Located within Hakone National Park with the mighty Mt Fuji as its backdrop, Lake Ashi, also known as Lake Ashinoko, is a scenic spot to take a boat ride and take in the lush mountain views. Considered sacred by the Japanese, Lake Ashi features the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 93 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Rhoda C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

My entire family had a great time. We thought Mt Fuji was the highlight and that was it. But the sightseeing to Lake Ashi and Mt Komagatake were also unforgettable.

Doing what: Mt Fuji Day Trip including Lake Ashi Sightseeing Cruise from Tokyo

FANDY W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Beautiful panorama of mount Fuji and Lake Ashi, and also the great traditional Japanese lunch.

Doing what: Mt Fuji Day Trip including Lake Ashi Sightseeing Cruise from Tokyo

Michael B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Perfect weather!!!!!!!!!! The day before very cloudy and rain, but on April 15 blue sky, sunny day until lunch. Lake Ashi was ..... ok..... not absolutly a must have but nice and ok. Perhaps a little better english-knowing by the leader would be better.

Doing what: Mt Fuji Day Trip including Lake Ashi Sightseeing Cruise from Tokyo

BEVERLEY L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The tour was great, except for the weather. As it was foggy and wet, which meant that it snowed on Mt Fuli. We did make it to stage 4 station. As it was to foggy the lake Ashi didn't happen but the alternative to me was great. It was a visit to an Art Gallery showing in Japanese artiste.

Doing what: Mt Fuji Day Trip including Lake Ashi Sightseeing Cruise from Tokyo

Marc E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Fantastic! Lake Ashi cruise was stunning, our Japanese lunch was very tasty and seeing Mt Fuji itself was awe inspiring. You cannot come to Japan and not do this tour in my opinion. Tour Guide was also brilliant.

Doing what: Mt Fuji Day Trip including Lake Ashi Sightseeing Cruise from Tokyo

Susan W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Fantastic trip, tour guide was really entertaining and informative. Unable to get to 5th station due to storms on the mountain, but was still a great day. Views were truly breathtaking, lunch was delicious. The Lake Ashi cruise and the Hakone cable car trip were both lovely. Well worth it!!

Doing what: Mt Fuji Day Trip including Lake Ashi Sightseeing Cruise from Tokyo

Shona W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Fabulous day, fabulous scenery. We were warned that this time in mid November is cloudy and we would not be able to see Mount Fuji. But half an hour before we arrived at the fifth station, the clouds parted and we saw Mount Fuji in all her glory plus great pictures when we got there. The Lake Ashi area Hakone is beautiful and the cruise is lovely. The rope line is spectacular although Mount Fuji was obscured again by the time we got there but this entire day was so good I rally can't complain. Pick the Japanese lunch. It wasn't too exotic but still a little adventurous. Tour guide Harry was great but struggled with being understood as his accent was strong in English. Get DETAILED instructions about your train or subway stop when they drop you off after the tour. It was a nightmare finding my correct train as there are several trains and subway systems that operate in Tokyo and you have to know the correct one. Still it was the quintessential Tokyo experience being stuffed into a subway car with hundreds of others and I made it back to my hotel by myself in the end. The Japanese people are so very helpful anyway so if you get lost, just keep asking until you find someone who speaks English well enough.

Doing what: Mt Fuji Day Trip including Lake Ashi Sightseeing Cruise from Tokyo

Andrea T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

We had an excellent time on this tour. The accommodations were fantastic and the hot springs bath was a great experience. Being able to view Mt. Fuji and Lake Ashi with all of the commentary and additional historical information was wonderful! Our guide was friendly and knowledgeable.

Doing what: Overnight Mt Fuji and Onsen Experience from Tokyo

Susan Wong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Had an excellent trip. Initially we were all disappointed that Mt Fuji 5th station was closed for fire drill, so we stopped at 4th station. Being summer, mt Fuji appeared as an ordinary brown mountain. But after lunch, as we came out of the restaurant, we saw Mt Fuji in the clouds. After Lake Ashi, we saw her again in the clouds. Then as we were going up the Ropeway, Mt Fuji kept appearing and disappearing in the clouds. Spectacular. The weather is something out of our control. we were just lucky to have seen Mt Fuji so many times that day.

Doing what: Mt Fuji Day Trip including Lake Ashi Sightseeing Cruise from Tokyo

Yiqi J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our tour guide Marie is wonderful, funny and really made sue everyone is on schedule and have a great time. She is an excellent team leader. She also explained a lot about Japanese customs and other sightseeing tips. Great tour. Too bad it is summer and Fuji rarely shows her face. The boat cruise on Lake Ashi in Hakone is breathtaking.

Doing what: Mt Fuji Day Trip including Lake Ashi Sightseeing Cruise from Tokyo

Kathryn S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

My friend Val and I enjoyed our full day trip to Lake Ashi and Mount Fuji area. The courier was very good and her knowledge of the English language was impeccable. Would definitely book with Viator again if visiting the far east.

Doing what: Mt Fuji Day Trip including Lake Ashi Sightseeing Cruise from Tokyo

worrybeads

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

An excellent tour with, Mt. Fuji was spectacular, the lunch was lovely great vegetarian option and the cable car ride to Hakkone was enjoyable. The Lake Ashi sightseeing boat ride was short but lovely with more great views of Mt. Fuji.

Doing what: Mt Fuji Day Trip including Lake Ashi Sightseeing Cruise from Tokyo

David T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

It was an awesome tour. In the winter time, there is no other way to get up the mountain (obviously how far you can go is dependent on the weather) and I highly recommend this. The Lake Ashi boat tour and Tram ride also provided excellent views. Our tour guide Marie was great and very friendly.

Doing what: Mt Fuji Day Trip including Lake Ashi Sightseeing Cruise from Tokyo

Catherine S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

I highly recommend this trip, I felt like we crammed a lot into one day. We were quite lucky with the weather as got a great view of Fuji in the morning, unfortunately, it has disappeared behind the cloud once we got to Lake Ashi. The guide, Amy, was amazing - good English, knowledgeable and very entertaining.

Doing what: Mt Fuji Day Trip including Lake Ashi Sightseeing Cruise from Tokyo

david

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Very well organised from pickup at Tokyo station to termination at Odawara station.It had snowed on the previous day which meant the road to the 5th station on mount Fuji was closed to the bus but today the sky was so clear with the sun shining which was ideal for photos of Mt Fuji from the bus and viewing areas.I bought my own lunch at the midday stop which wasn't expensive and very good. The Lake Ashi cruise and Mt Komagatake cable car provide splendid opportunities for photos due to the clear sky and sunshine.My trip terminated at Odawara station as I had a shinkansen pass so returned to Tokyo on the Hikari bullet train.I would recommend this tour and company to everyone.

Doing what: Mt Fuji Day Trip including Lake Ashi Sightseeing Cruise from Tokyo

Chilin Shiva P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was a great trip for us - especially the cruise on Lake Ashi - a very very scenic and fantastic experience. Unfortunately because of fog we could not see Mount Fuji, otherwise a wonderful trip.

Doing what: Mt Fuji Day Trip including Lake Ashi Sightseeing Cruise from Tokyo

travelman

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

A nice full day trip to Mt. Fuji with an included boat trip on Lake Ashi. Unfortunately the weather did not let us see the top of the mountain, but it was still a very fun trip. We chose to return by bullet train, which was a very interesting and new experience. Worth the extra charge.

Doing what: Mt Fuji Day Trip including Lake Ashi Sightseeing Cruise from Tokyo

Pacheco Ohana USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Of the 3 Viator tours we did on our trip, this was the best. If you are staying at the Shinjuku Washington Hotel, there is a checking area in the lobby to walk you to the bus. The bus we had was nice and the AC was cool, which is important as our tour date was July 24 (90 deg F/70% humidity). The bus took us to the Hamamatsucho bus station where we boarded another bus to Mt. Fuji. Our tour guide was an expert on Mt. Fuji having been a hiking guide for 30+ yrs. His English was quite good and he regaled us with the history of Japan, working in the political and religious events which tied in nicely to Mt. Fuji's importance in Japanese society. We stopped every hour or for bathroom breaks, shopping, etc. We stopped first at the Mt. Fuji visitor center for a quick rest-stop before heading up the mountain. The sights were wonderful. We stopped at the 5th station where there is a small shopping village and had about 45 minutes of free time. From there we headed to lunch at a beautiful restaurant and had a wonderful lunch of tempura, rice miso soup and pickled veggies--we all left full. We proceeded to Lake Ashi and caught a 15 minute ferry to another shopping area where a gondola took us over Hakone--not to be missed! We returned to Shinjuku at approx. 8pm. However, a lightning storm moved in, lighting up the sky and soaking the area. We stayed in the air conditioned bus until it let up (slightly) which was really nice of the bus driver and tour guide. Note the bus did not drop-off at the hotels at the conclusion of the tour--it ended, rather, at Shinjuku station,
All in all, this was worth every penny and wouldn't hesitate to do it again. The lunch alone was $20-25 buck per person, not to mention the gondola and ferry rides. The ride was smooth and cool and the guide was great. One thing to note is they plan the itinerary out, so it is advised (strongly) to stick to the allotted times at each stop.

Doing what: Mt Fuji Day Trip including Lake Ashi Sightseeing Cruise from Tokyo

Robert S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

We had a fabulous day at Mt Fuji. It was December 20th so there was lots of snow. We only got to gate one but it was still and enjoyable experience. Lake Ashi was amazing, defoinitely worth doing. Loved the cable car ride and the boat cruise. We were very happy with our booking through Viator, with constant reminders about our trip, pick up etc.

Doing what: Mt Fuji Day Trip including Lake Ashi Sightseeing Cruise from Tokyo

EMMANUEL R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

you get more what you paid for for this tour. We were very lucky to see Mt. Fuji without fogs and clouds. The Lake Ashi and Komagatake Ropeway gave us a panoramic view of the adjacent mountain ranges. The lunch at the Highland Hotel and Resort is awesome. :)

Doing what: Mt Fuji Day Trip including Lake Ashi Sightseeing Cruise from Tokyo

Kafi E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

We really enjoyed this tour. Although we have lived in Japan for years we had never been to Hakone. When a visiting family member asked us to go, we were a little hesitant about the price, set up etc, but found that this was a perfect trip if you want balance. The first day we were able to see Mount Fuji, take a boat ride on the beautiful Lake Ashi, a cable car ride and enjoy an amazing lunch. In the evening we were taxied to the hotel (which was ok), and then go to a local onsen. In terms of controlled tour that was it, but that is where the fun began. The next day we were able to go on all of the local transportation with our handy all access pass. We were able to eat black eggs, see volcanos, ride ropeways up mountains and tour on our own until we caught our Shinkansen back to Tokyo station. If you want a balance of tour and individual tour, than this is the option.

Doing what: 2-Day Mt Fuji, Hakone and Bullet Train Tour from Tokyo

moosepark South Korea

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

We didn't know what to expect, but we were sure glad that we took this trip. The forecast was for rain in the afternoon, but we were lucky and was able to see the top of Mt. Fuji since we got there by 11:30am or so. We had lunch at the nearby hotel, and it was the typical Japanese bento and very good. Afterwards when we went to ride the boat on Lake Ashi, it began to rain. The boat was big and covered so it was no problem. We did get wet when we had to walk to the aerial cableway to ride to the top of Mt. Komagatake. We weren't lucky here since we couldn't see anything due to the rain. After a short time, we rode back and down and had time to shop. Afterwards it was time to go back down the mountain. We were supposed to go back to Tokyo by bus, but since I wasn't feeling well we took the Shinkansen so it was a quicker ride back. We did have to pay extra, but that was okay. Overall, this trip is worth it and the guide Mariko was the best! She speaks English fluently and even has a great sense of humor.

Doing what: Mt Fuji Day Trip including Lake Ashi Sightseeing Cruise from Tokyo

alehtsan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

The tour to Hakone is a must go. The cruise around Lake Ashi is refreshing. If you are lucky you might get to see Mt Fuji. The hotel was amazing. Only do this tour if you know where you want to go by yourself in Hakone and know how to use the buses. The buses are still convenient but there will be little time for you to go to all the places in Hakone.

FYI, eateries and the shops at Hakone En next to the Prince Hotel close early. Make sure you grab dinner and souvenirs before they close. Otherwise you will have to get dinner in the hotel or walk to the closest town/shop for dinner. Buses using the free day pass retire early.

Doing what: Overnight Mt Fuji and Onsen Experience from Tokyo

Elfa I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2012

So amazed with the beautiful sites of Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Hakone. Even though the temperature in all places are cold, generally we were kept warm by our English speaking guide. She constantly ensure and check our needs. Her knowledge on the historical sites are commendable. Thank you.

Doing what: Mt Fuji Day Trip including Lake Ashi Sightseeing Cruise from Tokyo

Ranjith W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

The Mt Fuji Day Trip including Lake Ashi Sightseeing was a great experience. Given the honest and genuine livelihood of Japanese people, we didn't have any surprises. Everything was arranged to the best possible manner. The guide we had was truly helpful to everyone.

Doing what: Mt Fuji Day Trip including Lake Ashi Sightseeing Cruise from Tokyo

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message