The ruggedly beautiful Scottish Highlands is one of the last wildernesses in Europe. Here, a heritage of romance and individualism mirror a magnificent backdrop of powerful seas, imposing mountains and verdant flora. Due to a history of migrations ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 498 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Lisa B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Orkney is amazing! This was a highlight of our 8 days in Scotland. The island is beautiful and I thoroughly enjoyed seeing Skara Brae, Kirkwall, the stones. Our tour guide on the island, Alan, was simply the best. Great stories and he entertained us every step of the way. We had a traffic issue on the bus on the way up oil truck got stuck that blocked the road for over an hour but they managed to hold the ferry so our tour wasn't ruined. I cannot recommend this tour enough.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

Amanda L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Guide is engaging, wonderful and informative there is plenty of stops for photos and to explore. My only wish is more time on the isle of Skye exploring rather then in town. I would have like to have seen the fairy pools for example.

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

Yvonne K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

A brilliant trip, well organised perfect if you only have one day to try to see everything. The coach driver Stuart was very knowledgeable and made the trip with his commentary

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from John O'Groats

Himadri D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The tour guide was very professional and he has very good knowledge of the place.

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

James H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Ian was our driver/guide...he did a great job in both roles. Lots of neat sights and helpful commentary. It was a long day, but a fun one. We highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

keli_ana

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great tour guide/bus driver on Orkney, lovely scenery and very interesting history.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

Bjarne S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Very good experience

Doing what: Scottish Highland Games Day Trip from Edinburgh

Lisette

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our driver/tour guide was wonderful. So knowledgeable, funny and well spoken. A keeper.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from John O'Groats

Nigel J L B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great tour with Malcolm. Informative, good humoured and tolerant of a mobility restricted passenger! The drive was through some spectacular countryside and the weather was great. Regular stops for photography - and comfort were made. Explanations of the areas travelled through were concise and helpful. Music choice on the way back was quite relaxing.

Doing what: John o’Groats and Duncansby Head Day Trip from Inverness

Jill M

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Our tour guide Gary was wonderful, provided loads of information regarding the areas that we were traveling though and to.

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

Jill M

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Our tour guide Gary was wonderful, provided loads of information regarding the areas that we were traveling though and to.

Doing what: John o’Groats and Duncansby Head Day Trip from Inverness

Ronald T

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

The trip was great. The main focus was on Eilean Donan Castle. As for Isle of Skye, it actually stopped and walked around Portree. However, the way to Isle of Skye already had many stunning views.

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

Nigel J L B

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Enjoyable trip along Loch Ness and Glen Moriston and over the bridge to Skye. Eileen Donna Castle shone out in the sun. Portree was a quaint town with good views. Return passed through spectacular scenery. A good trip to take.

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

Lisa B

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

This tour was a disappointment. While we loved seeing Eilan Donan Castle and Portree, we feel we missed out on things due to the mismanagement of the tour company. The had cancelled train tickets for people on other tours so we had 3 unscheduled stops in the morning and 2 in the evening. This delayed us significantly and cut down on the amount of time we spent seeing things. We must have run out of time because our tour guide never took us to see the highland cattle, which was a huge disappointment. We also got to spend less than an hour on Portree so no time to get lunch which was part of the itinerary. Had no choice but to grab a snack at the Co-op. Overall, we really wanted to see Isle of Skye and less than an hour in Portree and one stop to take photos of the Black Cullins Mountains didn't cut it.

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

Barbara G

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

Our guide/driver was good, although his information on Scottish History was not accurate. We loved seeing Eileen Donean Castle and our little photographic stops along the way, although the last 3 hours of the tour were not that informative.

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

Janet E

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2016

Tour operator seemed more interested in dropping us in town twice when I would have preferred visiting more sites.
I found the exchange of the bus driver with a woman car driver who had to back up for the bus, most irritating. He kept a running comment with passengers about her inability to back a car well, her stupidity to think that the bus could back up for her - playing to the 'male' passengers who found it funny. I DID NOT

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from John O'Groats

smbarton

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our tour guide was an absolute delight. Of all the places I have ever been in my life, Isle of Skye is perhaps the most beautiful. I would definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

jywlee98

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Excellent views during the trip and great elaborations from the tour guide. Money worth trip indeed!

Doing what: John o’Groats and Duncansby Head Day Trip from Inverness

Jennifer M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This tour was one of the highlights of my trip. Our tour guide Kevin was well informed and kind. We saw everything that I wanted to see, lochness, eilean donan castle tour, hairy coos, sisters of pintail, portree and other stops around the way. We were also lucky enough to have beautiful weather:)

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

mgsemail

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

While this was a very long day trip ...Allison made the tour fun and interesting giving us enough time to stop at each of the major sites... and a lot of good quick photo stops. The visit at Elian Donan castle was wonderful and it is truly one of the most beautiful locations.

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

Tricia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great day loved the trip. The boat was late and consequently the trip was a bit rushed making up time.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from John O'Groats

Lorraine D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Alison was an excellent guide her knowledge was unsurpassable and her sense of humour brilliant she involved everyone on the trip and made the effort to know us by name. She included the two children on board in a game of pooh sticks. An excellent tour and would highly recommend this tour

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

SANDRA Victoria E United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

It was great and considering I was not well I can still say it was a suberb trip.
It was a long trip but we will be back. The most interesting trip I have ever had and we have traveled a lot including Canada and America. The commentery was first class.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

Suzanne T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Amazing! Orkney tour guide was great. The bus tour picked us up from the ferry dock and provided commentary throughout the whole tour. Ring of Brodgar and Skara Brae was awesome to see. So much history and places to see on these small islands.
Highly recommended

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

susa3

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

One of two favorite tours during a recent month in the UK, mostly in Scotland. Granted, its not classy capitol city fare but the bus driver was excellent - quite moving to learn about how WWII affected the area, to see the stark landscape and understand more about Neolithic times and when people from Scandanavia came through these lands into the Scottish mainland.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from John O'Groats

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message