Kabukicho, one of Tokyo’s busiest nightlife and red light districts, offers the foreign visitor nothing short of a bizarre cultural experience. An estimated 150,000 people pass through the district’s 200 clubs and 80 love hotels each day, and you’re ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 11 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Bill604

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

It was a very informative tour and a good introduction to Shinjuku and Kabukicho. There were only three of us on the tour. We got to see quite a bit in two hours. On our walk through Shinjuku, we visited a video game arcade, a pachinko parlour, and a department store selling anime fashions. We also walked by a capsule hotel on our way to the Hanazono Shrine and Golden Gai.

In Kabukicho, we walked by numerous bars and all the neon signs. We had our photo taken by the arch marking the entrance to Kabukicho and walked by the famous Robot Restaurant. Last stop was for a snack of takoyaki.

The tour guide was friendly and knowledgeable. I would definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: Shinjuku and Kabukicho Evening Walking Tour

Jill D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

This was one of the craziest, over the top things I have done with my family. We loved it. I took my kids, age 7 and 14 and they thought it was crazy, fun and without a doubt entertaining. Even though the description says its in the Red Light District I personally did not think it was inappropriate for the kids. It was lit up like Las Vegas but more of a fun party atmosphere than the "bad side of town". Nothing inappropriate happened and the show itself is not risque at all. Trust me and take the address IN JAPANESE with you in the taxi since most drivers don't speak English and ours was not familiar with the place. You can get there with the metro and complicated walking instructions. Unless you are familiar with the area you should just take a taxi, even though they are expensive, because you may just never find the place and the metro is a hike in the dark after hours. You will have to get out of the taxi on a main street and walk down a pedestrian street about 1/2 a block so just know the taxi doesn't drop you off in front. There are a lot of stairs in the club but they do have an elevator if you need one. Once seated take your drink coupons and get all your drinks before the show starts. The cocktail girl was in demand and we never did use all our vouchers. The food was not good so don't rely on it for a good dinner but you will see it is not about the food. There are a lot of lasers, lights, noise and some smoke in case that bothers anyone (kids or grandparents). This is a MUST DO in my opinion.

Doing what: Tokyo Robot Evening Cabaret Show

Chris Hord Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

It is one of the most amazing shows in Japan, which leads you to see the most unique and exciting culture in Japan. All machines are robots and some of them are controlled by remote controllers. One of the sessions in the show also got a few big robots (same size from the movie transformers) to dance gangnam style. It was a fun night for a couple or a group of friends who want to chill out in the red light district area in Shinjuku.

Doing what: Tokyo Robot Evening Cabaret Show

Robert C

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Plenty weird, plenty fun experience within Tokyo's Red Light District in the Shinjuku neighborhood. Probably tourist heavy, but didn't feel like I was suckered at all.

Doing what: Tokyo Robot Evening Cabaret Show

Jenn P

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

This was a great tour to take as a first time visitor to Tokyo to get a highlights tour of what you want to see around Shinjuku ad Kabukicho. The tour was fast and furious with half the time spent with our guide on the phone sorting out issues for other people on our tour, but still gave us the confidence to then go explore on our own.

Tokyo at night is cacophonic and it's easy to be a bit overwhelmed. It was great to be able to know where we wanted to go and what we wanted to see. I recommend it to anyone who has never been before.

Doing what: Shinjuku and Kabukicho Evening Walking Tour

Bronwyn H

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

This tour was good, I don't know what I expected but I didn't expect department stores to be highlighted and then we did a walk through of the Isetan food court. If you haven't been to the Kabukicho area before then this tour would be worth while.

Doing what: Shinjuku and Kabukicho Evening Walking Tour

Sohini M

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

Definitely a trip worth doing to get a look into the inside alleys of Shinjuku and Kabukicho. It would have been nice to have a guide who is more interactive and sharing bits of interesting information. Fluency in English seemed a bit of a problem and maybe this hindered greater interaction

Doing what: Shinjuku and Kabukicho Evening Walking Tour

Nigel D

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

We were really looking forward to our visit to the Robot Cabaret show and although it didn't quite meet our expectations it was still an enjoyable evening. The show is bizarre and wacky as expected and shows a side of Tokyo I expect a lot of tourists want to see.

I do have a few words of caution to anyone who is considering booking to see the show however. Firstly the show is located just outside of Shinjuku in the "Red Light" district which although very lively may intimidate some visitors. We were two mid twenties men walking through this district and were constantly being hassled by men on the street asking us to come in and see "their offerings". Most were easily shrugged off however a few were pretty persistent and did make us feel uncomfortable. Secondly, although the show is great fun it did come across as a bit more "amateur" than we were expecting. Maybe we had expected too much from it but there were a number of pauses in the show so they could move set pieces around and some of the props/costumes were falling to pieces. Thirdly, this show is clearly targeted towards tourists and in particular those who enjoy more than just a few drinks. Most of the audience were fine however there were a few who got a little rowdy and unpleasant...not the kind of people we would choose to spend an evening with.

In summary, its a great show with some flaws and in an area of the city that some may not feel comfortable visiting. If you are looking to see the bizarre side of Tokyo this may just be right up your street.

Doing what: Tokyo Robot Evening Cabaret Show

Arsalan R

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2014

Covered some interesting areas in Shinjuku / Kabukicho. Learned a few things I would never have known through online research!

Doing what: Shinjuku and Kabukicho Evening Walking Tour

Patricia Louise W

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2016

You could not hear the tour guide, she did not use a head set like most tours were doing. All we did was walk through department stores and get some history on that. With all the noise I found I did not learn very much. We did stop in at a bar in a red light area - a bit sketchy but it was interesting. And we stopped in at a vendor for some food. My daughter went back later on with a few friends to the bar area so that gave her an idea of where to spend her evening. Not overall an impressive tour, had a lot better from this tour company.

Doing what: Shinjuku and Kabukicho Evening Walking Tour

Cynthia K

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2014

Couldn't find it at all. Completely lost in an a red light district, better directions needed. Had asked viator to change date because I got lost. Won't hold my breath they haven't replied.

Doing what: Tokyo Robot Evening Cabaret Show

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message