As Japan's highest mountain, the legendary Mt Fuji stands 12,388 feet (3,776 meters) tall. Whether you hike all the way to the top or take it easy at the Fuji Visitor Center's observation deck, visiting this UNESCO World Heritage site is an ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 2146 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

janelives25

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was an excellent way to see a lot in a short space of time. The organisation was exceptional. At every stage of the journey we were met by Sunrise tour guides who made sure that we were well looked after.
The visit to Mount Fuji was wonderful. We were lucky to have such brilliant weather so we were able to catch glimpses of the mountain from just outside Tokyo. It was very busy when we arrived at the fifth station and very cold. The area was full of tourist shops but it was easy to turn your back on them and enjoy the beauty of the snow clad summit glistening in the sun.
Back down to ground level and we enjoyed a very good lunch of local food with a good vegetarian option too.
On to Lake Ashi. The boat trip was really hardly worth the effort but it took us to the cable car station and, again, it was very crowded. But we were moved to the front in order to get to the top to enjoy the views before the sunset. Mount Fuji, the lake and out to the Pacific ocean....beautiful.
There were just three of us continuing to Kyoto on the bullet train and the journey involved a change with just 4 minutes to make our connection. This could have been quite a challenge but the organisation was perfect. We were accompanied to the first train and given numbered seats. At the transfer station another guide was waiting for us as we arrived and she took us to the next train. At Kyoto we were met by yet another guide who took us to a taxi to take us to the hotel.
The hotel was lovely with a big, comfortable room and very well situated with a Starbucks next door and a 7-11 just across the road.
The next day consisted of two tours. The morning tour concentrated on the sights of Kyoto. A bit hectic but lots to see and a very informative guide.We had a buffet lunch with plenty of choices at a heritage centre. In the afternoon we headed out to Nara and the beautiful parks and temples with an excellent guide who showed us some different aspects and explained the history.
Another night in Kyoto and we had the next day to explore for ourselves. We really enjoyed the amazing street market selling anything and everything.
The return journey to Tokyo, also on the bullet train was equally stress free.
As first timers in Japan, this was an excellent trip and it has given us lots of ideas for a return visit and left us very impressed with the Japanese transport system.

Doing what: 3-Day Mt Fuji, Kyoto and Nara Rail Tour by Bullet Train from Tokyo

atirado

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Awesome day in Mt Fuji. THe ride in the Shinkansen is very fun.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

C A P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The tour was fantastic........very good value for money and an excellent tour guide Hero.
We were very lucky with the weather, having excellent views of the magnificent Mt Fuji from many different aspects.
The tour was actioned packed with a traditional Japanese lunch, a lake cruise, cable car ride, viewing of an active volcano and a ride on the bullet train back to Tokyo.
I highly recommend this tour and is a must do while in Tokyo.
JPT

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

AMY W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

What an amazing tour! I have never been to Japan, and only had a few days. Spending the day on this tour was the highlight of my trip. Not only touring Tokyo, riding the train, but also seeing Mt Fuji and very quant towns that surround the mountain. I learned so much. The guide was fun and so informative. This was my 2nd Viator tour first was in Frankfurt I will definitely book more thru Viator!

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Daniel B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Fantastic Tour! Very Good Value for Money. Our guide ITO-San was like having your very own Japanese Grandmother on for the ride.
Not only do you see Mt Fuji and Hakone up close but you also get brilliant insight of the daily life of the modern Japan. The lunch was authentic Japanese cuisine at it's best. One of the best things we did in Japan.

Doing what: Mt Fuji Day Trip including Lake Ashi Sightseeing Cruise from Tokyo

Jamie S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

No words can describe how beautiful Mt. Fuji was. It was breathe taking and i am so happy to have had the opportunity to go on this tour.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

roy.beveridge

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Great tour
Mt Fuji well worth it
Bus tour and people great.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

isabel_0118

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This tour was beyond amazing and worth every single dime, we had perfect weather and were very lucky to experience Mt. Fuji from many different angles. Highly recommended by far the best experience we had in Japan

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Ameanthea B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Perfect and organized tour to view Mt. Fuji. Would do it again in a heart beat.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Karenschmidt4390

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This was a highlight of our trip for sure. Our guide Take was AMAZING. Probably the best tour guide we have ever had. The day was extremely well organized we had amazing weather and every aspect of the trip was outstanding. Lunch was neat a traditional Japanese lunch and the view of Mount Fuji from the lake we stopped out was out of thus world. The boat ride and rope way car ride was excellent plus we got to ride on the bulket train to rap it up. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Cindy G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This was by far the highlight of our trip. A very emotional, cold, and beautiful experience.

We started our trip being picked up at the hotel we chose from the list they offer. Our tour guide's name was Yuki, she spoke english, and was very very entertaining with all the historical and custom facts of Japan. I suggest you open up google maps, look up the location of where you are staying and the WALKING distance of the hotels they offer, this will determine which is best for you and depending on the time of the year you visit we went in the cold month of December, but we are Floridians so everything to us is cold you will have some walking to do in the weather period you visit. The bus will leave you upon return Close to the Shinjuku station, again, most cell phone carriers WIFI works so you should be able to GPS it back to your desired location. I am only saying this because people actually complain about this and I do not find it a necessary thing to complain about. You are in a foreign city, learn to navigate it.

We visited Mt. Fuji up to 2,300 meters. They have a shop there with delicious butter steamed corn, cool little Mt Fuji chocolate souvenirs, and a bunch of other nick nacks you can purchase. There are decks to take amazing pictures from that oversee the mountain summit. I suggest you purchase a selfie stick. We were against them until we visited Japan. We were in Mt Fuji for about 45 minutes or so and then headed to a hotel for a delicious traditional hot lunch. This included rice, vegetable tempura, hot miso soup, and other vegetables. My lunch was vegetarian but my husbands was not and it included tuna and he says it was delicious.

After, you will go down beautiful Hakone get those cameras ready because MT FUJI OVERSEES THE WHOLE TOWN, this part for us was iconic. You will go down to the beautiful lake in Hakone, you'll be there for a few minutes or so. Take some pictures. and then head over to take the cable cart which will take you up the mountain adjacent to Mt. Fuji, another great opportunity for images. This mountain has a trail, a couple of shrines, and beautiful views of the surrounding area including the pacific ocean.

Overall this trip was iconic because it was a financial sacrifice for us, but it was also very very indulging, the people were very polite and very charming, the cities are very clean and very organized. I truly believe that this tour is a must-do for all who come to Japan.

Doing what: Mt Fuji Day Trip including Lake Ashi Sightseeing Cruise from Tokyo

Ronald S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Good way to see Mt Fuji and Lake Ashi. Fortunately we had a clear day and were able to see the summit. Tour guide made sure we caught right train back to our hotel too.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Stitch Egg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Our Tour Guide his name is Take is very professional, polite, responsible, and patient. He has made the trip very enjoyable. His English is very fluent, giving detailed introduction of Tokyo in general and the sightseeing spots along the bus route. He even sang a Mt. Fuji song for us in Japanese and demonstrated origami on the bus! The driver sorry I didn't get his name is also very professional with safe and stable driving. Bus is clean and comfortable. The onsen venue is nice too, not too crowded. We were very lucky that day to have clear sky and be able to see Mt. Fuji with perfect conical shape and snow on it. Overall, we're very happy with this tour and would highly recommend this tour to other travellers. We would even join a Mt. Fuji hiking tour with this company when it's the right season.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Yamanakako Onsen Experience and Outlets Shopping Day Trip From Tokyo

Rayhan Tee

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

The tour was amazing! Definitely recommend!! Aside from making two new friends who were great company as well, our tour guide, Take-san, was amazing. He was very knowledgable about the history of the places and provided sufficient information regarding the places. If you ever wanted to know something about the place, just ask him! I asked him the species of the birds in Lake Ashi and he said that he didn't know what they were. Later on when we got on the bus, he announced to everyone about the species of the birds and what they were, migratory or not etc. It was amazing to see him take that extra step to figure out information for us tourists! He also shared with us his experiences and cool tricks!

Aside from the company and tour guide, the view was amazing! Especially on Mt. Fuji. The weather on that day was surprisingly clear. I did check the weather forecast before booking my date which I highly recommend to do so as if it's cloudy, you might not get to see much at all though as the day got closer, I noticed some other dates that were once supposed to be sunny became cloudy. So it's definitely still a gamble. I was lucky to have the day I booked to stay sunny all the way. It was unusually clear that we could even see the Japanese Alps on the other side of Mt Fuji which Take-san said was unusual! Even to see the snow on the Japanese Alps! Hakone and Lake Ashi was great too. Weather was really really cold and I LOVED it!! It was amazing! Remember to bring gloves and keep warm! Might want to bring ear muffs too if you can't handle the cold!

Stuff I wish could be better :
- Slightly more time on Mt Fuji, prolly like 10 minutes more.
- A better lunch menu. The lunch we had was really average. I would not recommend anyone to eat it lol.

That is all! Will share a bunch of photos soon!

Doing what: Mt Fuji Day Trip including Lake Ashi Sightseeing Cruise from Tokyo

shereelan8

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Excellent tour.
We went to Mt. Fuji on the first day, the sky was clouded at the beginning when we get to the 5th point. Couldn't see any of the Mt. Fuji even we were right next to it. Fortunately the sun came out and we had a wonderful view.
The tram ride up to Mt. Komagatake was the best part of the trip. We took many pictures.
The bullet train ride was well organized, there were tour guides at each stop to greet us and took us to the next train track.
Hotel is fine, we did not upgrade to the better one. It is in the middle of the town and have plenty of restaurants.
Kyoto and Nara trip was very nice. We came at the right time, the foliage was so pretty,
The scenery and the tour experience was the best, we enjoyed so much!!

Doing what: 3-Day Mt Fuji, Kyoto and Nara Rail Tour by Bullet Train from Tokyo

Enrico H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

IT WAS A FANTASTIC EXPERIENCE TO GET CLOSE TO MT. FUJI , A REALLY THRILLING TRIP.....

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Mark and Judy United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

I highly recommend this tour. It is a great way to see sights outside of Tokyo without having to do a lot of planning or research. The tour guides were all well informed and spoke good English. First you are picked up at your hotel in Tokyo and travel with a small group by bus to Mt Fuji, where you go halfway up the mountain. There are great photo ops and a gift store. We were blessed with a very crisp clear November day. Then you will stop for lunch, which was surprisingly excellent! Then you take a ferry and a cable car up Mt Hakone, where there are great views of Mt Fuji. We were then dropped off at the Shinkansen station to travel on to Kyoto. Tour operators met us every step along the way during bus, rail, and hotel transfers. In Kyoto, the hotel was first class! The next day you are in for a whirlwind day: touring palaces in Kyoto in the morning, another great buffet lunch, then an afternoon bus ride to Nara where you will absolutely marvel at the World's Largest Bronze Buddha an eerie ancient Shinto Shrine and hundreds of deer roaming free. The following day you are free to explore Kyoto on your own, and I would highly recommend the Old City Ninenzawa district. Then at 1700 you are picked up at the hotel, back on the Shinkansen to Tokyo, and taxi'd back to your hotel. This tour was well worth the money, and when we consider all we saw and the superior service, was actually quite reasonably priced!

Doing what: 3-Day Mt Fuji, Kyoto and Nara Rail Tour by Bullet Train from Tokyo

sam6642

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This tour was fantastic! My guide was very knowledgable and super personable! She entertained us from the moment we stepped on the tour bus and made everyone feel very comfortable. The scenery was beautiful even though it was cloudy at Mt. Fuji and it only rained a little the whole day. I went in August so it was muggy because it's the tail end of summer there.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Bon Russel P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

its perfect timing for me and my wife to see the beauty of Mt. Fuji!
though its freezing cold, we make the most of our time in Mt. Fuji... Lake Ashi was also beautiful, with its serene sorroundings, its a relaxing place.. we will surely miss this place.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

PENG YEW C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

We had an enjoyable trip and the weather is perfect as we are blessed to see Mount Fuji in a clear sky. Tour guide is informative and helpful. Beautiful scenery, beautiful autumn colors and bullet train ride is a great experience to us.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Rissa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Oct 20, 2016 Highly recommended trip. Everything went really well, plus the weather that day was perfect. We are so blessed to see Mt. Fuji and have great weather. The iterinary stated on this tour was all done on that day and no issues at all. Our tour guide Mica-san was very nice and informative. We learned a lot about Japan and its culture through listening to her at the bus. The timing on the iterinary was perfect and we were able to finish the tour with smiles on our faces. Let me share our day tour photos. I will recommend this tour to my friends who wants to go to Mt. Fuji. Great job, Viator.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Rissa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Highly recommended trip. Everything went really well, plus the weather that day was perfect. The iterinary stated on this tour was all done on that day and no issues at all. Our tour guide Mica-san was very nice and informative. We learned alot about Japan and its culture through listening to her at the bus. The timing on the iterinary was perfect and we were able to finish the tour with smiles on our faces. Let me share our day tour photos. I will recommend this tour to my friends who wants to go to Mt. Fuji. Great job, Viator!

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

aurora.dillon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Fun tour, jam packed with activities in a short period of time! Seeing Mt Fuji was awesome, would be better if the tour allotted more time to be spent there.

Doing what: Mt Fuji Day Trip including Lake Ashi Sightseeing Cruise from Tokyo

Datin A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Good tour. We couldn't see much of Mount Fuji as it was pretty misty. We particularly enjoyed the Shinkansen train ride. A must try!

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Bryan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Tour was very memorable since it covered many unique experience all rolled into 1 day. The relaxing cruise, the cold weather at Mt Fuji 5th station, the cable car ride, and capped off with a bullet train ride back to Tokyo. Schedule was good despite the peak season for tours and the guide adjusted well so we get to see attractions first and avoid queues. A must-try!

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message