Tokyo ATTRACTIONS See all

Hakone National Park

With Mt Fuji as its dramatic backdrop and the stunning Lake Ashi down below, Hakone National Park (Fuji-Hakone-Izu National Park) is a popular destination among nature lovers visiting from Tokyo, with trekking opportunities, boat cruises and some ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 736 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

vanaardt

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

It was our first trip to Japan and although I'm a seasoned traveller, wanted the comfort of an experienced guide as I was travelling with my children. The local tour operator was very efficient and our guide Nato was fantastic. He was funny, teaching us a Japanese song he learnt at school, showed us how to make an origami samuri helmet to help us relax on the journey to Mt Fuji and telling us about local customs, religion and other bits of Japanese information. Due to the weather, we could only get up to the 1st station, but it was still beautiful. We stopped at a nearby lakeside which offered specatular views of the mountain. I was unsure of whether to book the tour including lunch, as my kids are very fussy eaters. It was worth it to see their faces when we entered the restaurant to see the meal laid out. We had a few giggles at wondering what to do and how to eat it!. Ramen, tempura, tofu plenty to try and it was delicious. The short cruise on Lake Ashi was great as was the cablecar up Mt Komagatate. The kids enjoyed a snowball fight at the top. I thoroughly recommend the tour to anyone visiting Tokyo as it was great to get out the city to see the lakes and mountains.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

mullyashfox2

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

AMAZING---AMAZING--- AMAZING. MT. FUJI may not be the tallest mountain in the WORLD but it is STUNNING. From a distance while travelling on the coach it is STUNNING and when you arrive on the mountain,its a beauty to behold.If you are as lucky as we were when we visited,the view was crystal clear and the experience MONUMENTAL. Lake Ashi is absolutely STUNNING, and a must, as part of the trip. Add all this to the natural beauty of JAPAN, and the memories will stay with you FOREVER.

Doing what: Mt Fuji Day Trip including Lake Ashi Sightseeing Cruise from Tokyo

eddy t

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

If you want to be hassle free from planning own transportations to Mt. Fuji and Hakone, this is the answer.
We were lucky to see a very clear Mt.Fuji in winter, very nice weather with sunlight all the times in winter.
It's beautiful to see the clear Mt. Fuji from a 'windmill' shape restaurant Fuji Matsu View Restaurant and also from the peak at Mt. Komagatake. Of course, joining a tour you will always have to be rushed and lack of enough times to enjoy until you satisfied.
The lunch was delicious and in Japanese style.
The guide, Mr. Hiro is kind, informative and patient.
Overall, satisfied with this tour to Mt.Fuji and Hakone.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Marius G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Every thing was very well organized. We got pick up from the hotel as scheduled and transfer to the bus station from where we took the tour bus. Unfortunately for this tour the weather is playing a very big part. I highly recommend that weather forecast to be checked before taking this tour. On our tour date, the weather was quite bad and we didn't had the chance to go to the 5th station on Mt. Fuji. The road was closed due to safety concerns as the apparently there was snow on the road. We spend some time at the observatory instead.
Same problem was also with Lake Ashi and Mt. Komagatake Ropeway. Due to bad weather the cruise we supposed to take was unavailable due to strong winds. Instead we go to Lake Kawaguchi. We took the ropeway to Mt. Kachikachi. The view from the mountain top was nice, but due to the weather we had not get the change to see all Mt. Fuji.
The lunch taken during this tour was Japanese style at Highland Resort Hotel.
The tour ended at Odawara Station, from where to took the bulet train back to Tokyo.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Sylvie B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was a wonderful day trip. Lots packed into the day. In addition to the breathtaking views of and from Mt. Fuji, we had a gondola ride up a mountain for more great views of Mt. Fuji, a wonderful lunch, and a boat ride across Lake Ashi. Completed the day with the Bullet train ride home, that had us all gasping at it's speed. Our guide, Anne, was full of cultural information and tidbits, and kept us entertained on the bus ride. She taught us how to make Mt. Fuji out of origami, and had us trying to open puzzle boxes for the candy prizes inside! Lastly, she made sure all of us knew how to get back to our destinations once off the train, even having printed off metro maps for us with our paths highlighted.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Rosalia M G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We had a great sunny day although it was cold in January. Great views of Fantastic Mount Fuji.
The tour guide was really nice and informative and we had a very good lunch.
We also enjoyed the boat ride on the lake Ashi and the view from Mountain Kumagatake although it was very cold

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Yuliya J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Fantastic and comfortable coach tour with one very nice selfless and informative guide. We had the best front seats on a coach due to my motion sickness. Very friendly and accommodating tour provider, timely and so very well organised. We loved the views, the Japanese language lessons on a coach, traditional lunch/meal with ninja and geisha with mountain views was a must see and try!!!! Lake Ashi was so beautiful!!!! Bullet train back to Tokyo was so very exciting! We loved it, although it is not cheap, but nothing is cheap in Tokyo. It has made our experience very special indeed. We would have struggled to organise all that by ourselves and it would end up costing more. So just do it, it is one fabulous memory!

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Christopher T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Excellent tour. Our tour guide was very pleasant and knowledgeable. We were lucky to see Mount Fuji on a clear day. Lake Ashi was quite foggy, and the bullet train trip back to Tokyo was a lot of fun.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

janelives25

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was an excellent way to see a lot in a short space of time. The organisation was exceptional. At every stage of the journey we were met by Sunrise tour guides who made sure that we were well looked after.
The visit to Mount Fuji was wonderful. We were lucky to have such brilliant weather so we were able to catch glimpses of the mountain from just outside Tokyo. It was very busy when we arrived at the fifth station and very cold. The area was full of tourist shops but it was easy to turn your back on them and enjoy the beauty of the snow clad summit glistening in the sun.
Back down to ground level and we enjoyed a very good lunch of local food with a good vegetarian option too.
On to Lake Ashi. The boat trip was really hardly worth the effort but it took us to the cable car station and, again, it was very crowded. But we were moved to the front in order to get to the top to enjoy the views before the sunset. Mount Fuji, the lake and out to the Pacific ocean....beautiful.
There were just three of us continuing to Kyoto on the bullet train and the journey involved a change with just 4 minutes to make our connection. This could have been quite a challenge but the organisation was perfect. We were accompanied to the first train and given numbered seats. At the transfer station another guide was waiting for us as we arrived and she took us to the next train. At Kyoto we were met by yet another guide who took us to a taxi to take us to the hotel.
The hotel was lovely with a big, comfortable room and very well situated with a Starbucks next door and a 7-11 just across the road.
The next day consisted of two tours. The morning tour concentrated on the sights of Kyoto. A bit hectic but lots to see and a very informative guide.We had a buffet lunch with plenty of choices at a heritage centre. In the afternoon we headed out to Nara and the beautiful parks and temples with an excellent guide who showed us some different aspects and explained the history.
Another night in Kyoto and we had the next day to explore for ourselves. We really enjoyed the amazing street market selling anything and everything.
The return journey to Tokyo, also on the bullet train was equally stress free.
As first timers in Japan, this was an excellent trip and it has given us lots of ideas for a return visit and left us very impressed with the Japanese transport system.

Doing what: 3-Day Mt Fuji, Kyoto and Nara Rail Tour by Bullet Train from Tokyo

Daniel B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Fantastic Tour! Very Good Value for Money. Our guide ITO-San was like having your very own Japanese Grandmother on for the ride.
Not only do you see Mt Fuji and Hakone up close but you also get brilliant insight of the daily life of the modern Japan. The lunch was authentic Japanese cuisine at it's best. One of the best things we did in Japan.

Doing what: Mt Fuji Day Trip including Lake Ashi Sightseeing Cruise from Tokyo

Cindy G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This was by far the highlight of our trip. A very emotional, cold, and beautiful experience.

We started our trip being picked up at the hotel we chose from the list they offer. Our tour guide's name was Yuki, she spoke english, and was very very entertaining with all the historical and custom facts of Japan. I suggest you open up google maps, look up the location of where you are staying and the WALKING distance of the hotels they offer, this will determine which is best for you and depending on the time of the year you visit we went in the cold month of December, but we are Floridians so everything to us is cold you will have some walking to do in the weather period you visit. The bus will leave you upon return Close to the Shinjuku station, again, most cell phone carriers WIFI works so you should be able to GPS it back to your desired location. I am only saying this because people actually complain about this and I do not find it a necessary thing to complain about. You are in a foreign city, learn to navigate it.

We visited Mt. Fuji up to 2,300 meters. They have a shop there with delicious butter steamed corn, cool little Mt Fuji chocolate souvenirs, and a bunch of other nick nacks you can purchase. There are decks to take amazing pictures from that oversee the mountain summit. I suggest you purchase a selfie stick. We were against them until we visited Japan. We were in Mt Fuji for about 45 minutes or so and then headed to a hotel for a delicious traditional hot lunch. This included rice, vegetable tempura, hot miso soup, and other vegetables. My lunch was vegetarian but my husbands was not and it included tuna and he says it was delicious.

After, you will go down beautiful Hakone get those cameras ready because MT FUJI OVERSEES THE WHOLE TOWN, this part for us was iconic. You will go down to the beautiful lake in Hakone, you'll be there for a few minutes or so. Take some pictures. and then head over to take the cable cart which will take you up the mountain adjacent to Mt. Fuji, another great opportunity for images. This mountain has a trail, a couple of shrines, and beautiful views of the surrounding area including the pacific ocean.

Overall this trip was iconic because it was a financial sacrifice for us, but it was also very very indulging, the people were very polite and very charming, the cities are very clean and very organized. I truly believe that this tour is a must-do for all who come to Japan.

Doing what: Mt Fuji Day Trip including Lake Ashi Sightseeing Cruise from Tokyo

Ronald S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Good way to see Mt Fuji and Lake Ashi. Fortunately we had a clear day and were able to see the summit. Tour guide made sure we caught right train back to our hotel too.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Rayhan Tee

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

The tour was amazing! Definitely recommend!! Aside from making two new friends who were great company as well, our tour guide, Take-san, was amazing. He was very knowledgable about the history of the places and provided sufficient information regarding the places. If you ever wanted to know something about the place, just ask him! I asked him the species of the birds in Lake Ashi and he said that he didn't know what they were. Later on when we got on the bus, he announced to everyone about the species of the birds and what they were, migratory or not etc. It was amazing to see him take that extra step to figure out information for us tourists! He also shared with us his experiences and cool tricks!

Aside from the company and tour guide, the view was amazing! Especially on Mt. Fuji. The weather on that day was surprisingly clear. I did check the weather forecast before booking my date which I highly recommend to do so as if it's cloudy, you might not get to see much at all though as the day got closer, I noticed some other dates that were once supposed to be sunny became cloudy. So it's definitely still a gamble. I was lucky to have the day I booked to stay sunny all the way. It was unusually clear that we could even see the Japanese Alps on the other side of Mt Fuji which Take-san said was unusual! Even to see the snow on the Japanese Alps! Hakone and Lake Ashi was great too. Weather was really really cold and I LOVED it!! It was amazing! Remember to bring gloves and keep warm! Might want to bring ear muffs too if you can't handle the cold!

Stuff I wish could be better :
- Slightly more time on Mt Fuji, prolly like 10 minutes more.
- A better lunch menu. The lunch we had was really average. I would not recommend anyone to eat it lol.

That is all! Will share a bunch of photos soon!

Doing what: Mt Fuji Day Trip including Lake Ashi Sightseeing Cruise from Tokyo

Mark and Judy United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

I highly recommend this tour. It is a great way to see sights outside of Tokyo without having to do a lot of planning or research. The tour guides were all well informed and spoke good English. First you are picked up at your hotel in Tokyo and travel with a small group by bus to Mt Fuji, where you go halfway up the mountain. There are great photo ops and a gift store. We were blessed with a very crisp clear November day. Then you will stop for lunch, which was surprisingly excellent! Then you take a ferry and a cable car up Mt Hakone, where there are great views of Mt Fuji. We were then dropped off at the Shinkansen station to travel on to Kyoto. Tour operators met us every step along the way during bus, rail, and hotel transfers. In Kyoto, the hotel was first class! The next day you are in for a whirlwind day: touring palaces in Kyoto in the morning, another great buffet lunch, then an afternoon bus ride to Nara where you will absolutely marvel at the World's Largest Bronze Buddha an eerie ancient Shinto Shrine and hundreds of deer roaming free. The following day you are free to explore Kyoto on your own, and I would highly recommend the Old City Ninenzawa district. Then at 1700 you are picked up at the hotel, back on the Shinkansen to Tokyo, and taxi'd back to your hotel. This tour was well worth the money, and when we consider all we saw and the superior service, was actually quite reasonably priced!

Doing what: 3-Day Mt Fuji, Kyoto and Nara Rail Tour by Bullet Train from Tokyo

Bon Russel P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

its perfect timing for me and my wife to see the beauty of Mt. Fuji!
though its freezing cold, we make the most of our time in Mt. Fuji... Lake Ashi was also beautiful, with its serene sorroundings, its a relaxing place.. we will surely miss this place.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Joanne G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was a great way to see Mt Fuji Lake Ashi Hakone and ride on a bullet train. Our guide was exceptional. Sit back and enjoy. We did not think it was rushed. Thanks

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

vickimyatt

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

The scenery was beautiful. The area at the 5th Station was gorgeous. The leaves were changing. It was perfect. Our guide had climbed the mountain many times and was very knowledgeable. Everyone is so helpful in working with you to find the way back to your hotel. The cable car ride and the black eggs were fun. The hot springs were amazing. If there is one thing I would have changed it was the boat ride on Lake Ashi. By the time, we got there, it was starting to get dark. I was disappointed because the boat ride was a bit lame and very short, but the scenery should have been gorgeous. Instead, you could barely see it.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Anthony H Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

It was a long day but worth it ! We were lucky to see Mt Fuji as it was misty earlier but by the time we arrived it was clear . Our guide Mika made the tour interesting and informative , talking about Japan in general not just our trip. Weather was great so enjoyed the boat trip on Lake Ashi and the cable car up the mountain ........which was covered in cold fog at the top .Bullet train back to Tokyo was a highlight too , it really does get a move on ! ! An expensive day out but well worth it .

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

joe a

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

amazing tour, we were very lucky to have clear weather only 55 days every year!
Also the mountain and lake in lake ashi/hakone is worth the whole trip !

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Joey H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

great tour. Though not cheap but definitely value for money.. I cannot remember the lady tour guide name She's from Osaka. The fun did not start at Mt Fuji, it started the moment we boarded the bus from Keio Plaza hotel. She shared wonderful information about Japan cost of living and etc.... Also gave us tips about communicating with Japanese.. Lunch was great too.. Weather was bad at Hakone the day we went so we missed the pirate ship tour but was compensated with another lake tour.. So still good. By the way, We rarely tip and she got it!! Will not blink an eye to do another tour with this agency again.. MUST GO!

Doing what: Mt Fuji Day Trip including Lake Ashi Sightseeing Cruise from Tokyo

Laura S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

amazing trip! Well worth it for the Lake Ashi and Hakone tour. It was one of the most beautiful sites I've seen EVER!!

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Bonny W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

it was an awesome trips, it just too fast in short time. We wished we could have more time to explore Mt. Fuji and Lake Ashi. Especially, on the top of mountain where it was too cloudy to see the beautiful views.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

brittany.parrish

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our tour guide Ellie was informative and so sweet! We really enjoyed her commentary, and she managed to make the time on the bus go by faster. Even though the weather wasn't great the day we went, the trip to Mount Fuji and Lake Ashi were still must sees. The traditional Japanese lunch was also very good, with a pretty big portion size. The venue for lunch was picturesque. It was also really nice to have the bullet train back to Tokyo after the day was over - such a quick way to get back after a long day exploring.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Jane

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The trip was awesome. We are lucky to have fully English speaking and well-organised tour to Mount fuji and Lake Ashi. Everything was superb on-time and the bullet train was superb cool and fast too. It is best to visit in winter time for clear view of Mount Fuji.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Ra Brown Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Was a great day Kanao? the guide she had a wealth of information about the various prefectures we passed through on the drive to Mt Fuji.

Unfortunately for us it was a foggy day up there so we didn't get to see Mount Fuji clearly but that is Nature, So be prepared and have reasonable expectations it not the guides or tour companies fault. Also on Station 5 they have a Gift Shop and Post Office, which I of course sent postcards home to New Zealand to my Grandma / Mum n Dad with the special Mt Fuji stamp.

The other highlight of the day was the cruise around Lake Ashi its such a beautiful region Hakone and even heard it mentioned on TV whilst I was here so clearly as the guide mentioned important for the Japanese culture and people. As you can expect at the terminal before boarding the boat is where you can purchase snacks and gifts from the region. But back to boat ride it was such a pleasant day I wish I could have stayed on the boat longer heck the whole day or explore more of Lake Ashi.

After the lake we headed up to ride the gondolas or Hakone Ropeway which takes you up to Mount Komaga-take the view from the gondola on way down is awesome great photo snap and sometimes you can get a clear view of Mt Fuji. Here they also have supermarket and gift shops but by time we arrived they was closing when we came back down the mountain.

The Top highlight for me was catching the Shinkansen Bullet Train back from Odawara Station to Shingawa Station
Train Station before Tamachi it took about 30-40mins it wasnt long at all but it was interesting
experience and something I have wanted to do since I was a young boy growing up in Rural New Zealand.

So all in all I would recommend this tour especially if you get Kanao I think that was how you spell her name her English is very good and does her best to entertain guests with songs, origami lesson.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message