Tokyo ATTRACTIONS See all

Meiji Shrine

The Meiji Shrine is the most important and popular Shinto shrine in Tokyo. It was dedicated to the Emperor Meiji and his wife Empress Shōken in 1926. The shrine is made up of buildings of worship, forests, and gardens. Each tree in the Meiji ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 125 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Grant Andrew M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

What a way to see Tokyo. Personal guided bike tour winding sometimes through back streets with small shrines and temples but also through cemeteries, expansive parkland, past magnificent shrines and temples and also through various other districts including Ginza and later Shinjuku. The tour was leisurely with time to stop and view with no rush or crush and much better than a bus tour. Our family party spanned three generation included two children age 7 and 9 years and felt safe despite cycling in this busy and mind bogling great metropolis. This day was the highlight of our time in Tokyo and was more than just a tour, it was cultural education and also also a culninary adventure. Great job Gak.

Doing what: Small Group Tokyo Biking Tour

Godfrey L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

What better way to gain an appreciation of a city than on a small guided bicycle tour. We spent the day with Gak exploring some of the highlights of Tokyo from the Meiji shrine in Yoyogi Park, to Imperial Palace, the upmarket Roppongi district, the habor side, the 45th story viewing platform in the Government building in Shinjuku, many back streets, main roads and so much more. All the while Gak pointed out the many sites, explained the foods, the customs, the language, the history, and answered our endless questions. All equipment supplied by Gak and first class.

Doumo thank you so much Gak,
Godfrey

Doing what: Small Group Tokyo Biking Tour

Benny Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We went on a small group bike tour with our excellent guide Gaku, his English was good and he had many interesting stories to tell us. We saw some of the special sights in Tokyo including the Meiji shrine and Imperial Palace as well as some smaller places not often seen by tourists. We were lucky to see some beautiful ice sculptures also! I highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Small Group Tokyo Biking Tour

Mohamed B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Forget the bus, train, taxi. If you're visiting Tokyo and would like to see and experience Tokyo the right way. Bicycle Tours Tokyo is the way to go.
Our tour guide Mr. Gakuto Miura was a very professional, friendly, amazing and welcoming guide. He clearly explained our tour rout starting from Shinjuku going through the main land marks in Tokyo before and during our trip at all times. He also explained the simple things that a tourist wouldn't pick up unless he had someone local explain them to him. We visited Shrines, Temples, Cemetery, Towers, public buildings, Ginza, public attractionsect. The tour was not rushed like other tours Ive been to before. The tour guide was very understanding and relaxed.
Mr. Gak was very prepared for the trip, just join and you won't need to bring gloves or any other accessories, just come and join the tour. This is my third time in Tokyo and i've never seen it this way in my previous trips. I highly recommend this tour on your first or second day visiting Tokyo, you wont regret it.

Doing what: Small Group Tokyo Biking Tour

Joel A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Been on many Viator tours over the years and really enjoyed the tour and tour guide. A great overview of Tokyo.
Highlights were a nice walk to Meiji temple, lunch buffet, and the nice 50 minute cruise capped by a dancer to end the evening. The your guide Nori-San was great accommodating and even personalized each of our departures to send everyone safely home. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Tokyo Day Tour: Meiji Shrine, Asakusa Temple and Tokyo Bay Cruise

Michael N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Whether you have been to Japan before, or are a returning visitor this tour will help complete what is likely an amazing trip!

Gak-san, the tour guide, might as well be a semi-professional cyclist from the stories he told me, and does an excellent job effortlessly leading you around Tokyo. As we chatted between different locations, he started to think of new places to take me based on our conversations. The flexibility to see a couple new spots ended up making the tour even more memorable.

The shrines were amazing, and the lunch across the bay from Tsukiji was perfect. Every stop provided some interesting interaction with the local population. Gak-san was always there to help translate and add interesting commentary to every location in English or Japanese.

The tour ends up being about 20-miles or so, but capping it off at Tokyo Tower with a multi-perspective view of the city was amazing. And then finally ending at the Tokyo City Opera building worked out great as there's many great bars and restaurants there.

Overall if you can devote a day to doing this tour, maybe at the beginning of the trip so you can pick up on areas you want to revisit, I couldn't recommend it highly enough. Gak-san is an absolutely delightful human who has some amazing adventure stories of his own that he could tell you too! Do this tour!

Doing what: Small Group Tokyo Biking Tour

Brian B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Our family of four including two teenage girls cycled Tokyo for a full day. Gak our guide provided clear PDF instructions to meet him at Tokyo Opera City. The bikes were fitted to our heights via prior arrangements and off we went. Gak lead us to small and large shrines and temples, provided cultural insights, offered advice at a supermarket and took multiple shots of us as we peddled down quiet alleys and along busy roads allowing us to enjoy the ride. One of the many highlights was the final one, viewing Mt Fuji at sunset from the government tower. Gak and #39;s attention to detail, humour and generosity made for an unforgettable day.

Doing what: Small Group Tokyo Biking Tour

Martin B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was a fantastic bike tour and a great way to explore Tokyo. Gak the tour guide has put together a tour, which combines major attractions like the imperial place and unknown places like an amazing local shrine and temple and so much more. The tour is very well organized: Excellent directions to get to the meeting point, great bike, good helmet, biking along little side streets just everything is thought off! Gak is such a wonderful guide and I have learned so much about Tokyo and the Japanese culture in general. Gak took also great photos of me during the tour day and emailed me them right away. In conclusion, this is such a great tour and I can highly recommend it to anyone who would like to experience Tokyo in a wonderful and unique way!

Doing what: Small Group Tokyo Biking Tour

jchung0405

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

I think that this tour is a great way to tour some of Tokyo's attractions in a single day - IF you aren't the type that likes to venture out on your own and not afraid of getting lost. This tour goes to some of the most popular tourist attractions, but moves really fast. Every stop we went to, we only had about 20 minutes to walk around, take pictures, buy things, etc. By the time you observed one thing, it was already 10 minutes later, but there are about 10 other things to look at in one place. So, we had to move really fast. The only exception was the buffet, which was a lot better than I expected. We had 40 minutes at the buffet. It had a nice variety and was really nice inside. The Tokyo Bay Cruise was not as bad as some of the other reviewers had said. It was like 20-30 minutes of quiet time after all the rushed walking we had done earlier in the day, so I quite enjoyed it. We did see the Rainbow Bridge from this cruise, but because it was still daytime, the lights on the bridge weren't on. So, it took us some time to wonder why it was called the Rainbow Bridge we realized why it was called that when we drove by at night.

The tour guide was good she explained some of the basic things, like the difference between a shrine and a temple, what to do at the shrine, what certain things are and represent, etc. Her English isn't bad. I understood about 99 of what she said. I also enjoyed the very last part of our tour, which was at one of the information centers. They had a little performance. The guide had been talking about that since the start of our tour. Something about it taking the performer an hour or two to put on makeup every day. Well, the dance was pretty :. The guide also ensures that we all know where we need to go when the tour ends. For us, we had to go to another night time tour, so our guide directed us to the nearest station. Some were going back to their hotels, so she directed them to the nearest station to take.

What you should be wary of is how fast you have to move from one venue to another, so if you are a slower-moving person, you may want to put on your best walking shoes or be prepared to get left behind. You may think that because you're a paying customer that they will wait for you no matter what and they will wait to a reasonable time, but if you get lost and you're making everyone late, I'm sorry to say that it's not always the right choice, but it is the best choice that you get left behind. It is what had happened on our particular tour an older couple didn't return for 20-30 minutes. The daughter eventually made the decision to search for them, at the urging of all the other whispering and staring customers on board and the guide, and our bus left. The guide did exchange information with the daughter so that the company would know if they made it back safely. I'm sure it was disappointing for them, but people like us still had a different non-refundable tour to go onto after this tour ended, so it was important that the guide knew when to move on. Well, it is Tokyo. It is a safe city. Also, you won't get lost for long as long as you have good enough problem-solving skills. Or just ask people. I swear, they all very helpful.

We are actually 3 capable young travelers on this trip. Although we still got lost once or twice AND Google Maps wasn't always reliable, we realized that it was probably better if we chose our venues and ventured there ourselves. I don't regret booking this tour at all, but I believe that if you are adventurous, capable, somewhat smart, and have the time, you should definitely visit these venues on your own rather than book a tour, because you will get more out of it on your own. Or do a private tour if you have the money. There is nothing like getting one-on-one face time.

Doing what: Tokyo Day Tour: Meiji Shrine, Asakusa Temple and Tokyo Bay Cruise

Vik H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

So many beautiful sights packed into 6 hours. I learned a lot about all the different areas of Tokyo Japanese culture and history and had a tasty pack lunch by the waterside. I saw many interesting things during the tour i.e. some hidden shrines that I never would have found out through my own solo exploration. The tour goes at just the right pace to be able to take everything in. Gak is an adventurous, friendly guy with lots of cool stories, and is very attentive and flexible to your needs he also takes lots of good photos throughout the tour!!

Doing what: Small Group Tokyo Biking Tour

Joanne G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Book this adventure NOW. Gak is the most caring, knowledgeable and professional guide. We biked for 32 km in Tokyo. It was so safe and such an interesting way to view all the major sights you would have on your bucket list. The planning was incredible. He even offered us jackets when it was getting a little cold. He took us also to temples and shrines that were down back alleys and not on the tourist radar. Easy, flat riding with comfortable bikes and helmet. We are so lucky we booked this tour. THANKS

Doing what: Small Group Tokyo Biking Tour

vickimyatt

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Wonderful guide. Fun introduction to Tokyo. The wooded area around the Meiji Shrine was beautiful. The East Garden of the Imperial Palace was also lovely. The Asakusa Temple area was extremely crowded, but there are lots of things to see there. Be sure to do your fortune in the temple. If it is bad, you don't have to take it with you. You can tie it to the wires and leave it with the temple. We had a nice lunch and then went on the Tokyo Bay Cruise. It was a nice cruise, and one of the people from the boat was on deck to take pictures for you with your camera with the Rainbow Bridge in the background. Then we went to Odaiba and saw the giant Gundam Statue and the Statue of Liberty. We felt like we covered a lot of Tokyo in a day's time, and it left us eager to see more.

Doing what: Tokyo Day Tour: Meiji Shrine, Asakusa Temple and Tokyo Bay Cruise

Pallavi M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Tokyo day tour was excellent. It was the best way to spend first few days in Tokyo. The English speaking guide was very good. Meiji Shrine, Imperial lawns and Asakusa Temple were interesting historical places. Tokyo Bay tour in the afternoon gave opportunity to see Tokyo skyline. The guide took care of each one by providing directions at the end of the tour.

Doing what: Tokyo Day Tour: Meiji Shrine, Asakusa Temple and Tokyo Bay Cruise

Pegleg Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Excellent full day. Our guide Ono was terrific, very knowlgedable, friendly, approachable and excellent English. Loved the Meiji Shrine and the Imperial Gardens. The Tokyo harbour cruise was another highlight. The lunch was not as good, there were so many people there by the time we got to the buffet, a lot of the food was already gone they did replenish many of the plates and we had limited time as we needed to get to the cruise. OVerall great way to learn about key elements of Japanese culture.

Doing what: Tokyo Day Tour: Meiji Shrine, Asakusa Temple and Tokyo Bay Cruise

lalock3

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was an amazing biking tour. It started with excellent directions to get to the meeting point, which included photos. The tour was excellent - Gak was happy to adjust the tour to allow for sights we had already seen and for things we were interested in. I loved seeing the small shrines that were just off from main shopping areas. We learned so much about history and culture as we travelled through the city. The drivers in Tokyo are very courteous to cyclists, it was a pleasure to cycle there. Shopping at the supermarket for lunch was fun. I wish there were 6 stars for this activity, it was a great day - it is one of the first things we mention when people ask us what we did on vacation. Finally, the photos Gak took of us and then emailed to us after our tour are fabulous. Gak, thank you for a wonderful day in Tokyo!

Doing what: Small Group Tokyo Biking Tour

David H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Very good tour of Tokyo, saw all the major sites, guide was excellent, lucky to see a wedding at the shrine. Most enjoyable

Doing what: Tokyo Day Tour: Meiji Shrine, Asakusa Temple and Tokyo Bay Cruise

Deborah G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The Meiji shrine was very interesting and we were lucky enough to see a wedding procession. Because it was Monday we were not able to see the gardens of the Imperial Palace but we did stop by the bridge for a photo opportunity. Sensoji temple was great and the surrounding area was bustling with activity. We would have liked to have a bit more time there but realize the time constraints did not allow for it. The cruise on Tokyo Bay was the highlight of the day. It was a beautiful way to see the city.

Doing what: Tokyo Day Tour: Meiji Shrine, Asakusa Temple and Tokyo Bay Cruise

Heather T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I booked this tour for my first full day in Tokyo and I was so happy I did! I met Gak around 9am and he took me through both back roads and main roads of Tokyo. First I saw shrines and temples off the tourist trap map and into the neighborhoods where only the locals go. By lunch time we stopped at a local grocery store and picked up some food then sat by the waterfront and enjoyed some awesome sushi while chatting away and enjoying the view. In the afternoon we biked around even more seeing some of the major sights of Tokyo. It was so hot that day but Gak made sure I had enough water and we took breaks to rest and rehydrate in between. Some highlights for me were the Meiji Shrine and the Imperial Garden. We ended the day with a view 45 stories up to take in the magnificent city. I've taken bike tours all over the world and this was by far my favorite. Gak made sure I was safe and was always making sure we were biking at my pace. He even took photos of me throughout the day and sent me the link to download them later. He is one of the nicest guys I've met ask him about his Mt Fuji adventures, he's got some great stories, and he even helped me plan my next couple days in Tokyo. I couldn't have asked for a better introduction to Tokyo! I highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Small Group Tokyo Biking Tour

JOY

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour is great for those who have limited time to spend in Tokyo. We were able to see the main places that one needs to see in Tokyo such as the Meiji Shrine, the Asakusa temple and shopping place, Ginza district and view of the Imperial Palace. The Tokyo Bay cruise was scenic. Our tour guide Sushi was knowledgeable and had a great sense of humor. We are glad that we picked this tour.

Doing what: Tokyo Day Tour: Meiji Shrine, Asakusa Temple and Tokyo Bay Cruise

William S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This is a great way to see a lot of Tokyo in one day. We saw a wedding at the Meiji Shrine and the Asakusa Sanja Matsuri - it must have been my lucky day! Yoko was a great tour guide.

Doing what: Tokyo Day Tour: Meiji Shrine, Asakusa Temple and Tokyo Bay Cruise

Roberto F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We took four Viatot tours in Japan, and this was the best guide we had Mrs. Junko Informative, kind and with an spectacular English. The tour itself was nice with good visit to Meiji Srhine and Asakusa Temple, and a enjoyable cruise by the Bay. We finished the day with a visit to Acqua city shopping. Really we had a good time.

Doing what: Tokyo Day Tour: Meiji Shrine, Asakusa Temple and Tokyo Bay Cruise

Artemio G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Masaki is a great tour guide, very knowledgeable and full of insights. I like the sake experience and quiz the the provided while we were on the train going to Meiji Jingu, it provided a lot of perspective not just about the sites that are covered in the tour but also about Japan and japanese culture in general. Highly recommended - thanks to Masaki!

Doing what: Hello Tokyo Walking Tour: Meiji Jingu, Senso-ji and Harajuku

Vesna M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This tour was simply fantastic and one I would highly recommend to anyone who is only able to go on one tour in Tokyo, this is it! The day started off at the bus station in the morning at 9am where we met our lovely guide Nori and we were first driven to see the business side of Tokyo and visit the Meiji Shrine where, as it was a Sunday morning we were able to watch a traditional wedding procession. The tour then moved onto the Imperial East Garden which was also lovely and very peaceful, Nori provided us with great cultural and historical information regarding the park and the surrounding palace. After this we had a stop-over at Asakusa Temple and the general Asakusa area where we were given the choice of visiting the shrine with Nori or choosing to go on our own around the area and doing some shopping. This is a little gem in Tokyo and has to be seen as it is so different from other areas! The next stop was lunch overlooking the wonderful Tokyo bay on the top floor of a hotel, lunch was absolutely delicious and the view was simply breathtaking. Once we had enjoyed the rather sumptuous food and view over the Tokyo skyline, we were treated to a 50 minute cruise of the bay which was then followed up with shopping in the Odaibo district. I think the tour was incredibly varied and very well organised and I would highly recommend it to anyone who wants to explore the wonderful city of Tokyo and a lot of what it has to offer in a day.

Doing what: Tokyo Day Tour: Meiji Shrine, Asakusa Temple and Tokyo Bay Cruise

dino632

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Thoroughly enjoyed the day. Really nice lunch included. Loved the Meiji shrine, but you could do with more time here.

Doing what: Tokyo Day Tour: Meiji Shrine, Asakusa Temple and Tokyo Bay Cruise

Sandra G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

We were lucky as other clients had cancelled and my husband and I became the only clients for the tour. We enjoyed ourselves thoroughly and found our tour guide brilliant. He was very informative and easy to talk to I would recommend this tour to anyone who wants a quick introduction to the shrines and temples of Japan and the pop culture of the Japanese teenagers. He gave us a good insight into the Japanese life. Thanks for a great tour, by far the best one we had been on.

Doing what: Hello Tokyo Walking Tour: Meiji Jingu, Senso-ji and Harajuku

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message