Tokyo ATTRACTIONS See all

Hakone National Park

With Mt Fuji as its dramatic backdrop and the stunning Lake Ashi down below, Hakone National Park (Fuji-Hakone-Izu National Park) is a popular destination among nature lovers visiting from Tokyo, with trekking opportunities, boat cruises and some ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 675 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Mimi F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

A tour bus picked us up from the hotel to go to the bus depot. Once there, you will find the real bus for your tour. The bus ride to Mt Fuji is long, about 2 hours, but our guide was informative and her English is good enough. Even though that day was cloudy, she was very concerned for us whether we will see Mt Fuji's top. Both her and the driver intentionally looked out for us. They purposefully stopped and let the whole bus out for the 5 minute window when the clouds parted to let us see and take pictures of the mountain top. Once at 5th station, we stopped and buy souvenirs. Afterward, we had an authentic Japanese lunch. If you don't eat fish, don't order the lunch because that is the main lunch, it is one whole piece of rainbow trout from head to tail. The lunch was definitely tasty and authentic though. There is a side chicken dish too, with soba, some vegetable tempura and miso soup. We then went to Hakone and on the boat. The boat is not the pirate boat, so a little bit disappointing, but still a good ride. Then we got on the gondola to go to the top. They packed us quite tight in the gondola, so not too enjoyable. That day was very foggy too, so we couldn't see anything while at the top of the mountain here. The guide tried to teach us a Japanese song and also how to fold Mount Fuji using origami paper. We left to go back to Tokyo on the bullet train. The guide even taught us how to get back to the hotel from Tokyo station. It was definitely a full and long day of fun. We didn't get back to Tokyo till about 7 pm. I would definitely recommend anyone who what to see Mount Fuji, just pray for good weather on your day.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Rhoda C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

My entire family had a great time. We thought Mt Fuji was the highlight and that was it. But the sightseeing to Lake Ashi and Mt Komagatake were also unforgettable.

Doing what: Mt Fuji Day Trip including Lake Ashi Sightseeing Cruise from Tokyo

Janelyn C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

It was a great tour, the guide is very helpful and knowledgeable. Everything went well logistically and time wise. We had a wonderful time in Mt. Fuji and specially in Hakone. Very interesting place.

Doing what: 2-Day Mt Fuji, Hakone and Bullet Train Tour from Tokyo

Joshua P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

My partner and I aren't usually tour people and prefer to do our own thing when travelling, however, we definitely recommend this tour. Marie the tour guide is a wealth of knowledge and has a very good sense of humor. The tour itself is well set out and includes the beautiful Hakone. Lunch was FANTASTIC with a chankonabe-like dish. Highly recommend!

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Ian Lehr United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This trip has a lot of time spent on the bus, but you do learn a lot while on your way to the locations. The locations are great and the event for Lake Ashi is amazing! The bullet train back is a great way to travel and shows you the difference in speed to locations.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Bunthy P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

It was well organized. Tour guide spoke English well and very informative. Got to take lots of pictures and Japanese lunch was yummy. We went on a perfect day and there was no clouds covering the mountain. Wish we had more time shopping at the 5th station where we took pictures of mount Fuji. Bring extra food to snack on along the way and your portable charger. Also had a nice 15 minute cruise to Hakone. Took the cable car up there and saw a nice view from up top. The cable car doesn't have AC and you will be pack with others to get to the top so get a seat first or you'll end up standing all the way up there. I had fun and it was a great learning trip.

Doing what: Mt Fuji Day Trip including Lake Ashi Sightseeing Cruise from Tokyo

cwypanchew

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The 1st day was spent touring around Mt Fuji and parts of Hakone with a guide. The 2nd day was spent on my own with an all-day pass to roam around Hakone. I stayed at Yunohana Prince Hotel with dinner and breakfast. Great food, service, and hot spring. Room was dated but clean. Pricy but luxurious

Doing what: 2-Day Mt Fuji, Hakone and Bullet Train Tour from Tokyo

Layanthi C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I loved this tour. The guide and the company is well organised. Managed to see mount fuji just for 5 minutes because of the weather. But i won't get that chance if I didn't book this tour. Nice timing too. If you are focusing on Onsen spa then book Hakone Kowaki-en Hotel. This is very near to the bus and train stations too. If you booked Price hotel you might be lucky enough to see the mount fuji from your garden.

Doing what: 2-Day Mt Fuji, Hakone and Bullet Train Tour from Tokyo

Linda K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Worth every cent we paid for this tour. Sadly no view of Mt Fuji but enjoyed the cruise on lake Ashi and the ropeway up the mountain even though we only saw fog. Tour very well organised and brilliant tour guide. Highly recommended

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

A M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour delivered exactly what it said it would and then some. Our tour guide - Take - was very informative and entertaining and kept us all to schedule. My hotel in Hakone - the Prince Hakone Hotel - was very comfortable and the onsen bath was luxurious. Would highly recommend.

Doing what: Overnight Mt Fuji and Onsen Experience from Tokyo

james.jeffers

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was amazing! Our tour guide Mary was great. We loved every moment from the time we boarded the bus to riding the Bullet Train. Mt. Fuji and Lake Ashi was the breath taking. We saw so much of Japan in one day. Highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Ronald B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Mika-San was a great guide. We were fortunate to see the mountain from many locations. It rained a bit so we left the 5th station quickly. It was very crowded so it won't have been much fun anyway. We had lunch nearby which was wonderful and perhaps the best part of the trip was Lake Ashi and Mount Hakone. We got a great view of Fuji from the top of Mt. Hakone too. The Bullet train back in was an entertaining novelty as well.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

JOY

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We had a long bus trip to see Mt. Fuji due to a traffic accident and had a limited time to spend in the 5th station to take pictures of Mt. Fuji. We were fortunate that we were able to see the peak of the mountain before we left and was able to take good shots. Our tour guide made sure that we were able to make it to our other scheduled tours in time. The lunch was great! The Lake Ashi boat trip was scenic though brief. The sky cable train was wonderful! To top it off we were able to take the bullet train back to Tokyo. We are glad that we chose this tour.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Sylvia H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We loved it! Marie was an amazing tour guide, so knowledgeable, friendly and animated! I'd go again just to have her as a guide : Fujisan was amazing as was Lake Ashi, beautiful sights. Hakone was covered in cloud when we went up but it added to the mystery and made us felt like we were on top of the world. Definitely recommend this day trip!

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Kathleen S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This day was great! We had perfect views of Mt. Fuji from every stop, and the stops were spaced out very nicely so we didn't feel stuck on the bus. Going up to the top of Hakone was my favorite, as we had time to hike around and had great views of Fuji from up there. Take this trip for sure!

Doing what: Mt Fuji Day Trip including Lake Ashi Sightseeing Cruise from Tokyo

FANDY W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Beautiful panorama of mount Fuji and Lake Ashi, and also the great traditional Japanese lunch.

Doing what: Mt Fuji Day Trip including Lake Ashi Sightseeing Cruise from Tokyo

Victoria H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This tour was exactly as described. Ellie our tour guide was informative and lovely. We enjoyed the ride to Station 5 of Mt Fuji. Then we were off to Hakone to Lake Ashi for lunch and the tram ride with unbelievable views. The bullet train ride back was fast! Just being on the platform and seeing the bullet trains wiz by was an experience!

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Harold

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Fantastic trip. Fuji San did herself proud and we were able to get some photos before the cloud rolled in. Lake Ashi is beautiful. The bullet train was an experience not to be missed. Our guide says he does this tour 5 times a week, and his knowledge showed it.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Cristofer M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We started out the tour at the Keio Plaza Hotel where we met the group and for on the bus. The drive to Mt Fuji was quick and beautiful. No traffic. When we first started the tour we were to.d that the 5th station was closed for the season still but later on in the drive our tour guide, Hiro-San, got a call saying they had opened it so we were able to go all the way up. When we got up there there wasn't a cloud to be seen. Such a clear beautiful day. After the 5th station we drove to Hakone for the lake cruise on Lake Ashi and the Hakone Ropeway. The cruise was really short but like Hiro said It was long enough. The Ropeway was amazing. You can see all of lake Ashi, Mt Fuji, and even the Pacific Ocean. We would definitely recommend this tour to anyone we know going to Japan. Easy, convenient, fun, and breathtaking.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Pattos Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Our family of 3 thoroughly enjoyed this 2 day trip. In fact for me the overnight stay at the Princes hotel in Hakone was the highlight. We opted for the Japanese experience and really enjoyed having a traditional style room and the banquet in the evening was fantastic. This option also meant you had a Japanese breakfast which is something quite unique. My husband also said that the outdoor onsen was fabulous.
As for day 1 with the guide, we had a good day. Luckily this tour includes a trip to the 5th Station otherwise we wouldn't have seen the top of Mt Fuji for the whole rest of the day due to clouds.
The second day you are left to your own arrangements. We decided to make the most of the hotel and checked out at 11am which still left us plenty of time to do the Hakone Cable Car the Ropeway is done on day 1 and then the Romance Car - Heritage Train down to Hakone town centre. We then had a late lunch in the town centre and left with enough time to get to Odawara by 1742 for the prebooked train back to Tokyo. Would highly reccommend.

Doing what: 2-Day Mt Fuji, Hakone and Bullet Train Tour from Tokyo

ernp1663

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was a great tour with a excellent tour guide. We had many great views of Mt. Fuji and was able to take many great photographs. Our tour guide was exceptional, as he work the schedule so that we were able to get in and out of place on the tour without having to wait in lines. I highly recommend this great tour. Lunch was really excellent as well. Mt Komagatake Rope way provided breath taking views of Mt. Fuji and the Lake Ashi.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Ying-Chiang C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The tour was a lot of fun. Our tour guide was very informative and amusing. The food at the stop was above and beyond. I was expecting a bento, not a hot meal.

The trip up to level 4 on Fuji and hakone was unexpected and wonderful!!

Doing what: Mt Fuji Day Trip including Lake Ashi Sightseeing Cruise from Tokyo

Michael B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Perfect weather!!!!!!!!!! The day before very cloudy and rain, but on April 15 blue sky, sunny day until lunch. Lake Ashi was ..... ok..... not absolutly a must have but nice and ok. Perhaps a little better english-knowing by the leader would be better.

Doing what: Mt Fuji Day Trip including Lake Ashi Sightseeing Cruise from Tokyo

Cynthia M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was a stellar tour. Hiro-San was a very informative guide, and the weather provided what was likely the clearest day of the season so far. We got up close and personal when we were able to ascend to the fifth station, and then had long distance views from -- and high above -- the surface of Lake Ashi. The included lunch was artfully presented and one of the best of my entire time in Japan. Hotel Regina. Be prepared: the tour ends at the end of the bullet train ride at Tokyo station. You will need to navigate back to your destination from there, but our guide was very helpful in making sure we knew what to do. Thank you, Hiro-San!

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

BEVERLEY L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The tour was great, except for the weather. As it was foggy and wet, which meant that it snowed on Mt Fuli. We did make it to stage 4 station. As it was to foggy the lake Ashi didn't happen but the alternative to me was great. It was a visit to an Art Gallery showing in Japanese artiste.

Doing what: Mt Fuji Day Trip including Lake Ashi Sightseeing Cruise from Tokyo

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message