Reefworld is the Barrier Reef experience made easy. It's located on two giant pontoons over sheltered Hardy Reef, one of the most beautiful and prolific of nature's coral gardens. So many colors! Thousands of fish! It's a deluxe way to see the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 82 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

ashkeys

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

full day trip including morining lunch and afternoon teas and experienced the outer great barrier reef

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Day Cruise to Reefworld

Lynn M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Good trip, did not snorkel, but still had a wonderful time. Crew were excellent as was the food.

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Day Cruise to Reefworld

Cara H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Fantastic, would recommend to anyone! The overnight experience was out of this world!

Doing what: 2-Day Great Barrier Reef Reefsleep Experience

Samuel T

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Very good arrangement. Even there is a big group of people but everything we wish is there. Logistic very smooth. Friendly staffs and very good explanation on the carol and fishes. Diving is perfect and we see Green Tortoise!! The ship itself is very comfortable and fast.

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Day Cruise to Reefworld

Ryan K

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

Good tour, but not great. I obviously had high hopes for the Great Barrier Reef...as I got scuba certified specifically for this trip. Basically, you drive 2.5 hours by boat out to enjoy scuba diving or snorkeling around the reef. The actual reef is beautiful from an aerial perspective, but I did expect to see more colors and far more fish on my couple scuba dives. Truly, a past trip to Thailand offered a lot more. Overall, cool to see....but I would definitely do things different the next time. I would fly to Cairns and embark on a 3-4 day excursion aboard a small vessel consisting of maybe 10-12 divers. This way, you really get to see the most astonishing part of the Great Barrier Reef and would do so without being aboard a Disney type attraction with hundreds probably over a thousand people when including the second boat docked to the other pontoon all scaring the wildlife away. Hope this helps!

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Day Cruise to Reefworld

lschoen114

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Great experience. I'd recommend bringing more things to do, as the boat is very enclosed, and it's a long trip there and back. I brought nothing but my equipment to snorkel, and wish I knew the situation better.

The staff are really great, and it was a very fun experience. We did ours during the week, and it wasn't 100 full, which was really nice.

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Day Cruise to Reefworld

laurel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

I am so glad that I did this! It was an amazing trip and well worth the money. Our Reefsleep host Jennifer was great, very friendly and cooks an awesome breakfast! The swag was pretty comfortable, and it was so nice to sleep on the top deck.

Doing what: 2-Day Great Barrier Reef Reefsleep Experience

carrieltt

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2016

The lunch buffet was bad. We paid additional price to dive and it was disappointed, water was not clear and coral reef was turning white. Will not join this company next time.

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Day Cruise to Reefworld

Mrs M S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Excellent tour with good service and helpful staff morning snack, lunch and afternoon tea great

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Day Cruise to Reefworld

bezandal

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

Great day, although it was really rough waters

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Day Cruise to Reefworld

Timothy H

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2016

This was a five hour trip to nowhere. One of the boats engines failed before we reached the open sea and we then limped back to Airlie five hours later. 10000 miles flown from the UK to go nowhere! The boat is not luxurious - closer to a Sydney Harbour ferry and the catering is best described as 'ordinary'. We won't try this trip again even if we can make it back to Oz sometime in the future.

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Day Cruise to Reefworld

van canh p

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

One of the most expensive day tour in Whitsundays. We would be regretted very much if we did skip this tour because of its ticket cost. This is the top rated of all tour and experience in Australia. We don't want to tell you much and let it be when you go for it. Not 6 stars allow for the review, shame...!

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Day Cruise to Reefworld

David S

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Great ride out to the reef. Rough seas so be sure to pack the Dramamine. Boat staff was helpful, friendly, and good food provided,

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Day Cruise to Reefworld

erinrosejonasson

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Long day but defiantly worth it if you want to check out the Great Barrier Reef. Would go again and do a helicopter ride and scuba dive.

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Day Cruise to Reefworld

sirius

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Nb This trip leaves from Port Airlie.
Highly recommend as very friendly staff and very well run. Caters for all ages, swimming abilities and for those wanting to get wet and those wanting to remain dry. The intro to scuba is offered such that if you feel uncomfortable once kitted up and in the practice pool, you get your money back for example.
The ferry is well equipped and the morning and afternoon teas are great, with the lunch buffet excellent.
Once out at Reef World, the swimming area is well marked with lots of floating rest buoys and roped areas for those less capable or confident. There are lots of life guards and a boat in the water at all times. A professional photographer gets around to most swimmers to take a few snaps with you and the reef and fish friends making it hard not to buy a momento at days end at a reasonable price. An underwater camera is almost a must have and gopros are available for rent also.

Theres a good booklet provided as well a great submersible and good observation areas to see fish and the reef without getting wet. Theres fish feeding and a huge friendly local Groper to see. During whale season, your likely to see a whale also.They are preparing for another platform soon which should make it even bigger.

If you want to see the reef etc anothermway, you can even pay for a helicopter ride over the reef, or back to Hamilton Island at days end if you wish.

And if that's not enough, you can even get a massage on the way out or whilst on Reef World.

Strongly recommend this tour as a must do. If possible, pick the day with the best weather sunny, no wind, low tide at lunchtime and dont forget some warm clothes and a towel.

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Day Cruise to Reefworld

janhoskins60

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

It was great seeing the fish and reef.
only comment, when you get out of water for lunch, had a cold lunch and air conditioner was on. we were freezing. Warm food would have been nice.

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Day Cruise to Reefworld

Nora G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great trip out to Great Barrier Reef. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Have all the snorkeling gear including wet suits that you need. Like the pontoon boat that you use to suit up and get in the water from.
Took helicopter back to Hamilton Island. Great views from air of the reef. Boat return trip was rocky because of winds. So glad I did the helicopter tour home. Highly recommend this trip!

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Day Cruise to Reefworld

Jessica M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was an amazing trip! My sister and I have always wanted to see the Great Barrier Reef, and this trip was the perfect way to do it. There is truly nothing else like seeing the reef in person. It is just breathtaking! The crew was absolutely wonderful as well!

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Day Cruise to Reefworld

Edwina F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Day Cruise to Reefworld

Isabelle G

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Very interresting cruise!

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Day Cruise to Reefworld

MRS E W

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

Very efficient service and expert crew but I did not realise it took 2 hours to get to the barrier reef and the event was marred by the feeling of sea sickness all the way there and back!
,

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Day Cruise to Reefworld

Eddie V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

had an amazing time, staff were very helpful. This is a must to see and do.

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Day Cruise to Reefworld

SHIRLEY S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excelent. The only disapoiting thing was the rain.

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Day Cruise to Reefworld

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message