The ruggedly beautiful Scottish Highlands is one of the last wildernesses in Europe. Here, a heritage of romance and individualism mirror a magnificent backdrop of powerful seas, imposing mountains and verdant flora. Due to a history of migrations ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 509 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Ausra M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Very well organized tour. The Eilean Donan castle was amazing.

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

Victor H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

The full-day affair was worth it. The guide was knowledgeable and helped explain all the events and the history behind them.

Doing what: Scottish Highland Games Day Trip from Edinburgh

Bernard N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

People should never miss it!

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

maxkafka8

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Best tour guide I've ever met, good on you Gary

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

sloruby

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

I really enjoyed the tour and Kevin was a very knowledgeable guide. I just wish we had a little more time for exploring the little town of Portee and maybe some of the outlands, Portee was beautiful, but the stop was for lunch and if you ate there wasn't time to look and if you looked there was time to eat. I would have loved to see the Fairy Pools. The weather was what I understood is Scottish, clouds hanging low in the morning and quite chilly, some rain and some sunshine. I loved the Elean Donan castle, beautiful. I would gladly do it again.

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

Jonine F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We had a fantastic tour guide Duncan, who was extremely knowledgeable and gave the best stories of the area. He even played music during the tour. It was exceptional. My in-laws said that this was the best tour they had ever had in their lives, so we know it was memorable. Highly recommend!

Doing what: Best of the Scottish Highlands Tour from Inverness: Black Isle, Loch Ness and Scotch Whisky

Jerri C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This is a long day trip but well worth the time. The trip up the north east coast of Scotland is breathtaking. John O'Groats is a lovely little town where we waited for the ferry to the Orkney's There is a nice gift shop and a good little food stand to grab something to eat while waiting, and the food can be pre-ordered on the bus. The ferry ride was beautiful. Then you will stop at Kirkwall a very lovely town. St Magnus is well worth a visit. Skara Brea is fascinating and there is a lovely beach there as well. There are many beautiful thing to see. Too many to mention here. Time is limited because there are so many things to see and do, but as they tell you this is but a taste of the Orkney's its one of the best day trips that I have taken in Scotland. The Orkney Islands are really beautiful.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

Kyle N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Wonderful! So beautiful, hundreds of picture opportunities. Our driver/guide Gary was amazing, funny, informative, friendly. Wish we could have ventured further around Skye, you only stop in Portree and only for an hour. Due to traffic issues we stopped at Loch Ness on the way back, and it was getting dark. Didn't actually go to the castle, which I was disappointed in, and only saw it from the road above looking down. But a great trip, long day, but hundreds of beautiful pictures.

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

Kathy K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

While the bus ride from Inverness to John O'Groats was a bit long, we had some beautiful views along the way and our tour guides kept us entertained with plenty of historical information. We enjoyed the ferry across to the islands, the time in Kirkwall St. Magness Cathedral, Bishop's and Earl's Castles and, the main attractions of Skara Brae, the Ring of Brodgar with spectacular mounds of heather and the Standing Stones of Stenness.. A lot was packed into that one day.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

Patricia H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

As first time travelers to Scotland not willing to drive and not keen on group tours, my husband and I were a bit squeamish about taking a full day trip. However, from the moment we boarded the bus to the last step off, we were so glad we did. Kevin, our tour guide, was amazing. He was a wealth of information, a relaxed and patient man full of entertaining stories and antidotal tidbits. Scotland is a feast for the eyes stunning shades of green with gorgeous skies. Our journey to the Isle of Skye included a stop at the iconic Eileen Donan Castle where we were able to peruse the castle and grounds at a leisurely pace. Lunch in Portree on Skye was yummy, albeit rushed due to slow traffic on the way. Kevin made many stops on the trip allowing for photo opportunities and to see to our comforts. Our favorite stops were in the Highlands to capture images of the beautiful wildflowers and hillsides. At the end of the trip Kevin gave us recommendations for dining in Inverness. We tried one Hootananny which ended the day with a 5-star rating! Thank you Kevin and Viator.

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

Lisa B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Orkney is amazing! This was a highlight of our 8 days in Scotland. The island is beautiful and I thoroughly enjoyed seeing Skara Brae, Kirkwall, the stones. Our tour guide on the island, Alan, was simply the best. Great stories and he entertained us every step of the way. We had a traffic issue on the bus on the way up oil truck got stuck that blocked the road for over an hour but they managed to hold the ferry so our tour wasn't ruined. I cannot recommend this tour enough.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

Amanda L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Guide is engaging, wonderful and informative there is plenty of stops for photos and to explore. My only wish is more time on the isle of Skye exploring rather then in town. I would have like to have seen the fairy pools for example.

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

Yvonne K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

A brilliant trip, well organised perfect if you only have one day to try to see everything. The coach driver Stuart was very knowledgeable and made the trip with his commentary

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from John O'Groats

Himadri D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The tour guide was very professional and he has very good knowledge of the place.

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

James H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Ian was our driver/guide...he did a great job in both roles. Lots of neat sights and helpful commentary. It was a long day, but a fun one. We highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

keli_ana

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great tour guide/bus driver on Orkney, lovely scenery and very interesting history.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

Bjarne S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Very good experience

Doing what: Scottish Highland Games Day Trip from Edinburgh

Lisette

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our driver/tour guide was wonderful. So knowledgeable, funny and well spoken. A keeper.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from John O'Groats

Nigel J L B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great tour with Malcolm. Informative, good humoured and tolerant of a mobility restricted passenger! The drive was through some spectacular countryside and the weather was great. Regular stops for photography - and comfort were made. Explanations of the areas travelled through were concise and helpful. Music choice on the way back was quite relaxing.

Doing what: John o’Groats and Duncansby Head Day Trip from Inverness

Jill M

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Our tour guide Gary was wonderful, provided loads of information regarding the areas that we were traveling though and to.

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

Jill M

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Our tour guide Gary was wonderful, provided loads of information regarding the areas that we were traveling though and to.

Doing what: John o’Groats and Duncansby Head Day Trip from Inverness

Ronald T

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

The trip was great. The main focus was on Eilean Donan Castle. As for Isle of Skye, it actually stopped and walked around Portree. However, the way to Isle of Skye already had many stunning views.

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

Nigel J L B

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Enjoyable trip along Loch Ness and Glen Moriston and over the bridge to Skye. Eileen Donna Castle shone out in the sun. Portree was a quaint town with good views. Return passed through spectacular scenery. A good trip to take.

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

Lisa B

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

This tour was a disappointment. While we loved seeing Eilan Donan Castle and Portree, we feel we missed out on things due to the mismanagement of the tour company. The had cancelled train tickets for people on other tours so we had 3 unscheduled stops in the morning and 2 in the evening. This delayed us significantly and cut down on the amount of time we spent seeing things. We must have run out of time because our tour guide never took us to see the highland cattle, which was a huge disappointment. We also got to spend less than an hour on Portree so no time to get lunch which was part of the itinerary. Had no choice but to grab a snack at the Co-op. Overall, we really wanted to see Isle of Skye and less than an hour in Portree and one stop to take photos of the Black Cullins Mountains didn't cut it.

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

Barbara G

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

Our guide/driver was good, although his information on Scottish History was not accurate. We loved seeing Eileen Donean Castle and our little photographic stops along the way, although the last 3 hours of the tour were not that informative.

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message