Tokyo ATTRACTIONS See all

Asakusa Temple

The Asakusa Temple (also known as Asakusa Kanon, Senso-ji, Sensoji) combines majestic architecture, centers of worship, elaborate Japanese gardens, and traditional markets to give you a modern-day look at the history and culture of Japan. Erected ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 263 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

jchung0405

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

I think that this tour is a great way to tour some of Tokyo's attractions in a single day - IF you aren't the type that likes to venture out on your own and not afraid of getting lost. This tour goes to some of the most popular tourist attractions, but moves really fast. Every stop we went to, we only had about 20 minutes to walk around, take pictures, buy things, etc. By the time you observed one thing, it was already 10 minutes later, but there are about 10 other things to look at in one place. So, we had to move really fast. The only exception was the buffet, which was a lot better than I expected. We had 40 minutes at the buffet. It had a nice variety and was really nice inside. The Tokyo Bay Cruise was not as bad as some of the other reviewers had said. It was like 20-30 minutes of quiet time after all the rushed walking we had done earlier in the day, so I quite enjoyed it. We did see the Rainbow Bridge from this cruise, but because it was still daytime, the lights on the bridge weren't on. So, it took us some time to wonder why it was called the Rainbow Bridge we realized why it was called that when we drove by at night.

The tour guide was good she explained some of the basic things, like the difference between a shrine and a temple, what to do at the shrine, what certain things are and represent, etc. Her English isn't bad. I understood about 99 of what she said. I also enjoyed the very last part of our tour, which was at one of the information centers. They had a little performance. The guide had been talking about that since the start of our tour. Something about it taking the performer an hour or two to put on makeup every day. Well, the dance was pretty :. The guide also ensures that we all know where we need to go when the tour ends. For us, we had to go to another night time tour, so our guide directed us to the nearest station. Some were going back to their hotels, so she directed them to the nearest station to take.

What you should be wary of is how fast you have to move from one venue to another, so if you are a slower-moving person, you may want to put on your best walking shoes or be prepared to get left behind. You may think that because you're a paying customer that they will wait for you no matter what and they will wait to a reasonable time, but if you get lost and you're making everyone late, I'm sorry to say that it's not always the right choice, but it is the best choice that you get left behind. It is what had happened on our particular tour an older couple didn't return for 20-30 minutes. The daughter eventually made the decision to search for them, at the urging of all the other whispering and staring customers on board and the guide, and our bus left. The guide did exchange information with the daughter so that the company would know if they made it back safely. I'm sure it was disappointing for them, but people like us still had a different non-refundable tour to go onto after this tour ended, so it was important that the guide knew when to move on. Well, it is Tokyo. It is a safe city. Also, you won't get lost for long as long as you have good enough problem-solving skills. Or just ask people. I swear, they all very helpful.

We are actually 3 capable young travelers on this trip. Although we still got lost once or twice AND Google Maps wasn't always reliable, we realized that it was probably better if we chose our venues and ventured there ourselves. I don't regret booking this tour at all, but I believe that if you are adventurous, capable, somewhat smart, and have the time, you should definitely visit these venues on your own rather than book a tour, because you will get more out of it on your own. Or do a private tour if you have the money. There is nothing like getting one-on-one face time.

Doing what: Tokyo Day Tour: Meiji Shrine, Asakusa Temple and Tokyo Bay Cruise

vickimyatt

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Wonderful guide. Fun introduction to Tokyo. The wooded area around the Meiji Shrine was beautiful. The East Garden of the Imperial Palace was also lovely. The Asakusa Temple area was extremely crowded, but there are lots of things to see there. Be sure to do your fortune in the temple. If it is bad, you don't have to take it with you. You can tie it to the wires and leave it with the temple. We had a nice lunch and then went on the Tokyo Bay Cruise. It was a nice cruise, and one of the people from the boat was on deck to take pictures for you with your camera with the Rainbow Bridge in the background. Then we went to Odaiba and saw the giant Gundam Statue and the Statue of Liberty. We felt like we covered a lot of Tokyo in a day's time, and it left us eager to see more.

Doing what: Tokyo Day Tour: Meiji Shrine, Asakusa Temple and Tokyo Bay Cruise

Bryan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Great if you don't have a free morning and just want to enjoy a little souvenir shopping at Asakusa and a relaxed cruise along the river. Not so much walking too. Tour guide was also very friendly and accommodating.

Doing what: Tokyo Highlights Afternoon Tour and Sumida River Cruise

Pallavi M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Tokyo day tour was excellent. It was the best way to spend first few days in Tokyo. The English speaking guide was very good. Meiji Shrine, Imperial lawns and Asakusa Temple were interesting historical places. Tokyo Bay tour in the afternoon gave opportunity to see Tokyo skyline. The guide took care of each one by providing directions at the end of the tour.

Doing what: Tokyo Day Tour: Meiji Shrine, Asakusa Temple and Tokyo Bay Cruise

Margaretha K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Fantastic tour. However the weather was very very bad. In the morning it was only raining, but nevertheless we had a great time. In the afternoon the weather was better. We never had such a nice japanese lunch.After lunch the river cruise and visit to the temple.
After all we had a nice day and saw a lot of things

Doing what: Tokyo Tower, Tea Ceremony and Sumida River Cruise Day Tour

Caryn C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We had such a great time on this tour! The guide was lovely and for the price and what we got to see - we thought it was exceptional value. Particularly loved going to the Temple and having a stroll through the markets. We would never have got to see so much on our own as we were only in Tokyo city for 2 days. Would highly recommend.

Doing what: Tokyo Highlights Afternoon Tour and Sumida River Cruise

Christine D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

What a great tour! The Temple was very beautiful and the shopping street excellent! Thank you!

Doing what: Tokyo Morning Tour: Meiji Shrine, Senso-ji Temple and Ginza Shopping District

Gianni S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The Asakusa rickshaw tour was an amazing experience for our first trip to Japan! We had two rickshaws for the 1 hour tour, and both drivers were extremely cordial and friendly. The tour provided a good view of Asakusa, which we wouldn't have been able to get otherwise, due to our short time in Tokyo and the numerous places that we wanted to visit. Our guides, Ryo and Naoki, were very interactive and customized our tour according to our conversation we had seen geishas the previous day in Kyoto, so our guides suggested substituting other areas of Asakusa for the geisha part of the tour.

Doing what: Tokyo Asakusa Rickshaw Tour

Deborah G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The Meiji shrine was very interesting and we were lucky enough to see a wedding procession. Because it was Monday we were not able to see the gardens of the Imperial Palace but we did stop by the bridge for a photo opportunity. Sensoji temple was great and the surrounding area was bustling with activity. We would have liked to have a bit more time there but realize the time constraints did not allow for it. The cruise on Tokyo Bay was the highlight of the day. It was a beautiful way to see the city.

Doing what: Tokyo Day Tour: Meiji Shrine, Asakusa Temple and Tokyo Bay Cruise

Petrina G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We had Shin and he was absolutely amazing! It was a hot and humid day and it didn't stop him from giving us a full tour of Asakusa and all with a smile. He even taught us a lot about Tokyo in general. Would definitely recommend this for 1 hour out of your day!

Doing what: Tokyo Asakusa Rickshaw Tour

Valued C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

OMG what a ride! We were so warmly greeted and then we had 2 fabulous drivers, Shin and Dansie, who were informative, fun and fit and made the ride so memorable! What a way to see Asakusa!

Doing what: Tokyo Asakusa Rickshaw Tour

JOY

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour is great for those who have limited time to spend in Tokyo. We were able to see the main places that one needs to see in Tokyo such as the Meiji Shrine, the Asakusa temple and shopping place, Ginza district and view of the Imperial Palace. The Tokyo Bay cruise was scenic. Our tour guide Sushi was knowledgeable and had a great sense of humor. We are glad that we picked this tour.

Doing what: Tokyo Day Tour: Meiji Shrine, Asakusa Temple and Tokyo Bay Cruise

Phil M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

An excellent tour. Started with a drive to some of the tourist attractions, to Asakusa Temple and shopping precinct and then to the Tokyo Skytree for a magnificent view over Tokyo. Time to catch dinner own expense and we then negotiated the underground rail system back to our hotel.

Doing what: Tokyo Skytree, Asakusa and Central Tokyo Sightseeing Tour

Fasiha H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Excellent day with a wonderful guide- Takeshi! Very impressed with the organization- a notice was left at the hotel confirming pick up time when we check in. I responded that we had check in and would meet at the designated time--Takeshi sent a picture of himself so we could easily identify him. Local subway transportation to each area- showing how to calculate fare and buy tickets. Wonderful way to orient yourself to Tokyo and go back later if you wish. Takeshi was very kind to provide us Muslim friendly maps of Shinjuku and Asakusa---had no idea this even existed! These were very helpful as they show where halal restaurants are, etc. A great day with a great guide--kind, patient and very easy going...THANK YOU!

Doing what: One Day Muslim-Friendly Tour of Tokyo

William S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This is a great way to see a lot of Tokyo in one day. We saw a wedding at the Meiji Shrine and the Asakusa Sanja Matsuri - it must have been my lucky day! Yoko was a great tour guide.

Doing what: Tokyo Day Tour: Meiji Shrine, Asakusa Temple and Tokyo Bay Cruise

Ashley T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This tour was wonderful! Our guide was very informative. On the bus ride to the temple, she explained the city and it's history. The temple is more touristy than I expected with various shops and restaurants. That was a bonus because we were starving by the time we got there! The Skytree has a grocery store, a mall and plenty of food vendors - too much for the inner fat me to take! After the Skytree tour, the guide let us know it was ok to leave and go off on our own. This is why the guide's explanation of the city on the bus tour was so amazing. We went back to the temple and explored more on our own time, we then explored Asakusa a bit more where the guide explained, then we went to back to Akihabara we passed there on our way to the temple and the guide told us about the specialty shops and alleyways and explored a bit more. Being anime and manga fans we actually went back to Akihabara a few times during our one week stay in Tokyo. It's really an all day tour if you go to all the places explained by the guide. I feel like we really got the most out of this tour. And a few souvenirs to remember our time here.

Doing what: Tokyo Skytree, Asakusa and Central Tokyo Sightseeing Tour

Wayne F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Loved the rickshaw ride and the enthusiasm and friendliness of the rickshaw pullers. We stayed in Asakusa and had already walked around the area but the tour highlighted things we had not even noticed or understood. Masaya was a great guide as well as a fantastic photographer and spent time setting up some great shots to capture the tour for us.

Doing what: Tokyo Asakusa Rickshaw Tour

Patricia Louise W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

I was well organized and a great tour - guide was exceptional as her English was very strong and she kept us on task. We were not rushed and they gave us enough time between everything to look around. We did skip the Ginza part of the tour as there was too much to still look at with the Senso-ji Temple and there were 1000s of vendors set up.

Doing what: Tokyo Morning Tour: Meiji Shrine, Senso-ji Temple and Ginza Shopping District

Glenda S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

temple wasreally worth the visit, such a worth while trip views are amaizing from skytree, our guide Noritake fabulous

Doing what: Tokyo Skytree, Asakusa and Central Tokyo Sightseeing Tour

Roberto F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We took four Viatot tours in Japan, and this was the best guide we had Mrs. Junko Informative, kind and with an spectacular English. The tour itself was nice with good visit to Meiji Srhine and Asakusa Temple, and a enjoyable cruise by the Bay. We finished the day with a visit to Acqua city shopping. Really we had a good time.

Doing what: Tokyo Day Tour: Meiji Shrine, Asakusa Temple and Tokyo Bay Cruise

Lorelei P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

From the moment we met our Tour Leader, Masaki Higashida, we knew we were in for an experience of a lifetime. His command of the English language and knowledge of Tokyo was outstanding. The tour of Asakusa included visiting a temple and participating in some of the traditional rituals of getting our fortunes, incense burning and prayer, plus sampling some unique foods in the market. Next it was off to Tsukiji Market and a close up look into the Japanese fish trading industry, amazing! Finally we went to a very Traditional Japanese sushi restaurant for a private demonstration and hands on lesson in the art of sushi making and then we lunched on our own creations. At the end of our tour, our guide made sure we knew exactly how to get back to our hotel. For anyone wanting to learn more about the Japanese culture and partake in a sushi making lesson, this is an absolute must, you will not be sorry you went on this tour.

Doing what: Tsukiji Market Visit, Sushi Making Class and Asakusa Tour

Barbara H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

I was the only person on the tour and I had 2 guides. They were great. We walked all over in the financial district - into a department store - through a temple- stopped at a tiny bar for a drink - went down Drunkard's Ally. They helped me buy a ticket on the Metro and took very good are of me during the while tour.

Doing what: Tokyo Morning Sightseeing Tour

samtastico United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Fantastic guide. Highly educated and knowledgeable. Fluent English speaker, Boston educated. We had a wonderful private tour of the fish market, followed by an amazing Sushi making course. I cannot speak highly enough about the experience. The tour followed by a visit to Asakusa temple which was an amazing experience. All together I could not fault this tour. He was just fantastic. My son and I developed a respect for the guide who make our day. Must do tour. Very little downtime and you will learn so much. Very cultural.

Doing what: Tsukiji Market Visit, Sushi Making Class and Asakusa Tour

Bill604

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

It was a very good tour and it provided an excellent introduction to Tokyo. First stop was at the Tokyo Tower which provided an excellent view of how large Tokyo is. Second stop was for the Tea Ceremony. Our group was split into two where one group went for the Tea Ceremony while the other group visited the nearby Mitsuo Aida Museum. Afterwards, the two groups switched places.

Lunch consisted of a bento box and Shabu-Shabu which was quite filling and very tasty. After lunch, we stopped at the outside of the Imperial Palace. Next, we visited the Hama-rikyu Gardens which was a peaceful break from the city. The Sumida River cruise was next. It was quite crowded on the boat. Last stop was at the Asakusa Nakamise Shopping Street for some souvenir shopping.

Doing what: Tokyo Tower, Tea Ceremony and Sumida River Cruise Day Tour

Celeste B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This tour offers a good view of Tokyo when you don't have much time to get to know the city. Our guide was very nice, knowledgeable and calm. Our group ended up being pretty small, which made the tour even more pleasant. Asakusa and Skytree Tower were very nice as well. I recommend!

Doing what: Tokyo Skytree, Asakusa and Central Tokyo Sightseeing Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message