The ruggedly beautiful Scottish Highlands is one of the last wildernesses in Europe. Here, a heritage of romance and individualism mirror a magnificent backdrop of powerful seas, imposing mountains and verdant flora. Due to a history of migrations ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 452 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Erin G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I absolutely loved my Isle of Skye Day Trip with our amazing driver Gary, who was very informative, funny and so helpful that I would do the tour again. Our day started of cloudy as we passed Loch Ness and cleared up when we got to Eilean Donan Castle...which being a huge Highlander 80s film was my favorite of the whole trip, I got some amazing photos and we got and hour to explore...still smiling. We then headed to the beautiful Isle of Skye where we had lunch and the headed home stopping at some of the most glorious sights I have ever seen. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

Ole Wilhelm A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great and interesting day!

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

Erika J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

Anita D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Had a fantastic day! Well looked after and got a great taster of an amazing place. We'll be back soon.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

Tirtha

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

It was an excellent tour. Out guide/driver Ms. Alison Cameron from Highland Experience Tours conducted the tour extremely well. She is simply awesome.

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

Ms Janette Anne D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Fascinating, informative, fabulous experience. Loved all aspects of the tour from the comfort of the seats to the amazing sights.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

Jodi A Germany

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Tony was an excellent guide! Super knowledgeable and funny to boot. The weather left quite a bit to be desired but the experience of the games along with the bus ride with historical information interspersed with humor more than made up for it! Highly recommended to all!

Doing what: Scottish Highland Games Day Trip from Edinburgh

Brian M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Excellent tour. The driver/guide was 1st class. He was knowledgeable, informative and amusing..

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from John O'Groats

Jana L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The tour guide we had on Orkney was quite friendly and very knowledgeable about the geography, history and culture of Orkney. The whole trip was very organized and the photo ops were amazing! Highly recommend to anyone curious about Orkney and #39;s historical sites.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

Matthew F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great tour, very well run. I would have preferred skipping the Italian chapel and use the time to get out of the bus for quick pictures at the standing stones of stenness, but otherwise I think the itinerary was great.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

Justine G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Had a wonderful time in Inverness the tours I went on with the Highland experience and our driver and was very informative even though it rained most of the time we still got to see a lot of things my Jacobite tour of Loch Ness was beautiful

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

Gabriel A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great way to spend the day.From the booking to finding the harbour everything was easy to find.The tour was guided by the driver/commentator who was a very informed and funny guy who knew a joke or two :) The time spent at each stop was appropriate and we saw every and #34;must see and #34; attraction of Orkneys!

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from John O'Groats

Lisa L USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Amazing day! Really glad I booked this tour vs taking the car ferry over. There was enough time at each place. I think the shorter tour would not have have been enough time. The guide was very knowledgeable and friendly. He even stopped at a few places not listed on the itinerary for photo ops which was lovely.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from John O'Groats

Olivia S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The bus tour on Orkney, with tour guide Andy, was outstanding. He gave a detailed and clear history of each location and told lots of funny local stories as well. Our 7 year old daughter loved it as much as the parents and grandparents did !! Excellent value for money too

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

Doreen R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Enjoyed the trip,Scott our guide misinformed us about Penelope Keith having opened a tea room in Avoch,not sure where he got his info from.Plastic gloves should be worn when making coffees especially after handling money for our sandwiches. Bus driver with funny hat was excellent with info .

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

nessa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

very nice tour. nice guide. beautiful views

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

Frederick G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Fantastic landscape partly inaccurate online trip description -- Taking this trip was a highlight of our visit to Scotland. Eilean Donan Castle was impressive as was the drive through picturesque Skye. Our driver and guide Gary made the trip both informative and fun. Lots of important history here. Part of the itinerary was no longer available, which didn't matter to us but meant that the web description is not entirely dependable. Also, instead of a mini-van the trip went in a small bus, which might be challenging for those who get motion sickness.

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

Ronald L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great trip. It was a very long day but really enjoyed it. The weather was not on our side but the coach guide kept us happy.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

Lisa S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Long day, but totally worth it! Make the trip up; you won and #39;t regret it. The bus driver on Orkney was entertaining and kind!!

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

Emanuell H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Loved this trip - guide Allison was very funny and super nice! the Isle and destination were fantastic

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

Richard S

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

The tour is 11hrs long but doesn and #39;t feel like it. In fact could do with more time in places like Stromness. The coach driver gives a first class history lesson of the Island, much more to learn than I ever thought.
Highly recommended.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from John O'Groats

Stephanie H

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Our local contact was Highland Experience out of Inverness. We toured in a small bus led by our guide Allison. Overall, our trip was very good! Allison was super nice and funny. It's clear she's done this tour many times. My only small complaint is that our group had about 4 photography enthusiasts on it so we stopped multiple extra times for photo ops along the way. And while these stops yielded absolutely beautiful scenes of Scotland they caused us to cut our time in Portree, Skye short and I ultimately felt super rushed to find lunch it was 3:00 pm and most places stopped serving lunch between 2-3 and get a chance to explore the city. I booked this trip primarily for Skye and I wish we could have spent more time there. Regardless, a lovely day!

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

Anita P

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

There were only 4 of us on the tour. It was terrific. Thanks, Ian !

Doing what: Best of the Scottish Highlands Tour from Inverness: Black Isle, Loch Ness and Scotch Whisky

TM H

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

This was along day for a couple of senior travellers, but one to remember. The bus trip was interesting and the commentary was very helpful.
The time at Skara Brae and the house were a bit rushed. The Italian chapel was delightful.
Although the island was quite bare of trees the experience helped us understand the rich history.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message