Tokyo ATTRACTIONS See all

Kokugikan Sumo Stadium & Museum

The Kokugikan Sumo Stadium, also known as the Ryōgoku Kokugikan, is Tokyo’s largest indoor sports arena hosting sumo wrestling tournaments. Sumo is Japan’s most popular sport, so catch an incredible show with up to 10,000 other spectators and find ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 160 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Asta S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

If you are looking for a fun and exciting way to experience Japans culture and rich heritage I would definitely recommend going to see Sumo Wrestling. We had a fantastic time ... even my Japanese sister in-law who had never seen Sumo had a blast. She has since booked a seasons pass for herself and her husband. Do yourself a favour and GO!

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

Mark A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

We had a great time on our tour to the Grand Sumo Tournament in Tokyo in January, we had a lovely guide and very happy with our experience, love Japan

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

Hannah F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Great day out to see a more traditional side of Japan. We had a very enthusiastic guide who gave a really good and interesting insight to Sumo. For anyone thinking of going on this tour it is definitely worth doing.

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

Sydney W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

All aspects of the tour were excellent.
The meeting arrangements were good, travel to the arena was simple and our guide Miki was excellent. She did a great job of explaining the rules and the traditions associated with Sumo and showed a real passion for the activity. I would recommend this tour if you are lucky enough to be in Tokyo during one of the Sumo tournaments.

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

Morrison M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Best experience I have ever had! Our guide was highly passionate about sumo wrestling and wrote a brief description of all the wrestlers we saw that day, explained all the rules very clearly and helpful about where to go for souvenirs, food, drinks! Seriously a MUST when you visit Tokyo! We did have the dinner included which was nice but could have done without it but overall one amazing experience!!!

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

Kristy L S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Guide was really well prepared and knowledgable which really helped us understand the sumo action.

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

Benny Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We were extremely lucky to be in Tokyo at the time of the Sumo Tournament in January 2017. We followed Emiko who told us about the traditional art of Sumo which has survived to this day, her English was perfect and the stories she told us about the celebrity wrestlers kept us entertained. She got us there with plenty of time to get comfortable and see all of the important bouts! We then enjoyed a traditional Japanese dinner complete with sake! Would definitely recommend this tour to people who haven't seen the amazing sport. Would love to return again some day to see the tournament again

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

Hérica K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Good experience. The tour guide was nice and very knowledgeable, sharing a lot of interesting facts about sumo. The seats weren't the best but it was decent. If you do wish to see the sumo wrestlers arriving around 1400 you have to get there earlier and meet up with the group at the arena. We arrived after 1500 and by then pretty much all the the wrestlers had already walked in. It was a fun time, I recommend this tour.

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

Alan S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Very informative guide who even helped us get pictures with some of the sumo competitors. Well worth doing.

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

Martin T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Our guide, Yukiko, was amazing and very enthusiastic about all things Sumo. Took the time to explain the history and traditions of Sumo, plus points of interest in each of the day's matches.
Chanko dinner was beautifully presented and tasted delicious. A real highlight of our trip.

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

David S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

It was great fun and out tour guide was most helpful in explaining the Sumo traditions. I would highly recommend the experience.

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

Dane R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Really enjoyed our Sumo tour the guide was fantastic and very knowledgable.

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

Meagan S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Awesome to see! We had a really great time watching the sumos and our guide was so knowledgeable and passionate about it which added to the experience.

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

olly1970

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Terrific authentic Japanese experience. The guide was very informative and told us everything about the traditions and history of Sumo wrestling.

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

Veqas Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Good tour, good explanation of sumo, and easy to find collection point

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

Ozpol

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We were very luck to be in Tokyo at tge time of sumo tournament
Our guide was very enthusiastic, and gave us a lot of interesting information

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

Wendy D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Hugely enjoyed my first experience of a sumo tournament.
The tour people were very well organised and herded us in small groups via 2 trains to the arena with great efficiency. Our guide was very experienced and knew the wrestlers well. Sumo is a great spectacle and I highly recommend it.

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

Megan G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We had a fantastic time on this tour. Our guide, Take, gave a thorough explanation of all things sumo, and periodically explained what was going on during the tournament. He was also excellent at making sure our group stayed together, and that everyone knew how to get back to their hotels whether they chose the dinner option or not. The tournament was very entertaining to watch! The seats were a little high up, but I still managed to get some good pictures. Even people who aren't really into sports like me will enjoy this very much. The dinner afterwards was pretty good as well, and it's ready when you get to the restaurant. Overall, this was an unforgettable experience, and Take was very friendly, informative, and funny. This was a major highlight of our trip to Tokyo, and we will definitely recommend it to family and friends!

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

Jenny W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The Sumo Wrestling Tournament was so interesting and our guide taught us a lot about the rituals prior to the actual wrestling. Our guide also would let us know what exciting or unique warm up or signature move certain wrestlers are known for, which was nice to have our cameras ready. It would have been really great to arrive earlier so we could walk around and take pictures, get snacks and watch more matches, but overall this was an amazing experience. Loved it!!

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

Lee S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our whole group was really happy with this tour. We got a better price on entry tickets than we would have otherwise the tickets were sold out at the box office and the secondary market prices are high, and ended up with a tour guide that just loved sumo and gave us lots of detail about the different wrestlers and about the sport. Definitely worth doing.

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

richardbarnwell

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We had a fantastic time at the Sumo. Our seats were great and we were lucky enough to have a fabulous tour guide who was genuinely passionate about the sumo and getting the low down on the tournament and the individual wrestlers really brought the whole experience to life. However, I am not entirely sure I believe her that Endo isn't her type given her giddy excitement when he won!!!! - All in all a brilliant afternoon made all the more special by the guide. Wholeheartedly recommended!!

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

James Andrew L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Loved the experience and was really pleased that for the most part we could enjoy the Sumo Tournament on our own. I doubt anyone in my group would have appreciated the tournament as much had we just gone by ourselves without some background from the tour guide on the sport's history and the competitors we saw on the day. Loved it!

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

Saskia D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

A very well-organised tour. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and enthusiastic about sumo. She was helpful in all regards and I would definitely recommend this service to others.

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

Vince M United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our tour guide for the day, Mika-san, was one of the best tour guides I've ever had. Before we left the meeting area, my sister and I received an extremely informative crash course on the history, ranking structure, and cultural aspects of sumo. Mika-san also personally made each of us a helpful cheat sheet containing the match-ups of the events which included each wrestler's date of birth, country of origin, height, weight, and various background information. It was also color coded with her personal recommendations for the event with yellow signifying interesting bouts and red for can't miss head-to-head battles. After arriving at the arena, we were led on a quick guided tour through the building which included a small side museum dedicated to all the former yokozunas or grand champions of the past. During the tournament, my sister forget her pen and Mika-san was kind enough to lend us one of hers so that we could jot down notes. All in all, a great tour and highly recommended to anyone who might be interested in seeing Japan's national sport.

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

Rekha S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The tour guide was exceptional in his knowledge of sumo history and really got us well informed to enjoy the sumo wrestling matches once they started. I would highly recommend going this route if you want to catch a sumo game.

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message