As Japan's highest mountain, the legendary Mt Fuji stands 12,388 feet (3,776 meters) tall. Whether you hike all the way to the top or take it easy at the Fuji Visitor Center's observation deck, visiting this UNESCO World Heritage site is an ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 2036 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Jane

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The trip was awesome. We are lucky to have fully English speaking and well-organised tour to Mount fuji and Lake Ashi. Everything was superb on-time and the bullet train was superb cool and fast too. It is best to visit in winter time for clear view of Mount Fuji.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Eric B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Very well organised trip, I would not hesitate to use again.
The only thing to spoil the day was the weather, and that's know one fault. So did not see Mt Fuji at all :

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

mhd adnan w

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

very nice trip, Maeie was very profissional and instructive the wether was unfortunately not helpful to see or take photos to Fuji summit. but in general it was a good daytrip.I recpmmend it

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Erik R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Beautiful experience Mt Fuji and the Bullet very enjoyable day

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Ra Brown Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Was a great day Kanao? the guide she had a wealth of information about the various prefectures we passed through on the drive to Mt Fuji.

Unfortunately for us it was a foggy day up there so we didn't get to see Mount Fuji clearly but that is Nature, So be prepared and have reasonable expectations it not the guides or tour companies fault. Also on Station 5 they have a Gift Shop and Post Office, which I of course sent postcards home to New Zealand to my Grandma / Mum n Dad with the special Mt Fuji stamp.

The other highlight of the day was the cruise around Lake Ashi its such a beautiful region Hakone and even heard it mentioned on TV whilst I was here so clearly as the guide mentioned important for the Japanese culture and people. As you can expect at the terminal before boarding the boat is where you can purchase snacks and gifts from the region. But back to boat ride it was such a pleasant day I wish I could have stayed on the boat longer heck the whole day or explore more of Lake Ashi.

After the lake we headed up to ride the gondolas or Hakone Ropeway which takes you up to Mount Komaga-take the view from the gondola on way down is awesome great photo snap and sometimes you can get a clear view of Mt Fuji. Here they also have supermarket and gift shops but by time we arrived they was closing when we came back down the mountain.

The Top highlight for me was catching the Shinkansen Bullet Train back from Odawara Station to Shingawa Station
Train Station before Tamachi it took about 30-40mins it wasnt long at all but it was interesting
experience and something I have wanted to do since I was a young boy growing up in Rural New Zealand.

So all in all I would recommend this tour especially if you get Kanao I think that was how you spell her name her English is very good and does her best to entertain guests with songs, origami lesson.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Barbara P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great way to see Mt Fuji AND experience the bullet train when you only have a limited time available. And although Mt Fuji was in the cloud while we were there, it cleared enough to get some good shots from Lake Ashi stop later in the day despite the odds against it.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Azra Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This is a tour that should not be missed while in Japan. everything ran like a clock work. one thing i like about Japanese culture is the precise timing , i can see as to why that is necessary with such a large population as in Tokyo. from the moment we were picked up at the hotel by a luxury coach and taken to the bus station for a ride to Mt Fuji. our tour director was Noriko and all i can say she was so professional and informative about the places we were at and where we were going to, she thought us how to count in Japanese and explained all about the bento box a very balanced lunch box I'm getting one definetly . i wish we can have her on our next trip to Japan. it was unfortunate that it was foggy and rainy that day so we couldn't see the top of mt Fuji but we did see hundreds of people preparing for a long climb to top of Mt Fuji, something that every person in Japan feels they should do at least once in their life time if not every year. after that we had a traditional Japanese lunch and yes you do have to take your shoes off, so make sure you don't have any holes in them. it was delicious if you are adventurous to try something different and apt to the place where you are. fortunetly for all of us later in the day we did see Mt Fuji from Mt Komagatake.. drive through Hakone, the boat ride and also the ropeway was so panoramic all the way from where you could see the beautiful lake Ashi and a golf course to die for. i couldn't understand the people that were sleeping all the way and missing the luscious forests, rice paddies and just seeing Japan nature,it was fantastic. as we were couple of hours late for a day trip on the bullet train back to Tokyo we had to do it at night so we couldn't see anything outside. at the speed of 330km an hour i don't think we could have seen much anyway. it was a very pleasant and comfortable journey and would recommend it to everyone. thank you Noriko for taking care of us and making sure we new how to get back home.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Mark H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Take was a first rate guide! Great day trip out of Toyko, plenty too see and do. Got to see Mt Fuji after the clouds burned off.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Jennifer L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This trip totally exceeded my expectations. The tour guide was so nice and knowledgeable, and she told us a lot of factoids about Japan and the Japanese culture on our way to Mt Fuji. Then the lunch was incredible! I was expecting a measly sandwich or something like that, but we were treated to a multicourse traditional Japanese meal in a most beautiful setting! The only two negative things I have to say about this tour are foggy weather that prevented us from seeing Mt Fuji nothing anyone could control, and feeling rushed all the time but that's typical of a tour. I highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: 2-Day Mt Fuji, Hakone and Bullet Train Tour from Tokyo

Louise C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Ellie was a fantastic tor guide and the day was brilliant. Despite the fog stopping us having the best view of Mt Fuji, the day was not spoiled. There is so much more to the tour than just this. The Japanese lunch was amazing, lots of choice for less adventurous pallets!

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Jill W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We went on a bus tour from Tokyo to Mount Fuji. We went to the fifth station and were able to see the peak of the mountain from that point. We had the opportunity to walk around at the fifth station and to see the shrine. We had a Japanese lunch at a very nice hotel. We then took a very short 15 minute boat ride on Lake Hakon-en to the ropeway for Mount Hakon-en. It was a very cloudy day and we were not able to see anything from the mountaintop. We then took the bullet train back to Tokyo. Our guide was very professional and spoke English very well.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Lauren S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Despite being a semi-long bus ride to Mt. Fuji our tour guide gave us mini informative lessons on Japan, Japanese culture, language, and even some fun games. She was super knowledgeable and helpful and made the entire trip a delight.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Nicholas F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

It was fun getting there. Mt. Fuji was covered in fog though. We went to the Ice Caves. The only issue was the ride back. We had to make multiple stops and traffic was bad. I would have like an express ticket with no hassles. Our bus was late. We musta waited 1hr The good thing is that they ordered tickets in advance. Our ice cave tour guide was awesome. Please share my email address with him!

Doing what: Mt Fuji and Aokigahara Forest Day Trip from Tokyo

Mimi F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

A tour bus picked us up from the hotel to go to the bus depot. Once there, you will find the real bus for your tour. The bus ride to Mt Fuji is long, about 2 hours, but our guide was informative and her English is good enough. Even though that day was cloudy, she was very concerned for us whether we will see Mt Fuji's top. Both her and the driver intentionally looked out for us. They purposefully stopped and let the whole bus out for the 5 minute window when the clouds parted to let us see and take pictures of the mountain top. Once at 5th station, we stopped and buy souvenirs. Afterward, we had an authentic Japanese lunch. If you don't eat fish, don't order the lunch because that is the main lunch, it is one whole piece of rainbow trout from head to tail. The lunch was definitely tasty and authentic though. There is a side chicken dish too, with soba, some vegetable tempura and miso soup. We then went to Hakone and on the boat. The boat is not the pirate boat, so a little bit disappointing, but still a good ride. Then we got on the gondola to go to the top. They packed us quite tight in the gondola, so not too enjoyable. That day was very foggy too, so we couldn't see anything while at the top of the mountain here. The guide tried to teach us a Japanese song and also how to fold Mount Fuji using origami paper. We left to go back to Tokyo on the bullet train. The guide even taught us how to get back to the hotel from Tokyo station. It was definitely a full and long day of fun. We didn't get back to Tokyo till about 7 pm. I would definitely recommend anyone who what to see Mount Fuji, just pray for good weather on your day.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Rhoda C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

My entire family had a great time. We thought Mt Fuji was the highlight and that was it. But the sightseeing to Lake Ashi and Mt Komagatake were also unforgettable.

Doing what: Mt Fuji Day Trip including Lake Ashi Sightseeing Cruise from Tokyo

Bronte E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our tour guide was very informative and went out of her way to ensure that we had a great time. We went in the rainy season so we couldn't see the whole of mount Fuji, but up past the fifth station we got some good views of the peak above the clouds. Highly recommend tour, you wont be disappointed!

Doing what: Mt Fuji Day Trip including Lake Ashi Sightseeing Cruise from Tokyo

Janelyn C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

It was a great tour, the guide is very helpful and knowledgeable. Everything went well logistically and time wise. We had a wonderful time in Mt. Fuji and specially in Hakone. Very interesting place.

Doing what: 2-Day Mt Fuji, Hakone and Bullet Train Tour from Tokyo

sunil n

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Now this is a trip that is far better than the description! The 5th station was a waste of time however since you just go to a souvenir shop and buy junk - but the rest of the trip was fantastic. The Mt Komagatake Ropeway offers unbelievable views of Mt Fuji - picture perfect views atop a mountain that is near Mt Fuji. You will be above the clouds and the views of the summit of Mt. Fuji are spectacular. You are not going to climb Mt Fuji though of course - but surely the views of Mt Fuji from the top of Mt Fuji are not going to be very good!

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Sandra B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour's description doesn't do itself justice! The guide was so considerate, trying to get us the best views possible in very changeable weather. Mt Fuji itself was playing coy the day of the tour but everything else was just amazing. The lake cruise gave excellent views of Mt Fuji and the surrounding area the Mt Komagatake Ropeway this is a cable car up the mountain was fogged over but the fog lifted and we could see everything around us. The luncheon upgrade was a cultural joy: it's absolutely not to be missed. Would have liked more time at Mt Fuji but it is very popular and it was a long day. Still have my free souvenir bear bell! :D

Doing what: Mt Fuji Day Trip including Lake Ashi Sightseeing Cruise from Tokyo

Corey D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Go for the caving. Period. That and #39;s it. Nothing else. It was the experience of a lifetime, the highlight of my entire two week trip. It was amazing. Fuji was nice, but the caving experience is where it and #39;s at.

Doing what: Mt Fuji and Aokigahara Forest Day Trip from Tokyo

Bunthy P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

It was well organized. Tour guide spoke English well and very informative. Got to take lots of pictures and Japanese lunch was yummy. We went on a perfect day and there was no clouds covering the mountain. Wish we had more time shopping at the 5th station where we took pictures of mount Fuji. Bring extra food to snack on along the way and your portable charger. Also had a nice 15 minute cruise to Hakone. Took the cable car up there and saw a nice view from up top. The cable car doesn't have AC and you will be pack with others to get to the top so get a seat first or you'll end up standing all the way up there. I had fun and it was a great learning trip.

Doing what: Mt Fuji Day Trip including Lake Ashi Sightseeing Cruise from Tokyo

Ibad F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

great trip, great value for money considering everything that is included. Our guide Mari did an excellent job at keeping everyone entertained and organized. A must see. The drive to Mount Fuji and the scenic views from the cruise and cable car are a can't miss.

Doing what: Mt Fuji Day Trip including Lake Ashi Sightseeing Cruise from Tokyo

Sheryl N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Wonderful trip. So glad I went. Saw Mt. Fuji from several views.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

cwypanchew

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The 1st day was spent touring around Mt Fuji and parts of Hakone with a guide. The 2nd day was spent on my own with an all-day pass to roam around Hakone. I stayed at Yunohana Prince Hotel with dinner and breakfast. Great food, service, and hot spring. Room was dated but clean. Pricy but luxurious

Doing what: 2-Day Mt Fuji, Hakone and Bullet Train Tour from Tokyo

Donna U

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Enjoyable day trip even though Mt Fuji was barely visible. Great hot lunch and guide was entertaining and informative. Pick-up from hotel was on time and help with catching the correct connecting train back was greatly appreciated.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message