Tokyo ATTRACTIONS See all

Kotokuin (Great Buddha of Kamakura)

The 47-foot (14-meter) tall bronze Buddha statue of Kotokuin (Great Buddha of Kamakura) is only the second tallest statue of Buddha in Japan though likely the most recognizable. The seated figure is that of Amitabha Buddha, worshipped by Japanese ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 201 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Adeline yu xin L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

this trip is scheduled the day before i left and it was so worth it! Lunch was ok! This trip covers a few shrines that i don't have to visit any other. Misoko San I think this is her name but i may be wrong she did her best in introducing all the landmarks along the way as well as the places we were going to. The buddha and shopping is my favourite.

at the last stop over for shopping, there is this Kamakura Custard Kamakura New German. It is really yummy!

I will definitely recommend this trip to everyone!!!

Doing what: Kamakura and Tokyo Bay Day Trip from Tokyo

cooper.gem

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Great tour, well organised, and REALLY good lunch!

Doing what: Kamakura and Tokyo Bay Day Trip from Tokyo

Francisco C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Kamakura and Tokyo Bay Day Trip from Tokyo

Jyotsna T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

tour guide was excellent. enjoyed the day.

Doing what: Kamakura and Tokyo Bay Day Trip from Tokyo

Jody S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

It was really great to get outside of Tokyo, and see traditional Japan.

Doing what: Kamakura and Tokyo Bay Day Trip from Tokyo

joe a

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

fun day of visits out of tokyo
very well organised

Doing what: Kamakura and Tokyo Bay Day Trip from Tokyo

Alice H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Great guide, I think her name is Amy. This is a big group, 43 people, but she took good care of everyone. Tempura lunch was good.

Doing what: Kamakura and Tokyo Bay Day Trip from Tokyo

Melanie Clare S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Would recommend sound equipment when in large crowds as it was impossible to hear the guide.

Doing what: Kamakura and Tokyo Bay Day Trip from Tokyo

big_mack

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

If you are in Tokyo, you should not miss the opportunity to tour Kamakura. It is a very short bus ride from Tokyo and this tour allows you to visit the highlights of Kamakura when you have limited time. We visited the iconic Kotoku-in Temples Great Buddha and the beautiful Tsurugaoka Hachimangū Shinto shrine. The Day tour also included a trip through a Bamboo forest in Kamakura along with a traditional Tea Ceremony. If you have a day free, don't miss this opportunity.

Doing what: Kamakura and Tokyo Bay Day Trip from Tokyo

Christine D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

What a great tour, great experience! Thank you!

Doing what: Kamakura and Tokyo Bay Day Trip from Tokyo

Suzanne S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Would recommend, sights were amazing

Doing what: Kamakura and Tokyo Bay Day Trip from Tokyo

A M J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Very well organised. Delivered on promises. Amy was fantastic with her information - very enthusiastic and gave 100 A fantastic day.

Doing what: Kamakura and Tokyo Bay Day Trip from Tokyo

San C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We have a goo time

Doing what: Kamakura and Tokyo Bay Day Trip from Tokyo

Maria Eugenia O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Muy organizado, excelente la comida

Doing what: Kamakura and Tokyo Bay Day Trip from Tokyo

Bronte E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great fun! the giant Buddha is worth the trip just in itself. We packed so many beautiful places into one day and had a traditional lunch that was included. The trip to and from Kamakura went smoothly, returning back right on time in the evening. Tour guide was great! Highly recommended to everyone!

Doing what: Kamakura and Tokyo Bay Day Trip from Tokyo

christine

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was our first trip of the week and it was well worth doing. Seeing the giant Buddha, the bamboo groves, the Shrines and Temples, it really packs a lot into one day. Our guide was very good. Lunch was very nice. Would recommend this trip.

Doing what: Kamakura and Tokyo Bay Day Trip from Tokyo

Neil S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

A lovely tour and well guided.

Doing what: Kamakura and Tokyo Bay Day Trip from Tokyo

QUN Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

good to try the different side of japan, it was organised very well. Our Tour Guide AMY was quite helpful, polite and resourceful. I truly appreciate her help.

Doing what: Kamakura and Tokyo Bay Day Trip from Tokyo

thprakash

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

It was a memorable tour! Tour guide was awesome! We covered a lot of places since this was an arranged tour.. more than we would have done ourselves.

Doing what: Kamakura and Tokyo Bay Day Trip from Tokyo

Susan F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

really enjoyed, need more time to shop

Doing what: Kamakura and Tokyo Bay Day Trip from Tokyo

Innah

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I really enjoyed this tour because there was so much to do and see! We visited shrines and temples and were told the religious differences about the two, walked through a miniture bamboo forest, had an amazing Japanese lunch, participated in a traditional tea ceremony, and had time for shopping!
If I'm not mistaken, our tour guide's name was Halle, and she was amazing! Very friendly and knowledgable. She consistently tried to engage the guests to participate but she didn't force anyone to stick around as she explained. She was very open to others roaming around while she spoke.
I really liked that we were given audio devices so she didn't have to yell while explaining to us on site. So you could walk about half a mile from her and take pictures of what I wanted to, while listening to her. It's very clever!
The pick up from our hotel was at 7:55AM and they dropped us off at the bus station where we hopped over to our tour bus. The tour ended at 6:30PM and we were given the choice of being dropped off at Shinjuku or Ginza. Kamakura tour is the less popular choice versus the infamous Mt Fuji tour but I highly recommend this tour for those who want to see this sea side prefecture!

Doing what: Kamakura and Tokyo Bay Day Trip from Tokyo

Steve L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

It wasn and #39;t easy getting to Kamakura in traffic. A lot of coach time, but this was the best/fastest way to get there, and the time spent was well-worth it. Wonderful, knowledgable guide.

Doing what: Kamakura and Tokyo Bay Day Trip from Tokyo

John

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great tour. Excellent information on temples and area.

Doing what: Kamakura and Tokyo Bay Day Trip from Tokyo

Savita C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

It was a wonderful variety of experiences and a well-packed day.

Doing what: Kamakura and Tokyo Bay Day Trip from Tokyo

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message