Tokyo ATTRACTIONS See all

Hakone National Park

With Mt Fuji as its dramatic backdrop and the stunning Lake Ashi down below, Hakone National Park (Fuji-Hakone-Izu National Park) is a popular destination among nature lovers visiting from Tokyo, with trekking opportunities, boat cruises and some ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 689 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

brittany.parrish

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our tour guide Ellie was informative and so sweet! We really enjoyed her commentary, and she managed to make the time on the bus go by faster. Even though the weather wasn't great the day we went, the trip to Mount Fuji and Lake Ashi were still must sees. The traditional Japanese lunch was also very good, with a pretty big portion size. The venue for lunch was picturesque. It was also really nice to have the bullet train back to Tokyo after the day was over - such a quick way to get back after a long day exploring.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Jane

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The trip was awesome. We are lucky to have fully English speaking and well-organised tour to Mount fuji and Lake Ashi. Everything was superb on-time and the bullet train was superb cool and fast too. It is best to visit in winter time for clear view of Mount Fuji.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Ra Brown Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Was a great day Kanao? the guide she had a wealth of information about the various prefectures we passed through on the drive to Mt Fuji.

Unfortunately for us it was a foggy day up there so we didn't get to see Mount Fuji clearly but that is Nature, So be prepared and have reasonable expectations it not the guides or tour companies fault. Also on Station 5 they have a Gift Shop and Post Office, which I of course sent postcards home to New Zealand to my Grandma / Mum n Dad with the special Mt Fuji stamp.

The other highlight of the day was the cruise around Lake Ashi its such a beautiful region Hakone and even heard it mentioned on TV whilst I was here so clearly as the guide mentioned important for the Japanese culture and people. As you can expect at the terminal before boarding the boat is where you can purchase snacks and gifts from the region. But back to boat ride it was such a pleasant day I wish I could have stayed on the boat longer heck the whole day or explore more of Lake Ashi.

After the lake we headed up to ride the gondolas or Hakone Ropeway which takes you up to Mount Komaga-take the view from the gondola on way down is awesome great photo snap and sometimes you can get a clear view of Mt Fuji. Here they also have supermarket and gift shops but by time we arrived they was closing when we came back down the mountain.

The Top highlight for me was catching the Shinkansen Bullet Train back from Odawara Station to Shingawa Station
Train Station before Tamachi it took about 30-40mins it wasnt long at all but it was interesting
experience and something I have wanted to do since I was a young boy growing up in Rural New Zealand.

So all in all I would recommend this tour especially if you get Kanao I think that was how you spell her name her English is very good and does her best to entertain guests with songs, origami lesson.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Nilanthi L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Wonderful experience! Hakone still fuming volcano was a marvalous sight. The guide was jovial and helpful.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Barbara P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great way to see Mt Fuji AND experience the bullet train when you only have a limited time available. And although Mt Fuji was in the cloud while we were there, it cleared enough to get some good shots from Lake Ashi stop later in the day despite the odds against it.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Azra Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This is a tour that should not be missed while in Japan. everything ran like a clock work. one thing i like about Japanese culture is the precise timing , i can see as to why that is necessary with such a large population as in Tokyo. from the moment we were picked up at the hotel by a luxury coach and taken to the bus station for a ride to Mt Fuji. our tour director was Noriko and all i can say she was so professional and informative about the places we were at and where we were going to, she thought us how to count in Japanese and explained all about the bento box a very balanced lunch box I'm getting one definetly . i wish we can have her on our next trip to Japan. it was unfortunate that it was foggy and rainy that day so we couldn't see the top of mt Fuji but we did see hundreds of people preparing for a long climb to top of Mt Fuji, something that every person in Japan feels they should do at least once in their life time if not every year. after that we had a traditional Japanese lunch and yes you do have to take your shoes off, so make sure you don't have any holes in them. it was delicious if you are adventurous to try something different and apt to the place where you are. fortunetly for all of us later in the day we did see Mt Fuji from Mt Komagatake.. drive through Hakone, the boat ride and also the ropeway was so panoramic all the way from where you could see the beautiful lake Ashi and a golf course to die for. i couldn't understand the people that were sleeping all the way and missing the luscious forests, rice paddies and just seeing Japan nature,it was fantastic. as we were couple of hours late for a day trip on the bullet train back to Tokyo we had to do it at night so we couldn't see anything outside. at the speed of 330km an hour i don't think we could have seen much anyway. it was a very pleasant and comfortable journey and would recommend it to everyone. thank you Noriko for taking care of us and making sure we new how to get back home.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Mimi F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

A tour bus picked us up from the hotel to go to the bus depot. Once there, you will find the real bus for your tour. The bus ride to Mt Fuji is long, about 2 hours, but our guide was informative and her English is good enough. Even though that day was cloudy, she was very concerned for us whether we will see Mt Fuji's top. Both her and the driver intentionally looked out for us. They purposefully stopped and let the whole bus out for the 5 minute window when the clouds parted to let us see and take pictures of the mountain top. Once at 5th station, we stopped and buy souvenirs. Afterward, we had an authentic Japanese lunch. If you don't eat fish, don't order the lunch because that is the main lunch, it is one whole piece of rainbow trout from head to tail. The lunch was definitely tasty and authentic though. There is a side chicken dish too, with soba, some vegetable tempura and miso soup. We then went to Hakone and on the boat. The boat is not the pirate boat, so a little bit disappointing, but still a good ride. Then we got on the gondola to go to the top. They packed us quite tight in the gondola, so not too enjoyable. That day was very foggy too, so we couldn't see anything while at the top of the mountain here. The guide tried to teach us a Japanese song and also how to fold Mount Fuji using origami paper. We left to go back to Tokyo on the bullet train. The guide even taught us how to get back to the hotel from Tokyo station. It was definitely a full and long day of fun. We didn't get back to Tokyo till about 7 pm. I would definitely recommend anyone who what to see Mount Fuji, just pray for good weather on your day.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Rhoda C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

My entire family had a great time. We thought Mt Fuji was the highlight and that was it. But the sightseeing to Lake Ashi and Mt Komagatake were also unforgettable.

Doing what: Mt Fuji Day Trip including Lake Ashi Sightseeing Cruise from Tokyo

Janelyn C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

It was a great tour, the guide is very helpful and knowledgeable. Everything went well logistically and time wise. We had a wonderful time in Mt. Fuji and specially in Hakone. Very interesting place.

Doing what: 2-Day Mt Fuji, Hakone and Bullet Train Tour from Tokyo

Joshua P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

My partner and I aren't usually tour people and prefer to do our own thing when travelling, however, we definitely recommend this tour. Marie the tour guide is a wealth of knowledge and has a very good sense of humor. The tour itself is well set out and includes the beautiful Hakone. Lunch was FANTASTIC with a chankonabe-like dish. Highly recommend!

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Ian Lehr United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This trip has a lot of time spent on the bus, but you do learn a lot while on your way to the locations. The locations are great and the event for Lake Ashi is amazing! The bullet train back is a great way to travel and shows you the difference in speed to locations.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Bunthy P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

It was well organized. Tour guide spoke English well and very informative. Got to take lots of pictures and Japanese lunch was yummy. We went on a perfect day and there was no clouds covering the mountain. Wish we had more time shopping at the 5th station where we took pictures of mount Fuji. Bring extra food to snack on along the way and your portable charger. Also had a nice 15 minute cruise to Hakone. Took the cable car up there and saw a nice view from up top. The cable car doesn't have AC and you will be pack with others to get to the top so get a seat first or you'll end up standing all the way up there. I had fun and it was a great learning trip.

Doing what: Mt Fuji Day Trip including Lake Ashi Sightseeing Cruise from Tokyo

cwypanchew

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The 1st day was spent touring around Mt Fuji and parts of Hakone with a guide. The 2nd day was spent on my own with an all-day pass to roam around Hakone. I stayed at Yunohana Prince Hotel with dinner and breakfast. Great food, service, and hot spring. Room was dated but clean. Pricy but luxurious

Doing what: 2-Day Mt Fuji, Hakone and Bullet Train Tour from Tokyo

Layanthi C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I loved this tour. The guide and the company is well organised. Managed to see mount fuji just for 5 minutes because of the weather. But i won't get that chance if I didn't book this tour. Nice timing too. If you are focusing on Onsen spa then book Hakone Kowaki-en Hotel. This is very near to the bus and train stations too. If you booked Price hotel you might be lucky enough to see the mount fuji from your garden.

Doing what: 2-Day Mt Fuji, Hakone and Bullet Train Tour from Tokyo

Linda K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Worth every cent we paid for this tour. Sadly no view of Mt Fuji but enjoyed the cruise on lake Ashi and the ropeway up the mountain even though we only saw fog. Tour very well organised and brilliant tour guide. Highly recommended

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

A M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour delivered exactly what it said it would and then some. Our tour guide - Take - was very informative and entertaining and kept us all to schedule. My hotel in Hakone - the Prince Hakone Hotel - was very comfortable and the onsen bath was luxurious. Would highly recommend.

Doing what: Overnight Mt Fuji and Onsen Experience from Tokyo

james.jeffers

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was amazing! Our tour guide Mary was great. We loved every moment from the time we boarded the bus to riding the Bullet Train. Mt. Fuji and Lake Ashi was the breath taking. We saw so much of Japan in one day. Highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Ronald B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Mika-San was a great guide. We were fortunate to see the mountain from many locations. It rained a bit so we left the 5th station quickly. It was very crowded so it won't have been much fun anyway. We had lunch nearby which was wonderful and perhaps the best part of the trip was Lake Ashi and Mount Hakone. We got a great view of Fuji from the top of Mt. Hakone too. The Bullet train back in was an entertaining novelty as well.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

JOY

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We had a long bus trip to see Mt. Fuji due to a traffic accident and had a limited time to spend in the 5th station to take pictures of Mt. Fuji. We were fortunate that we were able to see the peak of the mountain before we left and was able to take good shots. Our tour guide made sure that we were able to make it to our other scheduled tours in time. The lunch was great! The Lake Ashi boat trip was scenic though brief. The sky cable train was wonderful! To top it off we were able to take the bullet train back to Tokyo. We are glad that we chose this tour.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Sylvia H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We loved it! Marie was an amazing tour guide, so knowledgeable, friendly and animated! I'd go again just to have her as a guide : Fujisan was amazing as was Lake Ashi, beautiful sights. Hakone was covered in cloud when we went up but it added to the mystery and made us felt like we were on top of the world. Definitely recommend this day trip!

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Kathleen S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This day was great! We had perfect views of Mt. Fuji from every stop, and the stops were spaced out very nicely so we didn't feel stuck on the bus. Going up to the top of Hakone was my favorite, as we had time to hike around and had great views of Fuji from up there. Take this trip for sure!

Doing what: Mt Fuji Day Trip including Lake Ashi Sightseeing Cruise from Tokyo

FANDY W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Beautiful panorama of mount Fuji and Lake Ashi, and also the great traditional Japanese lunch.

Doing what: Mt Fuji Day Trip including Lake Ashi Sightseeing Cruise from Tokyo

Victoria H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This tour was exactly as described. Ellie our tour guide was informative and lovely. We enjoyed the ride to Station 5 of Mt Fuji. Then we were off to Hakone to Lake Ashi for lunch and the tram ride with unbelievable views. The bullet train ride back was fast! Just being on the platform and seeing the bullet trains wiz by was an experience!

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Harold

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Fantastic trip. Fuji San did herself proud and we were able to get some photos before the cloud rolled in. Lake Ashi is beautiful. The bullet train was an experience not to be missed. Our guide says he does this tour 5 times a week, and his knowledge showed it.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Cristofer M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We started out the tour at the Keio Plaza Hotel where we met the group and for on the bus. The drive to Mt Fuji was quick and beautiful. No traffic. When we first started the tour we were to.d that the 5th station was closed for the season still but later on in the drive our tour guide, Hiro-San, got a call saying they had opened it so we were able to go all the way up. When we got up there there wasn't a cloud to be seen. Such a clear beautiful day. After the 5th station we drove to Hakone for the lake cruise on Lake Ashi and the Hakone Ropeway. The cruise was really short but like Hiro said It was long enough. The Ropeway was amazing. You can see all of lake Ashi, Mt Fuji, and even the Pacific Ocean. We would definitely recommend this tour to anyone we know going to Japan. Easy, convenient, fun, and breathtaking.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message