The tour was guided by the driver/commentator who was a very informed and funny guy who knew a joke or two :) The time spent at each stop was appropriate and we saw every and #34;must see and #34; attraction of Orkneys!

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from John O'Groats

nessa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

very nice tour. nice guide. beautiful views

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

Olivia S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The bus tour on Orkney, with tour guide Andy, was outstanding. He gave a detailed and clear history of each location and told lots of funny local stories as well. Our 7 year old daughter loved it as much as the parents and grandparents did !! Excellent value for money too

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

Doreen R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Enjoyed the trip,Scott our guide misinformed us about Penelope Keith having opened a tea room in Avoch,not sure where he got his info from.Plastic gloves should be worn when making coffees especially after handling money for our sandwiches. Bus driver with funny hat was excellent with info .

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

Brian M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Excellent tour. The driver/guide was 1st class. He was knowledgeable, informative and amusing..

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from John O'Groats

Suzy S United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Outstanding opportunity to see and experience many of the awesome historic sights in the Orkney Islands! Days were action-packed, but evening allowed plenty of time to relax, enjoy a good meal, and check out the pretty sea side town of Kirkwall. Our guide was knowledgeable, personable, and easy going which added to the fun of the tour. It was all that we hoped for!

Doing what: 3-Day Orkney Islands Tour from Inverness

Lisa L USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Amazing day! Really glad I booked this tour vs taking the car ferry over. There was enough time at each place. I think the shorter tour would not have have been enough time. The guide was very knowledgeable and friendly. He even stopped at a few places not listed on the itinerary for photo ops which was lovely.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from John O'Groats

Jana L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The tour guide we had on Orkney was quite friendly and very knowledgeable about the geography, history and culture of Orkney. The whole trip was very organized and the photo ops were amazing! Highly recommend to anyone curious about Orkney and #39;s historical sites.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

Matthew F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great tour, very well run. I would have preferred skipping the Italian chapel and use the time to get out of the bus for quick pictures at the standing stones of stenness, but otherwise I think the itinerary was great.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

Ms Janette Anne D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Fascinating, informative, fabulous experience. Loved all aspects of the tour from the comfort of the seats to the amazing sights.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

Ole Wilhelm A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great and interesting day!

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

Anita D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Had a fantastic day! Well looked after and got a great taster of an amazing place. We'll be back soon.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

Cathy M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message