Tokyo ATTRACTIONS See all

Hakone National Park

With Mt Fuji as its dramatic backdrop and the stunning Lake Ashi down below, Hakone National Park (Fuji-Hakone-Izu National Park) is a popular destination among nature lovers visiting from Tokyo, with trekking opportunities, boat cruises and some ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 715 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Mark N United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

I highly recommend this tour. It is a great way to see sights outside of Tokyo without having to do a lot of planning or research. The tour guides were all well informed and spoke good English. First you are picked up at your hotel in Tokyo and travel with a small group by bus to Mt Fuji, where you go halfway up the mountain. There are great photo ops and a gift store. We were blessed with a very crisp clear November day. Then you will stop for lunch, which was surprisingly excellent! Then you take a ferry and a cable car up Mt Hakone, where there are great views of Mt Fuji. We were then dropped off at the Shinkansen station to travel on to Kyoto. Tour operators met us every step along the way during bus, rail, and hotel transfers. In Kyoto, the hotel was first class! The next day you are in for a whirlwind day: touring palaces in Kyoto in the morning, another great buffet lunch, then an afternoon bus ride to Nara where you will absolutely marvel at the World's Largest Bronze Buddha an eerie ancient Shinto Shrine and hundreds of deer roaming free. The following day you are free to explore Kyoto on your own, and I would highly recommend the Old City Ninenzawa district. Then at 1700 you are picked up at the hotel, back on the Shinkansen to Tokyo, and taxi'd back to your hotel. This tour was well worth the money, and when we consider all we saw and the superior service, was actually quite reasonably priced!

Doing what: 3-Day Mt Fuji, Kyoto and Nara Rail Tour by Bullet Train from Tokyo

Bon Russel P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

its perfect timing for me and my wife to see the beauty of Mt. Fuji!
though its freezing cold, we make the most of our time in Mt. Fuji... Lake Ashi was also beautiful, with its serene sorroundings, its a relaxing place.. we will surely miss this place.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Joanne G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was a great way to see Mt Fuji Lake Ashi Hakone and ride on a bullet train. Our guide was exceptional. Sit back and enjoy. We did not think it was rushed. Thanks

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

vickimyatt

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

The scenery was beautiful. The area at the 5th Station was gorgeous. The leaves were changing. It was perfect. Our guide had climbed the mountain many times and was very knowledgeable. Everyone is so helpful in working with you to find the way back to your hotel. The cable car ride and the black eggs were fun. The hot springs were amazing. If there is one thing I would have changed it was the boat ride on Lake Ashi. By the time, we got there, it was starting to get dark. I was disappointed because the boat ride was a bit lame and very short, but the scenery should have been gorgeous. Instead, you could barely see it.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Anthony H Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

It was a long day but worth it ! We were lucky to see Mt Fuji as it was misty earlier but by the time we arrived it was clear . Our guide Mika made the tour interesting and informative , talking about Japan in general not just our trip. Weather was great so enjoyed the boat trip on Lake Ashi and the cable car up the mountain ........which was covered in cold fog at the top .Bullet train back to Tokyo was a highlight too , it really does get a move on ! ! An expensive day out but well worth it .

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

joe a

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

amazing tour, we were very lucky to have clear weather only 55 days every year!
Also the mountain and lake in lake ashi/hakone is worth the whole trip !

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Joey H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

great tour. Though not cheap but definitely value for money.. I cannot remember the lady tour guide name She's from Osaka. The fun did not start at Mt Fuji, it started the moment we boarded the bus from Keio Plaza hotel. She shared wonderful information about Japan cost of living and etc.... Also gave us tips about communicating with Japanese.. Lunch was great too.. Weather was bad at Hakone the day we went so we missed the pirate ship tour but was compensated with another lake tour.. So still good. By the way, We rarely tip and she got it!! Will not blink an eye to do another tour with this agency again.. MUST GO!

Doing what: Mt Fuji Day Trip including Lake Ashi Sightseeing Cruise from Tokyo

Laura S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

amazing trip! Well worth it for the Lake Ashi and Hakone tour. It was one of the most beautiful sites I've seen EVER!!

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Bonny W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

it was an awesome trips, it just too fast in short time. We wished we could have more time to explore Mt. Fuji and Lake Ashi. Especially, on the top of mountain where it was too cloudy to see the beautiful views.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

brittany.parrish

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our tour guide Ellie was informative and so sweet! We really enjoyed her commentary, and she managed to make the time on the bus go by faster. Even though the weather wasn't great the day we went, the trip to Mount Fuji and Lake Ashi were still must sees. The traditional Japanese lunch was also very good, with a pretty big portion size. The venue for lunch was picturesque. It was also really nice to have the bullet train back to Tokyo after the day was over - such a quick way to get back after a long day exploring.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Jane

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The trip was awesome. We are lucky to have fully English speaking and well-organised tour to Mount fuji and Lake Ashi. Everything was superb on-time and the bullet train was superb cool and fast too. It is best to visit in winter time for clear view of Mount Fuji.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Ra Brown Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Was a great day Kanao? the guide she had a wealth of information about the various prefectures we passed through on the drive to Mt Fuji.

Unfortunately for us it was a foggy day up there so we didn't get to see Mount Fuji clearly but that is Nature, So be prepared and have reasonable expectations it not the guides or tour companies fault. Also on Station 5 they have a Gift Shop and Post Office, which I of course sent postcards home to New Zealand to my Grandma / Mum n Dad with the special Mt Fuji stamp.

The other highlight of the day was the cruise around Lake Ashi its such a beautiful region Hakone and even heard it mentioned on TV whilst I was here so clearly as the guide mentioned important for the Japanese culture and people. As you can expect at the terminal before boarding the boat is where you can purchase snacks and gifts from the region. But back to boat ride it was such a pleasant day I wish I could have stayed on the boat longer heck the whole day or explore more of Lake Ashi.

After the lake we headed up to ride the gondolas or Hakone Ropeway which takes you up to Mount Komaga-take the view from the gondola on way down is awesome great photo snap and sometimes you can get a clear view of Mt Fuji. Here they also have supermarket and gift shops but by time we arrived they was closing when we came back down the mountain.

The Top highlight for me was catching the Shinkansen Bullet Train back from Odawara Station to Shingawa Station
Train Station before Tamachi it took about 30-40mins it wasnt long at all but it was interesting
experience and something I have wanted to do since I was a young boy growing up in Rural New Zealand.

So all in all I would recommend this tour especially if you get Kanao I think that was how you spell her name her English is very good and does her best to entertain guests with songs, origami lesson.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Nilanthi L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Wonderful experience! Hakone still fuming volcano was a marvalous sight. The guide was jovial and helpful.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Barbara P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great way to see Mt Fuji AND experience the bullet train when you only have a limited time available. And although Mt Fuji was in the cloud while we were there, it cleared enough to get some good shots from Lake Ashi stop later in the day despite the odds against it.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Azra Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This is a tour that should not be missed while in Japan. everything ran like a clock work. one thing i like about Japanese culture is the precise timing , i can see as to why that is necessary with such a large population as in Tokyo. from the moment we were picked up at the hotel by a luxury coach and taken to the bus station for a ride to Mt Fuji. our tour director was Noriko and all i can say she was so professional and informative about the places we were at and where we were going to, she thought us how to count in Japanese and explained all about the bento box a very balanced lunch box I'm getting one definetly . i wish we can have her on our next trip to Japan. it was unfortunate that it was foggy and rainy that day so we couldn't see the top of mt Fuji but we did see hundreds of people preparing for a long climb to top of Mt Fuji, something that every person in Japan feels they should do at least once in their life time if not every year. after that we had a traditional Japanese lunch and yes you do have to take your shoes off, so make sure you don't have any holes in them. it was delicious if you are adventurous to try something different and apt to the place where you are. fortunetly for all of us later in the day we did see Mt Fuji from Mt Komagatake.. drive through Hakone, the boat ride and also the ropeway was so panoramic all the way from where you could see the beautiful lake Ashi and a golf course to die for. i couldn't understand the people that were sleeping all the way and missing the luscious forests, rice paddies and just seeing Japan nature,it was fantastic. as we were couple of hours late for a day trip on the bullet train back to Tokyo we had to do it at night so we couldn't see anything outside. at the speed of 330km an hour i don't think we could have seen much anyway. it was a very pleasant and comfortable journey and would recommend it to everyone. thank you Noriko for taking care of us and making sure we new how to get back home.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Mimi F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

A tour bus picked us up from the hotel to go to the bus depot. Once there, you will find the real bus for your tour. The bus ride to Mt Fuji is long, about 2 hours, but our guide was informative and her English is good enough. Even though that day was cloudy, she was very concerned for us whether we will see Mt Fuji's top. Both her and the driver intentionally looked out for us. They purposefully stopped and let the whole bus out for the 5 minute window when the clouds parted to let us see and take pictures of the mountain top. Once at 5th station, we stopped and buy souvenirs. Afterward, we had an authentic Japanese lunch. If you don't eat fish, don't order the lunch because that is the main lunch, it is one whole piece of rainbow trout from head to tail. The lunch was definitely tasty and authentic though. There is a side chicken dish too, with soba, some vegetable tempura and miso soup. We then went to Hakone and on the boat. The boat is not the pirate boat, so a little bit disappointing, but still a good ride. Then we got on the gondola to go to the top. They packed us quite tight in the gondola, so not too enjoyable. That day was very foggy too, so we couldn't see anything while at the top of the mountain here. The guide tried to teach us a Japanese song and also how to fold Mount Fuji using origami paper. We left to go back to Tokyo on the bullet train. The guide even taught us how to get back to the hotel from Tokyo station. It was definitely a full and long day of fun. We didn't get back to Tokyo till about 7 pm. I would definitely recommend anyone who what to see Mount Fuji, just pray for good weather on your day.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Rhoda C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

My entire family had a great time. We thought Mt Fuji was the highlight and that was it. But the sightseeing to Lake Ashi and Mt Komagatake were also unforgettable.

Doing what: Mt Fuji Day Trip including Lake Ashi Sightseeing Cruise from Tokyo

Janelyn C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

It was a great tour, the guide is very helpful and knowledgeable. Everything went well logistically and time wise. We had a wonderful time in Mt. Fuji and specially in Hakone. Very interesting place.

Doing what: 2-Day Mt Fuji, Hakone and Bullet Train Tour from Tokyo

Joshua P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

My partner and I aren't usually tour people and prefer to do our own thing when travelling, however, we definitely recommend this tour. Marie the tour guide is a wealth of knowledge and has a very good sense of humor. The tour itself is well set out and includes the beautiful Hakone. Lunch was FANTASTIC with a chankonabe-like dish. Highly recommend!

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Ian Lehr United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This trip has a lot of time spent on the bus, but you do learn a lot while on your way to the locations. The locations are great and the event for Lake Ashi is amazing! The bullet train back is a great way to travel and shows you the difference in speed to locations.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Bunthy P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

It was well organized. Tour guide spoke English well and very informative. Got to take lots of pictures and Japanese lunch was yummy. We went on a perfect day and there was no clouds covering the mountain. Wish we had more time shopping at the 5th station where we took pictures of mount Fuji. Bring extra food to snack on along the way and your portable charger. Also had a nice 15 minute cruise to Hakone. Took the cable car up there and saw a nice view from up top. The cable car doesn't have AC and you will be pack with others to get to the top so get a seat first or you'll end up standing all the way up there. I had fun and it was a great learning trip.

Doing what: Mt Fuji Day Trip including Lake Ashi Sightseeing Cruise from Tokyo

cwypanchew

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The 1st day was spent touring around Mt Fuji and parts of Hakone with a guide. The 2nd day was spent on my own with an all-day pass to roam around Hakone. I stayed at Yunohana Prince Hotel with dinner and breakfast. Great food, service, and hot spring. Room was dated but clean. Pricy but luxurious

Doing what: 2-Day Mt Fuji, Hakone and Bullet Train Tour from Tokyo

Layanthi C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I loved this tour. The guide and the company is well organised. Managed to see mount fuji just for 5 minutes because of the weather. But i won't get that chance if I didn't book this tour. Nice timing too. If you are focusing on Onsen spa then book Hakone Kowaki-en Hotel. This is very near to the bus and train stations too. If you booked Price hotel you might be lucky enough to see the mount fuji from your garden.

Doing what: 2-Day Mt Fuji, Hakone and Bullet Train Tour from Tokyo

Linda K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Worth every cent we paid for this tour. Sadly no view of Mt Fuji but enjoyed the cruise on lake Ashi and the ropeway up the mountain even though we only saw fog. Tour very well organised and brilliant tour guide. Highly recommended

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

A M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour delivered exactly what it said it would and then some. Our tour guide - Take - was very informative and entertaining and kept us all to schedule. My hotel in Hakone - the Prince Hakone Hotel - was very comfortable and the onsen bath was luxurious. Would highly recommend.

Doing what: Overnight Mt Fuji and Onsen Experience from Tokyo

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message