Tokyo ATTRACTIONS See all

Happo-en Garden

Happo-en means "beautiful from every angle." When visiting the Happo-en Garden in Tokyo, you’ll see that the name doesn’t even begin to describe this Japanese garden and teahouse. Take a stroll through tree-lined paths of century old ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 47 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

John S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

The garden where the tea ceremony takes place was extremely special. It's very difficult finding such places yourself in a big city.

Doing what: Tokyo Tower, Tea Ceremony and Sumida River Cruise Day Tour

Maria Teresa A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

I went on this tour in early March and had the BEST time! It was the perfect introduction to Tokyo. I booked it for my first day because I thought it would get me a good idea of what to do in the city and cover a few major attractions. It did that and more. Even though the agenda was packed I never felt too rushed and had plenty of time to take pictures and enjoy each location. Our guide Uran was really great and fun! She was helpful in explaining each location, important things we passed along the way, and giving advice for other sights to see and shopping areas. The lunch was pretty awseome as well. None of us expected that grand of a bbq and it was located in a very fancy hotel with beautiful gardens to explore. Don't expect to get too close to the Imperial Palace.. this isn't the tours fault because even if you go on your own you can only get a far away side view. I was still happy to see it. I didn't need directions back to my hotel after but our tour guide stayed in order to direct others which was very nice. The maps given in the beginning were also very helpful for the rest of my trip. I would very much recommend this tour to anyone visiting Tokyo. A must do! Thank you!!

Doing what: Tokyo Tower, Tea Ceremony and Sumida River Cruise Day Tour

Tracy S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Nobu was an excellent tour guide. She provided a great deal of information and was extremely engaging. She managed to keep everyone on schedule. Lunch was a treat and we are vegetarian. Tea ceremony and the garden were extraordinary, I highly recommend this tour as you get a lot in during those 8 hours.

Doing what: Tokyo Tower, Tea Ceremony and Sumida River Cruise Day Tour

Frances L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Great tour!!! Love it...tour guide was fantastic. Great overview of Tokyo and it's culture. The tea ceremony and the garden was awesome. The bbq was delicious and way above my expectation. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Tokyo Tower, Tea Ceremony and Sumida River Cruise Day Tour

Bill604

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

It was a very good tour and it provided an excellent introduction to Tokyo. First stop was at the Tokyo Tower which provided an excellent view of how large Tokyo is. Second stop was for the Tea Ceremony. Our group was split into two where one group went for the Tea Ceremony while the other group visited the nearby Mitsuo Aida Museum. Afterwards, the two groups switched places.

Lunch consisted of a bento box and Shabu-Shabu which was quite filling and very tasty. After lunch, we stopped at the outside of the Imperial Palace. Next, we visited the Hama-rikyu Gardens which was a peaceful break from the city. The Sumida River cruise was next. It was quite crowded on the boat. Last stop was at the Asakusa Nakamise Shopping Street for some souvenir shopping.

Doing what: Tokyo Tower, Tea Ceremony and Sumida River Cruise Day Tour

Sophie M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This tour was my favourite day in Japan, our guide was hilarious and very insightful. The tea ceremony and the gardens are beautiful and very peaceful. The Japanese BBQ lunch was delicious!
Would definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: Tokyo Tower, Tea Ceremony and Sumida River Cruise Day Tour

janissymes

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Had a fantastic tour of Tokyo yesterday. The guide was brilliant, Very knowledgeable about Tokyo and Japanese history and had excellent English. Asushie (sorry if spelt wrong) kept us entertained throughout the trip, easy to see why he was previously an actor. Skytree was fantastic even though I don't like heights. Tea ceremony was brilliant and the Japanese garden was out of this would with a riot of autumn colours. lunch was cooked at our table for us and served. Excellent. Temples, Buddist and Shinto very interesting. Highly Recommend the trip

Doing what: Tokyo Tower, Tea Ceremony and Sumida River Cruise Day Tour

KARALYN B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This trip gave us a very good overview of Tokyo. It was a lovely clear day and the view from Tokyo Tower was amazing.The tea ceremony gave us an insight in to the culture of Japan. The gardens in which the tea house is situated is a popular venue for young couples to have wedding photos taken in traditional dress. We saw two such couples and for me it made the visit even more special.

Doing what: Tokyo Tower, Tea Ceremony and Sumida River Cruise Day Tour

Patricia Lythe L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The tour was great, We had one day stopover in Tokyo en route to Europe and I pre-booked the tour. It was a grey day and to be picked up by a bus and toured around Tokyo was hassle free and great. the stop at the Tokyo tower was long enough and despite the murky day the views were worth it. Next stop the gardens, where as it was a public holiday we had the bonus of viewing several wedding parties in the gardens along with the bonsai trees. Some were wearing traditional Japanese clothes, others trad Western bridal gear but all looked stunning. The tea ceremony seemed slightly "contrived", but the Japanese lunch was superb with our meal cooked in front of us. The boat ride was interesting too but the weather was packing in, so the views weren't great. Then we visited the Shrines and a shopping centre, before being given good instructions on how to use the metro back to our hotel. A great way to spend a stopover, see a piece of the city and engage in the culture - highly recommended.

Doing what: Tokyo Tower, Tea Ceremony and Sumida River Cruise Day Tour

charles m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Very well planned out tour once it started. Best to make your own way to the Tokyo bus center and not use the pick up service. Metro/subway in Tokyo is second to none and part of the adventure! Lunch was 1st class. Tea ceremony and walking thru the surrounding gardens gave a very insightful view of Japanese culture. My three kids loved the tour.

Doing what: Tokyo Tower, Tea Ceremony and Sumida River Cruise Day Tour

Gary W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

This was certainly a great tour and introduction to the city of Tokyo, we had an excellant Guide called Quimone Ninja who was very informative and give us an understanding of what it was like to live in the city. We learned a lot about Japanese culture and its people. We really enjoyed the Tea Cermony abd the beautiful garden. We would certainly recommend it.

Doing what: Tokyo Tower, Tea Ceremony and Sumida River Cruise Day Tour

PhilR

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

I took this tour with my girlfriend, who was visiting from the UK, so that she could see some of Tokyo quickly. It was excellent and did exactly what I wanted it to do. The view of Mount Fuji from the Tokyo Tower was clear and an added bonus.
The Tea Ceremony was simple and serene experience and the gardens were stunning.
Lunch was fantastic and gave us an opportunity to talk to our fellow travellers and once again the gardens were spectacular. The tour guide was excellent. Her English was faultless, her knowledge was deep and her sense of humour just brilliant. I particularly enjoyed her explanation of the Japanese toilet functions!
The day was well organised and went ahead seamlessly. An altogether great tour. I would reccomend this tour to anyone visiting Japan for the first time or any time for that matter.

Doing what: Tokyo Tower, Tea Ceremony and Sumida River Cruise Day Tour

Jody D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

we feel very lucky to have been able to witness the tea ceremony and walk through the beautiful garden. The lunch yummy and was in an amazing location. sitting on the boat relaxing was a great end to our holiday

Doing what: Tokyo Tower, Tea Ceremony and Sumida River Cruise Day Tour

Michelle M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

We joined this tour on our 3rd and final full day in Tokyo. We thoroughly enjoyed it. We had travelled around Tokyo on our own the previous 2 days, but this tour covered alot of ground, provided some respite from the heat and was thoroughly interesting. Our guide Junko was excellent. Her English is impeccable, and she gave good explanations of where we were going and what we would see. She tought us about the customs and even taught us a few words of Japanese. She did a good job of managing the large group, and keeping us together. She even wrote out some directions for us in Japanese at the end of the tour. The tour was diverse and very interesting. First stop was at the Tokyo Tower. We had a clear day, with good views. The Happo-en garden was beautiful, with a wonderful assortment of bonsai trees. It was interesting to see the rituals of the tea ceremony. A wonderful bonus was seeing 3 bridal parties in the garden that day, some in traditional dress, some in white gowns. Lunch was at a beautiful hotel, with an extensive garden, with more brides! The BBQ was delicious [Oishi]. We walked around the Imperial Palace, and saw what we could of the manucured grounds and buildings from the gate.Through the GInza, and all the fancy shops. Then it was on the river on a short cruise, past some interesting sights, to Asakusa Cannon Temple via the Nakamise shopping street. The shopping street was interesting, lots of small shops and stalls, with samples of snacks and lots of kimonos to try on. The temple and the pagoda are beautiful. We thoroughly enjoyed our tour. It was the perfect of our time in Tokyo. It would have been very difficult, especially in the heat and himidity, to cover as much ground as we did in one day on one's own.

Doing what: Tokyo Tower, Tea Ceremony and Sumida River Cruise Day Tour

Ehays

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

This city tour is a must do!!! When my husband and I arrived in Tokyo it was hard to tell from my guide book, which sites we should see first and how we get around to them. Luckily, I booked this tour before we got there and so our trip was not dependent on me and my ability to glean information from a guide book. This tour hit most of the iconic sites that you would want to see if you only had a day in Tokyo and was at such a nice (quick) pace that my husband never lost interest even though we had been in Japan for 10 days already. First stop, Tokyo Tower, (get your pictures quick because it can be a bit of blitz up to the top and back). Then we were off to a traditional tea ceremony and Japanese garden. The ceremony was beautiful and our guide (Keiko) walked us through all of the steps on our way over to the ceremony so we knew what to do while there. Then off to our ishiyaki lunch (food grilled in front of you on a hot stone) which was super tasty and entertaining. Next, was a walk by the imperial palace (of course you can only see the gate but it's still beautiful) and then our river boat trip. The boat trip is relaxing but don't bother taking pictures of skytree tower in the beginning, the best pictures of the tower are at the end of the trip when you get to Asakusa. The tour end at the temple in Asakusa and it was absolutely stunning!! Huge red gates and lanterns with large golden statues. Really breathe taking (and again, this is after we've seen plenty of temples and shrines). For those of you who like to shop (don't we all?) there is a good sized open-air market at the temple with all the souvenir and food purchases you would need. I would also like to say that our guide, Keiko, was great. Very knowledgeable and interesting! This tour is a must!

Doing what: Tokyo Tower, Tea Ceremony and Sumida River Cruise Day Tour

Brian D S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Transfers bus from hotel to bus station worked well.The tour itself gave us wonderful overview of Tokyo.The Tea Ceremony in the Garden was unique.All other experiences were very enjoyable and our guide on the day was exceptional and she even assisted us obtaining the correct train tickets train lines back to our various hotels.

Doing what: Tokyo Tower, Tea Ceremony and Sumida River Cruise Day Tour

Agnelo C D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

A well paced tour with plenty of time given to see the wonders of Tokyo, enjoy a fascinating Tea Ceremony and a very sumptuous lunch with Japanese chefs cooking our meal for us in true Japanese style on our tables.
The gardens in Tea Ceremony area were filled with Bonsai and we were fortunate to witness many trees just about to blossom giving us an insight how beautiful the Cherry Blossoms must be. Recommend this tour.

Doing what: Tokyo Tower, Tea Ceremony and Sumida River Cruise Day Tour

Luv2travel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

This tour is highly recommended. If you've been to the Eiffel Tower, Empire State Building and any other significant highrise, then the views are similar. If you want a free view of the city, I'd recommended the Tokyo Government Metropolitan building in Shinjuku since the observatory deck is free and gives you a similar view.

The tea ceremony was a good experience if you want to observe and participate in one of Japan's traditions. You only get a sampling of the tea - which is green and frothy, but as with most Japanese teas, has a bitter after taste. When attending this ceremony, participants are asked to be respectful and abide with the local tradition. The teahouse is also surrounded by a garden, so it's best to go there during Spring or Fall. There is a 300+ and 500+ year old bonsai tree on the premises, so make sure to ask the tour guide if you are interested in seeing them.

The lunch was one of the highlights of the tour - it states a "BBQ" lunch, so don't be deceived if you are used to the concept of an American BBQ. It's actually a hibachi-style lunch, a la Benihana, but not with the volcano or cutting shows. The food is freshly prepared in front of you, so it's definitely worth the experience and was the best lunch out of all 3 tours I took in Japan.

The Sumida River cruise started at the Port of Tokyo to Asakusa, where you will be given about 50 min to an hour to browse around the local shops and bakeries. Most of the vendors do not accept credit cards, so if you want to shop for souvenirs and sweets to take home, make sure you have enough yen on you. Since there is a limited amount of free time in this shopping area, make sure you have a plan of action since the tour bus leaves timely.

Lastly, the tour ends at Tokyo station, and you are responsible for finding your own way back. The guide will help you with directions but you will need to have enough money to return by train/subway. Overall - it was a good tour if you are short on tiime.

Doing what: Tokyo Tower, Tea Ceremony and Sumida River Cruise Day Tour

Robert W Nederland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2012

Must do tour when in Tokyo. Good guide, great gardens and views and lots of info.

Doing what: Tokyo Tower, Tea Ceremony and Sumida River Cruise Day Tour

Moira M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

The tour gave a great overview of Tokyo, and various aspects of Japanese culture. Great views from tower, enjoyed the gardens, imperial palace, river cruise, tea ceremony and absolutely loved the lunch! Our guide did a wonderful job!

Doing what: Tokyo Tower, Tea Ceremony and Sumida River Cruise Day Tour

Hatem Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2011

Tour was comprehensive, timely; tour guide was excellent with clear English. Elegant lunch. Nice tea ceremony. Down turn Royal palace garden was closed due to a foreign VIP visitor Good value for money in expensive city like Tokyo

Doing what: Tokyo Tower, Tea Ceremony and Sumida River Cruise Day Tour

Willis L USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2010

Fantastic, it was a great all day tour. Started right on time at 9am and ended about 530pm. Our tour guide spoke excellent english and was very funny and friendly. We went all around Tokyo and I got some great photo oppurtunities. Everything was explained to us and questions were answered and every was really friendly. When we visited certain areas we were allowed to explore and buy gifts if offered. The tea ceremony and gardens were beautiful and again great photo oppurtunities. The lunch we served was top notch as well. A great experience and well worth the price. After it was over, I wished I had booked a couple different tours. Also once its over it gives you a good broad view of areas that you might want to go back to on your own. A great experience and a great tour, would easily recommend it and would easily do it again.

Doing what: Tokyo Tower, Tea Ceremony and Sumida River Cruise Day Tour

Pauline P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

Very informative and interesting guide. She also has a really good sense of humour which appealed to all the various groups and couples on board. The itinerary is busy - no time to get bored! Lunch at the very exclusive Four Seasons hotel was excellent - Ishiyaki - in a japanese style pavillion in the middle of landscaped gardens with full cherry blossoms, just gorgeous. This exceeded expectations for a tour group lunch!

Doing what: Tokyo Tower, Tea Ceremony and Sumida River Cruise Day Tour

Michael P Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

Good tour, takes in some top attractions! A beautiful garden where the tea ceremony is held this is where I proposed to my woman! Fantastic views from the Tokyo tower. Even after the tour was over, we were dropped back to our hotel by the tour company. Top service!

Doing what: Tokyo Tower, Tea Ceremony and Sumida River Cruise Day Tour

Jennifer M USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

This tour was great!! The guide spoke really good English. We learned a LOT about Tokyo from her. The tea ceremony and bonsai garden were very nice and peaceful. The BBQ lunch was great and very filling. The boat ride was very relaxing. I also liked the shopping. I would definitely recommend this tour!!

Doing what: Tokyo Tower, Tea Ceremony and Sumida River Cruise Day Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message