The ruggedly beautiful Scottish Highlands is one of the last wildernesses in Europe. Here, a heritage of romance and individualism mirror a magnificent backdrop of powerful seas, imposing mountains and verdant flora. Due to a history of migrations ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 468 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

smbarton

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our tour guide was an absolute delight. Of all the places I have ever been in my life, Isle of Skye is perhaps the most beautiful. I would definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

jywlee98

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Excellent views during the trip and great elaborations from the tour guide. Money worth trip indeed!

Doing what: John o’Groats and Duncansby Head Day Trip from Inverness

Jennifer M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This tour was one of the highlights of my trip. Our tour guide Kevin was well informed and kind. We saw everything that I wanted to see, lochness, eilean donan castle tour, hairy coos, sisters of pintail, portree and other stops around the way. We were also lucky enough to have beautiful weather:)

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

mgsemail

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

While this was a very long day trip ...Allison made the tour fun and interesting giving us enough time to stop at each of the major sites... and a lot of good quick photo stops. The visit at Elian Donan castle was wonderful and it is truly one of the most beautiful locations.

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

Tricia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great day loved the trip. The boat was late and consequently the trip was a bit rushed making up time.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from John O'Groats

Lorraine D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Alison was an excellent guide her knowledge was unsurpassable and her sense of humour brilliant she involved everyone on the trip and made the effort to know us by name. She included the two children on board in a game of pooh sticks. An excellent tour and would highly recommend this tour

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

jywlee98

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Views are good but could be better if no frequent rains.

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

Pierre L

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Guide was friendly, funny, interesting. We stopped at great places, got the history of the places, had time to take pictures

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

Anna V

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

On Orkney everything was OK, the bus driver and guide was really great. The way - and staff - from Inverness to the ferry and back was little disorganized.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

atsuko Japan

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

One of the greatest experiences that I had ever had! Orkney Islands are so far away and so hard for individual tourist to visit. Thanks to this tour, I could finally get there! The scenery was much more impressive than I expected.
The minus point was too tight schedule -- to tell the truth, we had little time to have lunch -- because of a kind of traffic accident on the way to the John O'Groats. The accident shortened our stay on the islands...it couldn't be helped...
Anyway, this tour was great! Many thanks to the staffs!!

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

Richard G

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

Good value for money, lovely tour guide who was very knowledgable.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

Elizabeth K

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

Unfortunately, our bus was held up for over an hour on the road to John O'Groats due to a jackknifed truck on hairpin turns blocking traffic. Therefore, we arrived for the ferry 40 minutes late. This caused our tour of Orkney to be quite compressed, dashing from place to place without an opportunity to actually explore or to stop and have a lunch. While this was really no one's fault, it was pretty exhausting.. I would have loved to be able to spend more time, as the island is beautiful and the historic and pre-historic sites are fascinating. I'd love to return to the Orkneys, but not sure I would take this day trip again.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

Francine R

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

Bus driver Andy on the Orkneys was brilliant, witty and very informative.
Bus ride back was appalling!
Not enough time at Skara Brae or the ring of Brodgar, would have quite happily missed the Italian Chapel.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

Erin G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I absolutely loved my Isle of Skye Day Trip with our amazing driver Gary, who was very informative, funny and so helpful that I would do the tour again. Our day started of cloudy as we passed Loch Ness and cleared up when we got to Eilean Donan Castle...which being a huge Highlander 80s film was my favorite of the whole trip, I got some amazing photos and we got and hour to explore...still smiling. We then headed to the beautiful Isle of Skye where we had lunch and the headed home stopping at some of the most glorious sights I have ever seen. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

Ole Wilhelm A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great and interesting day!

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

Erika J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

Anita D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Had a fantastic day! Well looked after and got a great taster of an amazing place. We'll be back soon.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

Tirtha

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

It was an excellent tour. Out guide/driver Ms. Alison Cameron from Highland Experience Tours conducted the tour extremely well. She is simply awesome.

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

Ms Janette Anne D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Fascinating, informative, fabulous experience. Loved all aspects of the tour from the comfort of the seats to the amazing sights.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

Jodi A Germany

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Tony was an excellent guide! Super knowledgeable and funny to boot. The weather left quite a bit to be desired but the experience of the games along with the bus ride with historical information interspersed with humor more than made up for it! Highly recommended to all!

Doing what: Scottish Highland Games Day Trip from Edinburgh

Brian M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Excellent tour. The driver/guide was 1st class. He was knowledgeable, informative and amusing..

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from John O'Groats

Jana L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The tour guide we had on Orkney was quite friendly and very knowledgeable about the geography, history and culture of Orkney. The whole trip was very organized and the photo ops were amazing! Highly recommend to anyone curious about Orkney and #39;s historical sites.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

Matthew F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great tour, very well run. I would have preferred skipping the Italian chapel and use the time to get out of the bus for quick pictures at the standing stones of stenness, but otherwise I think the itinerary was great.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

Justine G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Had a wonderful time in Inverness the tours I went on with the Highland experience and our driver and was very informative even though it rained most of the time we still got to see a lot of things my Jacobite tour of Loch Ness was beautiful

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

Gabriel A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great way to spend the day.From the booking to finding the harbour everything was easy to find.The tour was guided by the driver/commentator who was a very informed and funny guy who knew a joke or two :) The time spent at each stop was appropriate and we saw every and #34;must see and #34; attraction of Orkneys!

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from John O'Groats

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message